DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 290 and 390. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
For examination purposes Examiner’s interpretation of the means plus function limitations in the claims are listed below per the disclosures in the specification:
The first “drive means” of claim 1 is interpreted as a polygonal outer shaped portion (e.g. a hexagon) and equivalents thereof (i.e. substantially polygonal shapes that a tool and latch onto to spin the hollow screw);
The second “drive means” of claim 1 is interpreted as a polygonal outer shaped portion, a slit, a web, a cross-shaped indentation, or an indentation to fil an Allen key and equivalents thereof (e.g. a shape on the top there of that can receive a corresponding shaped known tightening tool);
The “means of a joint connection” of claim 3 is interpreted as a traditional helical threaded connection or locking arms and equivalents thereof (i.e. known elements the comprise projections on one part interfitting and locking with recesses on the other part);
The “first drive means” of claim 11 is interpreted as a polygonal outer shaped portion (e.g. a hexagon) and equivalents thereof (i.e. substantially polygonal shapes that a tool can latch onto to spin the hollow screw) as it is interpreted to be the same means as in claim 1;
The “second drive means” of claim 11 is interpreted as a plurality of circumferentially spaced indentations in an inner cylindrical wall of the hollow screw capable of receiving a tool and equivalents thereof (though there do not appear to be any known/art recognized equivalents thereof); and
The “drive means” of claim 18 is interpreted as a polygonal outer shaped portion, a slit, a web, a cross-shaped indentation, or an indentation to fil an Allen key and equivalents thereof (e.g. a shape on the top there of that can receive a corresponding shaped known tightening tool).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 9, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wandelt (US 2015/0224916).
With regard to claim 1, Wandelt discloses a connecting element (16, 18) of two components (12 and 14) spaced apart one another with tolerance compensation function (as seen in Figs. 3, 4, 6-8, etc. the connecting element of Wandelt is capable of such) comprising the following features: a. a hollow screw (28 comprising 34 and 36) with an outer thread (63), with which a thread connection to a first component (A) is establishable (as seen in Figs. 3, 6-8, etc. it is capable of such as Wandelt actually discloses such), which is adjustable by means of at least one drive means (i.e. the polygonal shaped head of 34) of the hollow screw in its longitudinal direction (as seen in Figs. 3-4, etc.), b. a nut element (32) which is received in a receiving space (48) of the hollow screw (as seen in Fig. 3, etc.) and which comprises a radial inner functional surface (i.e. threaded surface at 77, 78) so that a form-fit and force-fit connection is establishable with a first connecting end (i.e. the right-hand end in Fig. 5) of a connecting bolt (i.e. 30, as seen in Figs. 3, 6-8, etc.), wherein the connecting bolt includes a drive means (i.e. t as seen in Figs. 4-5 the shape at the end of the shaft which is capable of being gripped and is approximately polygonal in cross-section) adjacent to the first connecting end (as seen in Fig. 5), and c. wherein the connecting bolt has a second connecting end (i.e. the end comprising 60), with which a force-fit and/or form-fit connection to a second component (14) is establishable (e.g. depending on which second component it is used with it is capable of such a use (e.g. as it could be installed in a recess of essentially the exact same diameter as 60)) in that the second connecting end of the bolt engages and fastens in a connecting opening of the second component (Examiner notes that that second component is only recited as a recitation of intended use of the connecting element (i.e. Applicant is claiming a connecting element not an assembly with a connecting element installed in a certain manner) and the connecting bolt is capable of such as for example it could be installed in a recess of essentially the exact same diameter as 60)).
With regard to claim 6, Wandelt discloses that the connecting flange comprises a cap-like sealing element (i.e. the right-most portion of the connecting flange as seen in Fig. 5) projecting in the direction of the second connecting end (as seen in Fig. 5 as it has axial thickness) so as to seal a connection to the second component (as seen in Fig. 3, etc. due to the illustrated contact there is at least some amount of sealing therebetween).
With regard to claim 9, Wandelt discloses that the first connecting end of the connecting bolt comprises an outer thread (at 57/58) and the nut element comprises a matching inner thread (77/78) for establishing a thread connection (as seen in Figs. 3, etc.).
With regard to claim 12, Wandelt discloses A connection of a first component (12) and a second component (14) spaced apart from one another (as seen in Figs. 3, etc.) with the connecting element according to claim 1 (as detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above).
With regard to claim 16, Wandelt discloses that the connecting bolt comprises a radially outwardly projecting connecting flange (60 and/or the portion projecting radially outward from 60) between the first connecting end and the second connecting end (as seen in Fig. 5, etc.), the connecting flange supporting a force-fit connection with the hollow screw (as seen in Figs. 3, etc. due to the abutment when installed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 4-5, 12-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Figge (US 2020/0240459) alone.
