2. It would be of great assistance to the office if all incoming papers pertaining to a filed application carried the following items:
i. Application number (checked for accuracy, including series code and serial no.).
ii. Group art unit number (copied from most recent Office communication).
iii. Filing date.
iv. Name of the examiner who prepared the most recent Office action.
v. Title of invention.
vi. Confirmation number (See MPEP § 503).
3. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages, paragraph and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
4. Claim interpretation: When multiple limitations are connected with “OR”, one of the limitations doesn’t have any patentable weight since both of the limitations are optional.
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 12-18 & 20 are rejected under 35 USC 102 as being clearly anticipated by Gathman et al (Pub No. US. 2018/0048293).
Regarding claim 1, Gathman et al discloses an apparatus (Fig. 3-4A), comprising: a first radio-frequency (RF) receive chain comprising a first input (Fig. 3-4A: RF receiver-320 receives input signals & Para. 31-33); a second RF receive chain comprising a second input (Fig. 3: RF receiver-322 receives input signals & Para. 31-33); a jamming rejection filter circuit comprising a first node (Fig. 4A: Jamming rejection filter having input node & Para. 43: Band-stop /Bandpass response-LPF-430 with LPF-10 work as a jammer rejection filter & Para. 52); and a control circuit configured to selectively couple, via a first switch, the first node of the jamming rejection filter circuit to the first input of the first RF receive chain (Fig. 4A & 5A: switch 408a/b or 508a/b connected input node of the jamming filter of the RF circuit & Para. 39-40: Jamming detection and the controller control switches for the RF device) & (Para. 52 & 43).
Regarding claim 17, Gathman et al discloses a method for communication at an apparatus, comprising: selectively coupling a first node of a jamming rejection filter circuit to a first input of a first radio frequency (RF) receive chain of the apparatus (Fig. 4A & 5A: First switch 408a/b connected node of the jamming filter of the RF circuit & Para. 39-40: Jamming detection and the controller control switches for the RF device) & (Para. 52 & 43) and receiving at least one of a first signal based on a first radio access technology (RAT) via the first RF receive chain (Fig. 3-4A: RF receiver-320 receives input signals & Para. 31-33: RF radio device receives RF signals).
Regarding claim 20, Gathman et al discloses an apparatus (Fig. 3-5), comprising: means for selectively coupling a first node of a jamming rejection filter circuit to a first input of a first radio frequency (RF) receive chain of the apparatus (Fig. 4A & 5A: First switch 408a/b connected node of the jamming filter of the RF circuit & Para. 39-40: Jamming detection and the controller control switches for the RF device) & (Para. 52 & 43) and means for receiving at least one of a first signal based on a first radio access technology (RAT) via the first RF receive chain (Fig. 3-4A: RF receiver-320 receives input signals & Para. 31-33: RF radio device receives RF signals).
Regarding claim 12, Gathman et al discloses an integrated circuit die (Para. 33: integrated circuits (ICs), RF ICs), wherein the first RF receive chain, a first RF transmit chain associated with the first RF receive chain, the second RF receive chain, a second RF transmit chain associated with the second RF receive chain (Fig. 3: RF receive chain & 5A), and the jamming rejection filter circuit are implemented on the integrated circuit die (Para. 33: integrated circuits (ICs), RF ICs & Fig. 4-5A: Jamming rejection RFIC).
Regarding claim 13, Gathman et al discloses the jamming rejection filter circuit comprises: a mixer coupled to the first node; and a low pass filter coupled to the mixer (Para. 31: Mixer & Filters & Fig. 4-5A: Jamming rejection RFIC having mixer-402 on the firs node with filters-403).
Regarding claim 14, Gathman et al discloses the first switch comprises a switch matrix configurable to selectively couple the first node of the jamming rejection filter circuit to: the first input of the first RF receive chain; at least one other input of the first RF receive chain (Para. 31-33: Mixer with switch & Filters on RF chain & Fig. 4-5A: Jamming rejection RFIC having mixer-402 on the firs node connecting by switch-406/ 408 with filters-403).
Regarding claim 15, Gathman et al discloses at least one other input of the first RF receive chain is associated with at least one of: a first RF frequency band (Para. 3: RF cell phone communication).
Regarding claim 16, Gathman et al discloses the apparatus is configured as a user equipment for cellular communication (Para. 3: Cell phone/ Smart phone).
