DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/26/2024 was received and placed in the record on file. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Replacement drawings were received on 3/15/2024. These drawings are accepted and placed in the record on file.
Claim Interpretation
Currently, there are no limitation in the instant claims that invoke a 112(f) means plus function interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ritland (US 2003/0236447 A1).
Regarding claims 1-5 and 8-12; Ritland discloses an orthopedic joint finder device (element 10), comprising:
an elongate planar member (element 14; wherein the examiner notes that guide portion element 14 exists in a plane and thus meets the BRI of a planar member, figures 1, 4-16) having a handle (element 12) at one end thereof (see figures 1, and 4-16); and
a tubular member (element 30 insertable into guide channel element 22) extending at least partially along a longitudinal axis of the elongate planar member (wherein when element 30 is inserted along longitudinal axis of element 14 via guide channel element 22; see figures 1 and 5).
Further regarding claim 2-5; Ritland discloses the handle (element 12) is substantially perpendicular to the elongate planar member (element 14) (wherein it is disclosed that the handle is angled between about 90 and about 135 which includes substantially perpendicular of about 90, paragraph [0038]).
Further regarding claim 3-5; Ritland further comprising an elongate recess (guide channel element 22) extending along a longitudinal axis of the elongate planar member (element 14) (see figures 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 14, 15).
Further regarding claim 4-5; Ritland discloses the elongate recess (guide channel element 22) is positioned centrally between lateral ends of the elongate planar member (wherein guide channel 22 is centered along guide portion element 14; figures 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 11, 13, 14).
Further regarding claim 5; Ritland discloses the tubular member (element 30) is positioned at least partially in the elongate recess (guide channel element 22) (paragraphs [0042]; figures 2-5)
Further regarding claim 8; Ritland discloses the elongate recess (element 22) extends partially along a longitudinal length of the elongate planar member (element 14) (wherein guide channel extends length of guide element 14; paragraph [0040]; figures 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 11, 13, 14).
Further regarding claim 9; Ritland discloses the tubular member (element 30) extends partially along a longitudinal length of the elongate planar member (wherein the examiner notes that the tubular member is slideable within guide channel element 22, and is placeable to extend partially along the length depending on how far it is inserted; paragraphs [0042]-[0047]; figures 1-5)
Further regarding claim 10; Ritland discloses the tubular member extends along an entire longitudinal length of the elongate planar member (wherein the examiner notes that the tubular member can be inserted such that it extends along the entire longitudinal length; paragraphs [0042]-[0047]; figures 1-5).
Further regarding claim 11; Ritland discloses the elongate recess (element 22) extends along a partial length of the elongate planar member (element 14) (wherein the examiner notes that if the elongate recess extends the entire length of element 14, then it also extends along a partial length of element 14; furthermore figure 3 discloses wherein the recess element 22 extends partially as it does not extend to curved tip element 24; see figure 3)
Further regarding claim 12; Ritland discloses the elongate planar member (element 14) has a slot (element 22) extending from a distal end (element 23) thereof and terminating at a distal end of the tubular member (element 30) (wherein the element 22 would terminate at the distal end of element 30 when tubular insert element 30 is beginning to be inserted into element 22; see figures 1, 3 and 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ritland as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of DiCarlo (US 5,180,388).
Ritland is described in the rejection of claim 1 above; however Ritland does not explicitly disclose graduation marking on at least one surface of the elongate planar member (claim 6), or that the graduation markings correspond to depth measurements from a distal end of the elongate planar member (claim 7).
DiCarlo teaches the use graduated markings (element 22) on at least one surface of a guide element (element 12) wherein the graduated markings correspond to depth measurements from a distal end of the guide element to indicate how far a tool inserted into the guide element extends beyond the distal end of the guide (column 2, line 48 – column 3, line 10; figure 1).
Regarding claims 6 and 7; Ritland discloses an orthopedic joint finder device that acts as a guide for tools (paragraph [0042]). DiCarlo teaches in a similar orthopedic art, the use of graduated markings on a guide element to indicate how far a tool has been inserted beyond the distal end of the guide element (column 2, line 48 – column 3, line 10; figure 1). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Ritland’s orthopedic joint finder to include graduation markings on at least one surface of the elongate planar member (element 14) as taught by DiCarlo in order to indicate how far a tool inserted into the guide channel element 22 extends from the distal end of the guide.
Further regarding claim 7; the Ritland/DiCarlo combination as described in the rejection above. DiCarlo further teaches the use of markings (element 36) on the tool shaft in order to indicate depth measurements of the distal end of the tool from the distal end of the elongate planar member (column 2, line 48 – column 3, line 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to further modify Ritland/Dicarlo to include a marking on the tool shaft inserted into the guide channel (element 22) of the elongate member (element 40) such that the graduation markings correspond to the depth measurement from a distal end of the elongate planar member.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2016/0278789 to Garvey et al; discloses cannulated countersink and depth gauge multi-instrument.
US 2012/0016373 to Impellizzeri; discloses a device to assist with the placement of screws in bone tissue.
US 9,439,641 to Cao et al; discloses an exposure apparatus for posterior spinal minimally invasive screw placement surgery.
US 11,832,864 to Kolovich et al; discloses orthopedic implants and tools.
US 12,295,616 to Preiss-Bloom et al; discloses cannulated implant delivery device with adjustable insertion depth.
WO 2010/108166 to Petersen; discloses surgical methods and tools.
/ADAM J EISEMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791