DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 7-8, 11, 17 and 29-30 have been amended, and no claim has been cancelled or added. The status of claims 1-30 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 17 and 29-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 17 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nimbalker et al (US20120163305A1) in view of Sha et al (US20250126656A1, PCT Cont. Priority Date: Jan 20, 2023).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Nimbalker’305 discloses a user equipment (UE) (see, Fig. 1, UEs communicates with BSs in wireless communication system, par 0012), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (Note, memory in UE implied by digital processor implementing stored instructions by hardware equivalent circuitry, par 0023); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to (note, digital processor in UE implementing stored instructions by hardware equivalent circuitry to control the receiver, par 0023):
receive assistance information (synchronization information can be equated to assistance information, par 0022) for detecting a network entity (see, Fig. 3 310, UE receives synchronization information for cell search procedure to detect and acquire signals from BS, par 0016, 0022), the assistance information(synchronization information can be equated to assistance information, par 0022) including an indication of a distribution of a set of parameters across cell acquisition signaling for the network entity (see, synchronization information including PCID and frame timing information for cell search procedure to detect and acquire signals from BS, par 0016), the set of parameters for communicating with the network entity (see, synchronization information including CP format and the duplex format to communicate with BS, par 0016);
receive, from the network entity, a first signal (broadcast channel (PBCH) can be equated to first signal, par 0016) of the cell acquisition (cell search procedure to detect and acquire signals from BS, par 0016) signaling including a first indication of a first subset of the set of parameters (see, Fig. 3 320, UE receives first portion of system information on PBCH including MIB (comprising SFN, downlink system bandwidth and number of signaled downlink transmit antennas) and SIB1 to acquire BS, par 0023, 0030, 0034. Noted, SIB1 typically includes cell access related information, par 0034);
transmit a wake up signal (Fig. 3 340, signature waveform can be equated to wake up signal, par 0028, 0030) to the network entity based at least in part on receiving the first signal (see, Fig. 2 240-250, UE transmits signature waveform to transition BS from low power mode of the operation to high power consumption mode based on uplink access configuration information received on PDCCH (receiving PDCCH based on PBCH), par 0023-0024, 0028-0030. Noted, UE processes PDCCH based on PBCH and receives uplink access configuration from PDCCH, par 0023-0024. Noted further, PBCH can be equated to first signal, par 0023) ; and
receive, from the network entity (BS can be equated to network entity, par 0033) based at least in part on transmitting the wake up signal (signature waveform to transition BS from low power mode to high power mode can be equated to wake up signal, par 0032), a second signal (PBCH to transmit system information, par 0023) of the cell acquisition signaling (second portion of the system information can be equated to a second signal of the cell acquisition signaling, par 0033. Noted, second amount of system information may comprise of MIB, SIB1 and other SIBs (and thus cell acquisition), par 0018) comprising a second indication of a second subset of the set of parameters (see, Fig. 2 250-260, UE receives from BS the second portion of the system information after transitioning BS from low power mode to high power mode by signature waveform, second portion of the system information including scheduling information for SIBs comprises cell access related information such as PLMN ID, tracking area code and frequency band indicator, par 0032-0034. Noted, second portion of the system information including scheduling information for SIBs comprises cell access related information such as PLMN ID, tracking area code and frequency band indicator can be equated to second subset of the set of parameters, par 0033-0034. Noted further, first amount of system information including MIB and SIB1 while second amount of system information including MIB, SIB1 and other SIBs, and thus second amount of system information also transmitted by PBCH due to common system information MIB and SIB1, par 0023, 0030).
Nimbalker’305 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: receive, from an anchor cell, assistance information for detecting a network entity, the assistance information including an indication of a distribution of a set of parameters across cell acquisition signaling for the network entity, the set of parameters for communicating with the network entity.
However Sha’656 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, UE camps on anchor cell receives SIB of anchor cell including radio resource configuration for RA procedure of non-anchor cell, par 0272) discloses:
receive, from an anchor cell (Fig. 1, anchor cell/cell1 can be equated to anchor cell, par 0272), assistance information (radio resource configuration of non-anchor cell can be equated to assistance information, par 0272) for detecting a network entity (see, UE receives radio resource configuration in SIB of anchor cell including Physical Cell Identity and Downlink reference signal(s) of the non-anchor cell to perform measurement on non-anchor cell of network node, par 0006-0012, 0272, 0277, 0287. Noted, anchor cell and non-anchor cell belong to the same network node, par 0006-0012), the assistance information (radio resource configuration of non-anchor cell can be equated to assistance information, par 0277) including an indication of a distribution of a set of parameters across cell acquisition signaling for the network entity (see, radio resource configuration of non-anchor cell including PRACH resource configuration (comprises frequency domain locations of the PRACH resources, a CSS-RA (common search space for Random Access procedure) information configuration, PCCH (paging control channel) information configuration or CSS frequency domain location), Weight or indication the non-anchor cell for the RA process and RSRP threshold for the RA process to non-anchor cell of network node, par 0006-0012, 0277, 0291), the set of parameters for communicating with the network entity (see, radio resource configuration of non-anchor cell further includes other parameters of non-anchor cell to communicates with non-anchor cell of network node such as PCI,
Uplink Frequency Information, Downlink Frequency Information and Common search space configuration, par 0006-0012, 0277).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Sha’656 into that of Nimbalker’305. The motivation would have been to reduce environmental impact and save operational cost (par 0003).