Regarding claim 18, Gathman et al discloses couple the first node of the jamming rejection filter circuit to the first input of the first RF receive chain and couple the second node of the jamming rejection filter circuit to the first oscillator when a first jamming signal is detected at the first input (Fig. 4A & 5A: switch 408a/b or 508a/b connected input node of the jamming filter of the RF circuit & Para. 39-40: Jamming detection and the controller control switches for the RF device) and couple the first node of the jamming rejection filter circuit to the second input of the second RF receive chain and couple the second node of the jamming rejection filter circuit to the oscillator when a second jamming signal is detected at the second input (Fig. 4A & 5A: switch 408a/b or 508a/b connected node of the jamming filter of the RF circuit & Para. 39-40: Jamming detection & Para. 31).
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gathman et al (Pub No. US. 2018/0048293) and further in view of Banerjee et al (Pub No. 2023/0144573).
Regarding claim 2 & 19, Gathman et al discloses a first oscillator associated with the first RF receive chain (Para. 31: Receive circuits 332aa include mixers, filters, amplifiers, matching circuits, an oscillator, a local oscillator (LO) generator, a phase locked loop); and
wherein the control circuit is further configured to selectively couple, via a second switch, a second node of the jamming rejection filter circuit to the first oscillator (Para. 31-32 & Fig. 4A & 5A: First switch 408a/b connected node of the jamming filter of the RF circuit having oscillator)
Gathman et al does not explicitly disclose a second oscillator associated with the second RF receive chain.
Banerjee et al discloses a second oscillator associated with the second RF receive chain (Fig. 2: Multiple oscillator-LO 224 with the second RF receive chain).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use multiple oscillators with the receiver device to process receive signals properly in order to generate the desire signals by the wireless RF communication system.
Regarding claim 3, Gathman et al discloses couple the first node of the jamming rejection filter circuit to the first input of the first RF receive chain and couple the second node of the jamming rejection filter circuit to the first oscillator when a first jamming signal is detected at the first input (Fig. 4A & 5A: switch 408a/b or 508a/b connected input node of the jamming filter of the RF circuit & Para. 39-40: Jamming detection and the controller control switches for the RF device) & (Para. 31: Receive circuits 332aa include mixers, filters, amplifiers, matching circuits, an oscillator, a local oscillator (LO) generator, a phase locked loop); and couple the first node of the jamming rejection filter circuit to the second input of the second RF receive chain and couple the second node of the jamming rejection filter circuit to the oscillator when a second jamming signal is detected at the second input (Fig. 4A & 5A: switch 408a/b or 508a/b connected node of the jamming filter of the RF circuit & Para. 39-40: Jamming detection & Para. 31: Receive circuits 332aa include matching circuits, an oscillator, a local oscillator (LO) generator, a phase locked loop).
Gathman et al does not explicitly disclose a second oscillator.
Banerjee et al discloses a second oscillator associated with the second RF device (Fig. 2: Multiple oscillator-LO 224 with the second RF receive chain).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use multiple oscillators with the receiver device to process receive signals properly in order to generate the desire signals by the wireless RF communication system.
Regarding claim 4, Gathman et al discloses the second node of the jamming rejection filter circuit is coupled to the first oscillator (Fig. 4A & 5A & Para. 31: Receive circuits 332aa include mixers, filters, amplifiers, matching circuits, an oscillator, a local oscillator (LO) generator), the jamming rejection filter circuit has a first impedance characteristic at in-band frequencies associated with the first RF receive chain (Fig. 4A & 5A: Jamming rejection filter with first impedance characteristic) and a second impedance characteristic at out-of-band frequencies associated with the first RF receive chain (Para. 50: LPF has high input impedance); and the first impedance characteristic corresponds to higher impedances than the second impedance characteristic (Para. 50: LPF has high input impedance).
Regarding claim 5, Gathman et al discloses the second node of the jamming rejection filter circuit is coupled to oscillator (Fig. 4A & 5A & Para. 31: Receive circuits 332aa include mixers, filters, amplifiers, matching circuits, an oscillator, a local oscillator (LO) generator), the jamming rejection filter circuit has a first impedance characteristic at in-band frequencies associated with the first RF receive chain (Fig. 4A & 5A: Jamming rejection filter with first impedance characteristic) and a second impedance characteristic at out-of-band frequencies associated with the first RF receive chain (Para. 50: LPF has high input impedance); and the first impedance characteristic corresponds to higher impedances than the second impedance characteristic (Para. 50: LPF has high input impedance).
Gathman et al does not explicitly disclose a second oscillator.
Banerjee et al discloses a second oscillator associated with the second RF device (Fig. 2: Multiple oscillator-LO 224 with the second RF receive chain).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use multiple oscillators with the receiver device to process receive signals properly in order to generate the desire signals by the wireless RF communication system.
Claims 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gathman et al (Pub No. US. 2018/0048293) and further in view of Beaudin et al (Pub No. 2021/0067186).
