Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al (CN219613300). Huang teaches an adjustable frame (Fig. 1) comprising: a first frame (with 3) including a leg (2); a second frame (with 9); and a sliding mechanism (Fig. 2) connected to the first frame and the second frame, the sliding mechanism including: a channel bracket (5) having a slot (7), the channel bracket connected to the first frame (via 13 and fasteners); and a slider (4) configured to move within the slot, the slider connected to the second frame (see translation). Wherein the sliding mechanism is adjustable among a plurality of configurations to position the second frame with respect to the first frame to accommodate at least one working surface, the first frame and the second frame including a plurality of holes (a; see annotated figure below) for connection of the at least one working surface. The leg having a first side and a second side opposite the first side, first and second sides of the leg configured to connect to the sliding mechanism (Fig. 2). Wherein the sliding mechanism connects to the first side of the leg (via 13). Wherein the sliding mechanism connects to the second side of the leg (via 13 opposite side with 14 in Fig. 2). Wherein the first frame is connected to a first working surface (first 1; Fig. 5). Wherein the second frame is connected to a second working surface (second 1; Fig. 5). The channel bracket including a plate and lips, the plate and the lips providing the slot. The slider including a plate and arms, the arms to engage the slot. Wherein the connection between the slider and the second frame is tightened (via 6), restricting movement of the slider within the slot. The second frame including a crossbar (9), the slider connected to the crossbar (at 8). The first frame including a first leg (2) and a second leg (2 with 17 in Fig. 2) connected to the first leg (via 3), the second frame further including a third leg (2 with 18 in Fig. 1) connected to the crossbar. Wherein the crossbar is a first crossbar, the second leg connected to the first leg via second crossbars (3), the third leg connected to the first crossbar via third crossbars. Wherein the first leg includes a first motor (17) to increase or decrease a first height of the first leg, the second leg includes a second motor (17) to increase or decrease a second height of the second leg, and the third leg includes a third motor (17) to increase and decrease a third height of the third leg.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (CN219613300) in view of Samikkannu et al (2015/0164217). As stated above, Huang teaches the limitations of claim 1, including a channel bracket and a slider. Member 13 is stated as being aluminum; however, that is the only material mentioned in the disclosure. Samikkannu teaches legs (230,240) made of powder coated steel or aluminum (paragraph 0023). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the frame of Huang by making the slider cast aluminum, as is taught by member 13 and Samikkannu, and the channel bracket powder-coated steel, as also taught by Samikkannu, depending on personal preferences, material specifications required/desired, material readily available, etc. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter or obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 and MPEP 2144.04
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (CN219613300) in view of Rong (2024/0008635). As stated above, Huang teaches the limitations of claim 1-8 and 11-15, including a frame having a first leg including a first motor (17) to increase or decrease a first height of the first leg, a second leg including a second motor (17) to increase or decrease a second height of the second leg, and a third leg including a third motor (17) to increase and decrease a third height of the third leg. For claims 16-18, Huang fails to teach a controller for the motors. Rong teaches a table having three legs (114) adjustable via a controller (138). The controller including a memory to store at least one saved height of the frame, the control panel to receive an input from the user to save the fourth height of the frame in the memory, and the controller to execute the input (paragraphs 0080-0088). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the frame of Huang by adding a controller with the motorized height adjustable legs, such as is taught by Rong, to provide a centralized location to operate the movement of the entire desk structure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 and 20 are allowed.
It is agreed that Huang fails to teach a frame having a sliding mechanism including: a channel bracket having a plate and lips providing a slot, the channel bracket connected to the second leg of the first frame; and a slider within the slot, the slider connected to the crossbar, wherein the slider is to slide within the slot when the connection between the slider and the crossbar is tightened to a first stage (via 6) and wherein the slider and the crossbar are to clamp the lips of the channel bracket when the connection is tightened to a second stage, such that the slider can no longer slide within the slot of the channel bracket. Huang only teaches that the bolt 6 of the slider/crossbar is frictionally fixed with the bottom lip of the groove of the channel bracket.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Addressing the arguments concerning Huang et al (CN219613300): the examiner contends that Huang teaches an adjustable frame (Fig. 1) having a sliding mechanism including: a channel bracket (5) having a slot (7), the channel bracket connected to the first frame (via 13 and fasteners); and a slider (4) configured to move within the slot. Wherein the sliding mechanism is adjustable among a plurality of configurations to position the second frame with respect to the first frame to accommodate at least one working surface, the first frame and the second frame including a plurality of holes (a; see annotated figure below) for connection of the at least one working surface. First, see the translation of Huang wherein member 4 is literally called a sliding block. It necessarily would move to position the second frame relative to the first frame for attachment purposes. The plurality of configurations between the members are made by loosening the bolt (6), sliding the block (4) and then tightening the bolt when at the desired position. Second, the channel bracket is connected to the first frame via plate 13 and fasteners.
As stated in the translation: The adjusting mechanism is set between the two connecting frames 3, the adjusting mechanism comprises a sliding block 4, a sliding seat 5 and a first screw rod 6, the sliding seat 5 is provided with a sliding groove 7 for the sliding block 4 to slide, the sliding block 4 is provided with a bolt hole for the first screw rod 6 to screw in, the first screw rod 6 is frictionally fixed with the bottom of the sliding groove 7, the sliding block 4 is fixed at the end part of one of the connecting frames 3. The sliding seat 5 is fixed on the side wall of the other connecting frame 3 close to the end part.
The sliding block 4 is slid in the sliding groove 7 by loosening the first bolt 6, after sliding to the middle line position of the second plate body, the first bolt 6 is tightened, and the first bolt 6 is frictionally fixed to the bottom of the sliding groove 7 to form a fixed relationship.
Third, it is stated in the translation that the table is attached to the frame and is fixedly connected. Holes for receiving fasteners for this attachment can be seen in in the annotated figure above. This type of connection is well known in the art, as shown by Rong (2024/0008635; paragraph 0047).
As stated in the translation: The top part of the connecting frame 3 is fixedly connected with the bottom part of the table plate.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Wilkens
March 5, 2026
/JANET M WILKENS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637