DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 10, 15-16 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishikawa (US 20180224530 A1, hereinafter “Ishikawa”).
Regarding claim 1, Ishikawa teaches a receiving optical system, comprising:
a receiving lens group comprising (Ishikawa; Fig. 1, [0028], a laser radar device 1 includes optical system 7 (equivalent to receiving lens group) and a light receiver 8. Both optical system 7 and a light receiver 8 equivalent to a receiving optical system):
a receiving mirror group (Ishikawa; Fig. 9, [0052], the optical system 7 includes a light receiving lens 70 (equivalent to receiving mirror)); and
a focal power element comprising a one-dimensional focal power element or a two- dimensional focal power element (Ishikawa; Fig. 9, [0052], the optical system 7 includes an optical element 71 (equivalent to a focal power element)), wherein the focal power element has a horizontal equivalent focal power and a vertical equivalent focal power, and wherein the horizontal equivalent focal power and the vertical equivalent focal power are different (Ishikawa; Fig. 9, [0056], the optical element 71 included in the first aspect of the optical system allows the reflected light 11 to pass through and has positive power only in the y-direction. Thus, the focus point 13a for the y-direction of the optical system 7 can be shifted from the surface 80 of the light receiver 8 to a point before the surface 80 with the focus point 13b for the x-direction of the optical system 7 on the surface 80 of the light receiver 8. Implies the x/y direction have different focal power), wherein the receiving lens group is configured to:
receive an echo signal that is based on a signal light from a transmitting optical system reflecting off of a target in a detection region (Ishikawa; Fig. 1, [0036], the laser beam 10 emitted from laser unit 2 to a measurement region R. The reflected light 11 is received by the optical system 7 and directs to light receiver 8);
separate a horizontal focal plane from a vertical focal plane of the echo signal to obtain a modified echo signal (Ishikawa; Fig. 9, [0056], the optical element 71 included in the first aspect of the optical system allows the reflected light 11 to pass through and has positive power only in the y-direction. Thus, the focus point 13a for the y-direction of the optical system 7 can be shifted from the surface 80 of the light receiver 8 to a point before the surface 80 with the focus point 13b for the x-direction of the optical system 7 on the surface 80 of the light receiver 8. Implies the x/y direction have different focal power which means the x/y direction focal plane is separated); and
propagate the modified echo signal (Ishikawa; Fig. 9, [0052], the reflected light 11 passing through the optical system 7 to be guided to the light receiver 8; the light flux 12 of the reflected light 11 incident on the light receiver 8 has a larger size in the y-direction than in the x-direction implies the echo signal is modified [0056]); and
a detector configured to:
receive the modified echo signal from the receiving lens group; and perform optical-electrical conversion on the modified echo signal in order to obtain an electrical signal, wherein the electrical signal indicates association information of the target (Ishikawa; Fig. 1, [0036], disclosed the function of the laser radar system 1 to detect the measurement region R; Fig. 3, [0037], the light receiver 8 includes four avalanche photodiodes 81 (has a light receiving face 82 that receives the reflected light 11 [0038]) formed on the substrate; avalanche photodiodes to perform optical-electrical conversion on the echo signal is well known in the art; [0003], such a laser radar device that employs a technique of measuring the distance to a detected object using a pulse laser beam deflected by a rotating deflector. Implies the laser radar system is used to measure the distance of the detected object).
Regarding claim 3, Ishikawa teaches the receiving optical system as recited in claim 1, wherein when the focal power element comprises the one-dimensional focal power element, the one- dimensional focal power element comprises at least one of a one-dimensional cylindrical mirror, a one-dimensional wedge, or a one-dimensional grating, and wherein when the focal power element comprises the two-dimensional focal power element, the two- dimensional focal power element comprises at least one of a ring mirror, a two- dimensional cylindrical mirror, a saddle mirror, a two-dimensional grating, or a two-dimensional wedge (Ishikawa; Fig. 9, [0055], the optical element 71 is, for example, a cylinder lens or a diffraction grating).
