DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Eighteen (18) sheets of drawings were filed on 02/08/2024 and have been objected to by the examiner.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “…the second optical waveguide is in an active device layer of the substrate…” of claims 3 and 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
With regards to claims 3 and 14, the claims each recite “…in which the second optical waveguide is in an active device layer of the substrate…” (Lines 1-2 of both claims). However, the only instances in which this limitation is supported by the specification are the two respective instances on pages 14 and 15 which merely constitute recitations of the claim limitations themselves. Furthermore, the content of the drawings and the content of the specification (beyond that referenced above) both actively suggest structure wherein the second optical waveguide is not in any layer of the substrate. Drawings inclusive of element 250 all show element 250 as being within a number of device layers, but not within element 202. Similarly, passages of the specification such as paragraph 30 describe the second optical waveguide as extending from the first waveguide through the BEOL layers, but not the substrate. Claims 3 and 14 are objected to because they contain limitations which appear to clash with the content of the drawings and/or the specification.
Examiner’s note: For the purposes of further examination, the examiner has broadly interpreted the term “active device layer of the substrate” to mean any layer inclusive of an active device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsai (US 20230417993 A1).
With regards to claims 1 and 12, Tsai discloses a chip and method of fabricating the same, the chip comprising:
a substrate (Fig23/Substrate [as indicated below]) including an active device in the substrate (Fig23/Active device 162);
a first optical waveguide on the substrate (Fig23/First optical waveguide 110);
a second optical waveguide on the first optical waveguide and extending from the first optical waveguide though back-end-of-line (BEOL) layers of the chip (Figs4-10&23/Second optical waveguide 115 and BEOL layers 117); and
a waveguide photo detector (PD) on the first optical waveguide and communicably coupled to the active device through the BEOL layers of the chip (Fig23/PD 106; Paragraph 14/Lines 5-7).
With regards to claims 2 and 13, Tsai discloses the chip and method of claims 1 and 12, in which the active device is coupled to the waveguide PD through the BEOL layers to integrate an electric signal path of the active device (Fig23/Electrical signal path 154 [Instance immediately adjacent to element 162]) with the first optical waveguide and the second optical waveguide (Fig23 [Elements 104, 115, 117, 126, 154, and 162 are all physically integrated within the same structure]).
With regards to claims 3 and 14, Tsai discloses the chip and method of claims 1 and 12, in which the second optical waveguide is in an active device layer of the substrate (Fig23/Active device layer 126 [Element 122 is an active device]; See the 35 USC 112 section of this office action) and the waveguide PD is directly on the first optical waveguide (Fig23).
With regards to claims 4 and 15, Tsai discloses the chip and method of claims 3 and 14, in which the active device layer comprises a silicon-on-insulator (SOI) layer (Paragraph 17/Lines 6-11) (Fig23; Paragraph 22/“…dielectric layers 117…”; Paragraph 27/Lines 3-5).
With regards to claims 7 and 18, Tsai discloses the chip and method of claims 1 and 12, further comprising a metal communicably coupled between the first optical waveguide and the second optical waveguide (Paragraph 21/Lines 22-25; Figs4&23/Metal 113).
With regards to claims 8 and 19, Tsai discloses the chip and method of claims 1 and 12, further comprising a fiber optic cable coupled to the second optical waveguide (Fig23/Fiber optic cable 170).
With regards to claims 9 and 20, Tsai discloses the chip and method of claims 1 and 12, further comprising a grating coupler between the first optical waveguide and the second optical waveguide (Fig23/Grating coupler 107).
With regards to claim 10, Tsai discloses the chip of claim 1, in which the first optical waveguide and the second optical waveguide are composed of a same material (Paragraph 17/Lines 1-11; Paragraph 31/Lines 3-6).
With regards to claim 11, Tsai discloses the chip of claim 10, in which the same material comprises silicon nitride (Paragraph 17/Lines 1-11; Paragraph 31/Lines 3-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (US 20230417993 A1) as respectively applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Furuyama (US 20190123231 A1).
With regards to claims 5 and 16, Tsai discloses the chip and method of claims 1 and 12, but is silent regarding the waveguide PD comprising a multiple quantum well (MQW). However, the practice of incorporating a MQW into a PD exists in the art as exemplified by Furuyama.
Tsai and Furuyama are considered to be analogous in the field of optoelectronic assemblies. Furuyama teaches a waveguide coupled PD comprising a MQW (Furuyama/Fig2a/ PD 24; Paragraph 68). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a MQW into the PD of Tsai as suggested by Furuyama since doing so would facilitate wavelength selection and access to superior operating speeds.
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (US 20230417993 A1) as respectively applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Hsu (US 20200319405 A1).
With regards to claims 6 and 17, Tsai discloses the chip and method of claims 1 and 12, but is silent regarding an air gap communicably coupled between the first optical waveguide and the second optical waveguide. However, the practice of placing an airgap between two waveguides exists in the art as exemplified by Hsu.
Tsai and Hsu are considered to be analogous in the field of optoelectronic assemblies. Tsai discloses a device and method wherein two waveguides are configured such that they are optically coupled. Hsu teaches an airgap between two optically coupled waveguides (Hsu/Figs1a&2a/Airgap 40). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an airgap between the first and second optical waveguides of Tsai as suggested by Hsu since doing so would facilitate the reduction of losses in a lateral direction.
Conclusion
This prior art, made of record, but not relied upon, is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure since the following references have similar structure and/or use similar structure and/or similar optical elements to what is disclosed and/or claimed in the instant application:
Ahn (US 20250306268 A1) [Fig3]
Shao (US 20240393549 A1) [Fig2a]
/MARC E MANHEIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874