With regard to claim 1, Figge discloses a connecting element (1) of two components (as detailed in para. [0011], etc.) spaced apart one another with tolerance compensation function (as s detailed in para. [0011], etc. the connecting element of Figge is capable of such) comprising the following features: a. a hollow screw (10) with an outer thread (as seen in Figs. 1, etc.), with which a thread connection to a first component (A) is establishable (as detailed in para. [0012], etc. the structure is capable of such), which is adjustable by means of at least one drive means (i.e. the polygonal shaped head of 10) of the hollow screw in its longitudinal direction (as seen in Figs. 1, etc.), b. a nut element (32) which is received in a receiving space (as seen in Fig. 1-3, etc.) of the hollow screw (as seen in Fig. 3, etc.) and which comprises a radial inner functional surface (as seen in Fig. 1) so that a form-fit and force-fit connection is establishable with a first connecting end (i.e. an end which would be proximate 32. Additionally see paras. [0014], etc.) of a connecting bolt (as detailed in paras. [0014], etc.), c. wherein the connecting bolt has a second connecting end (i.e. i.e. an end which would be proximate 12/14 when installed as per paras. [0014], etc.), with which a force-fit and/or form fit connection to a second component (e.g. 52) is establishable (e.g. depending on which second component it is used with it is capable of such a use (e.g. as it could be installed in a recess of essentially the exact same diameter as the second end)) in that the second connecting end of the bolt engages and fastens in a connecting opening of the second component (Examiner notes that that second component is only recited as a recitation of intended use of the connecting element (i.e. Applicant is claiming a connecting element not an assembly with a connecting element installed in a certain manner) and the connecting bolt is capable of such as for example it could be installed in a recess of essentially the exact same diameter as the bolt head). Additionally see para. [0041] disclosing the connecting bolt can pass through a connecting opening of the second component).
Figge is silent as to the exact structure of the connecting bolt and thus fails to explicitly discloses that the connecting bolt includes a drive means (as defined per the 112(f) invocation) adjacent to the first connecting end. However it would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing to have modified the device of the combination such that the connecting bolt includes a drive means adjacent to the first connecting end as Examiner hereby takes Official Notice that the art is replete with examples of connecting bolts comprising drive means (as defined per the 112(f) invocation) adjacent to the first connecting end. Such a modification would provide the expected benefit of providing the bolt with the ability to be easily driven by known tools.
As applicant has not traversed examiner’s assertion of official notice, the common knowledge or well-known in the art statement relied upon in examiner’s assertion of official notice is hereby taken to be admitted prior art in accordance with MPEP 2144.03.
With regard to claim 2, the combination (Figge) discloses that a first opening (i.e. proximate 12) of the hollow screw has an opening diameter (i.e. at 12) which is larger than a bolt diameter of the connecting bolt which reaches into the hollow screw (i.e. as seen in Fig. 3 any bolt as per paras. [0014], etc. would have to be smaller in diameter than the opening), so that the connecting bolt is displaceable within the first opening of the hollow screw for compensating tolerances laterally with respect to its longitudinal axis (as seen in Figs. 3, paras. [0047], [0060], etc.).
With regard to claim 4, the combination (Figge) is silent as to the exact structure of the connecting bolt and thus fails to explicitly discloses that the connecting bolt comprises a radially outwardly projecting connecting flange between the first connecting end and the second connecting end, the connecting flange supporting a force-fit connection with the hollow screw. However it would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing to have modified the device of Figge such that the connecting bolt comprises a radially outwardly projecting connecting flange between the first connecting end and the second connecting end, the connecting flange supporting a force-fit connection with the hollow screw as Examiner hereby takes Official Notice that the art is replete with examples connecting bolts comprising a radially outwardly projecting connecting flange between the first connecting end and the second connecting end, for use supporting a force-fit connection with an abutting element. Such a modification would provide the expected result of allowing the bolt to contact the components(s) and effect a secure connection.
As applicant has not traversed examiner’s assertion of official notice, the common knowledge or well-known in the art statement relied upon in examiner’s assertion of official notice is hereby taken to be admitted prior art in accordance with MPEP 2144.03.
With regard to claim 5, the combination (Figge) is silent as to the exact structure of the connecting bolt and thus fails to explicitly discloses that the connecting flange comprises webs facing the hollow screw which support a connection between the hollow screw and the connecting bolt in a form-fit manner. However it would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing to have modified the device of Figge such that the connecting bolt comprises the connecting flange having webs facing the hollow screw which support a connection between the hollow screw and the connecting bolt in a form-fit manner as Examiner hereby takes Official Notice that the art is replete with examples connecting bolts comprising the connecting flange comprises webs facing the element they contact which support a connection between such in a form-fit manner. Such a modification would provide the expected result of more secure fastening therebetween and reduced likelihood of the bolt backing out unintentionally.
