Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “processor configured… to perform the following actions…” in claim 20.
“determine a region area of a target indoor region” can be found in applicants’ specification paras. 0034-0039
“obtaining an object number and an activity intensity of at least one object in the target indoor region by an Ultra Wide Band (UWB) radar sensor;” drawings fig. 3
“determining an overall demand of the HVAC system for outdoor ventilation based on the region area and the object number and the activity intensity of the at least one object;” drawings fig. 5
“determining operational parameters of the HVAC system based on the overall demand.” Drawings fig. 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 13-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because “computer-readable storage medium” encompasses transitory signals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed US 2008/0076346 A1 in view of WATERHOUSE US 2023/0210443 A1.
Ahmed teaches:
1. A method for determining parameters of a Heating Ventilation and Air Conditioning (HVAC) system, comprising:
determining a region area of a target indoor region; [para. 0058-0060; room specific ventilation]
Ahmed does not teach the following limitation, however, WATERHOUSE teaches:
obtaining an object number and an activity intensity of at least one object in the target indoor region by an Ultra Wide Band (UWB) radar sensor; [para. 0299, “As also described herein, data on movement and activity could be used to adjust for activity level. And systems in which radar (e.g., ultra-wide band radar) is assessing the heart rate could be used as well.” And para. 0310, “The location of individuals can be determined by a variety of means, including the person logging the information, cameras, ultra-wide band (UWB) radar, heat detectors, smart speakers (sonar, computer vision, etc.).”]
Ahmed further teaches:
determining an overall demand of the HVAC system for outdoor ventilation based on the region area and the object number and the activity intensity of the at least one object; [Fig. 3 304] and
determining operational parameters of the HVAC system based on the overall demand [Fig. 3 306].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to combine the teachings of WATERHOUSE with those of Ahmed. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings because WATERHOUSE teaches that an ultra wide band radar can be used to detect heart rate for use in HVAC control, increasing user satisfaction/comfort/health. (See para. 0311).
Ahmed teaches:
2. The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the determining an overall demand of the HVAC system for outdoor ventilation based on the region area and the object number and the activity intensity of the at least one object comprises:
determining a required indoor ventilation amount of the target indoor region based on the region area and the object number and the activity intensity of the at least one object; [Fig. 3 304] and
determining the overall demand of the HVAC system for the outdoor ventilation based on the required indoor ventilation amount. [Fig. 3 306]
WATERHOUSE teaches:
7. The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the obtaining an activity intensity of at least one object in the target indoor region by a UWB radar sensor comprises:
obtaining a target heart rate of the at least one object in the target indoor region by the UWB radar sensor; [para. 0299, “As also described herein, data on movement and activity could be used to adjust for activity level. And systems in which radar (e.g., ultra-wide band radar) is assessing the heart rate could be used as well”] and
determining the activity intensity of the at least one object in the target indoor region based on the target heart rate and a predetermined reference heart rate. [para. 0121, “baseline heart rate”]
WATERHOUSE teaches:
8. The method as claimed in claim 2, wherein the obtaining an activity intensity of at least one object in the target indoor region by a UWB radar sensor comprises:
obtaining a target heart rate of the at least one object in the target indoor region by the UWB radar sensor; [para. 0299, “As also described herein, data on movement and activity could be used to adjust for activity level. And systems in which radar (e.g., ultra-wide band radar) is assessing the heart rate could be used as well”] and
determining the activity intensity of the at least one object in the target indoor region based on the target heart rate and a predetermined reference heart rate. [para. 0121, “baseline heart rate”]
Regarding apparatus claim 20, this apparatus device claim recites the functions for executing the method limitations of claim 1 above and is rejected on the same grounds and rationale as claim 1 above.
Claims 3-6, and 9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed US 2008/0076346 A1 in view of WATERHOUSE US 2023/0210443 A1 and further in view of Risbeck et al. US 2023/0250988 A1.
