DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits in response to communications filed by Applicant on February 8, 2024. Claims 27-46 are currently pending and examined below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on is/are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 27 & 36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,948,468. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claims are directed an apparatus for detecting and avoiding conflict alone a route of a robot based on determining a plurality of angles that describe the conflict. Claims 27 and 36 of the instant patent application appears to be a broader concept of the Patent claim 1 since it does not require a region centered on the robot is divided into sectors, and the first angle is evaluated to determine if the moving object is within one of the sectors. Furthermore, a combination of claims 27 or 36 with claim 39 of the instant application appears to be obvious variable of the patent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 27-, 34-38, 43-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US2002/0152029 (“Sainthuile”).
Regarding claim(s) 27, 36. Sainthuile discloses an apparatus for detecting and avoiding conflict along a route of a robot, the apparatus comprising:
a memory configured to store computer-readable program code; and processing circuitry configured to access the memory, and execute the computer-readable program code to cause the apparatus to at least (para. 3-4, Traffic Collision Avoidance System (TCAS)):
access or determining trajectories of the robot and a moving object forward in time from respective positions of the robot and the moving object (para. 15-para. 19); detect a conflict between the robot and the moving object from a comparison of the trajectories (e.g. a first aircraft following a first route called an initial route, in order to resolve a conflict of traffic with a second aircraft following a second route that may be identical to the first route, on the basis of knowledge of a minimum safety distance S to be maintained between two aircraft, and of the positions X.sub.1 and X.sub.2 and of the horizontal speed vectors {right arrow over (V.sub.1)} and {right arrow over (V.sub.2)} of the two aircraft, said method comprising the following steps:);
select a maneuver to avoid the conflict (para. 15-24, the determining of at least one collision-risk avoidance path for the first aircraft comprising a first evasive path constituted by a rectilinear segment having the start-of-avoidance-maneuver point P.sub.SOM as its point of origin, one of the new values of heading angle .THETA..sub.1b or .THETA..sub.1c obtained at the previous step as its heading and having, as its end, a rotating point P.sub.T chosen beyond a point C.sub.PA1 where the separation distance between the two aircraft passes through a minimum value equal to a minimum safety distance S, and, beyond the rotating point P.sub.T, a second homing path to the initial route.), including:
determine a plurality of angles that describe the conflict, the plurality of angles including a first angle at which the robot observes the moving object, and the plurality of angles include either a second angle at which the moving object observes the robot or a third angle between the trajectories at a crossing point of the trajectories (fig. 1, fig. 2, para. 82-87, illustrates a plurality of angles and FIG. 2 is a geometrical figure illustrating the resolution of a case of collision risk with two possibilities of evasive heading, {right arrow over (.THETA..sub.1b)} and {right arrow over (.THETA..sub.1c)}, for the first aircraft, both possibilities leading the second aircraft to go outside the angle at which it perceives the circle of security C.sub.1 of the first aircraft, either to the side {right arrow over (X.sub.2b)} of the angle at which the second aircraft perceives the circle of protection C.sub.1 of the first aircraft, oriented most closely to its horizontal speed vector {right arrow over (V.sub.2)}, or to the side {right arrow over (X.sub.2c)} of the angle at which the second aircraft perceives the circle of protection C.sub.1 of the first aircraft oriented at the greatest distance from its horizontal speed vector {right arrow over (V.sub.2)}. ),
wherein a region centered on the robot is divided into sectors surrounding the robot (para. 77, The first aircraft is surrounded by a volume of protection whose section in the horizontal plane of FIG. 1 is a circle C.sub.1 3 3centered on X.sub.1, its radius being a minimum separation distance S for which it is sought to obtain compliance and which is chosen to be greater than or equal to the standard distance dictated by air traffic rules for the security of traffic when such a standard exists.);
evaluate the first angle to determine if the moving object is within one of the sectors; and
evaluate the plurality of angles to select the maneuver to avoid the conflict which includes applying at least one of a plurality of conditional statements (para. 116-123, Since the angles in the right-hand part of the above relationship can all be determined from the knowledge of the positions and horizontal speed vectors of the two aircraft, and from the minimum permissible separation distance between two aircraft, the angle {right arrow over (.phi..sub.b)} is determined too. Consequently, it is enough to make a trace-back to the previous relationships to be able to determine the value of the new heading {right arrow over (.THETA..sub.1b)} that the first aircraft must be made to adopt in order to eliminate the risks of collision by bringing the path of the second aircraft to the side {right arrow over (X.sub.2b)} of the angle at which it perceives the circle of protection of the first aircraft, this side {right arrow over (X.sub.2b)} being the closest in the orientation of its horizontal speed vector {right arrow over (V.sub.2)}. This value of the new heading {right arrow over (.THETA..sub.1b)} is determined through the simple knowledge of the positions and horizontal speed vectors of the aircraft and the minimum permissible separation distance between two aircraft.); and
output an indication of the maneuver for use in at least one of guidance, navigation or control of the robot to avoid the conflict (para. 146, FIG. 3 is a drawing illustrating an exemplary full avoidance path by which an aircraft 10, travelling through a rectilinear segment 11 of an, initially planned route, firstly resolves a risk of collision with another aircraft and secondly homes in on this rectilinear segment 11 of the initially planned route at the cost of a minimum detour. This avoidance path consists of two successive rectilinear segments, a first evasive rectilinear segment 12 and a second homing rectilinear segment 13.).