Regarding claim 4, Ishikawa teaches the receiving optical system as recited in claim 1, wherein the focal power element is located on an object side of the receiving mirror group, wherein the focal power element is located between the receiving mirror group and the detector, or wherein the focal power element is located between any two adjacent receiving mirrors in the receiving mirror group (Ishikawa; Fig. 9, [0054], the optical element 71 is disposed before the light receiving lens 70 in the z-direction (equivalent to located on an object side), allows the reflected light 11 to pass through and has positive power only in the y-direction).
Regarding claim 5, Ishikawa teaches the receiving optical system as recited in claim 1, wherein the detector is located on the vertical focal plane, and wherein the horizontal equivalent focal power is greater than the vertical equivalent focal power (Ishikawa; Fig. 3, [0037], a plan view of the light receiver 8 which is located on the x-y plane; Fig. 9, [0054]-[0056], the optical element 71 is disposed before the light receiving lens 70 in the z-direction, allows the reflected light 11 to pass through and has positive power only in the y-direction. Thus, the focus point 13a for the y-direction of the optical system 7 can be shifted form the surface 80 of the light receiver 8 to a point before the surface 80 with the focus point 13b for the x-direction of the optical system 7 on the surface 80 of the light receiver 8 (in other word, defocusing is made only in the y-direction and not x-direction). This implies the y-direction equivalent focal power is greater than the x-direction equivalent focal power and the light receiver is located on the x-direction focal plane).
Regarding claim 10, Ishikawa teaches the receiving optical system as recited in claim 1, wherein the detector is located on the horizontal focal plane, and wherein the vertical equivalent focal power of the focal power element is greater than the horizontal equivalent focal power of the focal power element (Ishikawa; Fig. 3, [0037], a plan view of the light receiver 8 which is located on the x-y plane; Fig. 9, [0054]-[0056], the optical element 71 is disposed before the light receiving lens 70 in the z-direction, allows the reflected light 11 to pass through and has positive power only in the y-direction. Thus, the focus point 13a for the y-direction of the optical system 7 can be shifted form the surface 80 of the light receiver 8 to a point before the surface 80 with the focus point 13b for the x-direction of the optical system 7 on the surface 80 of the light receiver 8 (in other word, defocusing is made only in the y-direction and not x-direction). This implies the y-direction equivalent focal power is greater than the x-direction equivalent focal power and the light receiver is located on the x-direction focal plane). Though Ishikawa‘s invention is only in y-direction and didn’t disclosed the optical element 71 to have equivalent focal power in x-direction is greater than that in y-direction and the detector is disposed in y-direction, MPEP § 2144.04 VI C Rearrangement of Pars states that the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice (MEPE § 2144.04 VI C: Rearrangement of Parts). A person skill in the art would recognize to put the optical element 71 in 90 degree to perform the same operation in x-direction with success.
Regarding claim 15, Ishikawa teaches a lidar system, comprising:
a transmitting optical system configured to transmit a signal light (Ishikawa; Fig. 1, [0028], [0029], a laser radar device includes a laser unit 2 emitting a laser beam 10); and
a receiving optical system comprising (Ishikawa; Fig. 1, [0028], a laser radar device 1 includes optical system 7 (equivalent to receiving lens group) and a light receiver 8. Both optical system 7 and a light receiver 8 equivalent to a receiving optical system):
a receiving lens group comprising (Ishikawa; Fig. 1, [0028], a laser radar device 1 includes optical system 7 (equivalent to receiving lens group)):
a receiving mirror group (Ishikawa; Fig. 9, [0052], the optical system 7 includes a light receiving lens 70 (equivalent to receiving mirror)); and
a focal power element comprising a one-dimensional focal power element or a two-dimensional focal power element (Ishikawa; Fig. 9, [0052], the optical system 7 includes an optical element 71 (equivalent to a focal power element)), wherein the focal power element has a horizontal equivalent focal power and a vertical equivalent focal power, and wherein the horizontal equivalent focal power and the vertical equivalent focal power are different (Ishikawa; Fig. 9, [0056], the optical element 71 included in the first aspect of the optical system allows the reflected light 11 to pass through and has positive power only in the y-direction. Thus, the focus point 13a for the y-direction of the optical system 7 can be shifted from the surface 80 of the light receiver 8 to a point before the surface 80 with the focus point 13b for the x-direction of the optical system 7 on the surface 80 of the light receiver 8. Implies the x/y direction have different focal power),
