DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) is/are submitted on 02/08/2024 and 08/09/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-10, and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (EP 4572425 A1), hereinafter referred to as Hwang, in view of Lee et al. ( US 2023/0043139 A1), IDS submitted on 08/09/2024, hereinafter referred to as Lee.
Regarding claim 1, Hwang teaches: A method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system ( see ¶[0016], method of transmitting a signal by a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system may include transmitting a NES-related configuration) , the method comprising:
transmitting, to a terminal, a message including configuration information for transmitting an emergency signal associated with a network energy saving (NES) mode ( see ¶[0016], a method of transmitting a signal by a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system may include transmitting a NES-related configuration, and transmitting DCI based on a DRX cycle to a UE in an RRC idle/inactive state; ¶[0060], The network may (i) access to UEs in RRC_IDLE, RRC_INACTIVE, and RRC_CONNECTED states by paging messages, and (ii) indicate a system information change and an earthquake and tsunami warning system/commercial mobile alert system (ETWS/CMAS) notification to UEs; [0093], a method is proposed in which a BS indicates an NES-related operation (or provides information) to a UE in an idle/inactive state by L1 signaling receivable by the UE, and the UE performs an operation based on the indication; and see ¶[0112] and ¶[0115] with respect to NES mode; ¶[0116], The multiple used to determine the length of the NES mode period may be a value determined by the BS and provided to the UE through a higher layer signal (e.g., SIB));
determining whether a predetermined emergency event is detected during an NES active period in case that a cell operates in the NES mode; and
transmitting, to the terminal, the emergency signal based on a determination that the predetermined emergency event is detected.
Although Hwang teaches information related to determining NES mode period ( see ¶[0112] ) determination of NES mode period based on length of paging DRX cycle ( see ¶[0115] ), and the network may indicate…(ii) indicate a system information change and an earthquake and tsunami warning system/commercial mobile alert system (ETWS/CMAS) notification to UEs in the RRC_IDLE and RRC _INACTIVE states and UEs in the RRC_CONNECTED stat (see ¶[0060]), Hwang, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to “determining whether a predetermined emergency event is detected during an NES active period in case that a cell operates in the NES mode; and transmitting, to the terminal, the emergency signal based on a determination that the predetermined emergency event is detected ”.
However, Lee, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches; determining whether a predetermined emergency event is detected during an NES active period in case that a cell operates in the NES mode ( see Lee, ¶[0108], Paging discontinuous reception (DRX) is defined as monitoring a paging channel only during one paging occasion (PO) per DRX cycle by a UE in the RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE state. A paging DRX cycle is configured by the network; ¶[0139], the BS may generate configuration information related to channel/signal-A (e.g., P-DCI) and transmit the same; ¶[0185], Paging may be used for system information change, disaster notification; ¶[0190], the PS-DCI scheme may enable ETWS/CMAS instructions to be transmitted as quickly as possible and in various ways in disaster emergency/emergency situations); and
transmitting, to the terminal, the emergency signal based on a determination that the predetermined emergency event is detected (see Lee, ¶[0139], the BS may generate configuration information related to channel/signal-A (e.g., P-DCI) and transmit the same; ¶[0185], Paging may be used for system information change, disaster notification; ¶[0190], the PS-DCI scheme may enable ETWS/CMAS instructions to be transmitted as quickly as possible and in various ways in disaster emergency/emergency situations).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hwang's teachings with Lee's above teaching, a terminal may be enabled to operating in an idle/inactive mode more efficiently by indicating whether paging DCI is transmitted through PEI ( see Lee, ¶[0020] ). Known work in one field of endeavor (Lee prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Hwang prior art) based on design incentives ( a terminal may be enabled to operating in an idle/inactive mode more efficiently by indicating whether paging DCI is transmitted through PEI) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein a paging occasion is monitored by the terminal during an idle mode according to a cycle determined based on the configuration information ( see Hwang, ¶[0061], While the UE stays in the RRC_IDLE state, the UE monitors a paging channel for core network (CN)-initiated paging. In the RRC _INACTIVE state, the UE also monitors the paging channel, for radio access network (RAN)-initiated paging. The UE does not need to monitor the paging channel continuously. Paging discontinuous reception (DRX) is defined as monitoring a paging channel only during one paging occasion (PO) per DRX cycle by a UE in the RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE state. A paging DRX cycle is configured by the network… 3) In the case of RAN-initiated signaling, a UE-specific cycle is configured by RRC signaling; ¶[0065], To reduce power consumption, the UE may use DRX in the RRC_IDLE and RRC _INACTIVE states. The UE monitors one PO per DRX cycle).
