DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “wherein the base, wherein the first prong, the second prong, the first conductive lip, and the second conductive lip are orthogonal to the center portion, etc.” It is unclear from this language whether the base is claimed to be orthogonal to the portions; the second ‘wherein’ should be deleted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TONG (US 20230238850).
Regarding claim 1, TONG discloses an electrical connector comprising:
a junction box comprising a plurality of plugs 222 comprising a base 18, a first prong 286, a second prong 286, a first conductive lip and a second conductive lip, the first prong 286 and the second prong 286 extend from the base 18, the first conductive lip (Fig. 7) extending from the first prong 286, the second conductive lip extending from the second prong 286, the first prong 286 and the second prong 286 being disposed between the first conductive lip and the second conductive lip (see Fig. 7); and
a busbar 214 comprising a plurality of sockets 326 comprising a center portion, a first side portion, and a second side portion, the center portion being disposed between the first side portion and the second side portion, the first side portion and the center portion defining a first through hole, the second side portion and the center portion defining a second through hole (Figs. 7 and 1B);
the plurality of plugs 222 and the plurality of sockets 326 being electrically conductive (para [0052-0053]) and;
the plurality of plugs 222 being connected to the plurality of sockets 326, the first prong 286 being disposed in and extending through the first through hole and the second prong 286 being disposed in and extending through the second through hole, the first conductive lip abutting the first side portion and the second conductive lip abutting the second side portion (Figs. 7 and 1B).
Regarding claim 3, TONG discloses the electrical connector of claim 1, wherein the first prong 286 abutting the first side portion, wherein the second prong 286 abutting the second side portion (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 4, TONG discloses the electrical connector of claim 3, wherein the base 18, the first prong 286, and the second prong 286 define a center notch, wherein the center notch is disposed between the first prong 286 and the second prong 286, wherein the center portion is disposed in the center notch (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 5, TONG discloses the electrical connector of claim 4, wherein a first airgap is defined between the first prong 286 and the center portion such that the first prong does not abut the center portion, wherein a second airgap is defined between the second prong 286 and the center portion such that the second prong does not abut the center portion (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 6, TONG discloses the electrical connector of claim 5, wherein the plurality of plugs 222 are configured to be removed from the plurality of sockets 326 by pinching the first prong 286 and the second prong 286 together within the first airgap and the second airgap, respectively (see para [0051]).
Regarding claim 7, TONG discloses the electrical connector of claim 1, wherein the base 18, the first prong 286, the second prong 286, the first conductive lip, and the second conductive lip are co-planar wherein the center portion, the first side portion, and the second side portion are co-planar, wherein the base, wherein the first prong, the second prong, the first conductive lip, and the second conductive lip are orthogonal to the center portion, the first side portion, and the second side portion. (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 9, TONG discloses the electrical connector of claim 1, wherein the center portion, the first side portion, the second side portion, the first through hole, and the second through hole comprise a rectangular cross-section (see Fig. 7, ).
Regarding claim 10, TONG discloses the electrical connector of claim 1, the busbar 214 comprising a molding 1518 comprising a first molded lip 1550 and a second molded lip 1550 for each of the plurality of sockets 326, wherein the first conductive lip abutting the first molded lip 1550 and the second conductive lip abutting the second molded lip 1550 wherein the molding is an electrical insulator and separates the plurality of sockets (see Fig. 19 and para [0064]).
Regarding claim 11, TONG discloses the electrical connector of claim 10, wherein the first conductive lip is disposed between the first side portion and the first molded lip 1550 and the second conductive lip is disposed between the second side portion and the second molded lip 1550 (Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 12, TONG discloses the electrical connector of claim 1, the busbar 214 comprising a molding 1518 comprising a first tab 1550 and a second tab 1550 for each of the plurality of sockets 326, wherein the first tab 1550 is disposed below the first side portion and the second tab is disposed below the second side portion 1550 wherein the molding is an electrical insulator and separates the plurality of sockets (see Fig. 19 and para [0064]).
Regarding claim 13, TONG discloses the electrical connector of claim 12, wherein the first tab and the second tab abut the base 18 (para [0064]).
Regarding claim 14, TONG discloses the electrical connector of claim 1, the busbar 214 comprising a plurality of bus pins 1522 connected to the plurality of sockets 326.
Regarding claim 15, TONG discloses an electric motor comprising:
an electrical connection comprising:
a junction box comprising a plurality of plugs 222 comprising a base 18, a first prong 286, a second prong 286, a first conductive lip and a second conductive lip, the first prong 286 and the second prong 286 extending from the base 18, the first conductive lip extending from the first prong 286, the second conductive lip extending from the second prong 286, the first prong 286 and the second prong 286 being disposed between the first conductive lip and the second conductive lip (see Fig. 7); and
a busbar 214 comprising a plurality of sockets 326 comprising a center portion, a first side portion, and a second side portion, the center portion being disposed between the first side portion and the second side portion, the first side portion and the center portion defining a first through hole, the second side portion and the center portion defining a second through hole the plurality of plugs and the plurality of sockets being electrically conductive (para [0052-0053]);
the plurality of plugs 222 are connected to the plurality of sockets 326, the first prong 286 being disposed in and extending through the first through hole and the second prong 286 being disposed in and extending through the second through hole, the first conductive lip abutting the first side portion and the second conductive lip abutting the second side portion (Fig. 7);
a stator 2 comprising a stator core and a winding 6; the winding 6is connected to the busbar 214.
a rotor 4.