wherein the receiving lens group is configured to:
receive an echo signal that is based on the signal light reflecting off of a target in a detection region (Ishikawa; Fig. 1, [0036], the laser beam 10 emitted from laser unit 2 to a measurement region R. The reflected light 11 is received by the optical system 7 and directs to light receiver 8);
separate a horizontal focal plane from a vertical focal plane of the echo signal to obtain a modified echo signal (Ishikawa; Fig. 9, [0056], the optical element 71 included in the first aspect of the optical system allows the reflected light 11 to pass through and has positive power only in the y-direction. Thus, the focus point 13a for the y-direction of the optical system 7 can be shifted from the surface 80 of the light receiver 8 to a point before the surface 80 with the focus point 13b for the x-direction of the optical system 7 on the surface 80 of the light receiver 8. Implies the x/y direction have different focal power which means the x/y direction focal plane is separated); and
propagate the modified echo signal (Ishikawa; Fig. 9, [0052], the reflected light 11 passing through the optical system 7 to be guided to the light receiver 8; the light flux 12 of the reflected light 11 incident on the light receiver 8 has a larger size in the y-direction than in the x-direction implies the echo signal is modified [0056]); and
a detector configured to:
receive the modified echo signal from the receiving lens group (Ishikawa; Fig. 9, [0052], the reflected light 11 passing through the optical system 7 to be guided to the light receiver 8); and
perform optical-electrical conversion on the modified echo signal in order to obtain an electrical signal, and wherein the electrical signal indicates association information of the target (Ishikawa; Fig. 1, [0036], disclosed the function of the laser radar system 1 to detect the measurement region R; Fig. 3, [0037], the light receiver 8 includes four avalanche photodiodes 81 (has a light receiving face 82 that receives the reflected light 11 [0038]) formed on the substrate; avalanche photodiodes to perform optical-electrical conversion on the echo signal is well known in the art; [0003], such a laser radar device that employs a technique of measuring the distance to a detected object using a pulse laser beam deflected by a rotating deflector. Implies the laser radar system is used to measure the distance of the detected object).
Regarding claim 16, Ishikawa teaches the lidar system as recited in claim 15, further comprising a processor coupled to the receiving optical system (Ishikawa; Fig. 1, [0031], the controller 3 controls the total operation of the laser radar device 1 and includes a central processing unit (CPU), a random access memory (RAM), a read only memory (ROM and a laser diode driver. Fig. 1 shows the light receiver 8 sends the signal to controller for further processing) and configured to:
receive the electrical signal from the receiving optical system (Ishikawa; Fig. 9, [0052], the reflected light 11 passing through the optical system 7 to be guided to the light receiver 8); and
determine the association information of the target based on the electrical signal (Ishikawa; Fig. 1, [0036], disclosed the function of the laser radar system 1 to detect the measurement region R; Fig. 3, [0037], the light receiver 8 includes four avalanche photodiodes 81 (has a light receiving face 82 that receives the reflected light 11 [0038]) formed on the substrate; avalanche photodiodes to perform optical-electrical conversion on the echo signal is well known in the art; [0003], such a laser radar device that employs a technique of measuring the distance to a detected object using a pulse laser beam deflected by a rotating deflector. Implies the laser radar system is used to measure the distance of the detected object).
Regarding claim 19, Ishikawa teaches the lidar system as recited in claim 15, further comprising a scanner, wherein the scanner comprises one or more of a rotating mirror, a swing mirror, and a micro-electro- mechanical system (MEMS} mirror (Ishikawa; Fig. 1, [0028], a laser radar device 1 includes a scanning unit 5 which includes a polygon mirror 50 (rotated by motor 51) or a Galvano-mirror or a MEMS mirror).