Regarding claim 7, Hwang teaches: A method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising (see Abstract, A method for receiving a signal by a terminal (UE) in a wireless communication system according to an example of the present disclosure may comprise: receiving a network energy saving (NES)-related configuration from a network; ¶[0005]):
receiving, from a base station, a message including configuration information for receiving an emergency signal associated with a network energy saving (NES) mode ( see Abstract, A method for receiving a signal by a terminal (UE) in a wireless communication system according to an example of the present disclosure may comprise: receiving a network energy saving (NES)-related configuration from a network; and monitoring downlink control information (DCI) on the basis of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle in a radio resource control (RRC) idle/inactive state; ¶[0005]);
monitoring a paging occasion during an idle mode according to a cycle determined based on the configuration information (see Abstract, receiving a network energy saving (NES)-related configuration from a network; and monitoring downlink control information (DCI) on the basis of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle in a radio resource control (RRC) idle/inactive state; ¶[0005]; ¶[0061], While the UE stays in the RRC_IDLE state, the UE monitors a paging channel for core network (CN)-initiated paging. In the RRC _INACTIVE state, the UE also monitors the paging channel, for radio access network (RAN)-initiated paging. The UE does not need to monitor the paging channel continuously. Paging discontinuous reception (DRX) is defined as monitoring a paging channel only during one paging occasion (PO) per DRX cycle by a UE in the RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE state. A paging DRX cycle is configured by the network… 3) In the case of RAN-initiated signaling, a UE-specific cycle is configured by RRC signaling; ¶[0065], To reduce power consumption, the UE may use DRX in the RRC_IDLE and RRC _INACTIVE states. The UE monitors one PO per DRX cycle); and
receiving, from the base station, the emergency signal based on the paging occasion monitored during the idle mode when a predetermined emergency event is detected during an NES active period, wherein a cell operates in the NES mode.
Although Hwang teaches information related to determining NES mode period ( see ¶[0112] ) determination of NES mode period based on length of paging DRX cycle ( see ¶[0115] ), and the network may indicate…(ii) indicate a system information change and an earthquake and tsunami warning system/commercial mobile alert system (ETWS/CMAS) notification to UEs in the RRC_IDLE and RRC _INACTIVE states and UEs in the RRC_CONNECTED stat (see ¶[0060]), Hwang, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to receiving, from the base station, the emergency signal based on the paging occasion monitored during the idle mode when a predetermined emergency event is detected during an NES active period, wherein a cell operates in the NES mode.
However, Lee, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches; receiving, from the base station, the emergency signal based on the paging occasion monitored during the idle mode when a predetermined emergency event is detected during an NES active period, wherein a cell operates in the NES mode ( see Lee, ¶[0108], Paging discontinuous reception (DRX) is defined as monitoring a paging channel only during one paging occasion (PO) per DRX cycle by a UE in the RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE state. A paging DRX cycle is configured by the network; ¶[0139], the BS may generate configuration information related to channel/signal-A (e.g., P-DCI) and transmit the same; ¶[0185], Paging may be used for system information change, disaster notification; ¶[0190], the PS-DCI scheme may enable ETWS/CMAS instructions to be transmitted as quickly as possible and in various ways in disaster emergency/emergency situations).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hwang's teachings with Lee's above teaching, a terminal may be enabled to operating in an idle/inactive mode more efficiently by indicating whether paging DCI is transmitted through PEI ( see Lee, ¶[0020] ). Known work in one field of endeavor (Lee prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Hwang prior art) based on design incentives ( a terminal may be enabled to operating in an idle/inactive mode more efficiently by indicating whether paging DCI is transmitted through PEI) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches: The method of claim 7, wherein the configuration information includes at least one of information associated with the paging occasion, or information on associated with the cycle for monitoring the paging occasion ( see Hwang, ¶[0061], While the UE stays in the RRC_IDLE state, the UE monitors a paging channel for core network (CN)-initiated paging. In the RRC _INACTIVE state, the UE also monitors the paging channel, for radio access network (RAN)-initiated paging. The UE does not need to monitor the paging channel continuously. Paging discontinuous reception (DRX) is defined as monitoring a paging channel only during one paging occasion (PO) per DRX cycle by a UE in the RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE state. A paging DRX cycle is configured by the network… 3) In the case of RAN-initiated signaling, a UE-specific cycle is configured by RRC signaling; ¶[0065], To reduce power consumption, the UE may use DRX in the RRC_IDLE and RRC _INACTIVE states. The UE monitors one PO per DRX cycle).
