DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-16, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0158466 A1 to Nakamura et al.
Re-claim 1, Nakamura et al. disclose a hydraulic braking apparatus, the apparatus comprising: a hydraulic valve block 10 (see at least valve elements 13 and 15, figure 1), a through hole 10t (see figure 3A, hole 10t extends from surface 10a1 to 10n) is provided in the hydraulic valve block;
a master cylinder housing 20 (i.e. bore 21 forms a housing of the master cylinder elements and holds or houses the elements of the master cylinder) is disposed on one side of the hydraulic valve block 10c, a master cylinder part (i.e. pistons and input shaft 28) are disposed inside the master cylinder housing, the master cylinder part comprises a piston 22/23, a push rod 28, and a magnet component 66, the piston is connected to the push rod, and the magnet component 66 moves with the piston 23;
a controller 50 is disposed on another side 10a1 of the hydraulic valve block, the controller comprises a control substrate 52 and a connector (such as pins, as known in the art) is electrically connected to the control substrate;
a travel sensor 60/62 is fastened to the inside of the hydraulic valve block and detects movement of the magnet component 66 to determine a movement amount of the piston 23, the travel sensor is connected to the connector through the through hole in the hydraulic valve block (such as via bus bar 53), the travel sensor is disposed in a cavity (combination of 10m and 10n) located between the master cylinder housing 21 and the controller 20. As shown in figure 3A, the cavity is located between the bore housing the master cylinder and the controller 50.
Re-claims 2 and 20, the travel sensor comprises: a travel sensor housing 60, a fastening component 63c, a first positioning component 61 (including portions inserted in bore 10m) or 63 (ring element) and a second positioning component 64; the fastening component, the first positioning component, and the second positioning component are configured to fasten the travel sensor housing to the inside of the hydraulic valve block 10.
Re-claims 3 and 12, the first positioning component 61 comprises: a first sealing ring 61c, the first sealing ring is located between the travel sensor housing and the through hole in the hydraulic valve block, see figure 3B.
Re-claims 4 and 13, the travel sensor further comprises a connection terminal 65 disposed on the travel sensor housing, the connection terminal is connected to the connector (via bus bar 53); a distance between the first positioning component 61 and the connection terminal is less than or equal to a first target threshold. The phrase “first target threshold” is not clearly defined by the instant claim or specification. A first target threshold can be interpreted as merely a desired distance from the first positioning component and the connection terminal, such as shown in Nakamura et al. as the reduced diameter portion 64.
Re-claims 5 and 14, the second positioning component comprises a positioning pin (such as extension 64).
Re-claims 6 and 15, the travel sensor 60 further comprises a sensing element 62 disposed inside the travel sensor housing, the sensing element is mounted inside the master cylinder housing. The housing is part of the valve block.
Re-claims 7 and 16, the travel sensor 60 further comprises a sensing substrate 61a disposed inside the travel sensor housing, the sensing element 62 is fastened to the sensing substrate, the sensing substrate 61a is electrically connected to the sensing element, and the sensing substrate 61a is electrically connected to the connection terminal (via bar bus 53).
Re-claim 10, cup-seal elements are shown between the elements of the master cylinder housing and the valve block, see figure 3A.
Re-claim 11, Nakamura et al. disclose a travel sensor, comprising:
a travel sensor housing 60;
a fastening component 63c;
a first positioning component 61 or 63;
a second positioning component 64;
a hydraulic brake apparatus 10 comprising: a hydraulic valve block 10 (see at least valve elements 13 and 15, figure 1), a through hole 10t;
a master cylinder housing 20 (i.e. bore 21 forms a housing of the master cylinder elements and houses or holds the master cylinder elements) is disposed on one side of the hydraulic valve block 10c, a master cylinder part (i.e. pistons and input shaft 28) are disposed inside the master cylinder housing, the master cylinder part comprises a piston 22/23, a push rod 28, and a magnet component 66, the piston is connected to the push rod, and the magnet component 66 moves with the piston 23;
a controller 50 is disposed on another side 10a1 of the hydraulic valve block, the travel sensor is connected to the controller through the through hole 10t in the hydraulic valve block (via bar bus 53);
the fastening component 63c, the first positioning component 61/63, and the second positioning component 64 are configured to fasten the travel sensor housing to the inside of the hydraulic valve block 10;
the travel sensor 62 is disposed in a cavity 10m/10n between the master cylinder housing 20 (and bore 21) and the controller 50.
