DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on application no.
PCT/CN2021/113222 filed in China (under the PCT) on 08/18/2021. It is noted that the applicant has filed a certified copy of the application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 02/08/2024 and 09/18/2025 comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDSs are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (see MPEP 606.01).
Claim Objections
Claims 12, 17, 18 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12 (line 1) recites “a fourth indication information”. However, there is not a preceding third indication information recited in claims after the “first indication information” and “second indication information” limitations introduced in Claims 5 and 6 respectively. Therefore, “a fourth indication information” should read - - a third indication information - - for consistency of applicant’s claim drafting.
Claim 17 (line 2) recites “a fifth time unit”. However, there is not a preceding third time unit or fourth time unit fourth time unit or second time unit introduced in the claims. Therefore, “a fifth time unit” should read - - a third time unit- - for consistency of applicant’s claim drafting (e.g. Claim 15, to which Claim 17 depends).
Independent Claims 18 and 19 recite a machine claim, “A first terminal device / second terminal device . . .” and a list of devices (i.e. a processor, memory) in the preamble. However, the body of the claim recites the action steps: “transmitting, receiving, , . “. Accordingly, for clarity and placing the claims in proper machine claim form, Claim 18 preamble “ A first terminal device, comprising a processor . . .” should read - - A first terminal device, comprising: a processor . . . - - - and Claim 19, preamble “ A second terminal device, comprising a processor . . .” should read - - A second terminal device, comprising: a processor . . . (see MPEP 2106.03, section I1 ; MPEP 2173.05(p), section II2).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by SHIN et al. (US 20220399917 A1), hereinafter SHIN.
Regarding Claim 1, SHIN teaches a wireless communication method (SHIN, Abstract, ¶0008, an operating method of a first terminal/UE in a wireless communication system; see also FIG. 10A, FIG. 10B; Claim 1), comprising:
transmitting, by a first terminal device, M channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs) to a second terminal device through at least one spatial domain transmission filter (SHIN, FIG. 10A, ¶0193, at 1001, a transmitting UE (UE1) / “a first terminal device” transmit a periodic sidelink channel state information reference signal (SL CSI-RS) based on configured information [to a receiving UE (UE2) / “a second terminal device”]; FIG. 10B, ¶0199, the receiving UE (UE2) may assume that respective configured SL CSI-RS resources are transmitted through different beams / “at least one spatial domain transmission filter”);
wherein the M CSI-RSs are configured to select a target spatial domain transmission filter (SHIN, FIG. 10B, ¶0200, the receiving UE (UE2) may measure reception reference signal received power (RSRP) for different beams transmitted by the transmitting UE (UE1), so as to find the best transmission beam/ “a target special domain transmission filter”);
wherein the M CSI-RSs correspond to a plurality of CSI-RS resources in a target CSI-RS resource set, and M is a positive integer (SHIN, FIG. 10D, ¶0206 a method of configuring multiple resource sets and transmitting respective resource sets through different beams [and] FIG. 10B, ¶0199 respective configured SL CSI-RS resources are transmitted through different beams [and] the transmitting UE (UE1) and the receiving UE (UE2) may determine a beam direction and a beam width/the number of beams determining a number of beams, e.g. five (5) shown/ “a positive integer”).
Regarding Claim 2, SHIN teaches Claim 1.
SHIN further teaches a corresponding repetition field in a configuration information of the target CSI-RS resource set has a first value (SHIN, FIG. 10B, [teaches at] ¶0199, configuring multiple SL CSI-RS resources and transmitting the respective SL CSI-RS resources through different beams . . . referred to as “multiple CSI-RS resources without repetition.”; [and] FIG. 10C, [teaches at] ¶0202, multiple SL CSI-RS resources are configured for beam tracking of a transmitting UE, and the respective SL CSI-RS resources are transmitted through the same beam . . . referred to as “multiple CSI-RS resources with repetition”);
the first value is configured to indicate that the first terminal device transmits the plurality of CSI-RS resources in the target CSI-RS resource set not through a same spatial domain transmission filter (SHIN, ¶0199, [f]or beam tracking of a transmitting UE, a method of configuring multiple SL CSI-RS resources and transmitting the respective SL CSI-RS resources through different beams, [i.e. “not a same spatial domain filter”] may be considered).
