Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of the information disclosure statement filed on January 10, 2025, and January 15, 2025. U.S. patent applications, foreign patents, and non-patent literature documents have been considered.
Priority
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Improved Communications Method and Apparatus Utilizing a Better OSI Scheduling Manner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8-9, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over He et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2019/0268922), herein referred to as “He”.
Regarding Claim 1,
He discloses: A communications method, comprising:
determining first information, wherein the first information indicates a predicted scheduling manner of a system information block, the first information is determined based on at least one of second information, third information, or fourth information
[0108] In this embodiment, the UE can know on-demand SI corresponding to the first scheduling information according to the SI mapping table, or the SI mapping table can indicate that the first scheduling information is scheduling information for certain SI. Optionally, the SI mapping table may include an on-demand SI list (SIB mapping list) corresponding to the first scheduling information, and one scheduling information may correspond to each on-demand SI, or one scheduling information may correspond to a group of on-demand SI. The SI mapping table may be an index list or a bitmap indicating a SI index (SIB index).
Note: The “predicted scheduling manner” is being interpreted as the information coming from the SI mapping table which includes a SIB mapping list. The second through fourth informations follow.
the second information indicates a quantity of terminal devices that expect to obtain the system information block
[0164] For example, UE 1 and UE 2 receive the on-demand SI list {00111111110000000000}, which indicates that the network side device provides SIB3˜SIB10, and the UE5 check the SI SIB8 required by the UE5, and the on-demand SI list sent by the UE 1 is {SIB8}, UE6 check the SI SIB9 required by UE6, and the on-demand SI list sent by the UE 2 is {SIB9}, and the network side device sends the scheduling information of new on-demand SI (including the complete parameter configuration of SIB8 and SIB9) and the on-demand SI response message corresponding to the scheduling information, which includes SI of SIB8 and SIB9 in the SI periodically broadcasted during the modification period of the current SI, based on the on-demand SI request message sent by UE 1 and UE 2 combined with the on-demand SI that can be provided by the network side device.
the third information indicates a current scheduling manner of the system information block
[0164] For example, the on-demand SI provided by the network side device includes the SI required by the UE, and after receiving the above-mentioned on-demand SI request message sent by the UE, the network side device can send the first scheduling information (which may include a complete parameter configuration) of the on-demand SI and the on-demand SI response message corresponding to the scheduling information in the SI periodically broadcasted during the modification period of the current SI.
Note: The on-demand scheduling information contained in the current SI that is periodically broadcasted is being interpreted as the “third information.”
and when the current scheduling manner of the system information block is an on-demand scheduling manner, the fourth information indicates at least one of the following: a quantity of times that the system information block is requested, a quantity of preambles corresponding to the system information block, or a quantity of times that the system
information block fails to be requested
[0169] For example, the UE in an idle/inactive state sends the on-demand SI request message through an uplink signal process. That is, the UE sends an uplink signal (for example, a Preamble, a Sync code, etc.), and there is a mapping table between the uplink signal and the on-demand SI. For example, Preamble1 corresponds to SIB3, and Preamble2 corresponds to SIB4 or Preamble3 corresponds to SIB3 and SIB4.
Note: Here, the different preambles correspond to SIBs.
and sending the first information to a network device
[0121] Optionally, the obtaining, by the UE, the on-demand SI sent by the network side device based on the first scheduling information, includes: determining, by the UE, whether an on-demand SI request message needs to be sent to the network side device based on the first scheduling information; if yes, the UE sends the on-demand SI request message to the network side device, the on-demand SI request message is used to request on-demand SI required by the UE.