Regarding claim 17, Claim 17 recites a network entity performing the steps recited in claim 1 at network entity and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 29, Claim 29 recites a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) performing the steps recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 30, Claim 30 recites a method for wireless communications at a network entity performing the steps recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Claims 2-4, 6, 8, 10, 18-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nimbalker’305 in view of Sha’656 as applied to claims 1 and 17 respectively above, and further in view of Keating et al (US20250254611A1, Pro 63548931 Priority Date: Feb 02, 2024).
Regarding claim 2 (Original), Nimbalker’305 modified by Sha’656 discloses the UE of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, UEs communicates with BSs in wireless communication system, par 0012).
The combination of Nimbalker’305 and Sha’656 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the first signal comprises a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and the second signal comprises a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH).
However Keating’611 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 19, BS configures cells with always-on SSBs, no SSB transmission and on-demand SSB, par 0210-0213) discloses:
wherein the first signal (DRS can be equated to first signal, par 0213) comprises a primary synchronization signal (PSS) (DRS is simplified SSB with only PSS, par 0213) and the second signal (on-demand SSB can be equated to second signal, par 0213) comprises a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) (see, wireless device transmits WUS as on-demand SSB request by detecting DRS of PSS only, and receives on-demand SSB (comprises SSS and PBCH) transmitted by BS in response to WUS as on-demand SSB request, par 0213).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Keating’611 into that of Nimbalker’305 modified by Sha’656. The motivation would have been to provide improvements on energy saving and/or reduced latency (par 0004).
Regarding claim 3 (Original), Nimbalker’305 modified by Sha’656 discloses the UE of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, UEs communicates with BSs in wireless communication system, par 0012).
The combination of Nimbalker’305 and Sha’656 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the first signal comprises a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) and the second signal comprises a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH).
However Keating’611 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 19, BS configures cells with always-on SSBs, no SSB transmission and on-demand SSB, par 0210-0213) discloses:
wherein the first signal (DRS can be equated to first signal, par 0213) comprises a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) (DRS is simplified SSB with only SSS, par 0213) and the second signal (on-demand SSB can be equated to second signal, par 0213) comprises a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) (see, wireless device transmits WUS as on-demand SSB request by detecting DRS of SSS only, and receives on-demand SSB (comprises PSS and PBCH) transmitted by BS in response to WUS as on-demand SSB request, par 0213).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Keating’611 into that of Nimbalker’305 modified by Sha’656. The motivation would have been to provide improvements on energy saving and/or reduced latency (par 0004).
Regarding claim 4 (Original), Nimbalker’305 modified by Sha’656 discloses the UE of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, UEs communicates with BSs in wireless communication system, par 0012).
The combination of Nimbalker’305 and Sha’656 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the first signal comprises a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) and the second signal comprises a standalone physical broadcast channel (PBCH).
However Keating’611 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 19, BS configures cells with always-on SSBs, no SSB transmission and on-demand SSB, par 0210-0213) discloses:
wherein the first signal (DRS can be equated to first signal, par 0213) comprises a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) (DRS sends as simplified SSB with only PSS and SSS (e.g., skipping PBCH), par 0213) and the second signal comprises a standalone physical broadcast channel (PBCH) (see, wireless device transmits WUS as on-demand SSB request by detecting DRS of simplified SSB with only PSS and SSS, and receives on-demand SSB (comprises PBCH) transmitted by BS in response to WUS as on-demand SSB request, par 0213).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Keating’611 into that of Nimbalker’305 modified by Sha’656. The motivation would have been to provide improvements on energy saving and/or reduced latency (par 0004).
Regarding claim 6 (Original), Nimbalker’305 modified by Sha’656 discloses the UE of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, UEs communicates with BSs in wireless communication system, par 0012).
The combination of Nimbalker’305 and Sha’656 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the set of parameters comprise an index for a set of cell identifiers (IDs), one or more least significant bits of a beam index, a half-frame index, one or more least significant bits of a system frame number, a symbol index, or an anchor cell timing delta value, an index for a configuration of a set of configurations, or any combination thereof.