Regarding Claim 3, SHIN teaches Claim 1.
SHIN further teaches transmitting, by the first terminal device, a first sidelink configuration information to the second terminal device (SHIN, ¶0166, SL CSI-RS transmission and SL CSI reporting in a sidelink may be defined as a CSI framework; each report setting may be configured such that configuration information for SL CSI reporting);
wherein the first sidelink configuration information comprises at least one of: an index of the target CSI-RS resource set, indexes of the plurality of CSI-RS resources included in the target CSI-RS resource set, a number of the plurality of CSI-RS resources included in the target CSI-RS resource set, a value of M, a correspondence between a CSI-RS resource set and a CSI report quantity (SHIN,¶0166, each report setting may be configured such that configuration information for SL CSI reporting configuration information for measurement restriction, and a report quantity (reportQuantity) which is information included in SL CSI may be included in parameter information of SL-CSI-ReportConfig), a number of CSI-RS resources reported or fed back by the second terminal device to the first terminal);
wherein the repetition field corresponding to the target CSI-RS resource set indicates that the first terminal device transmits the M CSI-RSs not through a same spatial domain transmission filter in response to having a first value (SHIN, FIG. 10B, [teaches at] ¶0199, [f]or beam tracking of a transmitting UE, a method of configuring multiple SL CSI-RS resources and transmitting the respective SL CSI-RS resources through different beams, [i.e. “not a same spatial domain filter”] may be considered; configuring multiple SL CSI-RS resources and transmitting the respective SL CSI-RS resources through different beams . . . referred to as “multiple CSI-RS resources without repetition”), and the repetition field corresponding to the target CSI-RS resource set indicates that the first terminal device transmits the M CSI-RSs through a same spatial domain transmission filter in response to having a second value [and] FIG. 10C, [teaches at] ¶0202, multiple SL CSI-RS resources are configured for beam tracking of a transmitting UE, and the respective SL CSI-RS resources are transmitted through the same beam . . . referred to as “multiple CSI-RS resources with repetition”; see also ¶0213 the transmitting UE may perform an operation of transmitting respective SL CSI-RS resources through different beams or the same beam based on multiple SL CSI-RS resource settings / “a [first or second] value”).
Regarding Claim 4, SHIN teaches Claim 3.
Note: For examination purposes, examiner interprets "and/or" as - - - or - - -.
SHIN further teaches within the first delay boundary, the first terminal device does not expect the second terminal device to perform a report or feedback regarding CSI-RS and/or, after exceeding the first delay boundary, the second terminal device is allowed to perform a report or feedback regarding CSI-RS (SHIN, FIG. 9B, ¶163, a start position 905 of the periodicity may be configured through OffsetIndicator1 903 based on the SFN or DFN, and offset N 904 from a start position of the periodicity for SL CSI-RS transmission and SL CSI reporting to a position in which the SL CSI-RS transmission and transmission of SL CSI reporting starts; see also ¶0166 the transmission periodicity and start position of the SL CSI-RS and the transmission periodicity and start position for the SL CSI reporting may be configured through PC5-RRC. . . . a transmission periodicity and an offset in the time axis for SL CSI report); and/or, after exceeding the first delay boundary, the second terminal device does not expect the first terminal device to transmit CSI-RS; and/or, after exceeding the first delay boundary, the second terminal device stops receiving CSI-RS transmitted by the first terminal device.
Regarding Claim 5, SHIN teaches Claim 1.
SHIN further teaches transmitting, by the first terminal device, a first indication information to the second terminal device (SHIN, FIG. 10A, ¶0191 at 1000, information for beam management may be configured through PC5-RRC [between UE 1/”first terminal device” and UE 2/ “second terminal device”]; see also ¶0193, at 1001);
wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate at least one of:
that the first terminal device will transmit the M CSI-RSs for selecting the target spatial domain transmission filter; that the first terminal device will transmit the M CSI-RSs through different spatial domain transmission filters (SHIN, FIG. 10B, ¶0199, a method of configuring multiple SL CSI-RS resources and transmitting the respective SL CSI-RS resources through different beams [and] the receiving UE (UE2) may assume that respective configured SL CSI-RS resources are transmitted through different beams ); and a CSI report quantity (SHIN, ¶0166,a report quantity (reportQuantity) which is information included in SL CSI may be included in parameter information of SL-CSI-ReportConfig; see also FIG. 10B, ¶0200 the receiving UE (UE2) may report X CSI-RS resource indicators (CRIs) (X≥1). In addition, the receiving UE (UE2) may report an RSRP value for each CRI).
