DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4, 8 and 10 recites the limitation "”the outlet of the housing”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
___________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 9-11, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JOHNSON et al. (US 2016/0227838)
With respect to claim 1¸ JOHNSON et al. discloses an electronic vaporizer device (Abstract) comprising a housing, 9 and 17 (Paragraphs [0030]-[0032]) comprising a heating element, 13, (Paragraphs [0037]-[0041]), and a housing opening, at 45 (Figure 2), wherein sides of the housing are non-linear (Figures 1-4 and 12); a mouthpiece attachment, 7, (Paragraphs [0007], [0030], [0031]) comprising a mouthpiece inlet and outlet (See annotated figure 13, below); and wherein the housing and mouthpiece attachment form an airflow path, 129, that extend from the housing opening, 35/35A (Paragraphs [0033], [0035], [0057]), through the mouthpiece inlet and out of the mouthpiece outlet (Figure 13; Paragraphs [0051] and [0057]).
[AltContent: textbox (Mouthpiece outlet)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Mouthpiece inlet)][AltContent: arrow]
With respect to claim 2, JOHNSON et al. discloses that the housing has curved sides and flat base (Figure 3).
With respect to claim 4, JOHNSON et al. discloses that the housing has an upper end, 9, and a lower end, 17, (Paragraph [0032]) wherein the outlet of the outlet of the housing, at 45 (Paragraphs [0032]-[0033]; Figures 2 and 3) is at the upper end of the housing, wherein the mouthpiece attachment has an upper end, at 29, and a lower end, at 49, wherein the mouthpiece inlet is at the lower end of the mouthpiece attachment and the outlet is at an upper end thereof (Figure 13, annotated above). The mouthpiece attachment attaches to the upper end of the housing (Figures 1-3; Paragraph [0031]).
[AltContent: textbox (First diameter)][AltContent: arrow]With respect to claim 5, JOHNSON et al. shows that the mouthpiece attachment has a first diameter at the upper end and a second diameter at the lower end that is larger than the first diameter.
[AltContent: textbox (Second diameter)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
With respect to claim 9¸ JOHNSON et al. discloses a liquid cavity, 30, that is configured to store water an is capable of filtering air flowing through the mouthpiece (Paragraph [0031], [0051]).
With respect to claim 10, JOHNSON et al. discloses an outlet to the housing, at 45, (Figures 2, 3 and 13) which necessarily provides access to the interior of the housing.
With respect to claim 11, JOHNSON et al. discloses a power supply, 26 (Paragraphs [0036] and [0037]; Figure 3), a charging port (Paragraph [0059]; Figures 14 and 15) a switch, 21 (Paragraphs [0032], [0047]), and a light source (Paragraph [0032]).
With respect to claim 19 and 20, JOHNSON et al. discloses an electronic vaporizer device (Abstract) comprising a housing, 9 and 17 (Paragraphs [0030]-[0032]) comprising a heating element, 13, (Paragraphs [0037]-[0041]), and a housing opening, at 45 (Figure 2), wherein sides of the housing are non-linear (Figures 1-4 and 12); a mouthpiece attachment, 7, (Paragraphs [0007], [0030], [0031]) comprising a mouthpiece inlet and outlet (See annotated figure 13, below); and wherein the housing and mouthpiece attachment form an airflow path, 129, that extend from the housing opening, 35/35A (Paragraphs [0033], [0035], [0057]), through the mouthpiece inlet and out of the mouthpiece outlet (Figure 13; Paragraphs [0051] and [0057]).
[AltContent: textbox (Mouthpiece outlet)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Mouthpiece inlet)][AltContent: arrow]
The mouthpiece is detachably connected to the housing (Paragraphs [0054]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
________________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 3, 12-16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JOHNSON et al. (US 2016/0227838).
With respect to claim 3, JOHNSON et al. generally shows that the mouthpiece has a conical shape and the housing generally has a spherical dome shape (Figures 1-3). The courts have generally held that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. See, In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947). MPEP 2144.04, I.