The combination of Ahmed and WATERHOUSE does not teach the following limitations, however, Risbeck teaches:
3. The method as claimed in claim 2, wherein the determining the overall demand of the HVAC system for the outdoor ventilation based on the required indoor ventilation amount comprises:
determining a ventilation efficiency based on an operating mode of the HVAC system; [para. 0434] and
determining the overall demand of the HVAC system for the outdoor ventilation based on the ventilation efficiency and the required indoor ventilation amount. [para. 0434]
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to combine the teachings of Risbeck with those of Ahmed and WATERHOUSE. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings because Risbeck teaches that ventilation rate and minimum ventilation of outdoor air can be increased based on occupancy. (See para. 0434)
Risbeck teaches:
4. The method as claimed in claim 2, wherein the determining a required indoor ventilation amount of the target indoor region based on the region area and the object number and the activity intensity of the at least one object comprises:
obtaining an area-based required first ventilation amount based on the region area; [para. 0378]
obtaining an object-based required second ventilation amount based on the object number and the activity intensity of the at least one object; [para. 0378]
and
determining the required indoor ventilation amount of the target indoor region based on the first ventilation amount and the second ventilation amount. [para. 0378]
Risbeck teaches:
5. The method as claimed in claim 4, wherein the obtaining an area-based required first ventilation amount based on the region area comprises:
determining a first ventilation rate corresponding to the region area; [para. 0378] and
obtaining the area-based required first ventilation amount based on the first ventilation rate and the region area. [para. 0378]
Risbeck teaches:
6. The method as claimed in claim 4, wherein the obtaining an object-based required second ventilation amount based on the object number and the activity intensity of the at least one object comprises: determining a second ventilation rate corresponding to the object number; [para. 0378]and obtaining the object-based required second ventilation amount based on the second ventilation rate and the object number and the activity intensity. [para. 0376-0378]
WATERHOUSE teaches:
9. The method as claimed in claim 3, wherein the obtaining an activity intensity of at least one object in the target indoor region by a UWB radar sensor comprises:
obtaining a target heart rate of the at least one object in the target indoor region by the UWB radar sensor; [para. 0299, “As also described herein, data on movement and activity could be used to adjust for activity level. And systems in which radar (e.g., ultra-wide band radar) is assessing the heart rate could be used as well”] and
determining the activity intensity of the at least one object in the target indoor region based on the target heart rate and a predetermined reference heart rate. [para. 0121, “baseline heart rate”]
WATERHOUSE teaches:
10. The method as claimed in claim 4, wherein the obtaining an activity intensity of at least one object in the target indoor region by a UWB radar sensor comprises:
obtaining a target heart rate of the at least one object in the target indoor region by the UWB radar sensor; [para. 0299, “As also described herein, data on movement and activity could be used to adjust for activity level. And systems in which radar (e.g., ultra-wide band radar) is assessing the heart rate could be used as well”] and
determining the activity intensity of the at least one object in the target indoor region based on the target heart rate and a predetermined reference heart rate. [para. 0121, “baseline heart rate”]
WATERHOUSE teaches:
11. The method as claimed in claim 5, wherein the obtaining an activity intensity of at least one object in the target indoor region by a UWB radar sensor comprises:
obtaining a target heart rate of the at least one object in the target indoor region by the UWB radar sensor; [para. 0299, “As also described herein, data on movement and activity could be used to adjust for activity level. And systems in which radar (e.g., ultra-wide band radar) is assessing the heart rate could be used as well”] and
determining the activity intensity of the at least one object in the target indoor region based on the target heart rate and a predetermined reference heart rate. [para. 0121, “baseline heart rate”]
WATERHOUSE teaches:
12. The method as claimed in claim 6, wherein the obtaining an activity intensity of at least one object in the target indoor region by a UWB radar sensor comprises:
obtaining a target heart rate of the at least one object in the target indoor region by the UWB radar sensor; [para. 0299, “As also described herein, data on movement and activity could be used to adjust for activity level. And systems in which radar (e.g., ultra-wide band radar) is assessing the heart rate could be used as well”] and
determining the activity intensity of the at least one object in the target indoor region based on the target heart rate and a predetermined reference heart rate. [para. 0121, “baseline heart rate”]
Regarding CRM claims 13-19, these claims recite the storage of computer executable instructions to implement the method steps as above in claims 1-12 are rejected on the same grounds and rationale as corresponding claims.
Conclusion
/GARY COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115