Regarding Claim 6, SHIN teaches Claim 1.
SHIN further teaches transmitting, by the first terminal device, a second indication information to the second terminal device (SHIN, SHIN, FIG. 10A, ¶0191 at 1000, information for beam management may be configured through PC5-RRC [between UE 1/”first terminal device” and UE 2/ “second terminal device”]; ¶0213 the TCI state for the SL CSI-RS used as a beam reference may be configured through PC5-RRC);
wherein the second indication information is configured to indicate that the M CSI-RSs transmitted by the first terminal device are configured to select a spatial domain transmission filter for sidelink data transmission by the first terminal device (SHIN, FIG. 10A, ¶0193, a transmitting UE (UE1) may transmit a periodic sidelink channel state information reference signal (SL CSI-RS) based on configured information; ¶0195, at 1003 the transmitting UE (UE1) may transmit a signal to the receiving UE (UE2) by forming a beam for PSCCH/PSSCH based on the beam information received in the previous operation; FIG. 10B, ¶0200 the receiving UE (UE2) may measure reception reference signal received power (RSRP) for different beams transmitted by the transmitting UE (UE1), so as to find the best transmission beam/ “spatial domain transmission filter”); or,
the second indication information is configured to indicate that the M CSI-RSs transmitted by the first terminal device are configured to select a spatial domain reception filter for sidelink data reception by the second terminal device; or,
the second indication information is configured to indicate that the M CSI-RSs transmitted by the first terminal device are configured to measure a CSI
Regarding Claim 7, SHIN teaches Claim 3.
SHIN further teaches the CSI report quantity comprises at least one of:
CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), CRI and reference signal receiving power (RSRP), CRI and signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR), slot resource indication (SRI), SRI and RSRP, SRI and SINR, and None (SHIN, ¶0222, the beam-related information may be a part of sidelink channel state information (SL CSI) [and] ¶¶0223-0227, may include RI, PMI, CQI , Beam information (CRI, RSRP); ¶0228, a combination of some of the above SL CSI information may be reported together [and] may be included in the report quantity (reportQuantity) in the CSI . . . For example, the following information may be configured as reportQuantity. . . ¶0232, c . . .cri-RSRP, cri-RSRP-location-velocity).
Regarding Claim 9, SHIN teaches Claim 1.
SHIN further teaches receiving, by the first terminal device, a first information transmitted by the second terminal device (SHIN, FIG. 10A, ¶0194 at 1002, a receiving UE (UE2) may report preferred beam information by using a beam tracking result based on the SL CSI-RS);
wherein the first information comprises a target CSI report quantity (¶0166, a report quantity (reportQuantity) which is information included in SL CSI may be included in parameter information of SL-CSI-ReportConfig) comprising at least one of:
CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), CRI and reference signal receiving power (RSRP) (SHIN, FIG. 10B, ¶0200, the receiving UE (UE2) may report X CSI-RS resource indicators (CRIs) (X≥1) [and] the receiving UE (UE2) may report an RSRP value for each CRI); the SRI is configured to determine a slot corresponding to a CSI-RS transmitted by the first terminal device, or the SRI is configured to determine an index corresponding to a CSI-RS resource transmitted by the first terminal device), CRI and signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR), slot resource indication (SRI), SRI and RSRP, and SRI and SINR; the SRI is configured to determine a slot corresponding to a CSI-RS transmitted by the first terminal device, or the SRI is configured to determine an index corresponding to a CSI-RS resource transmitted by the first terminal device.
Regarding Claim 10, SHIN teaches Claim 9.