Re-claim 19, Nakamura et al. disclose a vehicle, comprising:
a hydraulic braking apparatus (see figure 1), the braking apparatus comprises:
a hydraulic valve block 10 (see at least valve elements 13 and 15, figure 1), a through hole 10t (see figure 3A, hole 10t extends from surface 10a1 to 10n) is provided in the hydraulic valve block;
a master cylinder housing 20 (i.e. bore 21 forms a housing of the master cylinder elements) is disposed on one side of the hydraulic valve block 10c, a master cylinder part (i.e. pistons and input shaft 28) are disposed inside the master cylinder housing, the master cylinder part comprises a piston 22/23, a push rod 28, and a magnet component 66, the piston is connected to the push rod, and the magnet component 66 moves with the piston 23;
a controller 50 is disposed on another side 10a1 of the hydraulic valve block, the controller comprises a control substrate 52 and a connector (such as pins, as known in the art) is electrically connected to the control substrate;
a travel sensor 60/62 is fastened to the inside of the hydraulic valve block and detects movement of the magnet component 66 to determine a movement amount of the piston 23, the travel sensor is connected to the connector through the through hole in the hydraulic valve block (such as via bus bar 53);
the travel sensor 60/62 is disposed in a cavity 10m/10n between the master cylinder housing 21 and the controller 50.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. in view of US 10,124,778 to Forwerck et al.
Re-claims 8 and 17, Nakamura et al. show the travel sensor formed of a synthetic material (see markings in figure 3A) and the sensing element and sensing substrate encased within the material. However, Nakamura et al. is silent regarding the material having a potting material, with the sensing substrate and sensing element covered with the potting material.
Forwerck et al. teach a travel sensor housing 50 filled with a potting material, the material covers a sensing element 44 and sensing substrate 42 (see column 5 lines 58-64). The potting material encases and thus protects the sensing elements and sensing substrate from moisture and foreign material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the travel sensor housing of Nakamura et al. with potting material covering the sensing elements and sensing substrate as taught by Forwerck et al., thus protecting the sensors and substrate from moisture and damage.
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. in view of US 2017/0021813 A1 to Tandler et al.
Re-claims 9 and 18, Nakamura et al. fail to teach the sensing element perpendicular to the control substrate.
Tandler et al. teaches a sensor bore perpendicular to a sensing element and perpendicular to an ECU housing, and as such perpendicular to a control substrate within the ECU housing 20. This would have provided a more compact travel sensor arrangement. The orientation of the control substrate generally follows the orientation of the housing, and is placed parallel with the housing length, thus minimizing height of the housing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have oriented the sensing element 62 of Nakamura et al. perpendicular to the control substrate as shown in Tandler et al., as this would have reduced the outward extension of the sensor housing thus rendering the sensor housing more compact.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 29, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As stated above and reiterated here, the recitation “master cylinder housing” is interpreted in a manner that merely requires a structure capable of housing or holding the master cylinder components. As shown in Nakamura, the bore 21 houses the components of the master cylinder, including a master cylinder piston 22/23, a push rod 28 and a magnet component 66. This bore is separate from the cavity 10m/10n that holds or houses the travel sensor 62, and is disposed on a side 10c of the hydraulic valve block 10. The claim language is not specific to a three-layer arrangement as suggested by the remarks (see page 9), and as such these remarks are more specific than the claim language. As such the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee teaches a master cylinder block disposed on one side of a hydraulic valve block and a controller disposed on an diametrically opposite side of the valve block.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiries concerning this communication or earlier communications from the
examiner should be directed to Thomas Williams whose telephone number is 571-272-7128.
The examiner can normally be reached on Tuesday-Friday from 6:00 AM to 4:00 PM.
supervisor, Robert Siconolfi, can be reached at 571-272-7124. The fax phone number for the
organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding
should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-6584.
TJW /THOMAS J WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616 July 31, 2026