DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to communications filed on June 26, 2026. 1, 4-11, and 14-20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
In view of the amendments to claim 19, the previous rejection under this heading is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (WO 2023/011208, see attached translation) in view of Tang et al. (US 2025/0039715).
Regarding Claim 1, Yan teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising: memory storing computer executable code; and at least one processor coupled with the memory configured to the execute computer executable code (“the radio access network 100 … may further include at least one terminal (for example, 120a -120 j in FIG. 1)” – See [0141]; “the apparatus includes a processor and a memory. The memory is configured to store a computer program or an instruction, and the processor is coupled to the memory; and when the processor executes the computer program or the instruction, the apparatus is enabled to perform the method” – See [0117]; The terminal/UE includes a processor that executes program code stored in a memory to perform the steps) to cause the UE to:
receive a synchronization signal (SS) burst, from a repeater, in a first frequency band on a first synchronization raster, wherein the SS burst includes an SS block (SSB) and physical broadcast channel (PBCH), the PBCH carrying a master information block (MIB) that indicates an initial control resource set (CORESET) (“The base station sends indication information of the frequency parameter to the relay device, and the relay device performs frequency shifting on the first signal based on the frequency parameter, to ensure that the frequency-shifted first signal is located on the GSCN. Because the UE receives the first signal on the GSCN, the success rate of receiving the first signal by the UE may be improved” – See [0151]; “In NR, a synchronization raster is defined, the synchronization raster corresponding to a frequency location at which the SSB may be transmitted, and prior to the UE accessing the network, the UE may search for the SSB based on the synchronization raster” – See [0157]; “It can be learned from the foregoing descriptions of the communication term that the first part of the SSB is explained, and the SSB may be composed of a PSS, an SSS, a PBCH, a DMRS, and the like. The content of the PBCH bearer is referred to as a master information block (MIB), and the MIB may indicate main information such as a search space (that is, a search space 0) and a control resource set (control resource set 0) of a system information block (SIB 1)” – See [0198]; “Similarly, taking the first frequency range as 0-3000 MHz as an example, the frequency position of the SSB after the frequency shift of the relay device satisfies the following formula 4, the GSCN of the SSB after the frequency shift satisfies the following formula 5, and the GSCN of the SSB after the frequency shift is 2 to 7498” – See [0217]; The UE receives an SS burst from a relay (repeater) in a first frequency band/raster. The SS burst includes an SSB, a PBCH, and an MIB indicating an initial control resource set for SIB1); and
wherein the serving cell uses a second synchronization raster different from the first synchronization raster and associated with a second frequency band different from the first frequency band (“the SSB sent by the base station is not located on the GSCN” – See [0161]; “In a second case, as shown in FIG. 9b, the SSB before the frequency shift is not on the GSCN, and the frequency-shifted SSB is on the GSCN” – See [0244]; See also Fig. 9b; The serving cell transmits an SSB at a second frequency/raster not located on the GSCN. The second frequency/raster is different from a first frequency/raster, which is located on the GSCN).
Yan does not explicitly teach determining, based on receiving the SS burst in the first frequency band with the first synchronization raster, that the SS burst is associated with a serving cell.
However, Tang teaches determining, based on receiving the SS burst in the first frequency band with the first synchronization raster, that the SS burst is associated with a serving cell (“Examples of RS1 and RS2 are CD-SSB and NCD-SSB respectively. RS1 and RS2 differ in terms of at least one property in the frequency domain e.g. RS1 is transmitted on synchronization raster while RS2 is not transmitted on synchronization raster” – See [0097]; “A PCell is always associated to a CD-SSB located on the synchronization raster” – See [0221]; “Frequency of the SSB to be used for this serving cell. SSB related parameters (e.g. SSB index) provided for a serving cell refer to this SSB frequency unless mentioned otherwise. The cell-defining SSB of the PCell is always on the sync raster. Frequencies are considered to be on the sync raster if they are also identifiable with a GSCN value (see TS 38.101-1 [15])” – See Table 15; Based on receiving a cell defining SSB in the GSCN (first frequency band with the first synchronization raster), the UE is able to determine that the SSB is associated with a PCell/serving cell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yan to include determining, based on receiving the SS burst in the first frequency band with the first synchronization raster, that the SS burst is associated with a serving cell since this functionality is specified in the well-known and widely-adopted 3GPP standards (See Tang, Table 15).