Regarding Claim 2,
He discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein traffic load of the network device is determined based on the third information
[0104] SIB1 may include related parameters of broadcasting cell access and cell selection, and scheduling information of the SI message, and may include one or more SIBs 2-13. SIB2 may include a wireless parameter configuration shared by all UEs in the cell, and other basic wireless parameter configuration. SIB3 may include cell reselection information, mainly relate to serving cell reselection parameters and co-frequency cell reselection parameters. SIB4 may include a list of co-frequency neighboring cells and a reselection parameter of each neighboring cell, and a list of co-frequency white/blacklisted cells. SIBS may include a list of inter-frequency neighboring frequency points and reselection parameters of each frequency point, a list of inter-frequency neighboring cells, and reselection parameters of each neighboring cell, and a list of inter-frequency blacklisted cells.
Note: Per Applicant’s specification paragraph [0122], the traffic load can be determined by service volume of the terminal device in the cell or the third information. Here, the wireless parameter configuration shared by all UEs in the cell is being interpreted as service volume.
the first information is determined based on the second information and the third information
[0108] In this embodiment, the UE can know on-demand SI corresponding to the first scheduling information according to the SI mapping table, or the SI mapping table can indicate that the first scheduling information is scheduling information for certain SI. Optionally, the SI mapping table may include an on-demand SI list (SIB mapping list) corresponding to the first scheduling information, and one scheduling information may correspond to each on-demand SI, or one scheduling information may correspond to a group of on-demand SI. The SI mapping table may be an index list or a bitmap indicating a SI index (SIB index).
[0164] For example, the on-demand SI provided by the network side device includes the SI required by the UE, and after receiving the above-mentioned on-demand SI request message sent by the UE, the network side device can send the first scheduling information (which may include a complete parameter configuration) of the on-demand SI and the on-demand SI response message corresponding to the scheduling information in the SI periodically broadcasted during the modification period of the current SI. For example, UE 1 and UE 2 receive the on-demand SI list {00111111110000000000}, which indicates that the network side device provides SIB3˜SIB10, and the UE5 check the SI SIB8 required by the UE5, and the on-demand SI list sent by the UE 1 is {SIB8}, UE6 check the SI SIB9 required by UE6, and the on-demand SI list sent by the UE 2 is {SIB9}, and the network side device sends the scheduling information of new on-demand SI (including the complete parameter configuration of SIB8 and SIB9) and the on-demand SI response message corresponding to the scheduling information, which includes SI of SIB8 and SIB9 in the SI periodically broadcasted during the modification period of the current SI, based on the on-demand SI request message sent by UE 1 and UE 2 combined with the on-demand SI that can be provided by the network side device.
so that the first information is determined based on the traffic load of the network device and the quantity of terminal devices
[0104] SIB1 may include related parameters of broadcasting cell access and cell selection, and scheduling information of the SI message, and may include one or more SIBs 2-13. SIB2 may include a wireless parameter configuration shared by all UEs in the cell, and other basic wireless parameter configuration. SIB3 may include cell reselection information, mainly relate to serving cell reselection parameters and co-frequency cell reselection parameters. SIB4 may include a list of co-frequency neighboring cells and a reselection parameter of each neighboring cell, and a list of co-frequency white/blacklisted cells. SIBS may include a list of inter-frequency neighboring frequency points and reselection parameters of each frequency point, a list of inter-frequency neighboring cells, and reselection parameters of each neighboring cell, and a list of inter-frequency blacklisted cells.
Regarding Claim 8,
Claim 8 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
He discloses: An apparatus comprising: at least one processor, and a memory storing instructions for execution by the at least one processor; wherein, when executed, the instructions cause the apparatus to perform operations comprising: determining first information, wherein the first information indicates a predicted scheduling manner of a system information block, the first information is determined based on at least one of second information, third information, or fourth information
[0108] In this embodiment, the UE can know on-demand SI corresponding to the first scheduling information according to the SI mapping table, or the SI mapping table can indicate that the first scheduling information is scheduling information for certain SI. Optionally, the SI mapping table may include an on-demand SI list (SIB mapping list) corresponding to the first scheduling information, and one scheduling information may correspond to each on-demand SI, or one scheduling information may correspond to a group of on-demand SI. The SI mapping table may be an index list or a bitmap indicating a SI index (SIB index).
