DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to: Application filed 06 Mar. 2026
Claims 1-23 are pending in this case. Claims 1, 10 and 17 are independent claims
Applicant’s Response
In Applicant’s Response dated 06 Mar. 2026, Applicant amended claims 1, 3, 10, 12 and 17; added new claims 21-23; argued against all rejections previously set forth in the Office Action dated 22 Jan. 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaza et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0405503 A1; Filed: Jun. 22, 2021) (hereinafter “Kaza”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kaza disclose a system for collecting and providing perfection documents using a rules engine via a graphical user interface (GUI), the system comprising:
one or more memories (0113-0114); and
one or more processors, communicatively coupled to the one or more memories (0113-0114),
configured to:
obtain, via the GUI, first information of a first document (0026-0027; 0040; 0052);
obtain, via the GUI, second information of a second document (0026-0027; 0040; 0052);
determine, based on the first information, one or more base documents associated
with modifying the first document to indicate the second document (0045-0046; 0050-0052; 0055; 0059; 0081);
detect, using the rules engine and based on a comparison of the first information
to the second information, one or more perfection targets associated with modifying the
first document (0045-0046; 0050-0052; 0055; 0059; 0081);
determine, using an entity database and based on the first information and the
second information, one or more perfection documents for the one or more perfection
targets (0050-0052; 0055; 0059; 0081),
wherein the one or more perfection documents are provided by a first
entity identified using the entity database (0050-0052; 0060; 0083; 0086; 0046; 0088); and
provide, via the GUI, an indication of the one or more base documents and the
one or more perfection documents (0045-0046; 0050-0052; 0055; 0059; 0081),
wherein at least one of the one or more base documents or the one or more
perfection documents are accessible via a graphical element of the GUI (0046; 0088).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Kaza disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to detect the one or more perfection targets, are configured to:
determine a difference between a parameter an indicated by the first information and the
parameter as indicated by the second information (0040; 0056).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Kaza disclose the system of claim 2, wherein the parameter is a non-discretionary parameter for modifying the first document to indicate the second document via the first entity (0040; 0056).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Kaza disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to obtain the first information, are configured to:
provide, for display via the GUI, graphical elements for inputting one or more non-discretionary parameters for modifying the first document to indicate the second document (0040; 0056).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Kaza disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to obtain the first information, are configured to:
provide, to one or more server devices, an identifier of an item associated with the first
document (0036; 0038); and
obtain, from the one or more server devices, the first information (0034; 0038).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Kaza disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the first entity is associated with a first jurisdiction, and wherein the one or more processors, to detect the one or more perfection targets, are configured to:
determine that the first information indicates that the first document is associated with the
first jurisdiction and that an item associated with the first document is registered with a second
jurisdiction (0043-0044; 0050; 0054); and
determine that the first entity is to be associated with the one or more perfection
documents based on a level of effort parameter for modifying the first document to indicate the
second document associated with (0040-0044; 0050; 0054):
the one or more perfection documents associated with the first entity and the first
jurisdiction (0042-0044; 0050; 0054), and
another one or more perfection documents associated with a second entity and the
second jurisdiction (0043-0044; 0050; 0054).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Kaza disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more perfection targets include at least one of:
a target jurisdiction in which modifying the first document to indicate the second
document is to occur (0043-0044; 0050; 0054), or
one or more users of the first document.
Regarding dependent claim 8, Kaza disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to detect the one or more perfection targets, are configured to:
determine a difference between a parameter and indicated by the first information and the
parameter as indicated by the second information (0040-0044; 0050; 0054; 0069); and
generate a modification flag to indicate that a perfection document, of the one or more
perfection documents, is to be associated with addressing the difference (0040-0044; 0050; 0054).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Kaza disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to detect the one or more perfection targets, are configured to:
determine that at least one of:
the first information indicates that the first document is associated with a first
jurisdiction and that an item associated with the first document is registered with a second jurisdiction (0044; 0050; 0054), or
the second information indicates that the second information is associated with
the second jurisdiction or a third jurisdiction; and
determine the first entity based on:
the first entity being associated with the first jurisdiction if the entity database
indicates that the first jurisdiction permits modifying the first document to indicate the
second document with an ownership-registration jurisdiction mismatch or an ownership-
security jurisdiction mismatch, or
the first entity being associated with the second jurisdiction or the third
jurisdiction if the entity database indicates that the first jurisdiction does not permit
modifying the first document to indicate the second document with the ownership-
registration jurisdiction mismatch or the ownership-security jurisdiction mismatch (0043-0044; 0050; 0054; 0095-0096).
