DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/8/24 was reviewed and considered with the exception of the NPL documents. The links to the videos were not accessible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S Patent No. 10,827,881 to DeVito et al.
In regard to claims 1, 7, 10 and 13, DeVito et al. disclose a stand mixer M defining a vertical direction, a lateral direction, and a transverse direction, the vertical, lateral, and transverse directions being mutually perpendicular, the stand mixer comprising: a housing; a motor disposed in the housing; a mixing shaft operably coupled to the motor; a power take off P at the housing (See Fig. 2); and a masher attachment 2 coupled to the power take off of the housing, the masher attachment comprising: a transmission 8 mechanically coupled to the power take off; a masher drum 4 coupled to the transmission, the masher drum configured for receipt of food items for mashing; and a funnel 16 coupled to a bottom side of the masher drum (See Figs. 1 and 3 and Col. 2, Line 45 – Col. 3, Line 21).
In regard to claims 2, 8 and 14, DeVito et al. disclose a stand mixer, wherein the masher drum of the masher attachment comprises a masher disk 22 configured to rotate within the masher drum (see Fig. 3 and Col. 3, Line 41 – Col. 4, Line 3). As broadly as claimed, sweeper crank 22 reads on the cited claims and the limitations of a “masher disk”, as the crank is configured to “urge the powdered ingredients” through the openings of basket 20. Applicant is advised to structurally distinguish the masher disk of the instant invention over the masher disk as seen and disclosed in DeVito et al.
In regard to claims 3, 9 and 15-16, DeVito et al. disclose a stand mixer, wherein the masher drum of the masher attachment comprises a plurality of holes 20 extending through the bottom side of the masher drum (see Fig. 3 and Col. 3, Line 41 – Col. 4, Line 3). With regard to claim 16, see rejections above and the disclosure of funnel 16.
In regard to claims 4, 11 and 17, DeVito et al. disclose a stand mixer, further comprising a bowl 8 positioned beneath the masher attachment, wherein the funnel of the masher attachment is configured to direct mashed food product to the bowl (See Fig. 4 and Col. 4, Lines 4-25).
In regard to claim 5, DeVito et al. disclose a stand mixer, wherein the bowl of the stand mixer is a main mixing bowl positioned beneath the mixing shaft in the vertical direction (See Fig. 4 and Col. 4, Lines 4-25).
In regard to claims 6, 12 and 18, DeVito et al. disclose a stand mixer, 6. The stand mixer of claim 1, further comprising an opening 48 defined through a top side of the masher drum, the opening configured for receipt of food items for mashing (see Fig. 3 and Col. 3, Lines 1-21).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The incorporation of different rotating tools within mixing attachments/devices is extremely well known in the art as evident by the following references, and is not considered to be a novel or inventive feature:
US 2022/0234232 – See Figs. 4-6 and 10.
US 10751897 – See Figs. 8-12.
US 9675101 – See Figs. 16-24.
US 9167938 – See Figs. 3-7.
/MATTHEW J KASZTEJNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3993