Regarding claim 20, Ishikawa teaches a terminal device comprising:
a lidar system (Ishikawa; Fig. 4, [0038], an external appearance of a laser radar device 1 includes a housing 9) comprising:
a transmitting optical system configured to transmit a signal light (Ishikawa; Fig. 1, [0028], [0029], a laser radar device includes a laser unit 2 emitting a laser beam 10); and
a receiving optical system (Ishikawa; Fig. 1, [0028], a laser radar device 1 includes optical system 7 (equivalent to receiving lens group) and a light receiver 8. Both optical system 7 and a light receiver 8 equivalent to a receiving optical system) comprising:
a receiving lens group (Ishikawa; Fig. 1, [0028], a laser radar device 1 includes optical system 7 (equivalent to receiving lens group)) comprising:
a receiving mirror group (Ishikawa; Fig. 9, [0052], the optical system 7 includes a light receiving lens 70 (equivalent to receiving mirror)); and
a focal power element comprising a one-dimensional focal power element or a two-dimensional focal power element (Ishikawa; Fig. 9, [0052], the optical system 7 includes an optical element 71 (equivalent to a focal power element)), wherein the focal power element has a horizontal equivalent focal power and a vertical equivalent focal power, and wherein the horizontal equivalent focal power and the vertical equivalent focal power are different (Ishikawa; Fig. 9, [0056], the optical element 71 included in the first aspect of the optical system allows the reflected light 11 to pass through and has positive power only in the y-direction. Thus, the focus point 13a for the y-direction of the optical system 7 can be shifted from the surface 80 of the light receiver 8 to a point before the surface 80 with the focus point 13b for the x-direction of the optical system 7 on the surface 80 of the light receiver 8. Implies the x/y direction have different focal power),
wherein the receiving lens group is configured to:
receive an echo signal that is based on the signal light reflecting off of a target in a detection region (Ishikawa; Fig. 1, [0036], the laser beam 10 emitted from laser unit 2 to a measurement region R. The reflected light 11 is received by the optical system 7 and directs to light receiver 8);
separate a horizontal focal plane from a vertical focal plane of the echo signal to obtain a modified echo signal (Ishikawa; Fig. 9, [0056], the optical element 71 included in the first aspect of the optical system allows the reflected light 11 to pass through and has positive power only in the y-direction. Thus, the focus point 13a for the y-direction of the optical system 7 can be shifted from the surface 80 of the light receiver 8 to a point before the surface 80 with the focus point 13b for the x-direction of the optical system 7 on the surface 80 of the light receiver 8. Implies the x/y direction have different focal power which means the x/y direction focal plane is separated); and
propagate the modified echo signal (Ishikawa; Fig. 9, [0052], the reflected light 11 passing through the optical system 7 to be guided to the light receiver 8; the light flux 12 of the reflected light 11 incident on the light receiver 8 has a larger size in the y-direction than in the x-direction implies the echo signal is modified [0056]); and
a detector configured to:
receive the modified echo signal from the receiving lens group (Ishikawa; Fig. 9, [0052], the reflected light 11 passing through the optical system 7 to be guided to the light receiver 8); and
perform optical-electrical conversion on the modified echo signal in order to obtain an electrical signal, and wherein the electrical signal determines association information of the target (Ishikawa; Fig. 1, [0036], disclosed the function of the laser radar system 1 to detect the measurement region R; Fig. 3, [0037], the light receiver 8 includes four avalanche photodiodes 81 (has a light receiving face 82 that receives the reflected light 11 [0038]) formed on the substrate; avalanche photodiodes to perform optical-electrical conversion on the echo signal is well known in the art; [0003], such a laser radar device that employs a technique of measuring the distance to a detected object using a pulse laser beam deflected by a rotating deflector. Implies the laser radar system is used to measure the distance of the detected object).
Regarding claim 21, Ishikawa teaches the terminal device of claim 20, wherein the focal power element is located on an object side of the receiving mirror group, wherein the focal power element is located between the receiving mirror group and the detector, or wherein the focal power element is located between any two adjacent receiving mirrors in the receiving mirror group (Ishikawa; Fig. 9, [0054], the optical element is disposed before the light receiving lens 70 in the z-direction; [0055], the optical element 71 may be disposed behind the light receiving lens 70).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa, modified in view of Hansson et al. (US 20190146064 A1, hereinafter “Hansson”).
Regarding claim 6, Ishikawa teaches the receiving optical system as recited in claim 5.
Ishikawa does not teach, further comprising a first stop located on the horizontal focal plane.