Regarding claim(s) 34. Sainthuile discloses wherein the conditional statements include a first conditional statement by which the first angle and the second angle are evaluated to determine if the trajectories cross, a second conditional statement evaluated when the first conditional statement is evaluated to true, and a third conditional statement evaluated when the first conditional statement is evaluated to false (FIG. 7 is a flow chart summarizing the main steps of the method that has just been described during its implementation on board an aircraft A.sub.1, for the resolution of traffic conflicts or medium-term risks of collision with other aircraft A.sub.2, . . . , A.sub.i, . . . , A.sub.n moving in the vicinity.).
Regarding claim(s) 35. Sainthuile discloses wherein the sectors into which the region is divided depend on evaluation of the first conditional statement, the region divided into fewer sectors when the first conditional statement is evaluated to false, and the first angle is evaluated by the third conditional statement, relative to when the first conditional statement is evaluated to true, and the first angle is evaluated by the second conditional statement (FIG. 7 is a flow chart summarizing the main steps of the method that has just been described during its implementation on board an aircraft A.sub.1, for the resolution of traffic conflicts or medium-term risks of collision with other aircraft A.sub.2, . . . , A.sub.i, . . . , A.sub.n moving in the vicinity.).
Regarding claim(s) 37. Sainthuile discloses wherein the conflict is of a first type in which a closest point of approach of the moving object and the robot is within a defined horizontal miss distance (MMD) threshold, and the plurality of angles includes the second angle, and wherein the apparatus is caused to evaluate the first angle and the second angle and apply the first angle and the second angle to an algorithm including conditional statements by which the first angle and the second angle are evaluated to select the maneuver to avoid the conflict ([0080] With the assumption commonly made for civilian aircraft having constant horizontal speed vectors in the medium and short terms, the second aircraft keeps the same horizontal speed vector {right arrow over (V.sub.rel)} relative to the first aircraft on a period of time sufficient to make it certain that, if nothing is done, it will follow a path that is the oriented straight line {right arrow over (X.sub.2.alpha.)} and will pass to a minimum distance CD, from the first aircraft, that is smaller than the stipulated minimum distance S. There is therefore a risk of collision greater than the risk that was acceptable when the minimum distance was set at the value S. To avoid this collision risk it is necessary, by a maneuver of the first aircraft, to bring the path of the second aircraft, relative to the first aircraft,).
Regarding claim(s) 38. Sainthuile discloses wherein the conditional statements include a first conditional statement by which the first angle and the second angle are evaluated to determine if the trajectories cross, a second conditional statement evaluated when the first conditional statement is evaluated to true, and a third conditional statement evaluated when the first conditional statement is evaluated to false (para. 106-128, [0128] The angles in the right-hand part of this angular relationship can all be determined from knowledge of the minimum permissible separation distance between two aircraft and of the positions and horizontal speed vectors of the two aircraft.).
Regarding claim(s) 43. Sainthuile discloses wherein the conflict is of a second type in which a closest point of approach of the moving object and the robot is outside a defined horizontal miss distance (HMD) threshold, and the plurality of angles includes the third angle, and wherein the apparatus is caused to evaluate the first angle and the third angle to determine the maneuver to avoid the conflict (para. 127-131, [0130] The oriented angle {right arrow over (.alpha..sub.c)}, existing between the oriented straight line {right arrow over (X.sub.2X.sub.1)} that links the position X.sub.2 of the second aircraft to the position X.sub.1 of the first aircraft and the horizontal speed vector {right arrow over (V.sub.rel.sup.c)} of the second aircraft relative to the first aircraft when the risks of collision are resolved and when the path of the second aircraft follows the oriented straight line {right arrow over (X.sub.2c)} that is indistinguishable from a side of the angle at which the second aircraft perceives the circle of protection C.sub.1 of the first aircraft, corresponds to the half-angle at which the second aircraft perceives the circle of protection C.sub.1 of the first aircraft. With regard to its direction of orientation, it has the following value: 13 c = arcsin ( S ; X 1 X 2 r; ) ( 7 )).