SHIN further teaches the first information comprises or is configured to determine indexes of N CSI-RS resources (SHIN, FIG. 10B, ¶0200, receiving UE report[ing] X CSI-RS resource indicators (CRIs) (X≥1));
the N CSI-RS resources are determined by the second terminal device according to a measurement result obtained by performing a measurement on each of CSI-RSs received by the second terminal device (SHIN, FIG. 10B, ¶0200 the receiving UE (UE2) may measure reception reference signal received power (RSRP) for different beams; ¶0199); and N is a number of CSI-RS resources to be reported or fed back by the second terminal device (SHIN, FIG. 10B, ¶0200, the receiving UE (UE2) may report X CSI-RS resource indicators (CRIs) (X≥1); see also Claim 5, Claim 12); wherein N is a positive integer (SHIN, ¶0200, report[ing] X CSI-RS resource indicators (CRIs) (X≥1)), and N ≤ M (SHIN, e.g. FIG. 10B, ¶200, e.g. 5 Beams/ “multiple CSI-RS resources” transmitted).
Regarding Claim 12, SHIN teaches Claim 9. [Pick one corresponding to CLM 9 selection]
SHIN further teaches the first information further comprises a fourth indication information configured to indicate a value of N; or, configured to indicate a number of CSI-RS resources fed back from the second terminal device to the first terminal device (SHIN, ¶0200 the receiving UE (UE2) may report X CSI-RS resource indicators (CRIs) (X≥1).); or, configured to indicate a number of measurement results fed back from the second terminal device to the first terminal device (SHIN, ¶0200 [t] he receiving UE (UE2) may report an RSRP value for each CRI).
Regarding Claim 13, SHIN teaches Claim 9.
SHIN further teaches selecting, by the first terminal device, a target CSI-RS resource according to the first information (SHIN, FIG. 10B, ¶0200, report[ing] X CSI-RS resource indicators (CRIs) (X≥1) [and] the receiving UE (UE2) may report an RSRP value for each CRI; the receiving UE (UE2) may measure reception reference signal received power (RSRP) for different beams transmitted by the transmitting UE (UE1), . . . so as to find the best transmission beam; see also ¶0213, the TCI state may be used for beam indication and beam management for PSCCH/PSSCH and SL CSI-RS. First, one RS ID may be configured for each TCI state);
wherein a spatial domain transmission filter corresponding to the target CSI-RS resource is the target spatial domain transmission filter (SHIN, FIG. 10B, ¶0200, configuring multiple SL CSI-RS resources and transmitting the respective SL CSI-RS resources through different beams; see also ¶0213, [and] this case, the RS ID may be an SL CSI-RS used as a beam reference).
Regarding Claim 14, SHIN teaches Claim 13.
SHIN further teaches transmitting, by the first terminal device, a second sidelink configuration information to the second terminal device (SHIN, FIG. 11A, ¶0213, the TCI state for the SL CSI-RS used as a beam reference may be configured through PC5-RRC) ; wherein the second sidelink configuration information is configured to configure at least one transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (SHIN, ¶0213, the TCI state may be used for beam indication and beam management for PSCCH/PSSCH and SL CSI-RS; FIG. 11A, ¶0215, N TCI states may be configured through PC5-RRC, 1100; ¶0207, [t]he beam indication may be performed through transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state configuration); the at least one TCI state comprises a first TCI state (SHIN, FIG. 11A, ¶0213 a beam indication method; [where] ¶0213, one RS ID may be configured for each TCI state), and a reference signal included in the first TCI state is a CSI-RS corresponding to the target CSI-RS resource (SHIN ‘¶0207, [t]he beam indication may be performed through transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state configuration, and one TCI state may include a reference signal (RS) ID and quasi co-location (QCL) information; ¶0213 one RS ID may be configured for each TCI state; the transmitting UE may perform an operation of transmitting respective SL CSI-RS resources through different beams or the same beam based on multiple SL CSI-RS resource settings).
Regarding Claim 15, SHIN teaches Claim 9.
