DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The rejection of claims 9, 11, 21, and 22 under 35 USC § 103 over CN207973691 and CN104030875B is withdrawn by the examiner in view of the amendment filed on 7/29/2026.
A New Non-Final Office Action is follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over CN104030875B in view of CN207973691. CN104030875B discloses a system for treating refinery dry gas including pretreatment to remove acidic components and mercaptans, followed by a cryogenic separation system that sequentially separates hydrogen/C1, C2, C3 and heavier hydrocarbons. Specifically, CN104030875B teaches pretreatment including deacidification, mercaptan removal and dry-gas purification before downstream separation, a demethanizer for separating H₂/C1 from C2+, a deethanizer for separating C2 from C3+, a depropanizer for separating C3 from C4+, and a propylene rectification tower for further recovery of propylene. CN104030875B does not expressly disclose an impurity-removal unit comprising separate gas-phase and liquid-phase impurity-removal units, each including dedicated desulfurization, sweetening and water-washing units, as recited.
CN207973691 teaches treating refinery gas and liquid hydrocarbon streams separately, including respective gas-phase and liquid-phase desulfurization and sweetening systems prior to downstream hydrocarbon recovery. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the refinery gas treatment system of CN104030875B by incorporating the separate gas-phase and liquid-phase impurity-removal units taught by CN207973691 in order to improve removal of sulfur compounds and mercaptans, reduce corrosion and fouling of downstream cryogenic separation equipment, and improve hydrocarbon product purity. Regarding claim 21, CN104030875B further teaches recovering hydrogen-rich gas through downstream gas treatment utilizing PSA and membrane separation, producing hydrogen-rich gas while recycling absorbent or separation media within the recovery process. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of CN104030875B to employ an additional gas-separation device as recited to obtain the claimed dry gas product while recovering absorbent, since such gas absorption and regeneration equipment was well known for hydrogen recovery systems. Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over CN104030875B in view of CN207973691, further in view of Strack et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,090,977). The combination of CN104030875B and CN207973691 teaches the system of claim 9, including a light hydrocarbon extraction unit, impurity-removal unit, and separation unit for sequentially recovering H₂/C1, C2, C3 and C4 products, as discussed above. The combined references, however, do not expressly disclose that the separation unit further includes a sixth separation device for rectifying the C3 product to obtain separate propane and propylene products, as recited. Strack discloses a conventional C3 splitter (depropylenizer) that receives a C3 hydrocarbon stream and separates it into a propylene overhead product and a propane bottoms product. See, e.g., col. 3, lines. 58-68; col. 5, lines. 6-28; Fig. 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the separation system of CN104030875B, as modified by CN207973691, by incorporating the C3 rectification technique taught by Strack in order to recover separate propane and propylene products having higher purity and commercial value, since such C3 splitters were well known and routinely employed in hydrocarbon recovery systems to separate propane from propylene.
Conclusion
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771