However Keating’611 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 19, BS configures cells with always-on SSBs, no SSB transmission and on-demand SSB, par 0210-0213) discloses:
wherein the set of parameters (configuration parameters can be equated to set of parameters, par 0244) comprise an index for a set of cell identifiers (IDs), one or more least significant bits of a beam index, a half-frame index, one or more least significant bits of a system frame number, a symbol index (parameters of starting symbol, par 0244), or an anchor cell timing delta value, an index for a configuration of a set of configurations, or any combination thereof (see, configuration parameters of system information through MIB/SIB1/ on-demand SIB1 including parameters of starting symbol, par 0242, 0244).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Keating’611 into that of Nimbalker’305 modified by Sha’656. The motivation would have been to provide improvements on energy saving and/or reduced latency (par 0004).
Regarding claim 8 (Currently Amended), Nimbalker’305 discloses the UE of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, UEs communicates with BSs in wireless communication system, par 0012), wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to (note, digital processor in UE implementing stored instructions by hardware equivalent circuitry to control the receiver, par 0023).
The combination of Nimbalker’305 and Sha’656 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
receive, from the anchor cell, an indication of a set of configurations for one or more signals communicated by the network entity, the set of configurations including a cell identifier, timing information, frequency information, spatial information, beam information, cell barring information, a resource configuration, or any combination thereof.
However Keating’611 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 19, BS configures cells with always-on SSBs, no SSB transmission and on-demand SSB, par 0210-0213) discloses:
receive, from the anchor cell (Pcell can be equated to anchor cell, par 0208), an indication of a set of configurations for one or more signals (PBCH can be equated to signals communicated, par 0126) communicated by the network entity (see, UE receives SSB in PCell from BS indicating parameters of the cell, par 0125, 0208. Noted, BS can be equated to network entity, par 0208), the set of configurations (parameters of the cell indicated by SSB can be equated to set of configurations, par 0125) including a cell identifier (PCI of the cell can be equated to cell identifier, par 0125), timing information (location of a frame boundary of the cell can be equated to timing information, par 0125), frequency information (determine the locations of the SSS and the PBCH by search SSB in different frequency location within the carrier, par 0124), spatial information, beam information, cell barring information, a resource configuration, or any combination thereof (see, parameters of the cell indicated by SSB including PCI of the cell, location of a frame boundary of the cell and locations of the SSS and the PBCH, par 0124-0126. Noted, SSB indicates Cell parameter and thus any signal in the cell correlated. Noted further, the examiner picks option to reject).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Keating’611 into that of Nimbalker’305 modified by Sha’656. The motivation would have been to provide improvements on energy saving and/or reduced latency (par 0004).
Regarding claim 10 (Original), Nimbalker’305 modified by Sha’656 discloses the UE of claim 8 (see, Fig. 1, UEs communicates with BSs in wireless communication system, par 0012).
The combination of Nimbalker’305 and Sha’656 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the one or more signals include the second signal of the cell acquisition signaling.
However Keating’611 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 19, BS configures cells with always-on SSBs, no SSB transmission and on-demand SSB, par 0210-0213) discloses: wherein the one or more signals (SS/PBCH block used for cell searching can be equated to one or more signals, par 0124) include the second signal of the cell acquisition signaling (see, parameters of the cell indicated by SSB including PCI of the cell, location of a frame boundary of the cell and locations of the SSS and the PBCH, and thus SSB for cell search is correlated, par 0124-0126).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Keating’611 into that of Nimbalker’305 modified by Sha’656. The motivation would have been to provide improvements on energy saving and/or reduced latency (par 0004).
Regarding claim 18 (Original), Claim 18 recites a network entity performing the steps recited in claim 2 at network entity and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
Regarding claim 19 (Original), Claim 19 recites a network entity performing the steps recited in claim 3 at network entity and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 3.
Regarding claim 20 (Original), Claim 20 recites a network entity performing the steps recited in claim 4 at network entity and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 4.
Regarding claim 22 (Original), Claim 22 recites a network entity performing the steps recited in claim 6 at network entity and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 6.
Claims 5 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nimbalker’305 in view of Sha’656 as applied to claims 1 and 17 respectively above, and further in view of YI et al (US20250227610A1, PCT For Priority Date: Jan 10, 2024).
Regarding claim 5 (Original), Nimbalker’305 modified by Sha’656 discloses the UE of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, UEs communicates with BSs in wireless communication system, par 0012).
The combination of Nimbalker’305 and Sha’656 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the first signal comprises a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) or a tracking reference signal (TRS) and the second signal comprises a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) carrying partial master information block (MIB) and system information block (SIB) information or a non-scheduling PDCCH.