SHIN further teaches receiving, by the first terminal device, the first information transmitted by the second terminal device at a first time unit wherein the first time unit is located after a second time unit determined based on a first delay boundary (SHIN, FIG. 10A, ¶0194 at 1002 a receiving UE (UE2) may report preferred beam information by using a beam tracking result based on the SL CSI-RS; ¶0163, offset N 904 from a start position of the periodicity for SL CSI-RS transmission and SL CSI reporting to a position in which the SL CSI-RS transmission and transmission of SL CSI reporting starts /”first delay boundary”; ¶0166 … each report setting may be configured such that configuration information for SL CSI reporting, for example, information of a band on which SL CSI is reported (e.g., SL BWP), a time-domain behavior for SL CSI reporting, a transmission periodicity and an offset in the time axis for SL CSI report).
Regarding Claim 16, SHIN teaches Claim 15.
SHIN further teaches transmitting, by the first terminal device, a third sidelink configuration information to the second terminal device (SHIN, FIG. 9E, ¶0177 a configuration value indicating a start position at which SL CSI-RS transmission and SL CSI reporting are transmitted may be configured via PC5-RRC; ¶0191 information for beam management may be configured through PC5-RRC. Specifically, enabling/disabling of beam management, a transmission periodicity and start position of SL CSI-RS,); wherein the third configuration information is configured to configure a second delay boundary (SHIN, FIG. 9E, ¶0176 [a] start position 914 at which SL CSI-RS transmission and SL CSI reporting are transmitted is determined by OffsetIndicator1 912, and a start position 915 at which another SL CSI-RS transmission and SL CSI reporting are transmitted is determined by OffsetIndicator2 913/”second delay boundary” ; see also ¶0175; multiple OffsetIndicators are supported when periodic SL CSI-RS transmission and SL CSI reporting are supported in a sidelink in a wireless communication system;).
Regarding Claim 17, SHIN teaches Claim 15.
SHIN further teaches determining, by the first terminal device, the second time unit according to a fifth time unit and the first delay boundary (SHIN, FIG. 10A, ¶0166; cited herein; see also ¶0191);
wherein a time domain position of the fifth time unit is determined based on at least one of:
a time unit in which a first sidelink configuration information is located (SHIN, ¶0166 the transmission periodicity and start position of the SL CSI-RS and the transmission periodicity and start position for the SL CSI reporting may be configured through PC5-RRC);
wherein the first sidelink configuration information comprises at least one of: an index of a target CSI-RS resource set, indexes of the plurality of CSI-RS resources included in the target CSI-RS resource set, a number of the plurality of CSI-RS resources included in the target CSI-RS resource set, a value of M, a correspondence between a CSI-RS resource set and a CSI report quantity, a number of CSI-RS resources reported or fed back by the second terminal device to the first terminal device, the first delay boundary, a value of a repetition field corresponding to the target CSI-RS resource set (SHIN, ¶0166 [t]he CSI framework may be configured by two elements: a resource setting for SL CSI-RS transmission and a report setting for SL CSI reporting. The report setting may configure at least one or more links with reference to the ID of the resource setting);
a time unit in which a second sidelink configuration information; wherein the second sidelink configuration information is configured to configure at least one TCI state; the at least one TCI state comprises a first TCI state, and a reference signal included in the first TCI state is a CSI-RS corresponding to the target CSI-RS resource;
a time unit in which a first indication information is located; wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate at least one of: that the first terminal device will transmit the CSI-RSs for selecting the target spatial domain transmission filter; that the first terminal device will transmit the CSI-RSs through different spatial domain transmission filters (SHIN, FIG. TBD, ¶TBD, mapping); and a CSI report;
a time unit in which a second indication information is located; wherein the second indication information is configured to indicate that the CSI-RSs transmitted by the first terminal device are configured to select a spatial domain transmission filter for sidelink data transmission by the first terminal device; or, the second indication information is configured to indicate that the CSI-RSs transmitted by the first terminal device are configured to select a spatial domain reception filter for sidelink data reception by the second terminal device; or, the second indication information is configured to indicate that the CSI-RSs transmitted by the first terminal device are configured to measure a CSI.