Regarding claim 9, Hwang teaches: A base station in a wireless communication system, the base station (FIG. 13, BS; FIG. 17; ¶[0183]) comprising:
a transceiver (FIG. 17; ¶[0183]- ¶[0185]); and
at least one processor operably coupled to the transceiver (FIG. 17; ¶[0183]- ¶[0185]), the at least one processor configured to:
transmit, to a terminal via the transceiver, a message including configuration information for transmitting an emergency signal associated with a network energy saving (NES) mode ( see ¶[0016], a method of transmitting a signal by a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system may include transmitting a NES-related configuration, and transmitting DCI based on a DRX cycle to a UE in an RRC idle/inactive state; ¶[0060], The network may (i) access to UEs in RRC_IDLE, RRC_INACTIVE, and RRC_CONNECTED states by paging messages, and (ii) indicate a system information change and an earthquake and tsunami warning system/commercial mobile alert system (ETWS/CMAS) notification to UEs; ¶[0093], a method is proposed in which a BS indicates an NES-related operation (or provides information) to a UE in an idle/inactive state by L1 signaling receivable by the UE, and the UE performs an operation based on the indication; and see ¶[0112] and ¶[0115] with respect to NES mode; ¶[0116], The multiple used to determine the length of the NES mode period may be a value determined by the BS and provided to the UE through a higher layer signal (e.g., SIB)), determine whether a predetermined emergency event is detected during an NES active period in case that a cell operates in the NES mode, and
transmit, to the terminal via the transceiver, the emergency signal based on a determination that the predetermined emergency event is detected.
Although Hwang teaches information related to determining NES mode period ( see ¶[0112] ) determination of NES mode period based on length of paging DRX cycle ( see ¶[0115] ), and the network may indicate…(ii) indicate a system information change and an earthquake and tsunami warning system/commercial mobile alert system (ETWS/CMAS) notification to UEs in the RRC_IDLE and RRC _INACTIVE states and UEs in the RRC_CONNECTED stat (see ¶[0060]), Hwang, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to determine whether a predetermined emergency event is detected during an NES active period in case that a cell operates in the NES mode, and transmit, to the terminal via the transceiver, the emergency signal based on a determination that the predetermined emergency event is detected.
However, Lee, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches; determine whether a predetermined emergency event is detected during an NES active period in case that a cell operates in the NES mode ( see Lee, ¶[0108], Paging discontinuous reception (DRX) is defined as monitoring a paging channel only during one paging occasion (PO) per DRX cycle by a UE in the RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE state. A paging DRX cycle is configured by the network; ¶[0139], the BS may generate configuration information related to channel/signal-A (e.g., P-DCI) and transmit the same; ¶[0185], Paging may be used for system information change, disaster notification; ¶[0190], the PS-DCI scheme may enable ETWS/CMAS instructions to be transmitted as quickly as possible and in various ways in disaster emergency/emergency situations), and transmit, to the terminal via the transceiver, the emergency signal based on a determination that the predetermined emergency event is detected (see Lee, ¶[0139], the BS may generate configuration information related to channel/signal-A (e.g., P-DCI) and transmit the same; ¶[0185], Paging may be used for system information change, disaster notification; ¶[0190], the PS-DCI scheme may enable ETWS/CMAS instructions to be transmitted as quickly as possible and in various ways in disaster emergency/emergency situations).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hwang's teachings with Lee's above teaching, a terminal may be enabled to operating in an idle/inactive mode more efficiently by indicating whether paging DCI is transmitted through PEI ( see Lee, ¶[0020] ). Known work in one field of endeavor (Lee prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Hwang prior art) based on design incentives ( a terminal may be enabled to operating in an idle/inactive mode more efficiently by indicating whether paging DCI is transmitted through PEI) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 10, the combination teaches: The base station of claim 9, wherein a paging occasion is monitored by the terminal during an idle mode according to a cycle determined based on the configuration information ( see Hwang, ¶[0061], While the UE stays in the RRC_IDLE state, the UE monitors a paging channel for core network (CN)-initiated paging. In the RRC _INACTIVE state, the UE also monitors the paging channel, for radio access network (RAN)-initiated paging. The UE does not need to monitor the paging channel continuously. Paging discontinuous reception (DRX) is defined as monitoring a paging channel only during one paging occasion (PO) per DRX cycle by a UE in the RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE state. A paging DRX cycle is configured by the network… 3) In the case of RAN-initiated signaling, a UE-specific cycle is configured by RRC signaling; ¶[0065], To reduce power consumption, the UE may use DRX in the RRC_IDLE and RRC _INACTIVE states. The UE monitors one PO per DRX cycle).