Hansson teaches, further comprising a first stop located on the horizontal focal plane (Hansson; Fig. 3, [0052], light 125 returning from region 106 impinges on lens 120. Mask 124 (implemented in the form of a 2D array of slits, Fig. 4, [0051]) is placed at the focal plane of lens 120, such that light 125 is focused at mask 124).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the receiving optical system taught by Ishikawa to include further comprising a first stop located on the horizontal focal plane taught by Hansson with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using mask with 2D array of slits which placed in front of detector array and on the focal plane of lens such that to reduce the ambient light reaching detector array. This results in increased SNR and increased dynamic range (Hansson; [0044], [0051]-[0052]).
Regarding claim 7, Ishikawa as modified above teaches the receiving optical system as recited in claim 6.
Ishikawa does not teach, wherein a shape of the first stop is a rectangle having a short side and a long side, wherein the short side of the first stop is parallel to a first direction corresponding to the horizontal focal plane, and wherein the long side of the first stop is parallel to a second direction corresponding to the vertical focal plane.
Hansson disclosed in Fig. 4, Fig. 5, paragraph [0054], mask 124 includes slits 142a-142h is associated with returning light generated by a respective one of the eight lasers in one of the vertical linear arrays of the lasers in source 104; [0056], eight rows of four detectors 126a are illustrated and the received pulses of light 125 returning from region after being focused by lens 120 and passing through slits 142 in mask 124. Clearly seen the slit is rectangle in shape and long side is align in horizontal direction and short side is align in vertical direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the receiving optical system taught by Ishikawa to include further comprising a first stop located on the horizontal focal plane; wherein a shape of the first stop is a rectangle having a short side and a long side, wherein the short side of the first stop is parallel to a first direction corresponding to the horizontal focal plane, and wherein the long side of the first stop is parallel to a second direction corresponding to the vertical focal plane taught by Hansson with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using mask with 2D array of slits which placed in front of detector array such that to reduce the ambient light reaching detector array. This results in increased SNR and increased dynamic range. Furthermore, the mask includes a set of slits and is aligned with the scan pattern of the transmitter which enable the use of avalanche photodiode detectors in the optical detector array (Hansson; [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052]).
Regarding claim 11, Ishikawa teaches the receiving optical system as recited in claim 10.
Ishikawa does not teach, further comprising a second stop located on the vertical focal plane.
Hansson teaches, further comprising a second stop located on the vertical focal plane (Hansson; Fig. 3, [0052], light 125 returning from region 106 impinges on lens 120. Mask 124 (implemented in the form of a 2D array of slits, Fig. 4, [0051]) is placed at the focal plane of lens 120, such that light 125 is focused at mask 124).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the receiving optical system taught by Ishikawa to include further comprising a second stop located on the vertical focal plane taught by Hansson with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using mask with 2D array of slits which placed in front of detector array such that to reduce the ambient light reaching detector array. This results in increased SNR and increased dynamic range (Hansson; [0044], [0051]-[0052]).
Regarding claim 12, Ishikawa as modified above teaches the receiving optical system as recited in claim 11.
Ishikawa does not teach, wherein a shape of the second stop is a rectangle having a short side and a long side, wherein the short side of the second stop is parallel to a first direction corresponding to the vertical focal plane, and wherein the long side of the second stop is parallel to a second direction corresponding to the horizontal focal plane.
Hansson disclosed in Fig. 4, Fig. 5, paragraph [0054], mask 124 includes slits 142a-142h is associated with returning light generated by a respective one of the eight lasers in one of the vertical linear arrays of the lasers in source 104; [0056], eight rows of four detectors 126a are illustrated and the received pulses of light 125 returning from region after being focused by lens 120 and passing through slits 142 in mask 124. Clearly seen the slit is rectangle in shape and long side is align in horizontal direction and short side is align in vertical direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the receiving optical system taught by Ishikawa to include further comprising a second stop located on the vertical focal plane; wherein a shape of the second stop is a rectangle having a short side and a long side, wherein the short side of the second stop is parallel to a first direction corresponding to the vertical focal plane, and wherein the long side of the second stop is parallel to a second direction corresponding to the horizontal focal plane taught by Hansson with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using mask with 2D array of slits which placed in front of detector array such that to reduce the ambient light reaching detector array. This results in increased SNR and increased dynamic range. Furthermore, the mask includes a set of slits and is aligned with the scan pattern of the transmitter which enable the use of avalanche photodiode detectors in the optical detector array (Hansson; [0043]-[0044], [0051]-[0052]).
