DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/22/2024 and 05/29/2024 was filed after the mailing date of the Application on 02/08/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: “the cap includes the first portion and the second portion”. For the purpose of examination, this limitation will be interpreted as “the cap includes the second portion” which is illustrated in Fig. 11A-B of the present disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kumar et al. (US 2006/0052666).
With regards to claim 1:
Kumar et al. discloses (refer to Fig. 1 below) a fluid supply system for an endoscope, the fluid supply system comprising:
a first container (20) having an interior volume configured to contain a fluid;
a second container (1) having an interior volume configured to contain a fluid; and
a coupling mechanism (21) having a first portion (left side of tube (21)) and a second portion (right side of tube (21)), and a lumen extending therebetween, wherein the first portion of the coupling mechanism is configured to engage with the first container (20) and the second portion is configured to engage with the second container (1); and
wherein the first portion includes a first fluid port in fluid communication with the first container (20) via the lumen; and
wherein the first container (20) and the second container (1) are in fluid communication via the lumen.
Fig. 1
With regards to claim 11:
Kumar et al. discloses (refer to Fig. 1 above) a coupling mechanism (21) for an endoscope comprising:
a first portion (left side of tube (21)) configured to engage with a first container (20);
a second portion (right side of tube (21)) configured to engage with a second container;
a lumen (passage in the tube (21)) extending from the first portion to the second portion;
a first fluid port of the first portion, the first fluid port in fluid communication with the lumen; and
a second fluid port of the second portion, the second fluid port is configured to be in fluid communication with a volume defined by the second container (1) when the second portion engages the second container.
With regards to claim 12:
Kumar et al. discloses the coupling mechanism of claim 11, wherein the second portion includes a valve (23) configured to control a flow of fluid through the lumen extending from the first portion to the second portion.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by IWASAKI (US 2023/0255448).
With regards to claim 17:
IWASAKI discloses (refer to Fig. 2 below) a fluid supply system for an endoscope, the fluid supply system comprising:
a first container (21) having an interior volume configured to contain a fluid;
a second container (22) having an interior volume configured to contain a fluid; and
a coupling mechanism (29) having a first portion (27, 29) and a second portion (29, 34), and a lumen extending therebetween, wherein the first portion of the coupling mechanism is configured to engage with the first container (21) and the second portion is configured to engage with the second container (22);
wherein the first container (21) and the second container (22) are in fluid communication via the lumen;
wherein the first portion (27, 29) of the coupling mechanism further includes a first fluid port (1) configured to engage with a first end of a first tubing (28), the first tubing (28) having a second end configured to engage with the endoscope (5); and
wherein the second portion (29, 34) of the coupling mechanism further includes a second fluid port (2) configured to engage with a first end of a second tubing (34), the second tubing having a second end configured to engage with a fluid supply (fluid in the container (22)).
Fig. 2
Claim(s) 1-4, 11 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Merchant (US 2020/0330326).
The recitation “for an endoscopy” is considered to be a name given the claimed device relative to its intended use. From M.P.E.P. §2111.02 (II):
If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir.1999). If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed.Cir. 1997).
As evidenced by the explanation given below, the claimed structure finds their equivalents in the reference(s) applied. As such the device of Merchant is readable as a “a fluid supply system for an endoscope”.
With regards to claim 1:
Merchant discloses (refer to Fig. 3 below) a fluid supply system for an endoscope, the fluid supply system comprising:
a first container (24) having an interior volume configured to contain a fluid (22);
a second container (12) having an interior volume configured to contain a fluid (20); and
a coupling mechanism (10) having a first portion (1) and a second portion (2), and a lumen extending therebetween, wherein the first portion of the coupling mechanism is configured to engage with the first container (24) and the second portion is configured to engage with the second container (12); and
wherein the first portion includes a first fluid port (104) in fluid communication with the first container (10) via the lumen; and
wherein the first container (24) and the second container (12) are in fluid communication via the lumen.
[AltContent: textbox (C)][AltContent: arrow]
Fig. 3
With regards to claim 2:
Merchant discloses the fluid supply system of claim 1, wherein the first container (24) is an intravenous (IV) bag, and an end of the first portion of the coupling mechanism is a bag spike (S) configured to be coupled to the IV bag.