Regarding claim 15, Hwang teaches: A terminal in a wireless communication system (FIG. 13, UE), the terminal comprising:
a transceiver (FIG. 17; ¶[0183]- ¶[0185]); and
at least one processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the at least one processor configured to (FIG. 17; ¶[0183]- ¶[0185]):
receive, from a base station via the transceiver, a message including configuration information for receiving an emergency signal associated with a network energy saving (NES) mode ( see Abstract, A method for receiving a signal by a terminal (UE) in a wireless communication system according to an example of the present disclosure may comprise: receiving a network energy saving (NES)-related configuration from a network; and monitoring downlink control information (DCI) on the basis of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle in a radio resource control (RRC) idle/inactive state; ¶[0005]),
monitor a paging occasion during an idle mode according to a cycle determined based on the configuration information (see Abstract, receiving a network energy saving (NES)-related configuration from a network; and monitoring downlink control information (DCI) on the basis of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle in a radio resource control (RRC) idle/inactive state; ¶[0005]; ¶[0061], While the UE stays in the RRC_IDLE state, the UE monitors a paging channel for core network (CN)-initiated paging. In the RRC _INACTIVE state, the UE also monitors the paging channel, for radio access network (RAN)-initiated paging. The UE does not need to monitor the paging channel continuously. Paging discontinuous reception (DRX) is defined as monitoring a paging channel only during one paging occasion (PO) per DRX cycle by a UE in the RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE state. A paging DRX cycle is configured by the network… 3) In the case of RAN-initiated signaling, a UE-specific cycle is configured by RRC signaling; ¶[0065], To reduce power consumption, the UE may use DRX in the RRC_IDLE and RRC _INACTIVE states. The UE monitors one PO per DRX cycle), and
receive, from the base station, the emergency signal based on the paging occasion monitored during the idle mode when a predetermined emergency event is detected during an NES active period, wherein a cell operates in the NES mode.
Although Hwang teaches information related to determining NES mode period ( see ¶[0112] ) determination of NES mode period based on length of paging DRX cycle ( see ¶[0115] ), and the network may indicate…(ii) indicate a system information change and an earthquake and tsunami warning system/commercial mobile alert system (ETWS/CMAS) notification to UEs in the RRC_IDLE and RRC _INACTIVE states and UEs in the RRC_CONNECTED stat (see ¶[0060]), Hwang, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to receive, from the base station, the emergency signal based on the paging occasion monitored during the idle mode when a predetermined emergency event is detected during an NES active period, wherein a cell operates in the NES mode.