Regarding Claim 2, Yan in view of Tang teaches the UE of Claim 1. Yan further teaches that the first frequency band and the first synchronization raster are associated with an access link between the UE and the repeater (As shown in Fig. 9b, the first frequency band/synchronization raster (e.g., frn) is associated with an access link between the relay/repeater and the UE).
Regarding Claim 3, Yan in view of Tang teaches the UE of Claim 1. Yan further teaches that the first frequency band and the second frequency band are in a same frequency range (FR) in a licensed spectrum (“the terminal may communicate by using the licensed spectrum” – See [0146]; “When the frequency of the first signal before the frequency shift and the frequency of the frequency-shifted first signal belong to the same frequency range” – See [0011]; The first and second frequency bands are in the same frequency range in a licensed spectrum).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (WO 2023/011208, see attached translation) in view of Tang et al. (US 2025/0039715) and further in view of Oh et al. (US 2024/0049151).
Regarding Claim 4, Yan in view of Tang teaches the UE of Claim 1. Yan further teaches that the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to receive, from the repeater and in the first frequency band on the first synchronization raster, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission in the initial CORESET (“the frequency shift value is associated with a bandwidth of a control resource set of a common search space (CSS) of a type 0 physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)” – See [0107]; “the MIB may indicate main information such as a search space (that is, a search space 0) and a control resource set (control resource set 0) of a system information block (SIB 1)” – See [0198]; The UE receives the PDCCH in the control resource set (CORESET) indicated in the MIB, wherein the PDCCH transmission schedules an SIB1 (initial SIB)).
Yan and Tang do not explicitly teach that the PDCCH transmission schedules a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission; and receiving the PDSCH transmission, the PDSCH transmission carrying an initial system information block (SIB).
However, Oh teaches that the PDCCH transmission schedules a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission; and receiving the PDSCH transmission, the PDSCH transmission carrying an initial system information block (SIB) (“and the UE may receive a PDSCH including an SIB via the initial bandwidth part. In an embodiment, the UE may detect a PDCCH from the search space and the control resource set in the initial bandwidth part configured via the MIB, may receive remaining system information (RMSI) or system information block 1 (SIB1) required for initial access, via a PDSCH scheduled by the PDCCH, and may acquire configuration information for an uplink initial bandwidth part via SIB1 (or RMSI)” – See [0108]; The UE receives a PDCCH that schedules a PDSCH and receives an initial SIB carried in the PDSCH).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yan such that the PDCCH transmission schedules a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and to receive the PDSCH transmission, wherein the PDSCH transmission carries an initial system information block (SIB). Motivation for doing so would be to provide the UE with information required for initial access (See Oh, [0108]).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (WO 2023/011208, see attached translation) in view of Tang et al. (US 2025/0039715) and Oh et al. (US 2024/0049151) and further in view of MolavianJazi et al. (US 2023/0283348).
Regarding Claim 5, Yan in view of Tang and Oh teaches the UE of Claim 4. Yan, Tang, and Oh do not explicitly teach that the initial SIB indicates one or more frequency bands for downlink on the second synchronization raster, one or more frequency bands for uplink, and one or more additional frequency bands for downlink on the first synchronization raster; the one or more additional frequency bands for downlink are associated with an access link between the UE and the repeater; and the one or additional frequency band for downlink including the first frequency band.