Note: The “predicted scheduling manner” is being interpreted as the information coming from the SI mapping table which includes a SIB mapping list. The second through fourth informations follow.
the second information indicates a quantity of terminal devices that expect to obtain the system information block
[0164] For example, UE 1 and UE 2 receive the on-demand SI list {00111111110000000000}, which indicates that the network side device provides SIB3˜SIB10, and the UE5 check the SI SIB8 required by the UE5, and the on-demand SI list sent by the UE 1 is {SIB8}, UE6 check the SI SIB9 required by UE6, and the on-demand SI list sent by the UE 2 is {SIB9}, and the network side device sends the scheduling information of new on-demand SI (including the complete parameter configuration of SIB8 and SIB9) and the on-demand SI response message corresponding to the scheduling information, which includes SI of SIB8 and SIB9 in the SI periodically broadcasted during the modification period of the current SI, based on the on-demand SI request message sent by UE 1 and UE 2 combined with the on-demand SI that can be provided by the network side device.
the third information indicates a current scheduling manner of the system information block
[0164] For example, the on-demand SI provided by the network side device includes the SI required by the UE, and after receiving the above-mentioned on-demand SI request message sent by the UE, the network side device can send the first scheduling information (which may include a complete parameter configuration) of the on-demand SI and the on-demand SI response message corresponding to the scheduling information in the SI periodically broadcasted during the modification period of the current SI.
Note: The on-demand scheduling information contained in the current SI that is periodically broadcasted is being interpreted as the “third information.”
and when the current scheduling manner of the system information block is an on-demand scheduling manner, the fourth information indicates at least one of the following: a quantity of times that the system information block is requested, a quantity of preambles corresponding to the system information block, or a quantity of times that the system
information block fails to be requested
[0169] For example, the UE in an idle/inactive state sends the on-demand SI request message through an uplink signal process. That is, the UE sends an uplink signal (for example, a Preamble, a Sync code, etc.), and there is a mapping table between the uplink signal and the on-demand SI. For example, Preamble1 corresponds to SIB3, and Preamble2 corresponds to SIB4 or Preamble3 corresponds to SIB3 and SIB4.
Note: Here, the different preambles correspond to SIBs.
and sending the first information to a network device
[0121] Optionally, the obtaining, by the UE, the on-demand SI sent by the network side device based on the first scheduling information, includes: determining, by the UE, whether an on-demand SI request message needs to be sent to the network side device based on the first scheduling information; if yes, the UE sends the on-demand SI request message to the network side device, the on-demand SI request message is used to request on-demand SI required by the UE.
Regarding Claim 9,
Claim 9 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2.
Regarding Claim 15,
Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
He discloses: An apparatus, comprising: at least one processor, and a memory storing instructions for execution by the at least one processor; wherein, when executed, the instructions cause the apparatus to perform operations comprising: obtaining first information, wherein the first information indicates a predicted scheduling manner of a system information block, the first information is determined based on at least one of second information, third information, or fourth information
[0108] In this embodiment, the UE can know on-demand SI corresponding to the first scheduling information according to the SI mapping table, or the SI mapping table can indicate that the first scheduling information is scheduling information for certain SI. Optionally, the SI mapping table may include an on-demand SI list (SIB mapping list) corresponding to the first scheduling information, and one scheduling information may correspond to each on-demand SI, or one scheduling information may correspond to a group of on-demand SI. The SI mapping table may be an index list or a bitmap indicating a SI index (SIB index).