However, Lee, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: receive, from the base station, the emergency signal based on the paging occasion monitored during the idle mode when a predetermined emergency event is detected during an NES active period, wherein a cell operates in the NES mode ( see Lee, ¶[0108], Paging discontinuous reception (DRX) is defined as monitoring a paging channel only during one paging occasion (PO) per DRX cycle by a UE in the RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE state. A paging DRX cycle is configured by the network; ¶[0139], the BS may generate configuration information related to channel/signal-A (e.g., P-DCI) and transmit the same; ¶[0185], Paging may be used for system information change, disaster notification; ¶[0190], the PS-DCI scheme may enable ETWS/CMAS instructions to be transmitted as quickly as possible and in various ways in disaster emergency/emergency situations).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hwang's teachings with Lee's above teaching, a terminal may be enabled to operating in an idle/inactive mode more efficiently by indicating whether paging DCI is transmitted through PEI ( see Lee, ¶[0020] ). Known work in one field of endeavor (Lee prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Hwang prior art) based on design incentives ( a terminal may be enabled to operating in an idle/inactive mode more efficiently by indicating whether paging DCI is transmitted through PEI) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 16, the combination teaches: The terminal of claim 15, wherein the configuration information includes at least one of information associated with the paging occasion, or information on associated with the cycle for monitoring the paging occasion ( see Hwang, ¶[0061], While the UE stays in the RRC_IDLE state, the UE monitors a paging channel for core network (CN)-initiated paging. In the RRC _INACTIVE state, the UE also monitors the paging channel, for radio access network (RAN)-initiated paging. The UE does not need to monitor the paging channel continuously. Paging discontinuous reception (DRX) is defined as monitoring a paging channel only during one paging occasion (PO) per DRX cycle by a UE in the RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE state. A paging DRX cycle is configured by the network… 3) In the case of RAN-initiated signaling, a UE-specific cycle is configured by RRC signaling; ¶[0065], To reduce power consumption, the UE may use DRX in the RRC_IDLE and RRC _INACTIVE states. The UE monitors one PO per DRX cycle).
Regarding claim 17, the combination teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the configuration information includes at least one of information associated with a paging occasion, or information on associated with a cycle for monitoring the paging occasion ( see Hwang, ¶[0061], While the UE stays in the RRC_IDLE state, the UE monitors a paging channel for core network (CN)-initiated paging. In the RRC _INACTIVE state, the UE also monitors the paging channel, for radio access network (RAN)-initiated paging. The UE does not need to monitor the paging channel continuously. Paging discontinuous reception (DRX) is defined as monitoring a paging channel only during one paging occasion (PO) per DRX cycle by a UE in the RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE state. A paging DRX cycle is configured by the network… 3) In the case of RAN-initiated signaling, a UE-specific cycle is configured by RRC signaling; ¶[0065], To reduce power consumption, the UE may use DRX in the RRC_IDLE and RRC _INACTIVE states. The UE monitors one PO per DRX cycle).
Regarding claim 18, the combination teaches: The base station of claim 9, wherein the configuration information includes at least one of information associated with a paging occasion, or information on associated with a cycle for monitoring the paging occasion ( see Hwang, ¶[0061], While the UE stays in the RRC_IDLE state, the UE monitors a paging channel for core network (CN)-initiated paging. In the RRC _INACTIVE state, the UE also monitors the paging channel, for radio access network (RAN)-initiated paging. The UE does not need to monitor the paging channel continuously. Paging discontinuous reception (DRX) is defined as monitoring a paging channel only during one paging occasion (PO) per DRX cycle by a UE in the RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE state. A paging DRX cycle is configured by the network… 3) In the case of RAN-initiated signaling, a UE-specific cycle is configured by RRC signaling; ¶[0065], To reduce power consumption, the UE may use DRX in the RRC_IDLE and RRC _INACTIVE states. The UE monitors one PO per DRX cycle).
Claim(s) 3 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang, in view of Lee and, further in view Wei et al. ( US 2024/0107450 A1), hereinafter referred to as Wei.
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches the method of claim 1. The combination, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to determining whether to wake up for transmitting the emergency signal based on a determination that the predetermined emergency event is detected.
However, Wei, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining whether to wake up for transmitting the emergency signal based on a determination that the predetermined emergency event is detected ( see Wei, ¶[0099], lightweight or drone base stations can provide a service on demand. Such a base station can be in sleep mode unless awaken by a terminal which may be in the vicinity of the base station and which transmits a wake-up signal.
c. A terminal has lost its coverage in a disaster situation. For example, backup base stations can be deployed only for emergency cases. Those base stations are in sleep state unless a disaster strikes, and those base stations can be triggered or activated by the terminals who suddenly lose their coverage from their serving cells. In some cases, they can be configured to provide emergency services (first or exclusively) ).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Wei's above teachings in order to reduce energy consumption for the base station (see Wei, ¶[0105]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Wei prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Hwang prior art) based on design incentives ( to reduce power consumption for the base station) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 11, the combination teaches the base station of claim 9. The combination, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to determine whether to wake up for transmitting the emergency signal based on a determination that the predetermined emergency event is detected.
