Response to Arguments
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, 16-20 in the reply filed on December 1, 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that: (i) the process as claimed (Group II) may be used to make a permanent magnet rotor as claimed in claim 1 (Group I); and (ii) the subject matter of the Groups is sufficiently related that a thorough search for the subject matter of one of the Groups would encompass a search for the subject matter of the other Group. This is not found persuasive because:
With respect to applicant’s argument (i), it is noted that all the ordered method steps in Group II are not recited in Group I. Therefore, the examiner contends that the process as claimed (Group II) is not used to make only a permanent magnet rotor as claimed in claim 1 (Group I). It may be used to make other permanent magnet rotors which are different from a permanent magnet rotor as claimed in claim 1 (Group I).
With respect to applicant’s argument (ii), each Group requires a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries); and/or the prior art applicable to one species would not likely be applicable to another species.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 110445274) and in view of Goig (FR 2503950), Neubauer (DE 102015203995), Yamauchi (JP 2022159610), and Tschida (US 20200244114).
As to claim 1, Zhang discloses a permanent magnet rotor for a motor, the rotor comprising: a generally cylindrical outer section and a bearing section arranged radially inwards of the generally cylindrical outer section for rotatably supporting the rotor (Fig. 2), wherein the generally cylindrical outer section and the bearing section are connected by a generally radially extending cover wall (Fig. 2), wherein the generally cylindrical outer section, the bearing section and the generally radially extending cover wall define at least partly a space for receiving a stator (Fig. 2), the generally cylindrical outer section comprising: an annular ring of a magnetic material (Fig. 7), a plurality of annularly disposed magnets arranged radially inwards of said annular ring (Fig. 7), wherein each magnet has a first and a second end in a circumferential direction (Fig. 7).
Zhang fails to disclose (i) an inner wall arranged radially inwards of said plurality of magnets, the inner wall having a substantially cylindrical inner surface, wherein a thickness of the inner wall is substantially constant in the central section and increases in the first and second end sections towards the first and second ends of the magnet respectively,
(ii) a first and second tapered end sections in the circumferential direction,
(iii) and each magnet is provided with a radially inwards facing surface having a central section,
(iv) wherein the inner wall is formed by overmolding the plurality of magnets with a polymer material.
Goig, however, discloses an inner wall arranged radially inwards of said plurality of magnets (Fig. 2), the inner wall having a substantially cylindrical inner surface, wherein a thickness of the inner wall is substantially constant in the central section and increases in the first and second end sections towards the first and second ends of the magnet respectively (Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the rotor of Zhang with an inner wall arranged radially inwards of said plurality of magnets, the inner wall having a substantially cylindrical inner surface, wherein a thickness of the inner wall is substantially constant in the central section and increases in the first and second end sections towards the first and second ends of the magnet respectively, as disclosed by Goig, in order to better secure the magnets.
Neubauer, however, discloses a first and second tapered end sections in the circumferential direction (Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the rotor of Zhang with a first and second tapered end sections in the circumferential direction, as disclosed by Neubauer, to ease assembly of the magnet assembly.
Yamauchi, however, discloses each magnet is provided with a radially inwards facing surface having a central section (Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the rotor of Zhang with each magnet is provided with a radially inwards facing surface having a central section, as disclosed by Yamauchi, to enhance magnetic strength. Tschida, however, discloses the inner wall is formed by overmolding the plurality of magnets with a polymer material (Para 0025).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the rotor of Zhang with the inner wall is formed by overmolding the plurality of magnets with a polymer material, as disclosed by Tschida, to better position the plurality of magnets.
As to claim 2, the combination of Zhang, Goig, Neubauer, Yamauchi, and Tschida discloses the rotor according to claim 1, wherein the central section of the magnet extends over at least 40% of the magnet in the circumferential direction (Fig. 2 of Neubauer).
As to claim 3, the combination of Zhang, Goig, Neubauer, Yamauchi, and Tschida discloses the rotor according to claim 1, wherein the first tapered end section extends over at least 10% of the magnet in the circumferential direction (Fig. 2 of Neubauer).
As to claim 4, the combination of Zhang, Goig, Neubauer, Yamauchi, and Tschida discloses the rotor according to claim 1, wherein the bearing section comprises a bearing sleeve of metal for receiving an outer bearing race (Fig. 3 and 4 of Zhang).
As to claim 5, the combination of Zhang, Goig, Neubauer, Yamauchi, and Tschida discloses the rotor according to claim 1, wherein the bearing section comprises an outer bearing race (fig. 3 of Zhang).