Note: The “predicted scheduling manner” is being interpreted as the information coming from the SI mapping table which includes a SIB mapping list. The second through fourth informations follow.
the second information indicates a quantity of terminal devices that expect to obtain the system information block
[0164] For example, UE 1 and UE 2 receive the on-demand SI list {00111111110000000000}, which indicates that the network side device provides SIB3˜SIB10, and the UE5 check the SI SIB8 required by the UE5, and the on-demand SI list sent by the UE 1 is {SIB8}, UE6 check the SI SIB9 required by UE6, and the on-demand SI list sent by the UE 2 is {SIB9}, and the network side device sends the scheduling information of new on-demand SI (including the complete parameter configuration of SIB8 and SIB9) and the on-demand SI response message corresponding to the scheduling information, which includes SI of SIB8 and SIB9 in the SI periodically broadcasted during the modification period of the current SI, based on the on-demand SI request message sent by UE 1 and UE 2 combined with the on-demand SI that can be provided by the network side device.
the third information indicates a current scheduling manner of the system information block
[0164] For example, the on-demand SI provided by the network side device includes the SI required by the UE, and after receiving the above-mentioned on-demand SI request message sent by the UE, the network side device can send the first scheduling information (which may include a complete parameter configuration) of the on-demand SI and the on-demand SI response message corresponding to the scheduling information in the SI periodically broadcasted during the modification period of the current SI.
Note: The on-demand scheduling information contained in the current SI that is periodically broadcasted is being interpreted as the “third information.”
and when the current scheduling manner of the system information block is an on-demand scheduling manner, the fourth information indicates at least one of the following: a quantity of times that the system information block is requested, a quantity of preambles corresponding to the system information block, or a quantity of times that the system
information block fails to be requested
[0169] For example, the UE in an idle/inactive state sends the on-demand SI request message through an uplink signal process. That is, the UE sends an uplink signal (for example, a Preamble, a Sync code, etc.), and there is a mapping table between the uplink signal and the on-demand SI. For example, Preamble1 corresponds to SIB3, and Preamble2 corresponds to SIB4 or Preamble3 corresponds to SIB3 and SIB4.
Note: Here, the different preambles correspond to SIBs.
and sending the first information to a network device
[0121] Optionally, the obtaining, by the UE, the on-demand SI sent by the network side device based on the first scheduling information, includes: determining, by the UE, whether an on-demand SI request message needs to be sent to the network side device based on the first scheduling information; if yes, the UE sends the on-demand SI request message to the network side device, the on-demand SI request message is used to request on-demand SI required by the UE.
Regarding Claim 16,
Claim 16 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over by He in view of Chang et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2021/0258986), herein referred to as “Chang”.
Regarding Claim 3,
He discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein traffic load of the network device is determined based on the third information
[0104] SIB1 may include related parameters of broadcasting cell access and cell selection, and scheduling information of the SI message, and may include one or more SIBs 2-13. SIB2 may include a wireless parameter configuration shared by all UEs in the cell, and other basic wireless parameter configuration. SIB3 may include cell reselection information, mainly relate to serving cell reselection parameters and co-frequency cell reselection parameters. SIB4 may include a list of co-frequency neighboring cells and a reselection parameter of each neighboring cell, and a list of co-frequency white/blacklisted cells. SIBS may include a list of inter-frequency neighboring frequency points and reselection parameters of each frequency point, a list of inter-frequency neighboring cells, and reselection parameters of each neighboring cell, and a list of inter-frequency blacklisted cells.
and the first information is determined based on the second information, the third information, and the fourth information
[0108] In this embodiment, the UE can know on-demand SI corresponding to the first scheduling information according to the SI mapping table, or the SI mapping table can indicate that the first scheduling information is scheduling information for certain SI. Optionally, the SI mapping table may include an on-demand SI list (SIB mapping list) corresponding to the first scheduling information, and one scheduling information may correspond to each on-demand SI, or one scheduling information may correspond to a group of on-demand SI. The SI mapping table may be an index list or a bitmap indicating a SI index (SIB index).