Regarding independent claim 10, Kaza disclose a method for collecting and providing perfection documents via a rules engine, comprising:
obtaining, by a device, first information of a first document (0026-0027; 0040; 0052);
obtaining, by the device, second information of a second document (0026-0027; 0040; 0052);
determining, by the device using the rules engine and based on the first information, one
or more base documents associated with modifying the first document to indicate the second
document (0045-0046; 0050-0052; 0055; 0059; 0081);
detecting, by the device using the rules engine and based on a comparison of the first
information to the second information, one or more perfection targets associated with modifying
the first document to indicate the second document (0045-0046; 0050-0052; 0055; 0059; 0081);
determining, by the device using an entity database and based on the first information and
the second information, one or more perfection documents for the one or more perfection targets,
wherein the one or more perfection documents are provided by a first entity identified using the entity database (0045-0046; 0050-0052; 0055; 0059; 0081); and
providing, by the device, an indication of the one or more base documents and the one or
more perfection documents (0045-0046; 0050-0052; 0055; 0059; 0081).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Kaza disclose the method of claim 10, wherein detecting the one or more perfection targets comprises:
determining a difference between a parameter as indicated by the first information and
the parameter as indicated by the second information (0040; 0056).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Kaza disclose the method of claim 11, wherein the parameter is a non-discretionary parameter for modifying the first document to indicate the second document via the first entity (0040; 0056).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Kaza disclose the method of claim 10, wherein obtaining the first information comprises:
providing, for display, graphical elements for inputting one or more non-discretionary
parameters for modifying the first document to indicate the second document (0040; 0056).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Kaza disclose the method of claim 10, wherein obtaining the first information comprises:
providing, to one or more server devices, an identifier of an item associated with the first
document (0034; 0038); and
obtaining, from the one or more server devices, the first information (0034; 0038).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Kaza disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the first entity is associated with a first jurisdiction, and wherein detecting the one or more perfection targets comprises:
determining that the first information indicates that the first document is associated with
the first jurisdiction and that an item associated with the first document is registered with a
second jurisdiction (0043-0044; 0050; 0054); and
determining that the first entity is to be associated with the one or more perfection
documents based on a level of effort parameter for modifying the first document to indicate the
second document associated with (0043-0044; 0050; 0054):
the one or more perfection documents associated with the first entity and the first
jurisdiction (0043-0044; 0050; 0054), and
another one or more perfection documents associated with a second entity and the
second jurisdiction (0043-0044; 0050; 0054).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Kaza disclose the method of claim 10, further comprising:
determining a difference between a parameter as indicated by the first information and
the parameter as indicated by the second information (0040-0044; 0050; 0054; 0069); and
generating a modification flag to indicate that a perfection document, of the one or more
perfection documents, is to be associated with addressing the difference (0040-0044; 0050; 0054).
Regarding independent claim 17, Kaza disclose a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions, the set of instructions comprising:
one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a device,
cause the device to:
obtain first information of a first document (0026-0027; 0040; 0052);
obtain second information of a second document (0026-0027; 0040; 0052) (0045-0046; 0050-0052; 0055; 0059; 0081);
determine, using a rules engine and based on the first information, one or more
base documents associated with modifying the first document to indicate the second
document;
detect, using the rules engine and based on a comparison of the first information
to the second information, one or more perfection targets associated with modifying the
first document to indicate the second document (0045-0046; 0050-0052; 0055; 0059; 0081) ;
determine, using an entity database and based on the first information and the
second information, one or more perfection documents for the one or more perfection
targets (0050-0052; 0055; 0059; 0081),
wherein the one or more perfection documents are provided by a first entity identified using the entity database (0045-0046; 0050-0052; 0055; 0059; 0081); and
provide an indication of the one or more base documents and the one or more
perfection documents (0045-0046; 0050-0052; 0055; 0059; 0081).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Kaza disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the one or more instructions, that cause the device to detect the one or more perfection targets, cause the device to:
determine a difference between a parameter as indicated by the first information and the
parameter as indicated by the second information (0040; 0056).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Kaza disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the one or more instructions, that cause the device to obtain the first information, cause the device to:
provide, for display, graphical elements for inputting one or more non-discretionary
parameters for modifying the first document to indicate the second document (0040; 0056).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Kaza disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the one or more instructions, that cause the device to obtain the first information, cause the device to:
provide, to one or more server devices, an identifier of an item associated with the first
document (0036; 0038); and
obtain, from the one or more server devices, the first information (0034; 0038).
NOTE
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/James J Debrow/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2174
571-272-5768