DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the filing of the application on 2/08/2024. Since the initial filing, no claims have been amended, added, or canceled. Thus, claims 1-15 are pending in the application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word "means," but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“Body massage unit” (claim 1 ln. 2 and ln. 3, claim 5 ln. 3)
“Arm massage unit” (claim 1 ln. 3 and ln. 4, claim 2, ln. 2 and 2-3, claim 3 ln. 2, claim 4 ln.2, claim 5 ln. 4, claim 7 ln.1)
“Lifting and lowering unit” (claim 1 ln. 4, claim 2 ln. 1,2, and 3, claim 3 ln.1, claim 4 ln. 1, claim 5 ln. 2)
“Position adjustment unit” (claim 5 ln. 5, claim 6 ln. 2, claim 8 ln. 2, claim 11 ln. 1, claim 13 ln. 3)
“Driving unit” (claim 5 ln. 7, claim 13 ln. 1, claim 14 ln. 1, claim 15 ln. 1)
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
The term “body massage unit” in claim 1 and claim 5 is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) because sufficient structure is not recited in the claim to support the function of “body massage unit.” However, sufficient structure is recited in the specification. The following is the corresponding structure provided ([0042] discloses the body massage unit 1000 may include a massage module 1700 to perform a massage function on at least one part of the body. It further discloses the inclusion of an audio output module 1500, a frame unit 1100, and a user input module 1400. [0045] disclose that the body massage unit has a space with a shape to accommodate a user’s body and further has a “sitting type” capability).
The term “arm massage unit” in claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 7 is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) because sufficient structure is not recited in the claim to support the function of “arm massage unit.” However, sufficient structure is recited in the specification. The following is the corresponding structure provided ([00115] discloses that the arm massage unit is accommodated inside the side accommodation unit 1900 and may be connected/adjusted by the lifting and lowering unit 4000; See Figs 1 and 4-5).
The term “lifting and lowering unit” in claims 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) because sufficient structure is not recited in the claim to support the function of “lifting and lowering.” However, sufficient structure is recited in the specification. The following is the corresponding structure provided ([00124] discloses that the lifting and lowering unit 4000 includes a first base 4100, second base 4200, a position adjustment unit 4300, and a driving unit 4400).
The term “position adjustment unit” in claims 5, 6, 8, 11, and 13 is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) because sufficient structure is not recited in the claim to support the function of “position adjustment unit.” However, sufficient structure is recited in the specification. The following is the corresponding structure provided ([00140] discloses the position adjustment unit includes a first link 4310, second link 4330, a third link 4350, and a link connection part 4370).
The term “driving unit” in claims 5, 13, 14 and 15 is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) because sufficient structure is not recited in the claim to support the function of “driving unit.” However, sufficient structure is recited in the specification. The following is the corresponding structure provided ([00220] discloses the driving unit 4400 may generate power by a hydraulic or pneumatic cylinder method. The driving unit also generates linear power and transmit linear power to the second link 4330).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the phrase,” disposed in a lower region of the arm massage unit” is unclear as it contradicts claim 1 and 7 as they state that the lifting and lowering unit is disposed on a lower region of the arm massage unit. For the purposes of examination, the lifting and lowering unit will be interpreted as being disposed on the lower region of the arm massage unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ishiguro et al (WO 2011/138841 A1; see accompanying translation).
Regarding claim 1, Ishiguro discloses a massage apparatus (Fig 2, chair-type massage machine 1) comprising:
a body massage unit configured to massage at least a part of a body of a user ([Abstract] discloses that the chair-type massage machine 1 can massage other parts of the body other than the arms when the arm massage part 5 is not in use);
an arm massage unit (Fig 2, arm massage part 5) disposed on a side portion of the body massage unit (Fig 2, arm massage part 5 is on both sides of the chair-type massage machine 1) and configured to massage an arm of the user (Page 2 discloses an arm massage portion 5 enables arm massage; Fig 1, arm massage portion 5 is the arm massage unit);
and a lifting and lowering unit (Fig 3, positioning means 13 is the lifting and lowering unit) disposed on a lower portion of the arm massage unit (Fig 3, the positioning means 13 is showing the components of, in order to adjust the arm, connected to the lower portion of the arm massage portion 5) and configured to adjust a position of the arm massage unit (Page 3 discloses the positioning means 13 is what allows the swinging or up and down movement to occur for the arm massage part 5).