[0164] For example, the on-demand SI provided by the network side device includes the SI required by the UE, and after receiving the above-mentioned on-demand SI request message sent by the UE, the network side device can send the first scheduling information (which may include a complete parameter configuration) of the on-demand SI and the on-demand SI response message corresponding to the scheduling information in the SI periodically broadcasted during the modification period of the current SI. For example, UE 1 and UE 2 receive the on-demand SI list {00111111110000000000}, which indicates that the network side device provides SIB3˜SIB10, and the UE5 check the SI SIB8 required by the UE5, and the on-demand SI list sent by the UE 1 is {SIB8}, UE6 check the SI SIB9 required by UE6, and the on-demand SI list sent by the UE 2 is {SIB9}, and the network side device sends the scheduling information of new on-demand SI (including the complete parameter configuration of SIB8 and SIB9) and the on-demand SI response message corresponding to the scheduling information, which includes SI of SIB8 and SIB9 in the SI periodically broadcasted during the modification period of the current SI, based on the on-demand SI request message sent by UE 1 and UE 2 combined with the on-demand SI that can be provided by the network side device.
[0169] For example, the UE in an idle/inactive state sends the on-demand SI request message through an uplink signal process. That is, the UE sends an uplink signal (for example, a Preamble, a Sync code, etc.), and there is a mapping table between the uplink signal and the on-demand SI. For example, Preamble1 corresponds to SIB3, and Preamble2 corresponds to SIB4 or Preamble3 corresponds to SIB3 and SIB4.
so that the first information is determined based on the traffic load of the network device, the quantity of terminal devices,
[0104] SIB1 may include related parameters of broadcasting cell access and cell selection, and scheduling information of the SI message, and may include one or more SIBs 2-13. SIB2 may include a wireless parameter configuration shared by all UEs in the cell, and other basic wireless parameter configuration. SIB3 may include cell reselection information, mainly relate to serving cell reselection parameters and co-frequency cell reselection parameters. SIB4 may include a list of co-frequency neighboring cells and a reselection parameter of each neighboring cell, and a list of co-frequency white/blacklisted cells. SIBS may include a list of inter-frequency neighboring frequency points and reselection parameters of each frequency point, a list of inter-frequency neighboring cells, and reselection parameters of each neighboring cell, and a list of inter-frequency blacklisted cells.
He does not disclose: a success rate at which the terminal device that accesses the network device requests the system information block in a random access manner is determined based on the fourth information.
However, Chang discloses: a success rate at which the terminal device that accesses the network device requests the system information block in a random access manner is determined based on the fourth information.
[0087] Step 2: if the random access resource list for system information request includes only one (or is regarded as one entry of a) random access resource, then the UE determines that the configuration of the random access resource is applicable to all SI with the system information broadcast status indication information configured as on-demand currently. Conversely, if the random access resource list for system information request includes multiple (or is regarded as multiple entries of) random access resources, then the number of entries and arrangement order in the random access resource list are preferably the same as the number of entries and arrangement order in the scheduling information list. That is, a first entry in the random access resource list corresponds to a first entry in the scheduling information list, a second entry in the random access resource list corresponds to a second entry in the scheduling information list, and so forth. Alternatively, the number of entries and arrangement order in the random access resource list are the same as the number of a plurality of entries and arrangement order in the scheduling information list where the system information broadcast status indication information is configured as on-demand. That is, a first entry in the random access resource list corresponds to a first entry where the system information broadcast status indication information is configured as on-demand in the scheduling information list, a second entry in the random access resource list corresponds to a second entry where the system information broadcast status indication information is configured as on-demand in the scheduling information list, and so forth.
Note: Here, since the fourth information is being interpreted as a quantity of times the SIB is requested (since the random access resource list for system information request is being interpreted as such), the success rate is tied in since the SIB is being requested in a random access manner.
He and Chang are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify He to include the concept of a success rate based on a random access process as taught by Chang so as to facilitate better scheduling between devices.
Regarding Claim 10,
Claim 10 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3.
Regarding Claim 17,
Claim 17 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3.
Claims 4, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over by He in view of Kim (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2015/0305041).
Regarding Claim 4,
He does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 4.
However, Kim discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: obtaining fifth information, wherein the fifth information is determined based on status information obtained by scheduling the system information block by the network device based on the first information, and the fifth information is used for updating a scheduling manner of the system information block.