With regards to claim 3:
Merchant discloses the fluid supply system of claim 1, wherein the coupling mechanism is a cap (C) configured to cover an opening of the second container (12).
With regards to claim 4:
Merchant discloses the fluid supply system of claim 3, wherein the first fluid port is configured to engage with a first end of a first tubing (14), the first tubing having a second end (not shown) configured to engage with the endoscope (not shown).
With regards to claim 11:
Merchant discloses (refer to Fig. 3 above) a coupling mechanism (10) for an endoscope comprising:
a first portion (1) configured to engage with a first container (24);
a second portion (2) configured to engage with a second container (12);
a lumen (passage in coupling) extending from the first portion to the second portion;
a first fluid port of the first portion (1), the first fluid port in fluid communication with the lumen; and
a second fluid port of the second portion (2), the second fluid port is configured to be in fluid communication with a volume defined by the second container (12) when the second portion engages the second container.
With regards to claim 13:
Merchant discloses the coupling mechanism of claim 11, wherein the first container (24) is an intravenous (IV) bag, and the first portion includes a bag spike (S) configured to be coupled to the IV bag.
With regards to claim 14:
Kumar et al. discloses the coupling mechanism of claim 11, further comprising:
a cap (C) and the cap includes the second portion.
Claim(s) 1, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gobi Frattini (US 2016/0000650).
The recitation “for an endoscopy” is considered to be a name given the claimed device relative to its intended use. From M.P.E.P. §2111.02 (II):
If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir.1999). If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed.Cir. 1997).
As evidenced by the explanation given below, the claimed structure finds their equivalents in the reference(s) applied. As such the device of Gobi Frattini is readable as a “a fluid supply system for an endoscope”.
With regards to claim 1:
Gobi Frattini discloses (refer to Fig. 4 below) a fluid supply system for an endoscope, the fluid supply system comprising:
a first container (9) having an interior volume configured to contain a fluid (70);
a second container (2) having an interior volume configured to contain a fluid (50); and
a coupling mechanism (8) having a first portion (60) and a second portion (6), and a lumen extending therebetween, wherein the first portion of the coupling mechanism is configured to engage with the first container (9) and the second portion is configured to engage with the second container (2); and
wherein the first portion includes a first fluid port (20) in fluid communication with the first container (9) via the lumen; and
wherein the first container (9) and the second container (2) are in fluid communication via the lumen.
Fig. 4
With regards to claim 7:
Gobi Frattini discloses the fluid supply system of claim 1, wherein the second container is configured to receive a fluid from the first container through the lumen extending from the first portion to the second portion of the coupling mechanism based on a pressure at the second container (pressure in the container (2) is decreased as the fluid (50) is flowing out (via connections (3, 4)) of the container will allow the fluid (70) easily flows into the container (2)).
Claim(s) 1, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inoue et al. (US 2015/0005734).
The recitation “for an endoscopy” is considered to be a name given the claimed device relative to its intended use. From M.P.E.P. §2111.02 (II):
If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir.1999). If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed.Cir. 1997).
As evidenced by the explanation given below, the claimed structure finds their equivalents in the reference(s) applied. As such the device of Inoue et al. is readable as a “a fluid supply system for an endoscope”.
With regards to claim 1:
Inoue et al. discloses (refer to Fig. 5 below) a fluid supply system for an endoscope, the fluid supply system comprising:
a first container (21) having an interior volume configured to contain a fluid;
a second container (10) having an interior volume configured to contain a fluid; and
a coupling mechanism (25, 23, 3) having a first portion (24A) and a second portion (24B), and a lumen extending therebetween, wherein the first portion of the coupling mechanism is configured to engage with the first container (21) and the second portion is configured to engage with the second container (10); and
wherein the first portion includes a first fluid port (24A) in fluid communication with the first container (21) via the lumen; and
wherein the first container (21) and the second container (10) are in fluid communication via the lumen.
With regards to claim 8:
Inoue et al. discloses the fluid supply system of claim 1, wherein the first container (21) is a first intravenous (IV) bag, and an end of the first portion of the coupling mechanism includes a first bag spike (23) configured to be coupled to the first IV bag, and wherein the second container (10) is a second IV bag and an end of the second portion of the coupling mechanism includes a second bag spike (3A) configured to be coupled to the second IV bag.
Fig. 5
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 9-10, 15-16, and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MINH Q LE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753