As to claim 6, the combination of Zhang, Goig, Neubauer, Yamauchi, and Tschida discloses the rotor according to claim 4, wherein the annular ring, the plurality of magnets and the bearing sleeve are overmolded in one step by a polymer, wherein the generally radially extending cover wall is formed out of the polymer in the same step (Para 0025 of Tschida).
As to claim 8, the combination of Zhang, Goig, Neubauer, Yamauchi, and Tschida discloses the rotor according to claim 8, wherein the generally radially extending cover wall is formed free of metallic reinforcement (Fig. 4 of Goig).
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, Goig, Neubauer, Yamauchi, Tschida and in view of Ron (EP 3926791).
As to claim 7, the combination of Zhang, Goig, Neubauer, Yamauchi, and Tschida discloses the rotor according to claim 6, and overmolding.
Zhang fails to disclose a plurality of metallic threaded inserts for attaching a fan provided in the radially extending cover wall, wherein the plurality of threaded inserts are fixed in the cover wall.
Rona, however, discloses a plurality of metallic threaded inserts for attaching a fan provided in the radially extending cover wall, wherein the plurality of threaded inserts (138; Fig. 5) are fixed in the cover wall (Fig. 5; “the blades 301 of the fan may be supported directly on the rotor 320, for example by means of the holes 138 with bush 138a inside which respective screws 338 for fixing the blades to the rotor are fixed”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the rotor of Zhang with a plurality of metallic threaded inserts for attaching a fan provided in the radially extending cover wall, wherein the plurality of threaded inserts are fixed in the cover wall, as disclose by Rona, to better secure a fan to the rotor.
As to claim 9, the combination of Zhang, Goig, Neubauer, Yamauchi, and Tschida discloses the rotor according to claim 1, and the generally radially extending cover wall
Zhang fails to disclose reinforcing ribs extending radially from the central opening in the cover wall to each of a plurality of metallic threaded inserts.
Rona, however, discloses reinforcing ribs extending radially from the central opening in the cover wall to each of a plurality of metallic threaded inserts (130; Fig. 5; “the internal rear surface of the closing plate 130 may have a plurality of raised ribs 130, in the example eight ribs”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the rotor of Zhang with reinforcing ribs extending radially from the central opening in the cover wall to each of a plurality of metallic threaded inserts, to reinforce and increase the mechanical strength of the structure (“designed to reinforce and increase the mechanical strength of the article”).
Claims 10, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmidt (US 20230412054) and in view of Zhang, Goig, Neubauer, Yamauchi, and Tschida.
As to claim 10, Schmidt discloses a cooling fan motor, comprising: a stator including a stack of steel laminations and a plurality of coils arranged in circumferentially spaced slots in the steel laminations.
Schmidt fails to disclose a permanent magnet rotor, the permanent magnet rotor including: a generally cylindrical outer section and a bearing section arranged radially inwards of the generally cylindrical outer section for rotatably supporting the rotor, wherein the generally cylindrical outer section and the bearing section are connected by a generally radially extending cover wall, wherein the generally cylindrical outer section, the bearing section and the generally radially extending cover wall define at least partly a space for receiving a stator, the generally cylindrical outer section comprising: an annular ring of a magnetic material, a plurality of annularly disposed magnets arranged radially inwards of said annular ring and an inner wall arranged radially inwards of said plurality of magnets, the inner wall having a substantially cylindrical inner surface, wherein each magnet has a first and a second end in a circumferential direction and is provided with a radially inwards facing surface having a central section and first and second tapered end sections in the circumferential direction, wherein a thickness of the inner wall is substantially constant in the central section and increases in the first and second end sections towards the first and second ends of the magnet respectively, wherein the inner wall is formed by overmolding the plurality of magnets with a polymer material.
Zhang, however, discloses a permanent magnet rotor, the permanent magnet rotor including: a generally cylindrical outer section and a bearing section arranged radially inwards of the generally cylindrical outer section for rotatably supporting the rotor (Fig. 2), wherein the generally cylindrical outer section and the bearing section are connected by a generally radially extending cover wall (Fig. 2), wherein the generally cylindrical outer section, the bearing section and the generally radially extending cover wall define at least partly a space for receiving a stator (Fig. 2), the generally cylindrical outer section comprising: an annular ring of a magnetic material (Fig. 7), a plurality of annularly disposed magnets arranged radially inwards of said annular ring (Fig. 7), wherein each magnet has a first and a second end in a circumferential direction (Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the motor of Schmidt with a permanent magnet rotor, the permanent magnet rotor including: a generally cylindrical outer section and a bearing section arranged radially inwards of the generally cylindrical outer section for rotatably supporting the rotor, wherein the generally cylindrical outer section and the bearing section are connected by a generally radially extending cover wall, wherein the generally cylindrical outer section, the bearing section and the generally radially extending cover wall define at least partly a space for receiving a stator, the generally cylindrical outer section comprising: an annular ring of a magnetic material, a plurality of annularly disposed magnets arranged radially inwards of said annular ring, wherein each magnet has a first and a second end in a circumferential direction, as disclosed by Zhang, to convert electrical energy to mechanical enegery.
