Detailed Office Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sweedler (US20210368863A1), in view of Tan (US20200060344A1), further in view of Wang (WO2020014856A1).
In regard to claim 1, Sweedler discloses an e-cigarette with dual cartridges (dual cartridge vaporization device 100) comprising:
a host (body portion 110), wherein the host is provided with two mounting grooves (longitudinal disposed grooves or protrusions 129), and a power supply (one or more batteries 152) is arranged in the host (Figure 11 shows the longitudinal disposed grooves or protrusions and the one or more batteries located inside the body portion of the vaporization device);
two cartridges (cartridge/pod 120), wherein the cartridges are arranged corresponding to the mounting grooves respectively, each of the cartridges is pluggably arranged in a respective one of the mounting grooves ([0036]); Sweedler teaches the cartridge/pods engaged with the grooves or protrusions to keep the inserted), and a mouthpiece is arranged at a corner of each of the cartridges (vapor outlet hole 134; located at a corner of the cartridge/pod [0029]);
a shell (housing 121), wherein an accommodating cavity for accommodating e-liquid is formed inside the shell (reservoir 130; for holding a liquid comprised of cannabis oils and/or one or more electronic vaporization liquids (or e-liquids for short) 140 [0032]);
a fixed portion (outer casing 210), wherein the fixed portion is arranged in the shell (outer casing 210 of the heating element 150 is located in the housing 121, according to figure 7 and figure 12), an atomizing cavity (heating element 150) is arranged inside the fixed portion (figure 7), and the fixed portion is provided with at least one e-liquid guiding port communicated with the atomizing cavity (apertures 270 of the heating element 150), and provided with at least one smoke outlet (central passage 240) communicated with the mouthpiece (The vaporized oils and e-liquids 140 pass out of the ceramic base 230 into the central passage 240 and out of the heating element 150 through the pipe 280, which fluidly communicates with the vapor outlet hole 134 through the connecting plenum 282. [0055]),
an e-liquid guiding structure (absorptive material 220 and porous ceramic base 230), wherein the e-liquid guiding structure is at least partially arranged at the e-liquid guiding port (see figure 12).
Sweedler discloses a heating structure (one or more metal coils 260), wherein the heating structure is closely attached to the e-liquid guiding structure (Figure 12 shows the one or more metal coils located inside the porous ceramic base 230). Sweedler further teaches in other embodiments that the heating element may have alternative shapes and configurations [0044].
However, Sweedler fails to disclose the heating structure comprising a sheet-shaped heating wire formed into a mesh.
Tan teaches a sheet-shaped, grid like heat member (32) having a plurality of through holes (3211) arranged in a grid pattern. The heating member is disposed on an inner wall of a vent groove of a porous ceramic liquid conducting body [0148 & 0150]. Tan discloses the advantages of using the grid like heating sheet due to its fine texture, e-liquid will climb up along the fine trenches, the liquid conducting effect is good, and charring cannot easily occur [0123]. The grid-like 3D heating sheet has a higher temperature, that is, the interval into the mouth is lower, and no higher power is required for driving, which will save energy [0121].
Sweedler and Tan are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely vaporization device.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heating structure of Sweedler with the sheet shaped, grid like heating member of Tan to increase liquid conducting effect, charring cannot easily occur, and save energy.
Sweedler discloses a wired charging module (USB-C charging port 400) and the wired charging module are connected with the power supply (the USB-C charging port connects with the one or more batteries 152 directly, via the internal control circuitry 340 [0056]).
Sweedler fails to disclose a wireless charging module comprising wireless charging control circuit electronically connected to the power supply.
Wang teaches a wireless charging receiver (20) installed inside the electronic cigarette case (3) comprising a receiving coil electronically connected to a wireless receiving and charging management unit (22). The wireless receiving and charging management unit (22) is electronically connected to the cigarette box battery through the charging circuit [0060]. The electronic cigarette case also features a wired charging port such as a micro-USB interface, so that the case can be charged by cable when needed [0072]. The advantage of the wireless charging is to significantly reduce or even eliminate the risk of wear and tear on the cigarette case's charging port [0009].