Regarding claim 2, Ishiguro discloses the lifting and lowering unit (Fig 3, positioning means 13) moves the arm massage unit (Fig 3, arm massage part 5) in at least one of an upward direction and a downward direction of the arm massage unit (Fig 2, arm massage part 5 is able to move up. This is shown by the left armrest 3L being in an unused position and the right armrest 3R showing the positioning means 13 lifting the arm massage portion 5 up. The left side 3L is showing that the arm massage portion may be go in a downward direction to be placed back into the armrest portion 3).
Regarding claim 3, Ishiguro discloses the lifting and lowering unit is disposed in at least a partial region of an entire lower region of the arm massage unit (Fig 3, positioning means 13 is connected to the lower portion of arm massage part 5 and is at least disposed in a partial region through arm member 17).
Regarding claim 4, Ishiguro discloses the lifting and lowering unit is disposed in a lower region of the arm massage unit (Fig 3, positioning means 13 is connected to the lower portion of arm massage part 5 and is at least disposed in a partial region through arm member 17) between one end and another end of the arm massage unit (Fig 3, the arm member 17 is connected in between one end and another end of the arm massage portion 5; see annotated Fig 3 below for convenience).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5–8 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishiguro et al, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Burton et al (WO 2021009169 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Ishiguro discloses the massage device of claim 1 as described above. Ishiguro also discloses the lifting and lowering unit (Ishiguro, Fig 3, positioning means 13). Ishiguro also discloses that the arm massage part 5 may also use an electric motor or hydraulic motor for the lifting and lowering motion (Ishiguro, Page 7 discloses that the arm massage part 5 can use an electric motor or hydraulic actuator to perform the adjustable motion).
Ishiguro does not disclose a first base disposed inside the body massage unit; a second base which is disposed to face the first base and to which the arm massage unit is coupled; a position adjustment unit disposed between the first base and the second base and capable of adjusting a position of the second base with respect to the first base; and a driving unit configured to transmit power to the position adjustment unit.
However, Burton teaches an adjustable arm rest assembly (Burton, Fig 6, arm rest assembly 6) to move in an upward and downward motion where the arm can be lowered to an unused state (Burton, Fig 1 and 2 show the armrest assembly with an armrest positioning means 8 is fully lifted in Fig 2 and lowered in Fig 1). Burton also teaches the first base (Burton, Fig 7, and 8, first base is a combination of the cushion frame 16 and seat base connection 4) second base (Burton, Fig 4, armrest support 21 is the second base), and a position adjustment unit disposed in between the first and second base. Burton teaches the position adjustment unit meant to adjust the position of the second base with respect to the first base as well (Burton, Page 6 discloses that the armrest adjustment arrangement 22 acts as the position adjustment unit and is connected to the seat base connection interface 4 and the seat cushion assembly 10, which raises or lowers). Burton further teaches a driving unit to power the position adjustment unit (Burton, Fig 9, actuator 9 is the driving unit).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the positioning means of Ishiguro to include the armrest adjustment arrangement as taught by Burton, as this would be an obvious substitution of one known element for another (substituting the positioning means 13 of Ishiguro with the armrest adjustment arrangement 22 of Burton) and one would expect the modified version to function equally as well. The armrest adjustment arrangement of Burton allows for the armrest assembly to move in unison with the back frame so that the armrest assembly may remain a horizontal position or provide a more desirable position throughout the range of motion (Burton, Page 3 discloses the linkage system connects to the back frame of the arm rest and how it moves in unison with the slouch mechanism, this ensures that the horizontal position provides a desired position of the user). It further allows the user to lower and store the armrest if desired (Burton, Page 3 discloses that the armrest adjustment arrangement 22 is able to open or close to be placed in a “in-use” state or stored state). Use of the armrest adjustable armrest entailing a first base, second base, position adjustment unit, and driving unit would allow for a more desirable position and uniform movement with a chair assembly.