. Regarding claim 6, Gathman et al discloses a first RF transmit chain associated with the first RF receive chain, wherein the first RF transmit chain is configured to transmit a first signal based on a first radio access technology (RAT) (Para. 22-23: Wireless communication system with transmit chain) and a second RF transmit chain associated with the second RF receive chain (Fig. 3 & Para. 22-23).
Gathman et al does not explicitly disclose the first RF receive chain is configured to receive a second signal based on the first RAT; wherein the second RF transmit chain is configured to transmit a third signal based on a second RAT and the second RF receive chain is configured to receive a fourth signal based on the second RAT.
Beaudin et al discloses the first RF receive chain is configured to receive a second signal based on the first RAT (Para. 56: Multiple transceivers with cellular and WiFi); and a second RF transmit chain associated with the second RF receive chain (Fig. 2A & 11), wherein the second RF transmit chain is configured to transmit a third signal based on a second RAT and the second RF receive chain is configured to receive a fourth signal based on the second RAT (Para, 56 & 129 & 140: Antenna receives signals from multiple different protocol).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use multiple antenna system to process wireless signals properly in order to generate the desire signals by the RF communication system.
Regarding claim 7, Gathman et al is silent regarding the first RAT comprises a cellular technology; and the second RAT comprises a Wi-Fi technology.
Beaudin et al discloses the first RAT comprises a cellular technology; and the second RAT comprises a Wi-Fi technology (Para. 31 & 45 & 56).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use multiple antenna system to process multiple different wireless signals with different technology properly in order to generate the desire signals by the RF communication system.
Regarding claim 8, Gathman et al discloses the control circuit is further configured to couple the first node of the jamming rejection filter circuit to the first input of the first RF receive chain (Fig. 4A & 5A).
Gathman et al is silent regarding the first RF receive chain is receiving the second signal based on the first RAT; and the second RF transmit chain is transmitting the third signal based on the second RAT at a maximum transmit power.
Beaudin et al discloses the first RF receive chain is receiving the second signal based on the first RAT; and the second RF transmit chain is transmitting the third signal based on the second RAT at a maximum transmit power (Para, 56 & 129 & 140: Antenna receives and transmit signals from multiple different protocol & Para. 50: PA amplify signals at a power level).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use multiple antenna system to process wireless signals properly in order to generate the desire signals by the RF communication system.
Regarding claim 9, Gathman et al discloses the control circuit is further configured to couple the first node of the jamming rejection filter circuit to the second input of the second RF receive chain (Fig. 4A & 5A).
Gathman et al is silent regarding the second RF receive chain is receiving the fourth signal based on the second RAT; and the first RF transmit chain is transmitting the first signal based on the first RAT at a maximum transmit power.
Beaudin et al discloses the second RF receive chain is receiving the fourth signal based on the second RAT; and the first RF transmit chain is transmitting the first signal based on the first RAT at a maximum transmit power (Para, 56 & 129 & 140: Antenna receives and transmit signals from multiple different protocol & Para. 50: PA amplify signals at a power level).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use multiple antenna system to process wireless signals properly in order to generate the desire signals by the RF communication system.
Regarding claim 10, Gathman et al discloses the control circuit is further configured to couple the first node of the jamming rejection filter circuit to the second input of the second RF receive chain (Fig. 4A & 5A).
Gathman et al is silent regarding the second RF transmit chain is transmitting the third signal based on the second RAT; and the first RF transmit chain is idle.
Beaudin et al discloses the second RF transmit chain is transmitting the third signal based on the second RAT (Para, 56 & 129 & 140: Antenna receives and transmit signals from multiple different protocol & Para. 50: PA amplify signals at a power level); and the first RF transmit chain is idle (Fig. 9: In some frequencies, device asleep/ disabled).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use multiple antenna system to process wireless signals properly in order to generate the desire signals by the RF communication system.
Regarding claim 11, Gathman et al discloses the control circuit is further configured to couple the first node of the jamming rejection filter circuit to the first input of the first RF receive chain (Fig. 4A & 5A).
Gathman et al is silent regarding the first RF transmit chain is transmitting the first signal based on the first RAT; and the second RF transmit chain is idle.
Beaudin et al discloses the first RF transmit chain is transmitting the first signal based on the first RAT; and the second RF transmit chain is idle (Para, 56 & 129 & 140: Antenna receives and transmit signals from multiple different protocol & Para. 50: PA amplify signals at a power level & Fig. 9: In some frequencies, device asleep/ disabled).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use multiple antenna system to process wireless signals properly in order to generate the desire signals by the RF communication system.
Conclusion
/MD K TALUKDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648