DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by Tanio et al. (US 2004/0249355).
With reference to claim 1, Tanio et al. (hereinafter “Tanio”) discloses an absorbent article (abstract) comprising:
a liquid permeable topsheet (3);
a liquid impermeable backsheet (5);
an absorbent core (6) disposed at least partially between the topsheet and the backsheet [0049]; and
a pair of barrier leg cuffs (30), each barrier leg cuff formed from a single web of material [0061] and comprising a backfolded inner cuff comprising:
an inner folded edge (see annotated figure 8),
a backfold folded edge (see annotated figure 8),
an inner elastic element (see annotated figure 8), and
a backfold elastic element (see annotated figure 8);
wherein the inner elastic element is disposed proximate the inner folded edge (see figure 8), and the backfold elastic element is disposed proximate the backfold folded edge (see figure 8);
wherein the inner elastic element and the backfold elastic element is configured to have a contraction force [0066], and wherein the first contraction force (i.e., inner elastic element) is different than the second contraction force (i.e., backfold elastic element) as shown in figure 8 where the inner elastic element includes one elastic element and the backfold elastic element includes three elastic elements.
Tanio also discloses at least a portion of the backfolded inner cuff being configured to overlap the topsheet (3) when the absorbent article is in a flat, uncontracted configuration as shown in figures 7-8.
As to claim 2, Tanio discloses an absorbent article wherein the web of material is folded laterally outward to form the inner folded edge, and wherein the web of material is folded laterally inward to form the backfold folded edge as shown in annotated figure 8 above.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Tanio discloses an absorbent article wherein the inner elastic element comprises a first and a second inner elastic member as shown in annotated figure 8 above.
As to claim 6, Tanio discloses an absorbent article wherein the backfold elastic element comprises a first backfold elastic member as shown in figure 8 above.
With reference to claim 9, Tanio discloses an absorbent article wherein at least a portion of the backfolded inner cuff between the inner folded edge and the backfold folded edge is joined to a portion of the web of material disposed between the backfolded inner cuff and the topsheet as shown in figure 8 above where the area between the inner folded edge and the backfold folded edge overlays a web of material that overlays the topsheet.
As to claim 16, Tanio discloses an absorbent article (abstract) comprising:
a liquid permeable topsheet (3);
a liquid impermeable backsheet (5);
an absorbent core (6) disposed at least partially between the topsheet and the backsheet [0049]; and
a pair of barrier leg cuffs (30), each barrier leg cuff formed from a single web of material [0061] and comprising a proximal portion joined to the chassis (see annotated figure 8 above) and an inner distal portion (see annotated figure 8 above), wherein
the web of material is folded laterally outward to form a backfold between the proximal portion and the inner distal portion (shown as lateral outward fold in annotated figure 8 above), forming a backfolded inner cuff (figure 8), the backfolded inner cuff comprising
an inner folded edge,
a backfold folded edge,
an inner elastic element, and
a backfold elastic element (see annotated figure 8 above); wherein
the inner elastic element is configured to have a first contraction force [0066], wherein the backfold elastic element is configured to have a second contraction force (i.e., backfold elastic elements) as shown in figure 8 where the inner elastic element includes one elastic element and the backfold elastic element includes three elastic elements thereby providing different contraction forces.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 7-8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanio et al. (US 2004/0249355) and further in view of LaVon et al. (US 2013/0211363).
With reference to claims 5 and 7-8, Tanio teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Tanio and claims 5 and 7-8 is the provision that the elastic strands have a specific linear density.
LaVon et al. (hereinafter “LaVon”) teaches an analogous absorbent article including elastic strands having a linear density within the claimed range as set forth in [0057].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the elastic strands of Tanio with the linear density as taught by LaVon and/or to modify the contraction force of the elastic strands (cl. 8) in order to provide the article with the desired force profile as taught by LaVon in [0057].
With respect to claim 17, see the rejection of claim 8.
Claims 10-13 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanio et al. (US 2004/0249355) and further in view of Umemoto (US 2015/0216734).
With reference to claims 10-13, Tanio teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Tanio and claims 10-13 is the provision that each barrier leg cuff further comprises an outer cuff including specific features.
Umemoto teaches an analogous absorbent article wherein the leg barrier cuff further comprises an outer cuff comprising an outer cuff folded edge, an outer cuff material end, and an outer cuff elastic element (16) including a plurality of elastic members (cl. 13) disposed proximate the outer cuff folded edge (cl. 12) as shown in annotated figure 9 below. The web of material is folded laterally inward to form the outer cuff folded edge (cl. 11) as shown in annotated figure 9 below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the leg cuff of Tanio with an outer cuff as taught by Umemoto in order to maintain an erection state on a skin side even when a large amount of body fluids is absorbed by the absorbent body to further prevent side leakage of the body fluids as taught by Umemoto in [0011].
Regarding claims 18-20, see the rejection of claims 10-13.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanio et al. (US 2004/0249355) and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2014/0257228).
With reference to claim 14, Tanio teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Tanio and claim 14 is the provision that the absorbent article is a disposable insert configured to engage with a reusable outer cover.
Wang et al. (hereinafter “Wang”) teaches an analogous absorbent article including a disposable insert configured to engage with a reusable outer cover as set forth in the abstract.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the article of Tanio in the configuration as taught by Wang in order to provide the consumer with the advantages afforded by both disposable and reusable diapers as taught by Wang in [0009].
As to claim 15, Tanio teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Tanio and claim 15 is the provision that the absorbent article is a taped-style diaper comprising a secondary fastening system comprising a secondary fastening component and a secondary receiving component.
Wang teaches an analogous absorbent article that is a taped-style diaper comprising a secondary fastening system comprising a secondary fastening component (30) and a secondary receiving component (24) as shown in figures 1C-1D.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the article of Tanio in the configuration as taught by Wang in order to provide the consumer with the advantages afforded by both disposable and reusable diapers as taught by Wang in [0009].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Beck et al. (US 7,763,004) discloses a disposable absorbent article having layered containment pockets.
/MICHELE KIDWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781