However YI’610 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 14, gNB activation method through gNB wake-up signal (WUS) during an active mode of the base station for energy saving of the base station in a 5G system, par 0225-0226) discloses:
wherein the first signal (sync RS can be equated to first signal, par 0228) comprises a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) or a tracking reference signal (TRS) (Fig. 14, TRS as sync RS to trigger WUS, par 0228) and the second signal (L1 signaling including Non-scheduling DCI can be equated to second signal, par 0208, 0271) comprises a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) carrying partial master information block (MIB) and system information block (SIB) information or a non-scheduling PDCCH (see, Fig. 14, UE transmits WUS triggered by TRS as sync RS for on-demand operation of SSB or SIB configured though L1 signaling including Non-scheduling DCI, par 0208, 0239, 0271, 0273. Noted, L1 signaling configures on-demand SSB configuration which will be triggered by WUS and thus second signal, par 0239. Noted further, operations applied to SIB other than SSB and SIB1, par 0236. The examiner picks an option to reject) .
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by YI’610 into that of Nimbalker’305 modified by Sha’656. The motivation would have been to reduce energy consumption of the base station (par 0236).
Regarding claim 21 (Original), Claim 21 recites a network entity performing the steps recited in claim 5 at network entity and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 5.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nimbalker’305 in view of Sha’656, and further in view of Keating’611 as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Jeon (US20250097841A1, PCT Priority Date: Oct 5, 2023).
Regarding claim 7 (Currently Amended), Nimbalker’305 discloses the UE of claim 6 (see, Fig. 1, UEs communicates with BSs in wireless communication system, par 0012), wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to (note, digital processor in UE implementing stored instructions by hardware equivalent circuitry to control the receiver, par 0023).
The combination of Nimbalker’305, Sha’656 and Keating’611 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
determine, based at least in part on the index for the set of cell IDs, one or more candidate cells available for communications with the anchor cell, the UE, or both, wherein at least one of the one or more candidate cells is associated with the network entity.
However Jeon’841 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, gNB provides wireless broadband access to the network for UEs, par 0035) discloses: determine, based at least in part on the index for the set of cell IDs, one or more candidate cells available for communications with the anchor cell, the UE, or both (see, UE receives from serving gNB the indexes of serving cells or cell groups to be activated for UE to communicate with, par 0167. Noted, the examiner picks option to reject), wherein at least one of the one or more candidate cells is associated with the network entity (see, indexes of serving cells or cell groups to be activated indicated by serving gNB, par 0167. Noted, indexes of serving cells or cell groups to be activated in response to on-demand SI request by WUS, par 0167).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Jeon’841 into that of Nimbalker’305 modified by Sha’656 and Keating’611. The motivation would have been to perform fast adaptation of an operation state with small signaling overhead while simultaneously informing all UEs of the operation state for a cell (par 0088).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nimbalker’305 in view of Sha’656, and further in view of Keating’611 as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Zhou et al (US 20250119800 A1, Pro 63542628 Priority Date: Oct 5, 2023).
Regarding claim 9 (Original), Nimbalker’305 discloses the UE of claim 8 (see, Fig. 1, UEs communicates with BSs in wireless communication system, par 0012), wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to (note, digital processor in UE implementing stored instructions by hardware equivalent circuitry to control the receiver, par 0023).
The combination of Nimbalker’305, Sha’656 and Keating’611 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
receive, from the network entity, an indication of an index for a configuration of the set of configurations; and
identify a format of the second signal based at least in part on the index, wherein the UE receives the second signal in accordance with the configuration of the set of configurations and based at least in part on identifying the format of the second signal.
However Zhou’800 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 32, on-demand system information reception sequence between UE and gNB, par 0309) discloses:
receive, from the network entity (BS can be equated to BS, par 0262), an indication of an index for a configuration of the set of configurations (see, wireless device receives resource configuration index for CORESET #0 (corresponding to the CORESET for Type0-PDCCH CSS set) for the SIB1 message from BS’s MIB indicating CORESET configurations, par 0262); and
identify a format of the second signal (DCI format for monitoring PDCCH to receive SIB1 can be equated to format of the second signal, par 0262) based at least in part on the index (see, DCI format of PDCCH to receive SIB1 indicated by Type0-PDCCH CSS set configured corresponding to resource configuration index for CORESET #0 by pdcch-ConfigSIB1 in MIB, par 0236, 0262), wherein the UE receives the second signal in accordance with the configuration of the set of configurations and based at least in part on identifying the format of the second signal (see, wireless device receives PDCCH for SIB1 by monitoring DCI format according to Type0-PDCCH CSS set configured by resource configuration index in MIB, par 0236, 0262).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Zhou’800 into that of Nimbalker’305 modified by Sha’656 and Keating’611. The motivation would have been to reduce power consumption of the wireless device (par 0295).
Claim(s) 11-16 and 23-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nimbalker’305 in view of Sha’656 as applied to claims 1 and 17 above respectively, and further in view of Jeon (US20250097841A1, PCT Priority Date: Oct 5, 2023).
