CTNF 18/436,855 CTNF 72457 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 07-42-04 AIA A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 4/13/2026 has been entered. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 4, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kelford et al (2020/0102908). Kelford et al teach (1) An acoustically treated fairing assembly for a thrust reverser 26 of an aircraft, the thrust reverser 26 having a stowable blocker door 38, the acoustically treated fairing assembly comprising: a torque box 234, 232, 200, 67 fixed to the thrust reverser and including an outer wall 234, a forward side wall 232, and a rearward side wall 200; a bullnose fairing 67 attached to the torque box such that the bullnose fairing 67, the outer wall 234, the forward side wall 232, and the rearward side wall 200 define the outer boundary of a cavity [note the cavity may include 236 and 230, see Fig. 8] configured to attenuate noise from the aircraft which propagates through the thrust reverser; and a plurality of spaced apart frame members 74 extending axially within the cavity to divide the cavity into a plurality of circumferentially extending cavity sections 212, 74 or 236 each circumferentially extending cavity section having a forward portion of the bullnose fairing and a rearward portion [e.g. circa 209, 202 , 69] of the bullnose fairing associated therewith, the rearward portion being aft of a forward edge of the stowable blocker door 38 when the stowable blocker door 38 is in a stowed position [Fig. 6, 8], wherein the bullnose fairing associated with at least two of the circumferentially extending cavity sections has a perforated 66 forward cavity portion forming open paths 72 for air to flow from the thrust reverser 26 into the cavity [see ¶ 0045 which teaches perforations of the bullnose fairing / fan ramp 67]. (4) wherein the plurality of spaced apart frame members are spaced apart from each other in a range of 6-10 inches [inherent, some of 74 are spaced in that range]. (22) wherein the torque box is configured such that at least one of the outer wall 234, the forward side wall 232, and the rearward side wall 200 reflects acoustic energy entering the cavity via the open paths 72 [see ¶ 0043 teach the acoustic energy is reflected back, and note that at least the outer wall 234 is involved in the reflection] . 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 4 , is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Aten (2015/0108248). Aten teaches (1) An acoustically treated fairing assembly for a thrust reverser 26 of an aircraft, the thrust reverser having a stowable blocker door 38, the acoustically treated fairing assembly comprising: a torque box 58 fixed to the thrust reverser and including an outer wall [circa leadline for 58], a forward side wall [circa 67], and a rearward side wall [circa 68]; a bullnose fairing 10 attached to the torque box such that the bullnose fairing 10, outer wall [circa leadline for 58], a forward side wall [circa 67], and a rearward side wall [circa 68] define the outer boundary of a cavity [note that these elements clearly form an outer boundary of a cavity] configured to attenuate noise from the aircraft which propagates through the thrust reverser 26 [note that as a portion of the cavity attenuates noise, this is sufficient to read on a cavity configured to attenuate noise]; and a plurality of spaced apart frame members 74 extending axially within the cavity to divide the cavity into a plurality of circumferentially extending cavity sections, each circumferentially extending cavity section having a forward portion of the bullnose fairing and a rearward portion of the bullnose fairing associated therewith, the rearward portion being aft of a forward edge of the stowable blocker door when the stowable blocker door is in a stowed position [Fig. 5], wherein the bullnose fairing 10 associated with at least two of the circumferentially extending cavity sections has a perforated 72 forward cavity portion forming open paths 72 for air to flow from the thrust reverser 26 into the cavity. (4) wherein the plurality of spaced apart frame members are spaced apart from each other in a range of 6-10 inches [inherent, some of 74 are spaced in that range] . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 4, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelford et al (2020/0102908). In Kelford, the forward bracket 232 of the noise attenuation structure in Fig. 8 is welded to the torque box 58 and regarded as part of the “torque box” of the claims. Note that applicants are entitled to be their own lexicographers, and the structure of Kelford meets all the requirements in the claims to be regarded as part of the “torque box”. Alternately, as Kelford teaches the prior art torque box contains the acoustic attenuation [fan ramp 10 is part of the torque box 58, in ¶ 0038 and Figs. 3-5, the acoustic attenuation is within the torque box], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the forward wall/ bracket 232 of Kelford part of the torque box, e.g. by using a strong bracket 232 as it is already integrally attached / welded to the torque box . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over either Kelford et al (2020/0102908) or Aten (2015/0108248), as applied above, and further in view of Dyszkiewicz (11,131,456). Kelford et al and Aten teach the claimed invention with plurality of spaced apart frame members 74 extending axially within the cavity to divide the cavity into a plurality of circumferentially extending cavity sections. For an alternate treatment of a plurality of spaced apart frame members extending axially within the cavity to divide the cavity into a plurality of circumferentially extending cavity sections, Dyszkiewicz is applied. Dyszkiewicz teaches a plurality of spaced apart frame members 20 or 22 extending axially within the cavity to divide the cavity into a plurality of circumferentially extending cavity sections with width D1, D2, respectively. The frame members separate circumferentially cavity sections and disrupt circumferentially propagating acoustical waves [col. 5, lines 24-26]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a plurality of spaced apart frame members extending axially within the cavity to divide the cavity into a plurality of circumferentially extending cavity sections, as taught by Dyszkiewicz, to separate circumferentially cavity sections and disrupt circumferentially propagating acoustical waves. As for wherein the plurality of spaced apart frame members are spaced apart from each other in a range of 6-10 inches, this is regarded as an obvious matter of using the workable ranges in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the plurality of spaced apart frame members spaced apart from each other in a range of 6-10 inches, in order to utilize the workable ranges in the art . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of the above prior art applied above, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Berry et al (2019/0337632). The prior art do not teach (2) wherein the perforated forward cavity portion has an open area ratio in a range of 4 to 8 percent; nor (3) wherein the perforated forward cavity portion has an open area ratio in a range of 10 to 20 percent. Berry et al it is well known in the aircraft engine art, including the thrust reverser region [¶ 0038] to utilize an acoustic open ratio (2) wherein the perforated forward cavity portion has an open area ratio in a range of 4 to 8 percent [¶ 0042]. (3) wherein the perforated forward cavity portion has an open area ratio in a range of 10 to 20 percent [≥10% ¶ 0042]. Berry et al teach varying the open area ratio in order to effectively reduce the noise. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ an open area ratio in a range of 4 to 8 percent or in a range of 10 to 20 percent, as taught by Berry et al, as an obvious matter of using the workable ranges in the art to effectively reduce the noise . Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 10/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. For Kelford, applicant argues: “Kelford discloses a fan ramp 10 having a noise suppression structure 212 at the radially outer surface of a forward section (e.g., forward edge 67) of the fan ramp 10 forward of the torque box 58 . Kelford , paras. [0041-0042](emphasis added). The noise suppression structure 212 includes a perforated layer 66, an imperforate base layer 68, and a core layer 70 having honeycomb-shaped substructures 74. The honeycomb-shaped substructures 74 and imperforate base layer 68 are configured such that noise that passes through apertures 72 in the perforated layer 66 is reflected back out of the apertures by the honeycomb-shaped substructures 74 and imperforate base layer 68. Kelford, paras. [0043]. Thus, Kelford does not disclose or suggest a cavity configured to attenuate noise from the aircraft where the outer boundary of the cavity is defined by the bullnose fairing and the outer wall and sidewalls of the torque box. Kelford's noise suppression structure 212 is forward of the torque box. Further, Kelford does not disclose a perforated forward cavity portion forming open paths for air to flow from the thrust reverser into the cavity defined by the bullnose fairing and the outer wall and sidewalls of the torque box. Kelford's noise suppression structure is closed by the honeycomb-shaped substructures 74 and imperforate base layer 68..” Applicant argues that the noise reduction structure is forward of the torque box. However, Kelford teaches that the forward bracket 232 of the noise attenuation structure in Fig. 8 is welded to the torque box 58. As applicants are entitled to be their own lexicographers, and the structure of Kelford meets all the requirements in the claims to be regarded as part of the “torque box”. Alternately, as in the prior art the torque box contains the acoustic attenuation [fan ramp 10 is part of the torque box 58, in ¶ 0038 and Figs. 3-5, the acoustic attenuation is within the torque box], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the forward wall/ bracket 232 of Kelford part of the torque box, e.g. by using a strong bracket 232 as it is already integrally attached to the torque box. In response to applicant’s amendment, the cavity of the claims has now been treated by Fig. 8 and a cavity is indeed formed by the claimed members including an outer wall, a forward side wall, and a rearward side wall; a bullnose fairing attached to the torque box such that the bullnose fairing, the outer wall, the forward side wall, and the rearward side wall define the outer boundary of a cavity, as treated above. This cavity is configured to attenuate noise from the aircraft which propagates through the thrust reverser as it contains multiple attenuation portions 236, 230. In regards to Aten, Aten clearly teach a cavity with the outer boundary. Note that as a portion of the cavity attenuates noise, this is sufficient to meet the limitation of a cavity configured to attenuate noise. In response to applicant’s arguments concerning new claim 22, at least the outer wall of Kelford Fig. 8, which comes in contact with the noise waves, serves to help reflect the acoustic energy back through the open perforations. Contact Information Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the Examiner should be directed to TED KIM whose telephone number is 571-272-4829. The Examiner can be reached on regular business hours before 5:00 pm, Monday to Thursday and every other Friday. The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571-273-8300. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Devon Kramer, can be reached at 571-272-7118 Alternate inquiries to Technology Center 3700 can be made via 571-272-3700. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from Patent Center https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center . Should you have questions on Patent Center, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). General inquiries can also be directed to the Inventors Assistance Center whose telephone number is 800-786-9199. Furthermore, a variety of online resources are available at https://www.uspto.gov/patent /Ted Kim/ Telephone 571-272-4829 Primary Examiner Fax 571-273-8300 June 11, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/436,855 Page 2 Art Unit: 3799 Application/Control Number: 18/436,855 Page 3 Art Unit: 3799 Application/Control Number: 18/436,855 Page 5 Art Unit: 3799 Application/Control Number: 18/436,855 Page 6 Art Unit: 3799 Application/Control Number: 18/436,855 Page 7 Art Unit: 3799 Application/Control Number: 18/436,855 Page 8 Art Unit: 3799 Application/Control Number: 18/436,855 Page 9 Art Unit: 3799