Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: special definitions in the specification must be clearly stated. ¶0025 states “The term ‘or’ refers to a single element of stated alternative elements or a combination of two or more elements, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.” (emphasis added). This “context” amounts to a judgement call that the inventor has made, which the reader is not privy to. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “mechanical connection” in claim 4. This is being interpreted in light of the disclosure of a hook in ¶0034, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
RE Claim 1, the phrase “or otherwise transfer heat” is unclear, since it introduces ambiguity to the manner in which the device is required to function in the claimed functional recitation. The term “otherwise” has not been redefined by the instant specification, and renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Further RE Claim 1, it is unclear whether the “wherein the one or more heating elements comprise a chemical heating packet,” (emphasis added) is required, since “one or more heating elements” are introduced in a functional claim limitation (“configured to receive one or more heating elements”). Consequently, it is unclear whether the limitations recited in claims 2-4, 6-7, 10-14 are further limiting because they further limit the one or more heating elements and/or the chemical heating packet(s).
Claims 5, 8, & 9 are rejected as being ultimately dependent from claim 1, rejected above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 10, 13, & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being disclosed by Cincotti et al. (US 20120218633 A1, “Cincotti”).
For Claim 1, Cincotti discloses a shooting target (title, disclosure, especially the embodiment of Fig. 4, see ¶0042,69,72), comprising:
a body portion (target 40) having a front surface (the front of substrate 28) and a back surface (40A);
a front zone on the front surface of the body portion, the front zone adapted for use as a target area (in the normal use of the target 40, the front surface of the substrate 28 is used as a target); and
a rear zone on the back surface of the body portion (any “zone”, e.g. 58A, immediately surrounding one or more or all of pouches 42A-42D), the rear zone configured to receive one or more heating elements that contact and/or otherwise transfer heat to the body portion of the shooting target to generate a heat signature in the infrared range (as discussed in ¶¶0072-73);
wherein the one or more heating elements comprise a chemical heating packet (“pouches” 42A-42D, discussed in ¶¶0072-73).
For Claim 2, Cincotti discloses the shooting target of claim 1, and Cincotti further discloses wherein the chemical heating packet is secured to the back surface of the body portion (in the example of 42B, Fig. 4 & ¶0072, attached via adhesive).
For Claim 3, Cincotti discloses the shooting target of claim 2, and Cincotti further discloses wherein the chemical heating packet is secured to the back surface of the body portion by an adhesive (in the example of 42B, Fig. 4 & ¶0072, attached via adhesive).
For Claim 4, Cincotti discloses the shooting target of claim 2, and Cincotti further discloses wherein the chemical heating packet is secured to the back surface of the body portion by a mechanical connection (in the example of 42B, Fig. 4 & ¶0072, attached via adhesive).
For Claim 7, Cincotti discloses the shooting target of claim 1, and Cincotti further discloses wherein the chemical heating packet comprising a flexible pouch containing a mixture of chemicals capable of generating heat when activated (as discussed in ¶¶0040-44,69).
For Claim 10, Cincotti discloses the shooting target of claim 1, and Cincotti further discloses wherein the one or more heating elements have a first shape (see the substantially rectangular shape of pouches 42A-42D) and the body portion of the shooting target has a second shape (at least the ‘body’ portion of the target 40 is rectangular in shape, Fig. 4; note that the device shown in the prior art may contain more elements than claimed, since the open-ended transitional phrase “comprising” is used in the current claim construction), wherein the first and second shapes are generally the same geometric shape (Fig. 4).
For Claim 13, Cincotti discloses the shooting target of claim 10, and Cincotti further discloses wherein the first shape is rectangular (Fig. 4).
For Claim 14, Cincotti discloses the shooting target of claim 10, and Cincotti further discloses wherein the first and second shapes are rectangular (Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, 8, & 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cincotti as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Hutchinson et al. (US 20110042900 A1, “Hutchinson”).
For Claim 5, Cincotti discloses the shooting target of claim 2.
Cincotti is silent to wherein the rear zone comprises a pocket for receiving the one or more heating elements.
Hutchinson, like prior art above, teaches a target (title, disclosure), and further contemplates “targets with localized heat sources are known, even those wherein the heat source is mounted onto the target …by inserting it into a pocket on the target” ¶0015.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to modify the attachment of the heat pouch on the back of the device of Cincotti by placing it in a pocket as taught by Hutchinson, in order to utilize a well-known method of attachment, which would allow for the ease of reuse of the device, yielding predictable results.
For Claim 6, Cincotti in view of Hutchinson teaches the shooting target of claim 5, and the resulting device further teaches wherein the one or more heating elements have a smaller volume than a volume of the pocket (in order to operate as intended, the pouches of Cincotti would have to be smaller than the pockets holding them, taught by Hutchinson, or they would not be removable).
For Claim 8, Cincotti in view of Hutchinson teaches the shooting target of claim 5, and the resulting device further teaches wherein the pocket is integrally formed with the back surface of the body portion (in order to operate as intended, the pocket of Hutchinson would have to be attached, or integral with, the rear surface of Cincotti).
For Claim 9, Cincotti in view of Hutchinson teaches the shooting target of claim 5, and the resulting device further teaches wherein the pocket (taught by Hutchinson, as modified above) is mechanically connected (via adhesive, Cincotti) to the back surface of the body portion (in the example of 42B, Fig. 4 & ¶0072, Cincotti).
Claims 11 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cincotti as applied to claim 10 above.
For Claims 11 & 12, Cincotti discloses the shooting target of claim 10.
Cincotti is silent to wherein the first and second shapes are round.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice before the claimed invention was effectively filed to make the heating packet or the heating packet and supporting target of Cincotti to be whatever form or shape was desired or expedient, including circular, in order to provide the user’s preferred target aesthetic, whether for a particular gun and/or event, yielding predictable results. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Special attention is drawn to the disclosures of KR 200354191 Y1, DE 102019000225 A1, US 20230160669 A1, and US 12016089 B1 as disclosing an invention or aspects of the invention which are similar to those claimed and/or disclosed in the instant invention. The remaining references cited establish the state of the art.
/MORGAN T JORDAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643