Regarding claim 11 (Currently Amended), Nimbalker’305 discloses the UE of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, UEs communicates with BSs in wireless communication system, par 0012), wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to (note, digital processor in UE implementing stored instructions by hardware equivalent circuitry to control the receiver, par 0023).
The combination of Nimbalker’305 and Sha’656 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
receive, from the anchor cell, an indication of a configuration for transmitting the wake up signal, the configuration indicating resources associated with a first level of information associated with the first subset of the set of parameters; and
transmit, via the resources indicated in the configuration, an indication of the first level of information based at least in part on receiving the indication, wherein the first level of information is based at least in part on the first signal of the cell acquisition signaling including the first indication of the first subset of the set of parameters.
However Jeon’841 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, gNB provides wireless broadband access to the network for UEs, par 0035) discloses:
receive, from the anchor cell (serving cell from serving gNB can be equated to anchor cell, par 0131), an indication of a configuration for transmitting the wake up signal (see, Fig. 14, UE receives a set of parameters related to a first UL WUS and second UL WUS respectively from serving cell of serving gNB, par 0131, 0176), the configuration (configuration of set of parameters related to a first UL WUS, par 0176) indicating resources associated with a first level of information (see, first UL WUS can be equated to first level of information such as addition information in WUS, par 0176, 0197-0198) associated with the first subset of the set of parameters (see, configuration of set of parameters of first UL WUS indicating resources used to transmit first WUS including different information, par 0176-0198, 0197-0198. Noted, Additional information carried in WUS including serving cell or cell group indexes for which an activation is requested, SI request, and triggering conditions, par 0198); and
transmit, via the resources indicated in the configuration, an indication of the first level of information (set of parameters of first UL WUS, par 0176) based at least in part on receiving the indication (see, Fig. 14, UE transmits first UL WUS according to sets of associated parameters configured, par 0175-0176), wherein the first level of information is based at least in part on the first signal of the cell acquisition signaling (see, SIB used to determine synchronization or system information on the cell and thus cell acquisition signaling, par 0005) including the first indication of the first subset of the set of parameters (see, set of parameters related to a first UL WUS provided to a UE from a serving gNB by SIB, par 0153, 0174).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Jeon’841 into that of Nimbalker’305 modified by Sha’656. The motivation would have been to perform fast adaptation of an operation state with small signaling overhead while simultaneously informing all UEs of the operation state for a cell (par 0088).
Regarding claim 12 (Original), Nimbalker’305 modified by Sha’656 discloses the UE of claim 11 (see, Fig. 1, UEs communicates with BSs in wireless communication system, par 0012).
The combination of Nimbalker’305 and Sha’656 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the UE transmits the indication of the first level of information via the wake up signal, the indication included in a scrambling identifier of the wake up signal, a preamble identifier of the wake up signal, a cyclic shift value of the wake up signal, a message payload transmitted by the UE, or any combination thereof.
However Jeon’841 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, gNB provides wireless broadband access to the network for UEs, par 0035) discloses:
wherein the UE transmits the indication of the first level of information (additional information in first WUS can be equated to indication of the first level of information, par 0196-0197) via the wake up signal (see, UE transmits additional information in first WUS including triggering conditions, par 0196, 0198. Noted, different triggering conditions triggers first WUS and second WUS correspondingly, par 0196), the indication included in a scrambling identifier of the wake up signal, a preamble identifier of the wake up signal, a cyclic shift value of the wake up signal, a message payload transmitted by the UE (see, additional information of first WUS transmitted through PUCCH payload, par 0196-0197), or any combination thereof (note, the examiner picks option to reject).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Jeon’841 into that of Nimbalker’305 modified by Sha’656. The motivation would have been to perform fast adaptation of an operation state with small signaling overhead while simultaneously informing all UEs of the operation state for a cell (par 0088).
Regarding claim 13 (Original), Nimbalker’305 discloses the UE of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, UEs communicates with BSs in wireless communication system, par 0012), wherein, to transmit the wake up signal (Fig. 2 240, signature waveform to transition BS from the low power mode to a relatively high power consumption mode, par 0030), the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to (note, digital processor in UE implementing stored instructions by hardware equivalent circuitry to control the receiver, par 0023).
The combination of Nimbalker’305 and Sha’656 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
transmit an indication of an index for a first level of information associated with the first subset of the set of parameters, wherein the first level of information is preconfigured at the UE.