Regarding claim 6, the modified device of Ishiguro has an interval (Burton, Fig 8, pivot joint 27 is the interval) between the first base and the second base (Burton, Fig 7 and 8, pivot joint 27 is in between the first base 4 and 16 and the second base 21) is changed by the position adjustment unit (Burton, Page 6 discloses that the armrest adjustment arrangement 22 acts as the position adjustment unit and is connected to the seat base connection interface 4 and the seat cushion assembly 10 which raises or lowers), the second base is disposed to be inclined with respect to the first base by a preset angle (Burton, Fig 7 and 8, the second base 21 and the first base 4 and 16 are connected by the pivot joint 27 to move together in a “scissor” movement. When the armrest adjustment arrangement 22 is raised or lowered there is an angle and change in angle; See annotated Figures 7 and 8 below).
Regarding claim 7, the modified device of Ishiguro has the arm massage unit (Ishiguro, Fig 2, arm massage part 5; see annotated Figure 3; thick rectangle indicates the bottom of the arm massage portion where the underside would connect to the armrest support 21 of Burton) being couplable to another side of the second base which is opposite to one side of the second base facing the first base (Burton, Fig 4, armrest support 21 is connected to the underside of the armrest body 20; in the modified massage chair of Ishiguro the armrest support 21 is connected to the underside of the arm massage part 5. The top of the armrest support 21 is connected to the underside of the arm massage part 5, the opposite side, the bottom of the armrest support 21 would be facing the first base (Burton, Fig 7 and 8, first base 4 and 16); see annotated Figure 4 where line indicates the armrest support 21 where the arm massage part 5 of Ishiguro would be placed and the first base 4 and 16 facing the opposite side).
(Fig 3 of Ishiguro)
(Fig 4 of Burton)
Regarding claim 8, the modified massage chair of Ishiguro has the position adjustment unit includes:
a first link (Burton, Fig 4, link arm 26 is the first link) rotatably connected to the first base; (Burton, Fig 7 and 8, the first base 4 and 16 is connected to the link arm 26 at pivot joint end 29; Burton, Page 7 discloses the moving pivot joint end 29 toward the pivot joint end 32 causes the raising movement and moving the pivot joint end away from the pivot joint end will lower the armrest body 20).
a second link (Burton, Fig 8, link arm 28 is the second link) configured to connect the first base and the second base to each other and disposed to cross the first link (Burton, Fig 4, link arm 28 is connected to first base 4 and 16 and the armrest support 21 and is crossed at the pivot joint 27);
and a third link (Burton, Fig 11, pivot connection 23 is the third joint) configured to connect the first link and the second base (Burton, Fig 11, pivot connection 23 is connected to the armrest support 21 and the pivot joint end 29 attached to the first base 4 and 16).
Alternatively, in an additional interpretation, the modified massage chair of Ishiguro has the position adjustment unit that includes a first link (Burton, Fig 8, link arm 28) rotatably connected to the first base (Burton, Fig 7 and 8, first base is 4, 16, and 40);
a second link (Burton, Fig 8, link arm 26) configured to connect the first base (Burton, Fig 4 and 8, link arm 26 is connected to the first base 4, 16, and 40) and the second base (Burton, Fig 14, armrest support 21 is the second base) to each other and disposed to cross the first link;
and a third link configured to connect the first link and the second base (Burton, Fig 13, slide connection 25 is the third link which connects the first base 4, 16, and 40 to the second base).
Regarding claim 9, the modified massage device of Ishiguro has another side of the second link (Burton, Fig 11, link arm 26) which is opposite to one side of the second link connected to the second base (Burton, Fig 4 and 8, link arm 26 is the second link which is connected to one side to the armrest support 21 as the second base, while the opposite side is connected to the actuator 9), is linearly movable on the first base (Burton, Fig 11 and 12, the link arm 26 is the second link and is linearly movable due to the actuator 9).
