DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "second overlap factor" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There isn’t a first overlap factor established in the independent claim 1 or claim 5.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-2 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of copending Application No. 18432535 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim a method for determining an optimized spatial pulse distance of laser pulses for an ophthalmological laser of a treatment apparatus comprising determining a laser pulse effect diameter, pre-determined tissue factor, an optical breakthrough threshold, and determining the optimized spatial pulse distance.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1-11, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. The judicial exception being an abstract idea (mental process of determining and optimizing laser parameters). The claim(s) recite(s) method and computer readable medium of determining and optimizing laser parameters similar to In Re Grams, 888 F. 2d 835, 12 USPQ 2d 1824 (Fed, Cir. 1989) which was directed to determining/obtaining input data for an equation and found to be patent ineligible. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because when the claims are considered as a whole, there is no element or combination of elements in the claims that are sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more that the abstract idea itself. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims fail to recite any improvements to another technology or technical field, improvements to the functioning of the processor itself, and/or meaningful limitation beyond generally link the use of an abstract idea to a particular environment (i.e. there is not structural relationship between the abstract idea of mere data gathering). The use of a control device, processor, and computer readable medium is merely generic. Regarding claim 1, “determining, by a control device of the treatment apparatus, a laser pulse effect diameter…” and “determining the optimized spatial pulse distance…”are a process, that can be performed by a human mind (including observing evaluating and judgment, under the broadest reasonable interpretation but for recitation of generic computer components. Determination of the laser pulse effect diameter and spatial pulse distance uses preset and predetermined data which is nothing more than Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity of mere data gathering.
Therefore, because there is no meaningful limitations in the claim to transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that the claim amounts to significantly more than the exception itself, the claim is rejected under 35 USC 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vogler et al. (US 20120150160) in view of Sumiya (US 5800424).
Regarding claim 1, Vogler discloses a method for determining an optimized spatial pulse distance of laser pulses for an ophthalmological laser of a treatment apparatus (abstract), the method comprising: determining, by a control device of the treatment apparatus, a laser pulse effect diameter based on a predetermined tissue factor of tissue to be irradiated (section 0019, the laser is preferably provided in the case of a focus diameter of about 2-5 µm and an intermediate spacing of the individual focus radii of 1-2 µm corresponding to a focus center-to-center spacing of 2-10 µm), the strategy in the second operating mode provides that several pulses act on the same point in the tissue, for example the cornea) and a laser pulse energy portion above an optical breakthrough threshold (section 0014, low-energy pulses with high repetition frequency below the LIOB threshold, LIOB=laser-induced optical breakdown),
However, Vogler does not specifically disclose determining the optimized spatial pulse distance based on the determined laser pulse effect diameter and a preset overlap factor for adjacent laser pulses. Sumiya discloses determining the optimized spatial pulse distance (Fig. 9, column 6 lines 36-39, the shifting distance of the laser beam from the rotation axis L is determined in nine grades (a) through (i) so as to change every step of 1.4 mm in the range of 1.4 mm-12.6 mm) based on the determined laser pulse effect diameter (column 7 lines 14-17, Laser energy is controlled by the control device 20 so as to become 130 mJ at a laser emitting end. In conditions F, G and H, the diameter of the aperture of the diaphragm 7 is reduced to form an ablation image of Φ6.5 in diameter) and a preset overlap factor for adjacent laser pulses (column 6 lines 43-45, thereby determining the number of pulses). This allows for predicable result laser energy values of ablating and using laser to the cornea. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Vogler by adding determining the optimized spatial pulse distance based on the determined laser pulse effect diameter and a preset overlap factor for adjacent laser pulses as taught by Sumiya in order to facilitate predicable result of ablating and using laser energy to the cornea.
Regarding claim 3, Vogler in view of Sumiya, specfically Sumiya discloses the optimized spatial pulse distance includes a distance between adjacent laser pulses on a laser pulse path (Column 6 lines 40-42, the laser beam for 30 seconds at each shifting position (distance)). This allows for predicable result of ablating and using laser energy to the cornea.
Regarding claim 5, Vogler in view of Sumiya, specfically Sumiya discloses the optimized spatial pulse distance includes a distance between adjacent laser pulse paths (Column 6 lines 40-42, the laser beam for 30 seconds at each shifting position (distance)). This allows for predicable result of ablating and using laser energy to the cornea.
Regarding claim 7, Vogler in view of Sumiya, specfically Sumiya discloses the optimized spatial pulse distance includes the distance between adjacent laser pulses on a laser pulse path and the distance of adjacent laser pulse paths, wherein a ratio of these distances is set in a range between 0.1 and 10, in particular in a range between 0.2 and 5 (Fig. 9, column 6 lines 38-42, change every step of 1.4 mm in the range of 1.4 mm-12.6 mm). This allows for predicable result of ablating and using laser energy to the cornea.
Regarding claim 8, Vogler in view of Sumiya, specfically Vogler discloses measuring the optical breakthrough threshold (section 0014, 0017, low-energy pulses with high repetition frequency below the LIOB threshold, LIOB=laser-induced optical breakdown. a femtosecond LASIK incision or a keratoplasty incision on the human cornea this threshold amounts to 0.3 Joule/cm2 to 1 Joule/cm2).
Regarding claim 9, Vogler in view of Sumiya, specfically Vogler discloses calculating, by the control device 120 (section 0026, control unit has been set up to vary the beam parameters of the pulsed laser radiation via a suitable drive of the working laser), the optical breakthrough threshold (section 0014, low-energy pulses with high repetition frequency below the LIOB threshold, LIOB=laser-induced optical breakdown)
Regarding claim 10, Vogler in view of Sumiya, specfically Vogler discloses a control device 120 (section 0026, he working laser 110, the beam-guiding-and-shaping components 112, the scanner device 114 and the temperature sensor 116 are connected to a control unit 120 via suitable control lines. The control unit 120 has been set up to vary the beam parameters of the pulsed laser radiation via a suitable drive of the working laser)
Regarding claim 11, Vogler in view of Sumiya, specfically Vogler discloses a treatment apparatus 100 with at least one ophthalmological laser 110 for separation of a corneal volume 210 with predefined interfaces of a human or animal eye by optical breakthrough, in particular by photo disruption and/or photoablation (section 0027, the first operating mode would enable a photo disruptive application of an incision), and at least one control device 120 (section 0026, The apparatus represented in FIG. 1 for laser surgical ophthalmology includes by way of laser radiation source a working laser. The working laser, the beam-guiding-and-shaping components, the scanner device and the temperature sensor are connected to a control unit via suitable control lines. The control unit has been set up to vary the beam parameters of the pulsed laser radiation via a suitable drive of the working laser and of the beam-guiding-and-focusing components in such a way that in a first operating mode the radiation properties are matched to the placing of an incision, for example in the tissue of the cornea).
Regarding claim 13, Vogler in view of Sumiya, specfically Sumiya discloses A non-transitory computer-readable medium 21, on which a computer program according is stored, the computer program including commands, which cause a treatment apparatus to execute the method according to claim 1 (column 3 lines 49-56, means for determining the ablation amount at each position of the laser beam based on the input information by the inputting means and the first memory means and the second memory means, and means for controlling movement of a laser source and the beam rotating means at each shifted position based on the ablation amount determined by the ablation amount determining means)
Conclusion
/JON ERIC C MORALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/J.C.M/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796