However, MolavianJazi teaches that the initial SIB indicates one or more frequency bands for downlink on the second synchronization raster, one or more frequency bands for uplink, and one or more additional frequency bands for downlink on the first synchronization raster; the one or more additional frequency bands for downlink are associated with an access link between the UE and the repeater; and the one or additional frequency band for downlink including the first frequency band (“the (first) initial BWP can be used by Rel-15/16/17 and beyond ‘normal’ UEs” – See [0521]; “an initial DL/UL BWP of a primary cell” – See [0328]; “a second initial DL/UL BWP that is different from the initial DL/UL BWP indicated by SIB1 for initial access of UEs. The second initial DL/UL BWP can be provided by higher layer signaling such as the SIB1, the SIB1 extension, or the new SIBx” – See [0195]; “one or more of the transceivers 210 may be used for an NCR radio unit (NCR-RU) entity or NCR forwarding (NCR-Fwd) entity as a DL connection for signaling over an access link with a UE” – See [0062]; The initial SIB indicates an initial DL/UL BWP (one or more frequency bands for downlink on the second synchronization raster and one or more frequency bands for uplink). The initial SIB also indicates a second initial DL/UL BWP (one or more additional frequency bands for uplink and one or more additional frequency bands for downlink), wherein the additional frequency bands are associated with an NCR (repeater) that provides an access link between the NCR and the UE using the first frequency band).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yan such that the initial SIB indicates one or more frequency bands for downlink on the second synchronization raster, one or more frequency bands for uplink, and one or more additional frequency bands for downlink on the first synchronization raster; the one or more additional frequency bands for downlink are associated with an access link between the UE and the repeater; and the one or additional frequency band for downlink including the first frequency band. Motivation for doing so would be to provide different bands that can be used respectively by the UE and the repeater (See MolavianJazi, [0521]).
Regarding Claim 6, Yan in view of Tang, Oh, and MolavianJazi teaches the UE of Claim 5. MolavianJazi further teaches that the initial SIB indicates one or more additional frequency bands for uplink, the one or more additional bands for uplink are associated with the access link between the UE and the repeater (“a second initial DL/UL BWP that is different from the initial DL/UL BWP indicated by SIB1 for initial access of UEs. The second initial DL/UL BWP can be provided by higher layer signaling such as the SIB1, the SIB1 extension, or the new SIBx” – See [0195]; “one or more of the transceivers 210 may be used for an NCR radio unit (NCR-RU) entity or NCR forwarding (NCR-Fwd) entity as a DL connection for signaling over an access link with a UE” – See [0062]; The initial SIB also indicates a second initial DL/UL BWP (one or more additional frequency bands for uplink), wherein the additional frequency bands are associated with an NCR (repeater) that provides an access link between the NCR and the UE using the first frequency band); and
the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to transmit one or more uplink transmissions for the serving cell via one of the one or more additional frequency bands for uplink (“The transceiver of the NCR-Fwd entity is configured to receive a RF signal on the access link” – See [0006]; The repeater receives uplink transmissions from the UE via the configured DL/UL BWP (one or more additional frequency bands for uplink)).
Regarding Claim 7, Yan in view of Tang, Oh, and MolavianJazi teaches the UE of Claim 5. Yan further teaches that the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: receive, from the repeater, one or more transmissions on one of the one or more additional frequency bands for downlink on the first synchronization raster (“In NR, a synchronization raster is defined, the synchronization raster corresponding to a frequency location at which the SSB may be transmitted, and prior to the UE accessing the network, the UE may search for the SSB based on the synchronization raster” – See [0157]; The UE receives an SSB from the repeater on the first synchronization raster via the one or more additional frequency bands).
Tang further teaches determining the one or more transmissions are associated with the serving cell (“Examples of RS1 and RS2 are CD-SSB and NCD-SSB respectively. RS1 and RS2 differ in terms of at least one property in the frequency domain e.g. RS1 is transmitted on synchronization raster while RS2 is not transmitted on synchronization raster” – See [0097]; “A PCell is always associated to a CD-SSB located on the synchronization raster” – See [0221]; “Frequency of the SSB to be used for this serving cell. SSB related parameters (e.g. SSB index) provided for a serving cell refer to this SSB frequency unless mentioned otherwise. The cell-defining SSB of the PCell is always on the sync raster. Frequencies are considered to be on the sync raster if they are also identifiable with a GSCN value (see TS 38.101-1 [15])” – See Table 15; Based on receiving a cell defining SSB in the GSCN (first frequency band with the first synchronization raster), the UE is able to determine that the SSB is associated with a PCell/serving cell).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (WO 2023/011208, see attached translation) in view of Kim et al. (WO 2019/194610, see attached translation).