As applicant has not traversed examiner’s assertion of official notice, the common knowledge or well-known in the art statement relied upon in examiner’s assertion of official notice is hereby taken to be admitted prior art in accordance with MPEP 2144.03.
With regard to claim 12, the combination (Figge) discloses a connection of a first component and a second component spaced apart one another (as described in paras. [0011]-[0014], etc.) with the connecting element according to claim 1 (as detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above).
With regard to claim 13, the combination (Figge) discloses a connecting method of a first component and a second component (as described in paras. [0011]-[0014], etc.) at a distance to one another with the connecting element (as described in paras. [0011]-[0014], etc.) according to one of the preceding claims claim 1 (as detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above), comprising: a. screwing-in the hollow screw of the connecting element into a first fastening opening at the first component (as disclosed in paras. [0014], etc.), b. fastening the second connecting end of the connecting bolt in a second fastening opening of the second component (as disclosed in paras. [0027], etc.), with radial tolerances being compensated in an axial alignment of the hollow screw and the connecting bolt (as seen in Fig. 3 due to the spacing therein), c. connecting the nut element (and the first connecting end of the connecting bolt so that the connecting bolt is fastened to the hollow screw (as described in paras. [0011]-[0014], etc.).
With regard to claim 14, the combination (Figge) discloses d. rotating the hollow screw in the first component so as to adjust an axial position of the connecting element (as described in the abstract, paras. [0002], [0012], etc.).
With regard to claim 17, the combination is silent as to the exact structure of the connecting bolt and thus fails to explicitly discloses that the connecting flange comprises a cap-like sealing element projecting in the direction of the second connecting end so as to seal a connection to a second component. However it would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing to have modified the device of the combination such that the connecting flange comprises a cap-like sealing element projecting in the direction of the second connecting end so as to seal a connection to a second component as Examiner hereby takes Official Notice that the art is replete with examples of connecting bolts comprising the connecting flange comprises a cap-like sealing element projecting in the direction of the second connecting end so as to seal a connection to a second component. Such a modification would provide the expected result of more sealing between the elements, preventing water ingress that could cause corrosion, etc.
As applicant has not traversed examiner’s assertion of official notice, the common knowledge or well-known in the art statement relied upon in examiner’s assertion of official notice is hereby taken to be admitted prior art in accordance with MPEP 2144.03.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 8, 10-11, 15, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-6, 8-17, and 19-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. In so much as they apply the the current grounds of rejection Applicant's arguments filed 28 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s first argument against the prior rejections is that Wandelt fails to disclose that the connecting bolt includes a drive means adjacent to the first connecting end. This argument is not persuasive as the first connecting end does include a drive means adjacent thereto (as detailed above and in the prior rejection of claim 7). Examiner notes it appears Applicant may be arguing a more specific drive means (e.g. what is shown in Applicant’s Figs.) that what is actually recited in the claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant’s second argument is that Wandelt fails to disclose the new limitation that the second connecting end has a force-fit and/or form fit and with a second component and that such end engages and fastened in a connecting opening of the second component. Examiner notes this is not persuasive as such is fully rejected in the new/amended grounds of rejection above. Specifically Examiner notes that as Applicant is only claiming a connecting element and the second component is only recited as a recitation of the capability/intended use of the connecting element these recitations only require the capability of Wandelt to perform such. As detailed above Wandelt is capable of/configured for such. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant’s next argument is that Figge fails to disclose that the connecting bolt includes a drive means adjacent to the first connecting end. This argument is not persuasive as the new grounds of rejection of claim 1 makes obvious a first connecting end that does include a drive means adjacent thereto (as detailed above and in the prior rejection of claim 18). Examiner notes it appears Applicant may be arguing a more specific drive means (e.g. what is shown in Applicant’s Figs.) that what is actually recited in the claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant’s next argument is that Figge fails to disclose the new limitation that the second connecting end has a force-fit and/or form fit and with a second component and that such end engages and fastened in a connecting opening of the second component. Examiner notes this is not persuasive as such is fully rejected in the new/amended grounds of rejection above. Specifically Examiner notes that as Applicant is only claiming a connecting element and the second component is only recited as a recitation of the capability/intended use of the connecting element these recitations only require the capability of Figge to perform such. As detailed above Figge is capable of/configured for such. Additionally see para. [0041] disclosing the connecting bolt can pass through a connecting opening of the second component. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In the interest of advancing prosecution Examiner recommends incorporating one or more of the objected to claims into the independent claims. Alternatively if Applicant wishes to positively require the argued subject matter Applicant could claim a connecting element assembly comprising a first component, a second component, and a connecting element, however to avoid an obviousness rejection Applicant should also additionally claim that the second end of the connecting bolt has a sealing element (90) with a circumferentially projecting wall (94) and that is what radially/circumferentially engages an annular wall of the connecting opening of the second component.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS L FOSTER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675