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa, modified in view of Pacala et al. (US 20190011567 A1, hereinafter “Pacala”).
Regarding claim 17, Ishikawa teaches the lidar system as recited in claim 15, wherein the transmitting optical system comprises a light source array (Ishikawa; Fig. 1, [0030], the laser unit 2 including a light emitter 20 that emits a pulse laser beam 10. A plurality of single mode semiconductor lasers or a plurality of fiber lasers may be used to form a laser beam 10), wherein the detector comprises a pixel array (Ishikawa; Fig. 3, [0037], light receiver 8 includes four avalanche photodiodes 81 are formed to be disposed in an array at a predetermined interval on the semiconductor substrate).
Ishikawa does not teach, wherein when the light source array is gated by row, the pixel array is gated by row, and wherein when the light source array is gated by column, the pixel array is gated by column.
Pacala disclosed in Fig. 11, Fig. 12, paragraph [0166], column selecting circuitry 1104 can be configured to operate in synchronization with the drivers in the light emission system so that the selected column in sensor array 1102 can correspond to the activated column in the emitter array as discussed herein with respect to Figs. 2 and 3; [0169] disclosed row selecting circuitry 1204 which have same configuration and operation as column selecting circuitry 1140 in Fig. 11, but operates to select photosensors by row instead of column.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar system taught by Ishikawa to include wherein when the light source array is gated by row, the pixel array is gated by row, and wherein when the light source array is gated by column, the pixel array is gated by column taught by Pacala with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this using column/row selecting circuitry to operate in synchronization with the drivers in the light emission system so that the selected column/row in sensor array can correspond to the activated column/row in the emitter array (Pacala; [0166], [0169]).
Regarding claim 18, Ishikawa as modified above teaches the lidar system as recited in claim 17, wherein the pixel array comprises at least two merged light sensitive units (Ishikawa; Fig. 3, [0037], the light receiver 8 includes four avalanche photodiodes 81; Fig. 9, clearly seen the light flux 12 is detected by two avalanche photodiodes 81).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 and 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record does not explicitly teach nor render obvious the following element, along with all other claimed feature:
wherein a length Li of the short side satisfies the following formula: L1= Horizontal angular resolution of the receiving optical system x Equivalent focal length in a horizontal direction of the receiving optical system.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record does not explicitly teach nor render obvious the following element, along with all other claimed feature:
wherein a length L2 of the long side satisfies the following formula: L2> Vertical angle of view of the receiving optical system x Equivalent focal length in a vertical direction of the receiving optical system.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art of record does not explicitly teach nor render obvious the following element, along with all other claimed feature:
wherein a length L3 of the short side of the second stop satisfies the following formula: L3 = Vertical angular resolution of the receiving optical system x Equivalent focal length in a vertical direction of the receiving optical system.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art of record does not explicitly teach nor render obvious the following element, along with all other claimed feature:
wherein a length L4 of the long side of the second stop satisfies the following formula: L4> Horizontal angle of view of the receiving optical system x Equivalent focal length in a horizontal direction of the receiving optical system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Argo Al (US 20220155497 A1) disclosed in Fig. 2A, 2B, paragraph [0032], two cylindrical lenses C1 and C2 are positioned next to the lens L along the z-axis. Lens C1 may be a negative cylindrical lens and lens C2 may be a positive cylindrical lens which may shortening the focal length fx along x-axis than the focal length fy along y-axis. Such that the lidar system is associated with a first focal length in a first direction associated with a scene FoV, and a second focal length in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction and associated with an instantaneous FoV.
Gnecchi et al. (US 20180164413 A1) disclosed in Fig. 4, paragraph [0023]-[0031], the aperture stop has dimensions to match the required angle of view according to
Where Focal length of receiver lens: f
Sensor angle of view: Өxy
Aperture stop dimensions: Pxy
/CHIA-LING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645