Regarding Claim 19, Yan teaches a network entity comprising: memory storing computer executable code; and at least one processor coupled with the memory configured to execute computer executable code (“As shown in FIG. 13, a possible schematic diagram of a base station 1300 is provided, including: an antenna 1310, a signal transceiving unit 1320, a processor 1330, and a memory 1340, wherein the memory 1340 is configured to store computer program code or instructions, and the processor 1330 is configured to execute the program or the instructions” – See [0322]) to cause the network entity to:
configure a repeater associated with the network entity to translate downlink transmissions from the network entity to a first frequency band on a first synchronization raster (“The base station sends the indication information of the frequency shift value to the relay device” – See [0179]; “The base station sends indication information of the frequency parameter to the relay device, and the relay device performs frequency shifting on the first signal based on the frequency parameter, to ensure that the frequency-shifted first signal is located on the GSCN. Because the UE receives the first signal on the GSCN, the success rate of receiving the first signal by the UE may be improved” – See [0151]; “In NR, a synchronization raster is defined, the synchronization raster corresponding to a frequency location at which the SSB may be transmitted, and prior to the UE accessing the network, the UE may search for the SSB based on the synchronization raster” – See [0157]; The base station (network entity) configures a relay (repeater) to translate downlink transmissions from the base station to a first frequency band and to a first synchronization raster based on the frequency shift value); and
transmit a synchronization signal (SS) burst on a second frequency band, different from the first frequency band, on a second synchronization raster different from the first synchronization raster (“The relay device receives the first signal from the base station” – See [0186]; “The first signal may be a downlink signal to be sent by the base station, for example, an SSB” – See [0195]; See also Fig. 9a; The base station outputs an SSB on f1 (second frequency band using a second synchronization raster), wherein the relay transmits the SSB on f2 (first frequency band and first synchronization raster) to the UE based on the frequency shift value),
wherein the SS burst includes an SS block (SSB) and physical broadcast channel (PBCH) carrying a master information block (MIB) indicating an initial control resource set (CORESET) (“It can be learned from the foregoing descriptions of the communication term that the first part of the SSB is explained, and the SSB may be composed of a PSS, an SSS, a PBCH, a DMRS, and the like. The content of the PBCH bearer is referred to as a master information block (MIB), and the MIB may indicate main information such as a search space (that is, a search space 0) and a control resource set (control resource set 0) of a system information block (SIB 1)” – See [0198]; The SS burst includes an SSB, a PBCH, and an MIB indicating an initial control resource set for SIB1).
Yan does not explicitly teach that the first synchronization raster is a non-legacy synchronization raster not decodable by legacy user equipments (UEs).
However, Kim teaches that the first synchronization raster is a non-legacy synchronization raster not decodable by legacy user equipments (UEs) (“you may not get the desired link quality. Therefore, a method of separating the positions of the SSB of the relay and the SSB of the DgNB can be considered. The legacy UE will assume that the SSB is transmitted only in the sync raster, the area in which the currently defined SSB is expected to be transmitted, and there is a method of setting the sync raster of the relay at a different location. In this case, only the NR UE can read the SSB / RMSI of the relay, and the legacy UE attaches only to the existing DgNB, so that there is no influence by the relay” – See p. 14; “The legacy UE will assume that the SSB is sent only in the currently defined sync raster, and set the sync raster of the relay at a different location. In this case, only the NR UE can read the SSB / RMSI of the relay, and the legacy UE is connected to the existing DgNB only so that there is no influence by the relay” – See p. 16; The first synchronization raster on which is the relay/repeater transmits the SSB is not readable/decodable by legacy UEs, and only NR UEs can read the SSBs on the first synchronization raster).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yan such that the first synchronization raster is a non-legacy synchronization raster not decodable by legacy user equipments (UEs). Motivation for doing so would be to enable the legacy UEs to attach only to the existing network entity, so that there is no influence by the repeater (See Kim, p. 14).