Sweedler and Wang are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely electronic cigarette.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic cigarette of Sweedler with the wireless charging receiver and associated charging control circuitry taught by Wang to provide an alternative way of charging the device without requiring repeated insertion and removal of a charging cable.
In Wang ¶[0013], Wang teaches both wired and wireless charging can be done together, therefore, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to simply add the wireless charging capability discussed above for the reasons discussed above to Sweedler in addition to keeping the wired charging of Sweedler, because Wang teaches both can be present.
In regard to claim 2, Sweedler, in view of Tan, and further in view of Wang discloses an electronic cigarette with dual cartridges of claim 1, as discussed above wherein two e-liquid guiding ports (aperture 270) are respectively arranged on two opposite sides of the fixed portion (figure 12 shows the apertures 270 is located on and across/opposite the outer casing 210), and the e-liquid guiding structure extends through one of the e-liquid guiding ports, the atomizing cavity and the other one of the e-liquid guiding ports sequentially (one or more apertures 270 that provide communication between the reservoir 130 and the layer of absorptive material 220. The one or more apertures 270 may be spaced regularly or irregularly and arranged in a pattern horizontally around the outer casing 210, vertically along the outer casing 210, both horizontally and vertically, or randomly in no pattern around the outer casing 210. [0048]); the e-liquid guiding structure is strip-shaped e-liquid guiding cotton (absorptive material 220 for example without limitation, cotton, silica, ceramic, rayon, stainless steel, hemp, or other wick materials as are known in the art [0045]), a middle portion of the e-liquid guiding structure is placed in the atomizing cavity (Figure 12 displays the absorptive material 220 and the porous ceramic base 230 core is located in the middle of the heating element 150), and an end portion of the e-liquid guiding structure is connected with the fixed portion (Figure 12 displays the absorptive material 220 and the porous ceramic 230 material connected to the outer casing 210).
In regard to claim 4, Sweedler, in view of Tan, and further in view of Wang discloses an electronic cigarette with dual cartridges of claim 1, as discussed above wherein the two cartridges have the same shape (the two or more identical substance cartridges/pods 120 [0030]), the two mounting grooves have the same shape, and each of the cartridges is capable of being inserted into any of the mounting grooves (the longitudinally disposed grooves or protrusions 129 are positioned to engage with a complementary structure or structures on each of the two or more identical substance cartridges/pods 120 [0036]).
In regard to claim 5, Sweedler, in view of Tan, and further in view of Wang discloses an electronic cigarette with dual cartridges of claim 1, as discussed above wherein each of the cartridges placed in the respective mounting groove has a forward state and a reverse state (two or more identical substance cartridges/pods 120 is adapted to detachably attach to the body portion 110 in either of first or second orientations [0030]); when the two cartridges are both in the forward state, the mouthpieces of the two cartridges are arranged away from each other (Figure 5 shows the first orientation wherein he vapor outlet hole 134 are positioned at the outer corner of the vaporization device, whereby the vapor outlet hole is away from each other); and when the two cartridges are both in the reverse state, the mouthpieces of the two cartridges are arranged facing each other (Figure 6 shows the second orientation wherein the vapor outlet hole 134 is positioned toward the center plan 122 of the vaporization device, whereby the vapor outlet holes are closer to one another).
