DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means” as it appears in claims 7 and 18.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the cultivated crop" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The last clause of claim 6 includes controlling the height actuator system based on a signal to minimize changes in height relative to the floor or crop but is silent regarding what might cause such variations. As best understood the claim is intended to minimize variations that might be caused by the movement of the gantry but this is not clear from the claim. Clarification is necessary.
Claims 9 includes “run essentially over the floor.” This unclear as it is not apparent if the wheels must run directly on the floor or in what manner the term “essentially” modifies such a requirement. Clarification is necessary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-13, 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6,854,209 to Van Horssen.
Regarding claim 1 Van Horssen discloses a nursery assembly for use in a nursery, wherein the assembly comprises: a cultivation floor (30); a gantry construction comprising a gantry beam (10), a first gantry upright and a second gantry upright (11), which gantry uprights support the gantry beam at a distance above the cultivation floor, a tool (20/21), and a manipulator for moving the tool with respect to the gantry beam (16/17); and a rail system (8) along which the first gantry upright is displaceable; wherein the rail system is arranged along the cultivation floor and is configured as a guide of the first gantry upright when displacing the first gantry upright along the rail system (see figure 1); wherein the manipulator is configured to be able to displace the tool along the gantry beam and/or to be able to rotate said tool with respect to the gantry beam (see e.g., figure 2); wherein the gantry beam extends in a direction transverse to the rail system (see figure 1); and wherein the gantry uprights are each provided, at the bottom ends thereof, with a gantry drive, which gantry drives are configured to be able to displace the gantry construction in a longitudinal direction of the rail system (12 and col. 4 lines 4-6).
Regarding claim 2 Van Horssen discloses the rail system and/or the first gantry upright are configured in such a way that the rail system is a rail system over which the first gantry upright is displaceable (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 7 Van Horssen discloses the first gantry upright is provided with one or more first upright wheels and the first gantry upright runs on the rail system by means of one or more of the first upright wheels (see 12 and 8, figure 1).
Regarding claim 8 Van Horssen discloses the first gantry drive of the first gantry upright is connected in terms of drive to one or more of the first upright wheels (see col. 4 lines 4-6).
Regarding claim 9 Van Horssen discloses the second gantry upright is provided with one or more second upright wheels which run essentially over the cultivation floor (see figure 1 and col. 4 lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 10 Van Horssen discloses the second gantry drive of the second gantry upright is connected in terms of drive to one or more of the second upright wheels (col.4 lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 11 Van Horssen discloses the assembly further comprises a multiplicity of plant containers, such as plant pots, containing plants, said containers being positioned on the cultivation floor (29/38).
Regarding claim 12 Van Horssen discloses the tool comprises a gripper which is configured to grip, displace, and unload one or more plant containers or plants (20/21 lift and transfer plants).
Regarding claim 13 Van Horssen discloses the manipulator is configured to: be able to use the gripper to pick up one or more plant containers or plants from a pick-up point, be able to use the gripper to deposit the one or more picked-up plant containers or plants at an unloading point, and be able to displace the gripper between the pick-up point and the unloading point (20/21 lift and transfer plants, see also col. 5 lines 14-25).
Regarding claim 16 Van Horssen discloses the assembly further comprises a conveyor which extends along the rail system; and wherein the conveyor is provided with the rail system (see e.g., 14/15 or alternatively benches 3).
Regarding claim 17 Van Horssen discloses the conveyor comprises a conveyor belt (see 14-15).
Regarding claim 18 Van Horssen discloses the conveyor is provided with a conveyor control system which is configured to control a conveyor drive so as to bring plant containers or plants to the gantry construction by means of the conveyor and to, at the gantry construction, position them at a predetermined position with respect to the gantry construction (see col. 4 lines 45-55 or col. 5 lines 49-51).
Regarding claim 19 Van Horssen discloses the tool comprises one or more of the following tools: a sensor, a gripper (20/21), a sprayer, a blade, a cutter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 6 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Horssen in view of US 9,622,398 to Gaus.
Regarding claim 3 Van Horssen further discloses a gantry position sensor system configured to generate a gantry position signal (col. 4 lines 1-5) but does not explicitly disclose a gantry position sensor system configured to generate a gantry position signal which is representative of a horizontal angular position of the gantry beam with respect to the rail system; and a gantry position controller configured to, when the gantry construction is being displaced along the rail system, control the first gantry drive and the second gantry drive in dependence on the gantry position signal in such a way that changes in the horizontal angular position of the gantry beam with respect to the rail system are counteracted or minimized.
Gaus teaches a gantry system including a gantry position sensor system (30) configured to generate a gantry position signal which is representative of a horizontal angular position of the gantry beam with respect to the rail system; and a gantry position controller configured to, when the gantry construction is being displaced along the rail system, control the first gantry drive and the second gantry drive in dependence on the gantry position signal in such a way that changes in the horizontal angular position of the gantry beam with respect to the rail system are counteracted or minimized (col. 4 lines 5-15 drives controlled to prevent any twisting etc.) in order to ensure the gantry moves in a straight line (col. 4 lines 8-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicants’ claims to have modified Van Horssen to include a gantry position sensor system configured to generate a gantry position signal which is representative of a horizontal angular position of the gantry beam with respect to the rail system; and a gantry position controller configured to, when the gantry construction is being displaced along the rail system, control the first gantry drive and the second gantry drive in dependence on the gantry position signal in such a way that changes in the horizontal angular position of the gantry beam with respect to the rail system are counteracted or minimized, as taught by Gaus, in order to ensure the gantry moves in a straight line.
Regarding claim 4 Gaus teaches the gantry position controller is configured to, when the gantry construction is being displaced along the rail system, control the first gantry drive and the second gantry drive in dependence on the gantry position signal in such a way that the gantry beam is held perpendicular to the rail system (col. 4 lines 5-10).