[0091] When the AP SIB is changed, the base station may notify a change of the AP SIB to the terminal in the service area of the base station apart from notification of a change of the system information. According to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention, in order for the base station to notify the change of the AP SIB to the terminal apart from the notification of the change of the system information, some scheduling identifiers among scheduling identifiers (for example, a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI), and the like) may be fixedly allocated to the terminal in terms of the base station or the system. The base station may notify the change of the AP SIB to the terminal by using the fixedly allocated scheduling identifier (for example, an AP-RNTI). When the terminal is in an ‘AP in use’ status to receive the service through the AP, the terminal is scheduled to use an AP function (that is, a function to provide the service through the WLAN AP or the new AP) or the terminal is in an activation status (for example, a WLAN AP or new AP function of the terminal is activated), the terminal may detect the AR-RNTI and receive the changed AP SIB in an area in which scheduling information is transferred, and thereafter update the AP SIB. When the terminal does not use the AP function of the terminal or the AP function of the terminal is in an inactive status (deactivation), the terminal may ignore detection of the AR-RNTI or skip updating the AP SIB.
Note: The status information which is indicated by an update in scheduling (use a new AP scheduling function) is where the AP is in use, which updates the AP SIB.
He and Chang are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify He to include the concept of status information for updating a scheduling as taught by Kim so as to facilitate better scheduling between devices.
Regarding Claim 11,
Claim 11 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 4.
Regarding Claim 18,
Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 4.
Claims 5-6, 12-13, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over by He in view of Kim, held further in view of Lin et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2018/0199267).
Regarding Claim 5,
He in view of Kim does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 5.
However, Lin discloses: The method according to claim 4, wherein there are N system information blocks, N is an integer greater than 0, and the status information comprises that a success rate of accessing a network by a terminal device in a random access manner is less than or equal to a first threshold; and the fifth information indicates to update scheduling manners of all or a part of the N system information blocks from the on-demand scheduling manner to a broadcast-based scheduling manner.
[0050] FIG. 4 illustrates an exemplary diagram of switching from on-demand unicast to on-demand broadcast where the broadcast window is scheduled in the start of the next modification period in accordance with embodiments of the current invention. MSI 401 is periodically broadcasted. When an OSI changes, in paging message SI change notification indicates the changed OSI type and it is delivered by unicast. The UE who needs the updated OSI could immediately trigger on-demand unicasted SI delivery procedure. SI requests 411 and 413 are sent. In one embodiment, SI responses 412 and 414 are sent by the network. If gNB finds that the SI request rate for the changed OSI is above a threshold, gNB schedules a SI window 441, to broadcast the updated OSI 431, 432, 433, and 434 in the start of the next modification period, and turn the deliver method of the changed OSI as broadcast. If UE in DRX mode finds that the updated OSI is delivered by broadcast, they update the OSI until the start of the next modification period. In the first minimum SI of the next modification period, gNB add the information of the on-demand SI window for the updated OSI. The UE then acquires the updated OSI following legacy SI acquisition procedure.
He in view of Chang and Lin are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify He in view of Chang to include the concept of a threshold and to update to broadcast scheduling as taught by Lin so as to facilitate better scheduling between devices.
Regarding Claim 6,
He in view of Kim does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 6.
However, Lin discloses: The method according to claim 5, wherein updating scheduling manners of all or a part of the N system information blocks from the on-demand scheduling manner to a broadcast-based scheduling manner comprises:
updating a scheduling manner of a first system information block in the N system information blocks from the on-demand scheduling manner to the broadcast-based scheduling manner, wherein the first system information block is a system information block that is requested for a quantity of times greater than or equal to a first preset quantity of times.