Regarding Claim 18, the claim discloses similar features of Claim 1 and is rejected based on the same rationales of Claim 1, in apparatus form (a first terminal device, comprising: a processor (SHIN FIG. 12, ¶0242 a UE processor 1202; ¶0250) and a memory; wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory (SHIN, ¶0250, [t]he one or more programs stored in the computer-readable storage medium may be configured for execution by one or more processors within the electronic device; [and] ¶0251, any combination of some or all of them may form a memory in which the program is stored. . [and] a plurality of such memories may be included in the electronic device; see also Claim 8, a first UE comprising a transceiver, and at least one processor).
Regarding Claim 19, the claim discloses similar features of Claim 1 and is rejected based on the same rationales of Claim 1, in apparatus form (a second terminal device, comprising: a processor (SHIN FIG. 12, ¶0242 a UE processor 1202; ¶0250) and a memory; wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory, SHIN, ¶0250, [t]he one or more programs stored in the computer-readable storage medium may be configured for execution by one or more processors within the electronic device; [and] ¶0251, any combination of some or all of them may form a memory in which the program is stored . . [and] a plurality of such memories may be included in the electronic device; see also Claim 8, a first UE comprising a transceiver, and at least one processor)).
Regarding Claim 20, SHIN teaches Claim 1.
SHIN further teaches a chip, comprising a processor configured to call and run a program from a memory, to cause a device arranged with the chip to perform the method according to claim 1 (SHIN, ¶0250, [t]he one or more programs stored in the computer-readable storage medium may be configured for execution by one or more processors within the electronic device; [and] ¶0251, any combination of some or all of them may form a memory in which the program is stored . . [and] a plurality of such memories may be included in the electronic device; see also Claim 8 first UE comprising a transceiver, and at least one processor).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIN, as cited in Claim 1 above, in view of JIAO et al. (US 20230118141 A1): hereinafter JIAO.
Regarding Claim 8, SHIN teaches Claim 1.
SHIN further teaches [in condition of] the first terminal device transmitting a CSI-RS to the second terminal device through a corresponding spatial domain transmission filter (SHIN, FIG. 10A, ¶0193 at 1001 a transmitting UE (UE1) may transmit a periodic sidelink channel state information reference signal (SL CSI-RS); [and] FIG. 10B, ¶0199 configuring multiple SL CSI-RS resources and transmitting the respective SL CSI-RS resources through different beams).
SHIN does not explicitly teach in condition of the first terminal device transmitting a CSI-RS to the second terminal device through a corresponding spatial domain transmission filter, carrying, by the first terminal device, a CSI-RS resource indication information corresponding to the CSI-RS in a sidelink control information (SCI) associated with the CSI-RS.
However, in the analogous art, JIAO discloses in condition of the first terminal device transmitting a CSI-RS to the second terminal device through a corresponding spatial domain transmission filter, (JIAO, ¶0088, [t]he beam is embodied as a spatial domain filter (spatial domain filter); A beam used to send a signal is referred to as a transmission beam (transmission beam, Tx beam) ¶0157, in response to the first RS being an SL CSI-RS, transmitting end UE configures an SL CSI-RS pattern (pattern), and sends first indication information to the receiving end UE; ¶0170 at 1001 transmitting end UE sends, to the receiving end UE, the RS for panel selection); carrying, by the first terminal device, a CSI-RS resource indication information corresponding to the CSI-RS in a sidelink control information (SCI) associated with the CSI-RS (JIAO, ¶0157, the indication information indicates an SL TCI identifier of a first SL CSI-RS, the first indication information is carried in M bits in second-stage SCI, [and] FIG. 9, ¶0155, at S902, the indication information indicates an SL TCI identifier of a first SL CSI-RS, the first indication information is carried in M bits in second-stage SCI, at S903, the transmitting end UE sends the first RS to the receiving end UE; see also ¶0082, [t]he PSSCH carries sidelink data (SL data), the PSCCH carries sidelink control information (sidelink control information, SCI), and the SCI is also referred to as a sidelink scheduling assignment (sidelink scheduling assignment, SL SA)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine SHIN’s apparatus and a method for a side link beam operation in a wireless communication system with JIAO’s SL communication method. The motivation would be to improve communication reliability and selection efficiency [JIAO, 2, ¶0096; ¶0197].
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIN, as cited in Claim 1 above, in view of KANG et al. (US 20200127723 A1): hereinafter KANG.