Regarding claim 19, TONG discloses a method comprising:
inserting a plurality of plugs 222 of a junction box into a plurality of sockets 326 of a busbar 214 such that the plurality of plugs 222 are connected to the plurality of sockets 326, the plurality of plugs and the plurality of sockets being electrically conductive (para [0052-0053]), the plurality of plugs 222 comprising a base 18, a first prong 286, a second prong 286, a first conductive lip and a second conductive lip, the first prong 286 and the second prong 286 extending from the base 18, the first conductive lip extending from the first prong 286, the second conductive lip extending from the second prong 286, the first prong 286 and the second prong 286 being disposed between the first conductive lip and the second conductive lip (Fig. 7),
the plurality of sockets 326 comprising a center portion, a first side portion, and a second side portion, the center portion being disposed between the first side portion and the second side portion, the first side portion and the center portion defining a first through hole, the second side portion and the center portion defining a second through hole (Figs. 7),
the first prong 286 being disposed in and extending through the first through hole and the second prong 286 being disposed in and extending through the second through hole, the first conductive lip abutting the first side portion and the second conductive lip abutting the second side portion (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 20, TONG discloses the method of claim 19, comprising:
pinching together the first prong 286 and the second prong 286 such that the first conductive lip does not abut the first side portion and is aligned with the first through hole and such that the second conductive lip does not abut the second side portion and is aligned with the second through hole (see Fig. 7); and
removing the plurality of plugs from the plurality of sockets (see para [0051]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TONG in view of BAEK (US 20220376581 previously disclosed).
Regarding claim 2, TONG discloses the electrical connector of claim 1, However, TONG does not disclose the plurality of plugs are a first-phase plug, a second-phase plug, and a third-phase plug, wherein the plurality of sockets are a first-phase socket, a second-phase socket, and a third-phase socket, wherein the first-phase plug, the second-phase plug, and the third-phase plug are connected to the first-phase socket, the second-phase socket, and the third-phase socket, respectively.
BAEK discloses a plurality of plugs 141 are a first-phase plug, a second-phase plug, and a third-phase plug, wherein a plurality of sockets 320 are a first-phase socket, a second-phase socket, and a third-phase socket, wherein the first-phase plug, the second-phase plug, and the third-phase plug are connected to the first-phase socket, the second-phase socket, and the third-phase socket, respectively (see para [0039]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the electrical connector of TONG with first-, second-, and third-phase plugs and sockets similar to that of BAEK.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide a three-phase induction motor with coils drawn out from the drive motor which is easily assembled as taught by BAEK (see para [0011])
Regarding claim 16, TONG discloses the electric motor of claim 15.
However, TONG does not disclose the electric motor is a three-phase electric motor, the plurality of plugs are a first-phase plug, a second-phase plug, and a third-phase plug, the plurality of sockets are a first-phase socket, a second-phase socket, and a third-phase socket, the first-phase plug, the second-phase plug, and the third-phase plug are connected to the first-phase socket, the second-phase socket, and the third-phase socket, respectively.
BAEK discloses a plurality of plugs 141 are a first-phase plug, a second-phase plug, and a third-phase plug, a plurality of sockets 320 are a first-phase socket, a second-phase socket, and a third-phase socket, the first-phase plug, the second-phase plug, and the third-phase plug are connected to the first-phase socket, the second-phase socket, and the third-phase socket, respectively (see para [0039]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the electrical connector of TONG with first-, second-, and third-phase plugs and sockets similar to that of BAEK.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide a three-phase induction motor with coils drawn out from the drive motor which is easily assembled as taught by BAEK (see para [0011])
Regarding claim 17, TONG in view of BAEK teaches the electric motor of claim 16,
TONG discloses the busbar 214 comprising a plurality of bus pins 1522 and a neutral bus 14, wherein the plurality of bus pins 1522 are connected to the plurality of sockets 326, wherein the winding 6 is connected to the plurality of bus pins 1522 and the neutral bus 14, wherein TONG in view of BAEK teaches the plurality of bus pins 1522 comprise one or more first-phase bus pins, one or more second-phase bus pins, and one or more third-phase bus pins.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TONG in view of BAEK as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of KIM (US 20200106328).
Regarding claim 18, TONG in view of BAEK discloses the electric motor of claim 17,
However, TONG in view of BAEK does not teach the winding is a hairpin winding.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the motor of TONG in view of BAEK with a hairpin winding similar to that of KIM
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide a motor with three-phase bus bars that protects against unintentional discharge and enhances cooling efficiency and may prevent performance of the motor from being degraded, as taught by KIM (see para [0012] and [0041]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TONG in view of CHAMBERLIN US 20130175853.
Regarding claim 8, TONG discloses the electrical connector of claim 7.
However, each of the plurality of plugs 222 are not co-planar (see Fig. 18A, they are nearly co-planar in this embodiment).
CHAMBERLIN discloses an electrical connector with each of a plurality of plugs 62/63/64 are co-planar (para [0044]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the electrical connector of TONG with each of a plurality of plugs are co-planar, similar to CHAMBERLIN.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide flush engagement surfaces allowing each prong to bend inwardly during installation and then snap back outwardly into engagement as taught by CHAMBERLIN (para [0044]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. ZHANG US 20210099047 discloses an electrical connector with electrically conductive sockets and plugs assembled by pinching prongs.
/JUSTIN STEFANON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834