Goig, however, discloses an inner wall arranged radially inwards of said plurality of magnets (Fig. 2), the inner wall having a substantially cylindrical inner surface, wherein a thickness of the inner wall is substantially constant in the central section and increases in the first and second end sections towards the first and second ends of the magnet respectively (Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the rotor of Zhang with an inner wall arranged radially inwards of said plurality of magnets, the inner wall having a substantially cylindrical inner surface, wherein a thickness of the inner wall is substantially constant in the central section and increases in the first and second end sections towards the first and second ends of the magnet respectively, as disclosed by Goig, in order to better secure the magnets.
Neubauer, however, discloses a first and second tapered end sections in the circumferential direction (Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the rotor of Zhang with a first and second tapered end sections in the circumferential direction, as disclosed by Neubauer, to ease assembly of the magnet assembly.
Yamauchi, however, discloses each magnet is provided with a radially inwards facing surface having a central section (Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the rotor of Zhang with each magnet is provided with a radially inwards facing surface having a central section, as disclosed by Yamauchi, to enhance magnetic strength. Tschida, however, discloses the inner wall is formed by overmolding the plurality of magnets with a polymer material (Para 0025).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the rotor of Zhang with the inner wall is formed by overmolding the plurality of magnets with a polymer material, as disclosed by Tschida, to better position the plurality of magnets.
As to claim 16, the combination of Schmidt, Zhang, Goig, Neubauer, Yamauchi, and Tschida discloses the rotor according to claim 10, wherein the central section of the magnet extends over at least 40% of the magnet in the circumferential direction (Fig. 2 of Neubauer).
As to claim 17, the combination of Schmidt, Zhang, Goig, Neubauer, Yamauchi, and Tschida discloses the rotor according to claim 10, wherein the first tapered end section extends over at least 10% of the magnet in the circumferential direction (Fig. 2 of Neubauer).
As to claim 18, the combination of Schmidt, Zhang, Goig, Neubauer, Yamauchi, and Tschida discloses the rotor according to claim 10, wherein the annular ring, the plurality of magnets and the bearing sleeve are overmolded by a polymer (Para 0025 of Tschida).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmidt, Zhang, Goig, Neubauer, Yamauchi, Tschida and in view of Ron.
As to claim 19, the combination of Schmidt, Zhang, Goig, Neubauer, Yamauchi, and Tschida discloses the motor according to claim 18, and overmolding.
Schmidt fails to disclose a plurality of metallic threaded inserts for attaching a fan provided in the radially extending cover wall, wherein the plurality of threaded inserts are fixed in the cover wall.
Rona, however, discloses a plurality of metallic threaded inserts for attaching a fan provided in the radially extending cover wall, wherein the plurality of threaded inserts (138; Fig. 5) are fixed in the cover wall (Fig. 5; “the blades 301 of the fan may be supported directly on the rotor 320, for example by means of the holes 138 with bush 138a inside which respective screws 338 for fixing the blades to the rotor are fixed”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the motor of Schmidt with a plurality of metallic threaded inserts for attaching a fan provided in the radially extending cover wall, wherein the plurality of threaded inserts are fixed in the cover wall, as disclose by Rona, to better secure a fan to the rotor.
As to claim 20, the combination of Schmidt, Zhang, Goig, Neubauer, Yamauchi, Tschida, and Rona discloses the motor according to claim 19, wherein the generally radially extending cover wall is provided with reinforcing ribs extending radially from the central opening in the cover wall to each of the plurality of metallic threaded inserts (130; Fig. 5 of Rona; “the internal rear surface of the closing plate 130 may have a plurality of raised ribs 130, in the example eight ribs”).
Conclusion
should be directed to ETHAN N VO whose telephone number is (571)270-7593. The examiner can
normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:30am - 5pm.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center
and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199
(IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ETHAN NGUYEN VO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834