DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species B in the reply filed on January 21, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 14 and 20-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 21, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “thick-walled” in claim 15 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “thick-walled” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Agfa (GB 908,779 A).
Agfa teaches a composition comprising cellulose acetate (polysaccharide ester) and zinc oxide (ZnO, basic additive with solubility and pH anticipating the claimed ranges) (Pg. 3, Lns. 65-80). Agfa teaches that the zinc oxide is in the form of particles dispersed in the polymer in 25 wt% (Pg. 1, Lns. 65-80; Examples 1 and 6). Agfa teaches the composition cast on a metal plate (article that is not a film) (Pg. 2, Lns. 95-105).
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-13, 15-16, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bastioli et al. (US Pat. No. 6,730,724).
Regarding Claims 1-6 and 15-16: Bastioli et al. teaches a composition comprising cellulose acetate and calcium carbonate (CaCO3, basic additive with solubility and pH anticipating the claimed ranges) wherein the calcium carbonate is present in 5 wt% overall and 12.2 wt% relative to the combined weight of the cellulose acetate and calcium carbonate (Table 1, Ex. 5; 5 wt% calcium carbonate to 41 wt% combined weight of the cellulose acetate and calcium carbonate). Bastioli et al. teaches that the calcium carbonate and cellulose acetate are mixed directly, therefore the calcium carbonate would be in the form of dispersed particles (4:35-55). Bastioli et al. teaches the compositions are part of an injection-molded article (1:1-10 and 5:10-25).
Regarding Claims 10-13: Bastioli et al. teaches the composition comprising 7.8 wt% sorbitol ethoxylate (Table 1, Ex. 5). Bastioli et al. teaches that glycerol (inhibitor of autocondensation reactions) may be utilized in place of sorbitol ethoxylate (4:15-25).
Regarding Claim 18: Bastioli et al. teaches that alternatively, magnesium hydroxide can be utilized in place of calcium carbonate (2:5-15).
Regarding Claim 19: The composition of Bastioli et al. does not include ZnO.
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 16, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xiao et al. (English machine translation of CN 103413906 A).
Regarding Claims 1-4, 6, and 9: Xiao et al. teaches a composition comprising 3.5 g of cellulose acetate and 0.7 g of NaA zeolite (16% zeolite relative to total of zeolite and cellulose) ([0032]). Xiao et al. further teaches that aluminum oxide (Al2O3) or magnesium oxide (MgO) (basic additives with pH anticipating the claimed ranges) may alternatively be utilized in place of the zeolite ([0016], [0046]). Xiao et al. teaches the zeolite or aluminum oxide mixed as particles ranging from 0.04 to 5.0 µm (distributed particles wherein all the particles are less than 10 µm) ([0016]). Xiao et al. teaches the composition as part of a battery (article that is not a film) ([0002] and [0066]).
Regarding Claim 5: MgO has a solubility in water at 20°C of 6.2x10-4 g/100ml.
Regarding Claims 7, 16, and 18: The disclosure of Al2O2 in general reads on basic Al2O2 as there are only three types of Al2O2 (basic, acidic, and neutral). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art can immediately envisage all the species of the genus Al2O2.
Regarding Claim 19: The composition of Xiao et al. does not include ZnO.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agfa (GB 908,779 A).
Agfa teaches the article of claim 1 as set forth above. Agfa teaches that the zinc oxide has an average grain size of 0.5 microns (Pg. 2, Lns. 40-60; Examples 1 and 6).
Agfa et al. does not teach that the D90 particle size is less than or equal to 10 microns. However, it is common practice to optimize result effective variables such as grain size. Agfa et al. teaches that grain sizes should be 0.3-0.7 microns and that too large a grain size the spacing of photoconductor crystals from one another becomes too large. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to keep the grain sizes as small as possible and as close to the average of 0.3-0.7 microns, which would exclude particles over 10 microns.
Claims 10-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (English machine translation of CN 103413906 A).
Xiao et al. teaches the article of claim 1 as set forth above.
Regarding Claims 10-11: Xiao et al. teaches that the composition may comprise an additive such as methanol or ethanol (alcohol; inhibitor of autocondensation reactions) ([0015]).
Xiao et al. does not teach a specific embodiment comprising each of cellulose acetate, MgO or Al2O3, and methanol or ethanol. However, at the time of the invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to employ methanol or ethanol together with the cellulose acetate and MgO or Al2O3 with a reasonable expectation of success as Xiao et al. discloses that methanol or ethanol are suitable additives for the composition.
Regarding Claim 13: Xiao et al. teaches that the methanol or ethanol (additive) is present in 10-800 parts relative to about 2065-5920 parts total composition (0.16-38.7 wt%) ([0013]-[0015]).
Xiao et al. does not teach with sufficient specificity the claimed range of 0.001 to 10 wt%. However, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 9-13, 15-16, and 18-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,920,260. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim substantially similar articles comprising a polysaccharide ester and particles of a basic additive in the same amounts. The claims differ in that the patented claims are limited to a fiber of filter tow whereas the instant claims broadly recite an article other than a film. However, the fiber of filter tow anticipates the more general recitation of an article.
Claims 1-7, 9-13, 15-16, and 18-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,352,716. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim substantially similar articles comprising a polysaccharide ester and particles of a basic additive in the same amounts. The claims differ in that the patented claims are limited to a fiber of filter tow whereas the instant claims broadly recite an article other than a film. However, the fiber of filter tow anticipates the more general recitation of an article.
Correspondence
/PETER F GODENSCHWAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 February 27, 2026