However Jeon’841 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, gNB provides wireless broadband access to the network for UEs, par 0035) discloses:
transmit an indication of an index (one or more serving cell or cell group indexes for which an activation is requested as additional information in first WUS, par 0196, 0198) for a first level of information (additional information in first WUS can be equated to indication of the first level of information, par 0196-0197) associated with the first subset of the set of parameters (see, UE transmits one or more serving cell or cell group indexes for which an activation is requested as additional information in first WUS transmitted according to configured set of parameters for first WUS, par 0174, 0196-0197), wherein the first level of information (see, first UL WUS with addition information can be equated to first level of information, par 0176, 0197-0198) is preconfigured at the UE (see, WUS signal type and cyclic shifts of PUCCH format used for WUS are predefined in the specification, dedicated set of PRACH preambles predefined in the specifications for WUS including first WUS, synchronization requirements associated with the first UL WUS are predefined, par 0139-0140, 0145, 0182).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Jeon’841 into that of Nimbalker’305 modified by Sha’656. The motivation would have been to perform fast adaptation of an operation state with small signaling overhead while simultaneously informing all UEs of the operation state for a cell (par 0088).
Regarding claim 14 (Original), Nimbalker’305 discloses the UE of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, UEs communicates with BSs in wireless communication system, par 0012), wherein, to receive the second signal (see, Fig. 2 250-260, UE receives from BS the second portion of the system information after transitioning BS from low power mode to high power mode by signature waveform, par 0032-0034), the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to (note, digital processor in UE implementing stored instructions by hardware equivalent circuitry to control the receiver, par 0023).
The combination of Nimbalker’305 and Sha’656 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
receive an indication of a second level of information associated with the second signal and the second subset of the set of parameters based at least in part on transmitting the wake up signal to the network entity.
However Jeon’841 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, gNB provides wireless broadband access to the network for UEs, par 0035) discloses:
receive an indication of a second level of information associated with the second signal (see, UE receives information in response message to the WUS, par 0201) and the second subset of the set of parameters based at least in part on transmitting the wake up signal to the network entity (see, UE receives response message to WUS including indexes of SIBs to be provided and the scheduling information, indexes of serving cells or cell groups to be activated, active DL/UL BWP index for the respective one or more serving cells indicated to be activated, and indexes of serving cells on which on-demand SSB may be transmitted based on information from WUS, par 0198, 0201).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Jeon’841 into that of Nimbalker’305 modified by Sha’656. The motivation would have been to perform fast adaptation of an operation state with small signaling overhead while simultaneously informing all UEs of the operation state for a cell (par 0088).
Regarding claim 15 (Original), Nimbalker’305 modified by Sha’656 discloses the UE of claim 14 (see, Fig. 1, UEs communicates with BSs in wireless communication system, par 0012).
The combination of Nimbalker’305 and Sha’656 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the UE receives the indication via a header in a payload of the second signal, a flag in a physical downlink control channel associated with the second signal, a scrambling identifier, a demodulation reference signal associated with the second signal, time and frequency resources associated with receiving the second signal, or any combination thereof.
However Jeon’841 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, gNB provides wireless broadband access to the network for UEs, par 0035) discloses:
wherein the UE receives the indication (see, UE receives information in response message to the WUS, par 0201) via a header in a payload of the second signal, a flag in a physical downlink control channel associated with the second signal, a scrambling identifier (scrambled by SI-RNTI (system information radio network temporary identifier) can be equated to scrambling identifier, claim 6, par 0116), a demodulation reference signal associated with the second signal, time and frequency resources associated with receiving the second signal (DCI format scheduling PDSCH on symbols and BWP, par 0069, 0116), or any combination thereof (see, UE receives information in response message to the WUS on PDSCH resources scheduled by PDCCH scrambled by SI-RNTI, claim 6, par 0116, 0201. Noted, the examiner picks option to reject).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Jeon’841 into that of Nimbalker’305 modified by Sha’656. The motivation would have been to perform fast adaptation of an operation state with small signaling overhead while simultaneously informing all UEs of the operation state for a cell (par 0088).
Regarding claim 16 (Original), Nimbalker’305 discloses the UE of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, UEs communicates with BSs in wireless communication system, par 0012), wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to (note, digital processor in UE implementing stored instructions by hardware equivalent circuitry to control the receiver, par 0023).
The combination of Nimbalker’305 and Sha’656 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
receive, from the network entity and based at least in part on receiving the second signal, a third signal of the cell acquisition signaling comprising a third subset of the set of parameters.
However Jeon’841 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, gNB provides wireless broadband access to the network for UEs, par 0035) discloses: receive, from the network entity (serving gNB can be equated to network entity, par 0164) and based at least in part on receiving the second signal (SIB1 can be equated to second signal, par 0164), a third signal (other SIBs can be equated to third signal, par 0164) of the cell acquisition signaling comprising a third subset of the set of parameters (see, SIB1 (scheduled by MIB and requested by UE from serving gNB via WUS) schedules other SIBs, par 0164. Noted, A dedicated set of preambles for a dedicated purpose of WUS transmission can be indicated to the UE via SIB, and WUS used to determine synchronization or system information on the cell and thus WUS and SIB are all cell acquisition signaling, abstract, par 0145).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Jeon’841 into that of Nimbalker’305 modified by Sha’656. The motivation would have been to perform fast adaptation of an operation state with small signaling overhead while simultaneously informing all UEs of the operation state for a cell (par 0088).