Regarding Claim 11, SHIN teaches Claim 10.
SHIN further teaches the N CSI-RS resources comprise N1 first-class CSI-RS resources and N2 second-class CSI-RS resources; wherein the N1 first-class CSI-RS resources correspond to CSI-RSs received by the second terminal device ( (SHIN, FIG. 10B, ¶0199, configuring multiple SL CSI-RS resources and transmitting the respective SL CSI-RS resources through different beams; ¶0200 [t]he receiving UE (UE2) may measure reception reference signal received power (RSRP) for different beams transmitted by the transmitting UE (UE1), so as to find the best transmission beam/”N1”/”first class” . . . a method of reporting the measured RSRP value for the best beam and reporting a differential RSRP value for the remaining beams may be considered/”N2”/”second class”); or the N1 first-class CSI-RS resources correspond to CSI-RSs received by the second terminal device and with the corresponding measurement results that are each greater than or equal to a first threshold value;
SHIN does not explicitly teach indexes corresponding to the N2 second-class CSI-RS resources are determined by at least one CSI-RS resource of the N1 first-class CSI-RS resources, or indexes corresponding to the N2 second-class CSI-RS resources are determined by at least one CSI-RS resource of the plurality of CSI-RS resources other than the N1 first-class CSI-RS resources, and the measurement results corresponding to the N2 second-class CSI-RS resources are each a default value;
However, in the analogous art, KANG discloses indexes corresponding to the N2 second-class CSI-RS resources are determined by at least one CSI-RS resource of the N1 first-class CSI-RS resources (KANG, ¶0638, an indicated (or configured) PDCCH/PDSCH beam ID (e.g., a CSI-RS resource or SS block ID [and] ¶0639 when CRI (or SS block ID)=X /”N1 first class”, wherein the CRI is indicated (or reported by a UE) as a PDCCH/PDSCH (candidate) beam, CSI-RS resource indexes (or SS block IDs) subject to TRS rate matching/”N2 second class” may be configured or may be predefined by a rule), or indexes corresponding to the N2 second-class CSI-RS resources are determined by at least one CSI-RS resource of the plurality of CSI-RS resources other than the N1 first-class CSI-RS resources, and the measurement results corresponding to the N2 second-class CSI-RS resources are each a default value ; wherein N1 and N2 are each a positive integer, and N1+N2=N. (SHIN, FIG. TBD, ¶TBD, mapping).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine SHIN’s apparatus and a method for a side link beam operation in a wireless communication system with KANG’s apparatus and method for transmitting and receiving a channel state information (CSI)-reference signal (RS) The motivation would be to precisely perform time/frequency tracking of a user equipment (UE). [KANG, ¶0029].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
GO et al. (US 20240204953 A1): Abstract, a method for transmitting channel state information (CSI) a; FIG. 16-18; N1 resources are received and measured CSI-RSs.
VENUGOPAL (US20200044720 A1): Abstract; ¶0002, techniques and apparatuses for facilitating uplink beam selection for a UE; FIG. 9; ¶0094-0098; measuring multiple beams and selecting a beam having “a threshold rank relative to other uplink beams”; ¶0104, threshold delays.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRACY L WILLIAMS whose telephone number is 571-270-7694. The examiner can normally be reached Mon - Fri 8:30-5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached at 571-270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/TRACY L WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2429
/AYMAN A ABAZA/SPE, Art Unit 2429
1 A machine is a "concrete thing, consisting of parts, or of certain devices and combination of devices." Digitech, 758 F.3d at 1348-49, 111 USPQ2d at 1719 (quoting Burr v. Duryee, 68 U.S. 531, 570, 17 L. Ed. 650, 657 (1863)). This category "includes every mechanical device or combination of mechanical powers and devices to perform some function and produce a certain effect or result." Nuijten, 500 F.3d at 1355, 84 USPQ2d at 1501 (quoting Corning v. Burden, 56 U.S. 252, 267, 14 L. Ed. 683, 690 (1854)).
2 IPXL Holdings v. Amazon.com, Inc., 430 F.3d 1377, 1384, 77 USPQ2d 1140, 1145 (Fed. Cir. 2005)