In regard to claim 6, Sweedler, in view of Tan, and further in view of Wang discloses an electronic cigarette with dual cartridges of claim 1, as discussed above wherein, a bottom of each of the mounting grooves is provided with two symmetrically arranged first power receiving portions (Fig 7 and 8 display the electrical conductive elements 172 is disposed on the mating surface 156 of the body portion 110 [0038]), the two symmetrically arranged first power receiving portions are arranged at the bottom of the mounting groove, a bottom portion of each of the cartridges is provided with two symmetrically arranged second power receiving portions (electrical connectors 170 on mating surface of cartridge 120 [0038]), the power supply is electrically connected with the first power receiving portions (electrical conductive elements 172 is electrically connected to batteries 152 [0038]), the first power receiving portions are capable of being electrically connected with any of the second power receiving portions (Electrical connectors 170 contact with the electrical terminals 172 when cartridge is installed [0038]), and the second power receiving portions are electrically connected with the heating structure (batteries 152 supply power to heating elements 150 through the connectors 170 and the elements 172).
In regard to claim 7, Sweedler, in view of Tan, and further in view of Wang discloses an electronic cigarette with dual cartridges of claim 1, as discussed above wherein an air duct (air passage 154) and an air flow sensor (sensor 330) are arranged in the host (Figure 11 shows the air passage 154 is located inside the body portion 110), one end of the air duct is communicated with outside and the other end of the air duct is communicated with the respective mounting groove (the air passage 154 through a path provided at least by the viewing portal 175 and a space 176 between the substance cartridges/pods 120 within an interior of the body portion 110 [0042]), and the air flow sensor is arranged in the air duct (the draw is sensed by a sensor that is disposed somewhere within the path of air that enters the heating element 150 and exits through the vapor outlet hole 134. [0050]); and a bottom portion of each of the cartridges is provided with an air inlet (in figure 4A, the first and second mating surfaces 155, 156 displays sufficient space for air to flow [0042]), and the air inlet is communicated with one end of the air duct close to the respective mounting groove (Figure 4a, the first and second mating surfaces 155, 156 displays sufficient space for air to flow from the interior of the body portion 110 into the air passage 154 [0042]).
In regard to claim 8, Sweedler, in view of Tan, and further in view of Wang discloses an electronic cigarette with dual cartridges of claim 1, as discussed above. However, Sweedler fails to explicitly disclose the e-cigarette with dual cartridges in a square shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the external shape and proportions of Sweedler’s electronic cigarette to provide a square-shaped configuration as a matter of design choice, since applicant’s specifications does not identify a significance associated with the square shape. See MPEP 2144.04 and In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
In regard to claim 10, Sweedler, in view of Tan, and further in view of Wang discloses an electronic cigarette with dual cartridges of claim 1, as discussed above wherein a cigarette pipe (pipe 280) is arranged between the smoke outlet and the mouthpiece (The vaporized oils and e-liquids 140 pass out of the ceramic base 230 into the central passage 240 and out of the heating element 150 through the pipe 280, which fluidly communicates with the vapor outlet hole 134 through the connecting plenum 282. [0055]).
In regard to claim 11, Sweedler, in view of Tan, and further in view of Wang discloses an electronic cigarette with dual cartridges of claim 1, as discussed above. However, Sweedler does not expressly disclose the wireless charging control circuit module comprises a receiver coil for wireless charging connection which is arranged in a planar state.
Wang teaches the receiving coil (21) is wound in a spiral shape and fixed to a flat backing sheet, forming a flat receiving coil. The receiving coil has a flat backplate on the back to prevent coil interference.
Sweedler and Wang are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely electronic cigarette. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic cigarette of Sweedler with the receiving coil on a flat back sheet of Wang to prevent coil interference.
In regard to claim 12, Sweedler, in view of Tan, and further in view of Wang discloses an electronic cigarette with dual cartridges of claim 11, as discussed above. However, Sweedler does not disclose a magnetic shielding plate provided at a bottom of the receiver coil.
Wang teaches an anti-interference backplate is provided on the back of the receiving coil to prevent other components such as circuit boards and batteries from interfering with the wireless charging coil [0070].
Sweedler and Wang are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely electronic cigarette. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic cigarette of Sweedler with an anti-interference backplate of Wang to other components such as circuit boards and batteries from interfering with the wireless charging coil.