However, Wei, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: The base station of claim 9, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: determine whether to wake up for transmitting the emergency signal based on a determination that the predetermined emergency event is detected ( see Wei, ¶[0099], lightweight or drone base stations can provide a service on demand. Such a base station can be in sleep mode unless awaken by a terminal which may be in the vicinity of the base station and which transmits a wake-up signal.
c. A terminal has lost its coverage in a disaster situation. For example, backup base stations can be deployed only for emergency cases. Those base stations are in sleep state unless a disaster strikes, and those base stations can be triggered or activated by the terminals who suddenly lose their coverage from their serving cells. In some cases, they can be configured to provide emergency services (first or exclusively) ).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Wei's above teachings in order to reduce energy consumption for the base station (see Wei, ¶[0105]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Wei prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Hwang prior art) based on design incentives ( to reduce power consumption for the base station) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang, in view of Lee and, further in view of Shikari et al. ( US 2021/0235252 A1), IDS submitted on 08/09/2024, hereinafter referred to as Shikari .
Regarding claim 6, Hwang and Lee combination teaches the method of claim 1. The combination, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to receiving, from a core network entity, information associated with the predetermined emergency event.
However, Shikari, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the determining whether the predetermined emergency event is detected further comprises: wherein the determining whether the predetermined emergency event is detected further comprises: receiving, from a core network entity, information associated with the predetermined emergency event ( see Shikari, ¶ [0081], In 610, the CMAS server 170 is triggered to initiate the broadcast of a CMAS message. Accordingly, the CMAS server 170 transmits signal to a mobile management entity (MME) 180 of the LTE-RAN 120. The MME 180 may be a network entity included in the cellular core network 130. The signal may include various information and/or data related to the broadcast of a CMAS message. For example, the signal may include the emergency alert that is to be included when the CMAS message is broadcast; [0082],In 615, the MME 180 transmits a request to the eNB 120A to transmit a CMAS message to UEs within at least a portion of its tracking area. The request may include the information and/or data received from the CMAS server 170 in 510. The request may also include various CMAS transmission pattern parameters).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Shikari's above teachings, power optimization related to emergency message monitoring performed by a user equipment (UE) ( see Shikari, ¶[0014] ). Known work in one field of endeavor (Shikari prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Hwang prior art) based on design incentives ( power optimization related to emergency message monitoring performed by a user equipment (UE) ) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 14, the combination teaches the base station of claim 9. The combination, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to receive, from a core network entity, information associated with the predetermined emergency event.
However, Shikari, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: The base station of claim 9, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from a core network entity, information associated with the predetermined emergency event ( see Shikari, ¶ [0081], In 610, the CMAS server 170 is triggered to initiate the broadcast of a CMAS message. Accordingly, the CMAS server 170 transmits signal to a mobile management entity (MME) 180 of the LTE-RAN 120. The MME 180 may be a network entity included in the cellular core network 130. The signal may include various information and/or data related to the broadcast of a CMAS message. For example, the signal may include the emergency alert that is to be included when the CMAS message is broadcast; [0082],In 615, the MME 180 transmits a request to the eNB 120A to transmit a CMAS message to UEs within at least a portion of its tracking area. The request may include the information and/or data received from the CMAS server 170 in 510. The request may also include various CMAS transmission pattern parameters).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Shikari's above teachings, power optimization related to emergency message monitoring performed by a user equipment (UE) ( see Shikari, ¶[0014] ). Known work in one field of endeavor (Shikari prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Hwang prior art) based on design incentives ( power optimization related to emergency message monitoring performed by a user equipment (UE) ) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 4-5 and 12-13 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4 and claim 12, these claim recite switching an operation mode from an NES active mode corresponding to the NES active period to an NES non-active mode during a cycle after the predetermined emergency event is detected; and transmitting the emergency signal during the next cycle in the NES non-active mode.
The references of record do not teach or suggest aforementioned limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify those references to include such limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fu et al. ( US 2025/0254755 A1) discloses a user equipment (UE) receives a network discontinuous communication configuration sent by a base station, where the network discontinuous communication configuration includes a network discontinuous communication configuration for a cell and/or a network discontinuous communication configuration for the base station
He et al. ( US 20220/046403 A1) disclose a method performed by a user equipment (UE) includes receiving, from a network entity, an indication of a monitoring schedule for public warning notifications, and monitoring for a public warning notification based on the monitoring schedule
/MANG BOI THAWNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476