Regarding claim 6 Van Horssen discloses all the limitations of the claim except a height sensor system configured to generate a height signal which is representative of the vertical height of the tool with respect to the cultivation floor and/or is representative of the vertical height of the tool with respect to the top of the cultivated crop, a height actuator system configured to be able to change the vertical height of the tool with respect to the cultivation floor and/or the vertical height of the tool with respect to the top of the cultivated crop, a height controller configured to control the height actuator system in dependence on the height signal in such a way that changes in the vertical height of the tool with respect to the cultivation floor and/or changes in the vertical height of the tool with respect to the top of the cultivated crop are counteracted or minimized.
Regarding claim 6 Gaus teaches a height sensor system (col. 2 lines 55-60) configured to generate a height signal which is representative of the vertical height of the tool with respect to the cultivation floor and/or is representative of the vertical height of the tool with respect to the top of the cultivated crop, a height actuator system (col. 3 lines 60-65) configured to be able to change the vertical height of the tool with respect to the cultivation floor and/or the vertical height of the tool with respect to the top of the cultivated crop a height controller (col. 3 lines 60-65, computer control) in order to measure and adjust the height for different application (col. 3 lines 50-54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicants’ claims to have modified Van Horssen to include a height sensor system configured to generate a height signal which is representative of the vertical height of the tool with respect to the cultivation floor and/or is representative of the vertical height of the tool with respect to the top of the cultivated crop, a height actuator system configured to be able to change the vertical height of the tool with respect to the cultivation floor and/or the vertical height of the tool with respect to the top of the cultivated crop a height controller, as taught by Gaus, in order to measure and adjust the height for different application.
Gaus does not specifically teach the height controller configured to control the height actuator system in dependence on the height signal in such a way that changes in the vertical height of the tool with respect to the cultivation floor and/or changes in the vertical height of the tool with respect to the top of the cultivated crop are counteracted or minimized.
That said, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicants’ claims to have modified Van Horssen and Gaus to include the height controller configured to control the height actuator system in dependence on the height signal in such a way that changes in the vertical height of the tool with respect to the cultivation floor and/or changes in the vertical height of the tool with respect to the top of the cultivated crop are counteracted or minimized because Gaus already teaches such control for the gantry drive (see discussion claim 3 above) and applying the same principle to the height would allow for the spacing from the floor or crop to remain constant during travel of the gantry.
Regarding claim 20 Van Horssen discloses all the limitations of the claim except the sensor comprises a camera and/or a temperature gauge.
Gaus teaches the sensor comprises a camera (col. 2 lines 55-60) and/or a temperature gauge in order to facilitate remote/automatic operation (col. 5 lines 17-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicants’ claims to have modified Van Horssen, to include a camera and/or a temperature gauge, as taught by Gaus, in order to facilitate remote/automatic operation.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Horssen in view of US 12,250,906 to Ortiz.
Regarding claim 5 Van Horssen discloses all the limitations of the claim except a level sensor system configured to generate an inclination signal which is representative of an inclination of the gantry beam with respect to the horizon, an inclination actuator configured to be able to change the inclination of the gantry beam with respect to the horizon, and an inclination controller configured to control the inclination actuator in dependence on the inclination signal in such a way that changes in the inclination of the gantry beam with respect to the horizon are counteracted or minimized.
Ortiz discloses a gantry including a level sensor (col. 5 lines 53-55) system configured to generate an inclination signal which is representative of an inclination of the gantry beam with respect to the horizon, an inclination actuator (col. 5 lines 43-50) configured to be able to change the inclination of the gantry beam with respect to the horizon, and an inclination controller configured to control the inclination actuator in dependence on the inclination signal in such a way that changes in the inclination of the gantry beam with respect to the horizon are counteracted or minimized (col. 5 lines 53-56) in order to maintain a level orientation while moving over uneven ground (col. 5 lines 43-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicants’ claims to have modified Van Horssen, to include, a level sensor system configured to generate an inclination signal which is representative of an inclination of the gantry beam with respect to the horizon, an inclination actuator configured to be able to change the inclination of the gantry beam with respect to the horizon, and an inclination controller configured to control the inclination actuator in dependence on the inclination signal in such a way that changes in the inclination of the gantry beam with respect to the horizon are counteracted or minimized, a taught by Ortiz, in order to maintain a level orientation while moving over uneven ground.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Horssen in view of US 7,681,357 to Dyas.
Regarding the claim Van Horssen discloses the gripper comprises a fork with a multiplicity of teeth configured to grip a row of plant pots (see 20/21); but does not disclose the gripper is rotatable with respect to the gantry beam about a vertical axis between a cultivation floor position, in which the teeth of the fork are transverse to the gantry beam, and a rail position, in which the teeth of the fork are transverse to the rail system.
Dyas teaches a system including the gripper is rotatable with respect to the gantry beam about a vertical axis between a cultivation floor position, in which the teeth of the fork are transverse to the gantry beam (see figure 63e), and a rail position, in which the teeth of the fork are transverse to the rail system (see figure 63c) in order to provide additional flexibility and options for loading and handling the pots.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicants’ claims to have modified Van Horssen, to include the gripper is rotatable with respect to the gantry beam about a vertical axis between a cultivation floor position, in which the teeth of the fork are transverse to the gantry beam, and a rail position, in which the teeth of the fork are transverse to the rail system, as taught by Dyas, in order to provide additional flexibility and options for loading and handling the pots.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the arrangement of claim 15 with the first gantry upright supported by a second gantry with an inside width that is greater than the width of the gripper such the gripper fits within the second gantry differentiates the claims from the prior art when considered in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional cited references show other gantry arrangements including those for use in nursery environments.
/MARK C HAGEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652