Regarding Claim 20, Yan teaches a repeater comprising: memory storing computer executable code; and at least one processor coupled with the memory configured to execute the computer executable code (“According to a twelfth aspect, a communication apparatus is provided, where the apparatus includes a processor and a memory. The memory is configured to store a computer program or an instruction, and the processor is coupled to the memory; and when the processor executes the computer program or the instruction, the apparatus is enabled to perform the method according to the second aspect, the fourth aspect, or the seventh aspect” – See [0120]; “the communication apparatus 1200 May further include a memory 1230, an instruction for storing the processor 1210 or input data required by the storage processor 1210 to run the instruction, or data generated after the processor 1210 runs the instruction” – See [0319]) to cause the repeater to:
receive a synchronization signal (SS) burst from a network entity on a first frequency band on a first synchronization raster (“The relay device receives the first signal from the base station” – See [0186]; “The first signal may be a downlink signal to be sent by the base station, for example, an SSB” – See [0195]; “In NR, a synchronization raster is defined, the synchronization raster corresponding to a frequency location at which the SSB may be transmitted, and prior to the UE accessing the network, the UE may search for the SSB based on the synchronization raster” – See [0157]; See also Fig. 9a; The relay (repeater) receives an SSB on f1 (first frequency band with a first synchronization raster) from a base station (network entity)),
wherein the SS burst includes an SS block (SSB) and physical broadcast channel (PBCH) carrying a master information block (MIB) indicating an initial control resource set (CORESET) (“It can be learned from the foregoing descriptions of the communication term that the first part of the SSB is explained, and the SSB may be composed of a PSS, an SSS, a PBCH, a DMRS, and the like. The content of the PBCH bearer is referred to as a master information block (MIB), and the MIB may indicate main information such as a search space (that is, a search space 0) and a control resource set (control resource set 0) of a system information block (SIB 1)” – See [0198]; The SS burst includes an SSB, a PBCH, and an MIB indicating an initial control resource set for SIB1); and
forward the SS burst to a user equipment (UE) on a second frequency band, different from the first frequency band, on a second synchronization raster, different from the first synchronization raster (“The base station sends indication information of the frequency parameter to the relay device, and the relay device performs frequency shifting on the first signal based on the frequency parameter, to ensure that the frequency-shifted first signal is located on the GSCN. Because the UE receives the first signal on the GSCN, the success rate of receiving the first signal by the UE may be improved” – See [0151]; See also Fig. 9a; The relay frequency shifts the SSB received from the base station to f2 (second frequency band with a second synchronization raster) and forwards the SSB to a UE).
Yan does not explicitly teach that the second synchronization raster is a non-legacy synchronization raster not decodable by legacy UEs.
However, Kim teaches that the second synchronization raster is a non-legacy synchronization raster not decodable by legacy UEs (“you may not get the desired link quality. Therefore, a method of separating the positions of the SSB of the relay and the SSB of the DgNB can be considered. The legacy UE will assume that the SSB is transmitted only in the sync raster, the area in which the currently defined SSB is expected to be transmitted, and there is a method of setting the sync raster of the relay at a different location. In this case, only the NR UE can read the SSB / RMSI of the relay, and the legacy UE attaches only to the existing DgNB, so that there is no influence by the relay” – See p. 14; “The legacy UE will assume that the SSB is sent only in the currently defined sync raster, and set the sync raster of the relay at a different location. In this case, only the NR UE can read the SSB / RMSI of the relay, and the legacy UE is connected to the existing DgNB only so that there is no influence by the relay” – See p. 16; The second synchronization raster on which is the relay/repeater transmits the SSB is not readable/decodable by legacy UEs, and only NR UEs can read the SSBs on the second synchronization raster).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yan such that the second synchronization raster is a non-legacy synchronization raster not decodable by legacy UEs for the same reasons as those given with respect to Claim 19.
Response to Arguments
On pages 8-9 of the remarks, Applicant argues in substance that Yan does not teach “configure a repeater associated with the network entity to translate downlink transmissions from the network entity to a first frequency band on a first synchronization raster that is a non-legacy synchronization raster not decodable by legacy user equipments (UEs),” as recited in independent claims 19 and 20. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot based on the new grounds of rejection. In response to the amended limitations, the Examiner relies upon the newly-cited Kim reference.
On pages 10-11 of the remarks, Applicant argues in substance that Yan and Akl do not teach “determine, based on receiving the SS burst in the first frequency band with the first synchronization raster, that the SS burst is associated with a serving cell, wherein the serving cell uses a second synchronization raster different from the first synchronization raster and associated with a second frequency band different from the first frequency band,” as recited in independent claim 1. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot based on the new grounds of rejection. In response to the amended limitations, the Examiner relies upon the newly-cited Tang reference.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCOTT M SCIACCA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478