Regarding claim(s) 44. Sainthuile discloses wherein the conflict of the second type is detected from an estimation of the closest point of approach, wherein the first angle and the second angle are applied to an algorithm including conditional statements by which the first angle and the second angle are evaluated, wherein the conditional statements include a first conditional statement by which an uncertainty in the estimation is evaluated to determine if the uncertainty is less than a threshold uncertainty, and a second conditional statement evaluated when the first conditional statement is evaluated to true (para. 153-155, The point P.sub.T is chosen beyond the point C.sub.PA1 where the second aircraft passes to the minimum permissible distance S from the first aircraft, so that the second homing rectilinear segment (13 FIG. 3) whose heading is arbitrarily fixed at the value {right arrow over (.THETA.)}-2{right arrow over (.beta.)} is in keeping with the minimum permissible separation distance S from the second aircraft. Its position is indirectly accessible by means of the position of the fictitious rotating point P.sub.T' which is reached at the same time by the second aircraft. Indeed, this fictitious rotating point P.sub.T' is at a known relative distance D.sub.relPT from the point C'.sub.PA1 of the path of the second aircraft perceived from the first aircraft, corresponding to the minimum permissible separation distance between the two aircraft, travelled at a speed also known by the second aircraft.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 28-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sainthuile et al. US2002/0152029 (“Sainthuile”) in view of Dupray et al. US2017/0069214 (“Dupray”).
Regarding claim(s) 28. Sainthuile does not disclose wherein the sectors are divided into a first set of sectors and a second set of sectors each centered on the robot.
Dupray teaches emergency object avoidance procedure of a UAV. Additionally, the sectors are divided into a first set of sectors and a second set of sectors each centered on the robot (fig. 2, para. 211-219, it is likely the other object would be in the immediate zone A and/or the operating zone B near the end of the landing (or another operating process) even though the speed of the UAV may have slowed enough that the zones would probably be small. In this case, the UAV may need to know that it expects a contact (or collision) and adjust or ignore rules regarding other objects being in the immediate zone A and/or the operating zone B accordingly. In an embodiment,).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method of Sainthuile by incorporating the applied teaching of dividing a safety distance into multiple zones/sectors around the UAV as taught by Dupray to improve the risk of UAV collision and to improve UAV control maneuvers and one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim(s) 29. Sainthuile in view of Dupray further teaches the first set of sectors are disposed closer to the robot than the second set of sectors (Dupray: fig. 2, zone A and B).
Regarding claim(s) 30. Sainthuile in view of Dupray further teaches wherein the sectors are divided into a third set of sectors centered on the robot, and wherein the second set of sectors are divided into more sectors than the third set of sectors (Dupray: Zone, A, B, C).
Regarding claim(s) 31. Sainthuile in view of Dupray further teaches wherein the third set of sectors are divided into less sectors than the first set of sectors and the second set of sectors (Dupray: Zone, A, B, C).
Regarding claim(s) 32. Sainthuile in view of Dupray the first set of sectors are disposed closer to the robot than the second set of sectors; and the second set of sectors are disposed closer to the robot that the third set of sectors such that the second set of sectors are disposed between the first set of sectors and the second set of sectors (Dupray: fig. 2, para. 211-219, it is likely the other object would be in the immediate zone A and/or the operating zone B near the end of the landing (or another operating process) even though the speed of the UAV may have slowed enough that the zones would probably be small. In this case, the UAV may need to know that it expects a contact (or collision) and adjust or ignore rules regarding other objects being in the immediate zone A and/or the operating zone B accordingly. In an embodiment).
Regarding claim(s) 33. Sainthuile in view of Dupray wherein the first set of sectors are divided into five sectors, the second set of sectors are divided into three sectors, and the third set of sectors are divided into two sectors (Dupray: fig. 2, para. 211-219, it is likely the other object would be in the immediate zone A and/or the operating zone B near the end of the landing (or another operating process) even though the speed of the UAV may have slowed enough that the zones would probably be small. In this case, the UAV may need to know that it expects a contact (or collision) and adjust or ignore rules regarding other objects being in the immediate zone A and/or the operating zone B accordingly. In an embodiment).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 39-42 and 45-46 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Inquiry
/TRUC M DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658