[0050] FIG. 4 illustrates an exemplary diagram of switching from on-demand unicast to on-demand broadcast where the broadcast window is scheduled in the start of the next modification period in accordance with embodiments of the current invention. MSI 401 is periodically broadcasted. When an OSI changes, in paging message SI change notification indicates the changed OSI type and it is delivered by unicast. The UE who needs the updated OSI could immediately trigger on-demand unicasted SI delivery procedure. SI requests 411 and 413 are sent. In one embodiment, SI responses 412 and 414 are sent by the network. If gNB finds that the SI request rate for the changed OSI is above a threshold, gNB schedules a SI window 441, to broadcast the updated OSI 431, 432, 433, and 434 in the start of the next modification period, and turn the deliver method of the changed OSI as broadcast. If UE in DRX mode finds that the updated OSI is delivered by broadcast, they update the OSI until the start of the next modification period. In the first minimum SI of the next modification period, gNB add the information of the on-demand SI window for the updated OSI. The UE then acquires the updated OSI following legacy SI acquisition procedure.
Note: The “quantity of time” is the modification periods.
He in view of Chang and Lin are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify He in view of Chang to include the concept of a threshold as related to a quantity of times and to update to broadcast scheduling as taught by Lin so as to facilitate better scheduling between devices.
Regarding Claim 12,
Claim 12 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 5.
Regarding Claim 13,
Claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 6.
Regarding Claim 18,
Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 5.
Regarding Claim 19,
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 6.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over by He in view of Kim and Lin, held further in view of Centonza et. al. (WO 2015115984 A1), herein referred to as “Centonza”.
Regarding Claim 7,
He in view of Kim does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 7.
However, Centonza discloses: The method according to claim 4, wherein there are N system information blocks, N is an integer greater than 0, and the status information comprises at least one of the following: resource utilization of the network device is greater than or equal to a second threshold, or expected resource utilization of the network device is greater than or equal to the second threshold
(Page 13, Lines 21-30) FIG. 12 is a flowchart of an exemplary process for load balancing of cell resources among a plurality of operators. The base station 16 may monitor cell resource utilization of the plurality of operators to determine if any of them exceed a resource utilization threshold (block SI 08). If not, then load balancing is not triggered (block SI 10). If an operator does exceed the resource utilization threshold, then the base station 16 determines if the overall cell load (the overall cell resource utilization) is over a second threshold (block SI 12). If not, load balancing is not triggered and common resources are allocated to operators exceeding their resource utilization thresholds (block SI 14). If the overall cell load does exceed the second threshold, load balancing is triggered (block SI 16).
He in view of Chang and Centoza are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify He in view of Chang to include the concept of a threshold as related to resource utilization as taught by Centoza so as to facilitate better scheduling between devices.
Lin further discloses: the fifth information indicates to update scheduling manners of all or a part of the N system information blocks from a broadcast-based scheduling manner to the on-demand scheduling manner.
[0050] FIG. 4 illustrates an exemplary diagram of switching from on-demand unicast to on-demand broadcast where the broadcast window is scheduled in the start of the next modification period in accordance with embodiments of the current invention. MSI 401 is periodically broadcasted. When an OSI changes, in paging message SI change notification indicates the changed OSI type and it is delivered by unicast. The UE who needs the updated OSI could immediately trigger on-demand unicasted SI delivery procedure. SI requests 411 and 413 are sent. In one embodiment, SI responses 412 and 414 are sent by the network. If gNB finds that the SI request rate for the changed OSI is above a threshold, gNB schedules a SI window 441, to broadcast the updated OSI 431, 432, 433, and 434 in the start of the next modification period, and turn the deliver method of the changed OSI as broadcast. If UE in DRX mode finds that the updated OSI is delivered by broadcast, they update the OSI until the start of the next modification period. In the first minimum SI of the next modification period, gNB add the information of the on-demand SI window for the updated OSI. The UE then acquires the updated OSI following legacy SI acquisition procedure.
He in view of Chang and Lin are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify He in view of Chang to include the concept of updating to broadcast scheduling as taught by Lin so as to facilitate better scheduling between devices.
Regarding Claim 14,
Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 7.
Conclusion
/JESSE P. SAMLUK/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411