Regarding claim 13, the modified massage chair of Ishiguro has the driving unit transmits the power so that the position adjustment unit is movable on the first base (Burton, Fig 4 and Fig 7, the actuator 9 is the driving unit and is attached to the armrest adjustment arrangement 22 and the first base 4 and 16; Fig 9A and 9B, power drive 30; Burton, Page 12 discloses the power drive 30 I made up of a linearly moveable slider member 31 which is supported to move up and down positions. Further, a power transmission 52 and a motor drive 52 is includes in this assembly which indicates that the power drive has power to move on the first base 4 and 16).
Regarding claim 14, the modified massage chair of Ishiguro has the driving unit is coupled to the first base (Burton, Fig 7 and 8, the actuator 9 is attached to the first base 4 and 16).
Regarding claim 15, the modified massage chair of Ishiguro has the driving unit generates the power in a hydraulic or pneumatic manner (Burton, Page 3 discloses the armrest is attached to the cushion frame. The linkage, motors, clutches, pistons, and linear motion system makes up the armrest adjustment arrangement 22 linkage assembly).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishiguro et al in view of Burton et al, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Kunststoffwerke (DE 202016106055 U1).
Regrading claim 10, the modified massage device of Ishiguro has the massage device as discussed in claim 8. The modified device of Ishiguro also has the first link.
The modified massage device of Ishiguro does not have a pair of first link bodies disposed to face each other;
and a support configured to connect the pair of first link bodies.
However, Kunststoffwerke teaches an adjustable armrest device that includes a scissor-type mechanism for lifting and lowering comprised of a pair of first link bodies that face each other (Kunststoffwerke, Fig 2, the bars 46 and 48; Kunststoffwerke discloses “ the second part 22 two parallel bars 46 and 48 on” where parallel means the bars are connected and face each other) , and a support to connect the pair of first link bodies (Kunststoffwerke discloses “ The bars 46 and 48 are about axes 36 and 38 and connecting struts, not shown in the figures, connected to each other”; Kunststoffwerke, Fig 1, the axis 36 and 38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the massage device of Ishiguro to include the pair of first link bodies and a support meant to connect the pair of first link bodies as taught by Kunststoffwerke, as this would be an obvious substitution of one known element for another (substituting the duplicate link to create a have bars 46 and 48 parallel and facing each other as taught by Kunststoffwerke) and one would expect the modified version to function equally as well. The massage device would be modified to have another first link or rather a duplicate link, which can be linked together with a support. This modification also offers more stability and structure. Use of the duplicate link would allow for a more stable structure.
Regarding claim 11, the modified massage device of Ishiguro has the position adjustment unit further includes an interval maintaining part disposed to be contactable between the first link and the second link and configured to separate the first link and the second link by a present interval (Burton, Page 7 discloses that the armrest adjustment arrangement 22 includes links arms 26 and 28, which are connected at a pivot joint 27, where the pivot joint 27 is the interval which can be contactable between the link arms 26 and 28 to keep them connected; Kunststoffwerke, Fig 2, axis 40 is connecting duplicate link arms 46 and 48 show spacing in between the links at the site of connection)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest identified prior art of record is Burton et al as cited and relied upon above. An additional prior art is Kong et al (WO 2021241996 A1). Regarding claim 12, Burton fails to disclose a stopper that is provided on another side of the first link, which is opposite to one side of the first link connected to the first base. Burton fails to disclose a placing groove formed on a surface of the second base facing the first base to allow the stopper to be placed. In regards to Kong, Kong fails to disclose a stopper and placing groove that acts closer toward a locking mechanism for the height of an adjustable armrest and rather as a mechanism to help the armrest move with the reclining body of a massage chair.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hur et al (US 20240148592 A1), Kong et al (US 20230201069 A1), Yoda et al (US 20050146176 A1) are all massage chairs or massage apparatuses that deal with an arm massage unit that provides arm massage.
/JAMIE H. BISHOP/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TIMOTHY A STANIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785