Regarding claim 23 (Original), Nimbalker’305 discloses the network entity of claim 17 (see, Fig. 1, BSs communicates with UEs in wireless communication system, par 0012), wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to (see, digital processor implementing instructions stored in a memory device to control functionality of BS, par 0017).
The combination of Nimbalker’305 and Sha’656 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
transmit, to the UE, an indication of an index for a configuration of a set of configurations for one or more signals communicated by the network entity, the set of configurations including a cell identifier, timing information, frequency information, spatial information, beam information, cell barring information, a resource configuration, or any combination thereof; and
transmit a signal of the one or more signals in accordance with the configuration of the set of configurations.
However Jeon’841 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, gNB provides wireless broadband access to the network for UEs, par 0035) discloses:
transmit, to the UE, an indication of an index for a configuration of a set of configurations for one or more signals (prach-ConfigurationIndex can be equated to index for a configuration of a set of configurations for one or more signals, par 0129) communicated by the network entity (see, UE receives prach-ConfigurationIndex providing parameters for WUS configuration, par 0129), the set of configurations (parameters for WUS configuration can be equated to set of configurations, par 0129) including a cell identifier, timing information, frequency information, spatial information, beam information, cell barring information, a resource configuration (see, parameters for WUS configuration provided by prach-ConfigurationIndex including starting symbol position and a duration, type of WUS a certain set of preambles, par 0129, 0139, 0145), or any combination thereof (note, the examiner picks an option to reject); and
transmit a signal of the one or more signals in accordance with the configuration of the set of configurations (see, Fig. 11 step 1110- 1120, UE transmits WUS according to set of parameters configured for WUS, par 0148).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the network entity as taught by Jeon’841 into that of Nimbalker’305 modified by Sha’656. The motivation would have been to perform fast adaptation of an operation state with small signaling overhead while simultaneously informing all UEs of the operation state for a cell (par 0088).
Regarding claim 24 (Original), Nimbalker’305 discloses the network entity of claim 17 (see, Fig. 1, BSs communicates with UEs in wireless communication system, par 0012), wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to (see, digital processor implementing instructions stored in a memory device to control functionality of BS, par 0017).
The combination of Nimbalker’305 and Sha’656 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
receive, via a set of resources and based at least in part on transmitting the first signal, an indication of a first level of information, wherein the first level of information is based at least in part on the first signal including the first indication of the first subset of the set of parameters.
However Jeon’841 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, gNB provides wireless broadband access to the network for UEs, par 0035) discloses:
receive, via a set of resources (Time domain resources, Frequency domain resources f and beam sweeping or repetition in set of parameters related to a first UL WUS can be equated to a set of resources, par 0176-0179) and based at least in part on transmitting the first signal (SIB can be equated to first signal, par 0152), an indication of a first level of information (see, Fig. 13-14, BS receives from UE the first WUS through set of parameters for resources configured by SIB, par 0152. Noted, additional information in first WUS can be equated to indication of the first level of information, par 0196-0197), wherein the first level of information (additional information in first WUS can be equated to indication of the first level of information, par 0196-0197) is based at least in part on the first signal (SIB can be equated to first signal, par 0152) including the first indication of the first subset of the set of parameters (see, first WUS transmitted according to WUS triggering conditions for a transmission of the first UL WUS configured in a set of parameters related to a first UL WUS by SIB, and triggering conditions included in addition information on first WUS, par 0152, 0176, 0180, 0198).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the network entity as taught by Jeon’841 into that of Nimbalker’305 modified by Sha’656. The motivation would have been to perform fast adaptation of an operation state with small signaling overhead while simultaneously informing all UEs of the operation state for a cell (par 0088).
Regarding claim 25 (Original), Claim 25 recites a network entity performing the steps recited in claim 13 at network entity and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 13.
Regarding claim 26 (Original), Claim 26 recites a network entity performing the steps recited in claim 14 at network entity and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 14.
Regarding claim 27 (Original), Claim 27 recites a network entity performing the steps recited in claim 16 at network entity and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 16.
Regarding claim 28 (Original), Nimbalker’305 modified by Sha’656 discloses the network entity of claim 17 (see, Fig. 1, BSs communicates with UEs in wireless communication system, par 0012).
The combination of Nimbalker’305 and Sha’656 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the network entity is associated with one or more network energy savings (NES) cells.