With respect to claim 12, JOHNSON et al. discloses an electronic vaporizer device (Abstract) comprising a housing, 9 and 17 (Paragraphs [0030]-[0032]) comprising a heating element, 13, (Paragraphs [0037]-[0041]), and a housing opening, at 45 (Figure 2), wherein sides of the housing are non-linear (Figures 1-4 and 12); a mouthpiece attachment, 7, (Paragraphs [0007], [0030], [0031]) comprising a mouthpiece inlet and outlet (See annotated figure 13, below); and wherein the housing and mouthpiece attachment form an airflow path, 129, that extend from the housing opening, 35/35A (Paragraphs [0033], [0035], [0057]), through the mouthpiece inlet and out of the mouthpiece outlet (Figure 13; Paragraphs [0051] and [0057]).
[AltContent: textbox (Mouthpiece outlet)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Mouthpiece inlet)][AltContent: arrow]
JOHNSON et al. discloses that the mouthpiece is detachably connected to the housing (Paragraphs [0054]). While JOHNSON et al. doesn’t explicitly disclose forming the mouthpiece and forming the housing, the act of providing the parts makes it obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, that these parts must be formed first. Thus, it would have been obvious to form the mouthpiece attachment and to form the housing, as outlined above, for the purposes of providing these parts for assembly and eventual use.
With respect to claim 13, While JOHNSON et al. does not explicitly disclose packing the mouthpiece and housing, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to pack these components so that they can be provided for shipment and eventual use by the end user.
With respect to claim 14, JOHNSON et al. discloses that the housing has curved sides and flat base (Figure 3).
With respect to claim 15, JOHNSON et al. discloses that the housing has an upper end, 9, and a lower end, 17, (Paragraph [0032]) wherein the outlet of the outlet of the housing, at 45 (Paragraphs [0032]-[0033]; Figures 2 and 3) is at the upper end of the housing, wherein the mouthpiece attachment has an upper end, at 29, and a lower end, at 49, wherein the mouthpiece inlet is at the lower end of the mouthpiece attachment and the outlet is at an upper end thereof (Figure 13, annotated above). The mouthpiece attachment attaches to the upper end of the housing (Figures 1-3; Paragraph [0031]).
[AltContent: textbox (First diameter)][AltContent: arrow]With respect to claim 16, JOHNSON et al. shows that the mouthpiece attachment has a first diameter at the upper end and a second diameter at the lower end that is larger than the first diameter.
[AltContent: textbox (Second diameter)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
With respect to claim 18, JOHNSON et al. discloses a power supply, 26 (Paragraphs [0036] and [0037]; Figure 3), a charging port (Paragraph [0059]; Figures 14 and 15) a switch, 21 (Paragraphs [0032], [0047]), and a light source (Paragraph [0032]).
The switch causes the heating element to heat using energy from the battery (Paragraphs [0032], [0047]-[0049], [0055]).
_________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 6-8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JOHNSON et al. (US 2016/0227838) and SAMPSON et al. (US 2016/0007649).
With respect to claims 6-8 and 17¸ JOHNSON et al. discloses that the mouthpiece is detachably connected to the housing (Paragraphs [0054]), but does not explicitly disclose that the mouthpiece is able to rotate about the housing. SAMPSON et al. discloses an inhalation device, Abstract). The mouthpiece includes a flavor cartridge and the mouthpiece is mechanically connected, and is rotatable with respect to the housing (e.g., control surface), to adjust the amount air that passes through the flavor cartridge thereby allowing the user to inhale an amount of flavor (Paragraphs [0076], [0087], [0110]-[0111]; Figures 1-4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the device of JOHNSON et al. with a rotatable mouthpiece, mechanically coupled to the housing, as taught by SAMPSON et al. so that the user can adjust the amount of flavor inhales.
Conclusion
/ALEX B EFTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745