In regard to claim 13, Sweedler, in view of Tan, and further in view of Wang discloses an electronic cigarette with dual cartridges of claim 11, as discussed above. However, Sweedler does not disclose housing for the receiving coil for the wireless charging module be made of non-metal material.
Wang teaches the receiving coil is arranged inside the electronic cigarette case (3) [0070]. The electronic cigarette case is made of non-metallic materials such as ceramic, glass, and plastic to allow electromagnetic waves to pass through [0071].
Sweedler and Wang are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely electronic cigarette. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic cigarette with the wired charging module of Sweedler with the electronic cigarette case with the receiver coil arranged inside and the case made of nonmetallic materials Wang to allow electromagnetic waves to pass through.
In regard to claim 14, Sweedler, in view of Tan, and further in view of Wang discloses an electronic cigarette with dual cartridges of claim 11, as discussed above. Sweedler discloses the wired charging module comprises a USB interface for wired charging (a USB-C adapter that provides for universal charging cord adaptability [0056]).
However, Sweedler fails to explicitly disclose the wireless charging module is configured for non-contact wireless charging.
Wang teaches a wireless charging receiver (20) installed inside the electronic cigarette case (3) comprising a receiving coil electronically connected to a wireless receiving and charging management unit (22). The wireless receiving and charging management unit (22) is electronically connected to the cigarette box battery through the charging circuit [0060]. The electronic cigarette case also features a wired charging port such as a micro-USB interface, so that the case can be charged by cable when needed [0072]. The advantage of wireless charging is to significantly reducing or even eliminate the risk of wear and tear on the cigarette case's charging port [0008].
Sweedler and Wang are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely electronic cigarette. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic cigarette with the wired charging module of Sweedler with the wireless charging receiver and associated charging control circuitry taught by Wang to reduce the risk of wear and tear on the cigarette case's charging port.
6. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sweedler (US20210368863A1), in view of Tan (US20200060344A1), further in view of Wang (WO2020014856A1), further in view of Liu (US20160192710A1).
In regard to claim 9, Sweedler, in view of Tan, and further in view of Wang discloses an electronic cigarette with dual cartridges of claim 11, as discussed above.
However, Sweedler does not disclose a sealing ring arranged between the fixed portion and an inner wall of the shell.
Liu discloses a connecting sleeve (211) of an atomization assembly and a liquid storage sleeve (11), wherein a sealing ring (27) is received within an annular groove of the connecting sleeve (211) and elastically pressed against inner side wall of the liquid storage sleeve. This prevents the tobacco liquid in the liquid storage chamber 13 from exuding via a clearance between the inner side wall of the liquid storage sleeve and an outer side wall of the atomization core assembly [0078].
Sweedler and Liu are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely electronic cigarettes.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic cigarette of Sweedler with the sealing ring of Liu to reduce leakage of e-liquid between the atomization assembly and the surrounding shell.
7. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sweedler (US20210368863A1), in view of Tan (US2020060344A1), further in view of Wang (WO2020014856A1), further in view of Li (WO2022198942A1-English Translation).
In regard claim 3, Sweedler, in view of Tan, and further in view of Wang discloses an electronic cigarette with dual cartridges of claim 11, as discussed above.
However, Sweedler does not disclose a pressure-equalizing hole is provided between the e-liquid guiding port and the atomizing cavity and is configured for communicating the atomizing cavity with outside.
Li discloses an electronic cigarette cartridge with a pressure relief groove (10). Li teaches the pressure relief groove connects the inside of the cartridge shell 110 with the external environment and is provided on the outer wall of the cartridge holder 120 serves to release the air pressure inside the oil tank [0020].
Sweedler and Li are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely electronic cigarettes.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic cigarette of Sweedler with the pressure relief groove of Li to release the air pressure inside the oil tank.
Conclusion
/HANNAH CHINWE NNABUGWU/ Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/Christopher M Rodd/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766