However Jeon’841 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, gNB provides wireless broadband access to the network for UEs, par 0035) discloses: wherein the network entity (serving gNB can be equated to network entity, par 0115) is associated with one or more network energy savings (NES) cells (see, UE transmitting WUS to request serving gNB to support network energy savings for the cell, and UE is indicated one or more indexes of serving cells for which the WUS transmissions are allowed (and thus multiple NES cells), par 0115, 0131).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the network entity as taught by Jeon’841 into that of Nimbalker’305 modified by Sha’656. The motivation would have been to perform fast adaptation of an operation state with small signaling overhead while simultaneously informing all UEs of the operation state for a cell (par 0088).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fu et al (US20250097799A1, PCT Cont. Priority Date: Sep 29, 2022) discloses: first information may be used by the terminal device to discover or detect or measure the first cell/first base station (par 0196); part or all of the first information is carried in a second cell/second base station (par 0201); When part or all of the first information of the first cell/first base station is carried by using another cell/base station, the terminal device can quickly acquire the first information of the first cell/first base station from the another cell/base station, so that good performance of the terminal device can be ensured (par 0202); the first information includes at least one of an SSB/MIB/SIB for the first cell, that part or all of the first information is carried in the second cell/second base station may refer to one or more of the following cases: (1) The SSB (MIB) for the first cell is carried/transmitted/broadcast/indicated in the first cell, and the SIB for the first cell is carried/transmitted/broadcast/indicated in the second cell; (2) The SSB for the first cell is carried/transmitted/broadcast/indicated in the first cell, and the MIB and SIB for the first cell is carried/transmitted/broadcast/indicated in the second cell; (3) The MIB and the SIB for the first cell is carried/transmitted/broadcast/indicated in the second cell; (4) The SSB, the MIB, and the SIB for the first cell is carried/transmitted/broadcast/indicated in the second cell; or (5) at least one of the SSB/MIB/SIB for the first cell is carried/transmitted/broadcast/indicated in the second cell (par 0205). This applies to claim 1.
KIM et al (US 20260150085 A1, PCT Priority Date: 12/19/2023) discloses:
The SIB-less cell and anchor cell-related information included in the MIB may include one of the following pieces of information:
Index or ID information of the SIB-less cell.
A single anchor cell may transmit SIBs and paging of one or more SIB-less cells.
Therefore, a single piece of index or ID information (e.g., physical cell ID (PCI), cell global identifier (CGI), etc.) is required to distinguish each SIB-less cell corresponding to the anchor cell. In addition, an ID (TAC or TAI) of the tracking area of the corresponding SIB-less cell and ID information of an RAN-based notification area may be included.
Random access radio resource information
For a predetermined purpose, the NES UE may perform random access to the SIB-less cell without communicating with the anchor cell (e.g., receiving paging indicating access to the SIB-less cell, etc.). The predetermined purpose may include a case in which the NES UE cannot search for an anchor cell satisfying a predetermined signal strength quality around the SIB-less cell, a case in which access is triggered for an emergency call, a case in which access is triggered for a tacking area uplink (TAU) or RAN-based notification area (RNA) update, a case in which a signal requesting activation of a base station in a sleep mode is transmitted for power saving purpose, etc.
The above random access radio resource information may include radio resource information in the time and frequency axes at which the NES UE can transmit a preamble to the SIB-less cell. A dedicated preamble may be configured according to the above-mentioned predetermined purpose. For example, among the total 64 preambles, the 1st to 32nd preambles may be used when an anchor cell satisfying a predetermined signal strength quality is not searched around the SIB-less cell (par 0032-0037);
Information required to access the SIB-less cell. The information may include at least one of a new cellBarred field and an intraFreqReselection field to prevent an NES UE from camping on the SIB-less cell, and information on a threshold of the minimum reception signal strength required to access the SIB-less cell (when the reception signal strength of the SIB-less cell is lower than the threshold, the NES UE may consider the SIB-less cell as invalid) (par 0040);
An anchor cell 3-20 broadcasts its own MIB and SIB(s) according to the conventional technology. In addition, the anchor cell may broadcast even the SIB of the SIB-less cell. The anchor cell may also broadcast the SIBs of one or more SIB-less cells 3-05, 3-25, and 3-30, and in order to effectively provide this to the NES UE, an on-demand SI method can be utilized. The SIB1 or new SIB of the anchor cell may be broadcasted including scheduling information of SI messages composed of the SIB(s) of the SIB-less cell(s). The scheduling information may include an indicator indicating whether the respective SI messages of the current SIB-less cell(s) are being broadcasted. In addition, index information indicating which SIB-less cell corresponds to each SI message or a group of predetermined SI messages may be included. The SIB1 or new SIB of the anchor cell may include information on SIB-less cells managed by the anchor cell. The above information includes ID information (e.g., PCI, CGI, etc.), index information, frequency information (e.g., ARFCN-ValueNR, etc.) of the above SIB-less cell (par 0043).
These information applies to claim 1.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XUAN LU/Examiner, Art Unit 2473