DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 10/29/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-15 and 16-21 are currently pending. Applicant’s amendments have overcome the 35 USC 112 rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 07/30/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that “In contrast, the feed elements 131F1 and 132F1 in Fig. 24 of Sudo, allegedly corresponding to the claimed first and second radiating electrodes, are actually dual-polarization elements that includes two separate feeding points, SP 11, SP21 and SP12, SP22 for radiating in both X and Y polarizations. This is fundamentally different from the claimed "first radiating electrode," which, as amended, is explicitly connected to only a "single first feeding point" to radiate in a single polarization direction. Sudo's use of dual feeding points on each high- frequency element (SPI1/SP12 on 131F1; SP21/SP22 on 132F1) inherently creates complexity and close-coupling issues that the claims explicitly avoids through a novel single-fed, separated electrode architecture. Sudo does not teach or suggest a feed element that includes of two separate, single-fed radiating electrodes as now clarified in the independent claims. Therefore, it is requested that this rejection be reconsidered and withdrawn.”
Examiner respectfully disagree because different embodiment of Sudo discloses single feed point SP11 and SP12 can be used to feed the first and second radiating electrode 2130-1, 2130-2 (fig. 37).
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6: “where a whole of the feed element overlaps the passive element” should read “where a whole of the first feed element overlaps the passive element”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "wherein the second radiating electrode is configured to radiate a radio wave in the second polarization direction" which was not described in the specification. The specification does not support the second radiating electrode configured to radiate in both the second polarization and the another second polarization direction recited in claim 1. The specification recites “Each of the radiating electrodes 131 and 132 radiates radio waves having a single polarization direction” (para [0016], [0047]).
Claim 3 recites the limitation " wherein the second radiating electrode is configured to radiate a radio wave in the first polarization direction" which was not described in the specification. The specification does not support the second radiating electrode configured to radiate in both the first polarization direction and the another second polarization direction recited in claim 1. The specification recites “Each of the radiating electrodes 131 and 132 radiates radio waves having a single polarization direction” (para [0016], [0047]).
Claims 2-8, 12-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "wherein the second radiating electrode is configured to radiate a radio wave in the second polarization direction" in lines 4-5 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear how this second polarization direction relates to another second polarization direction recited in claim 1. It is not clear if the second radiating electrode is configured to radiate in both the second polarization and the another second polarization direction with only a single first feeding point. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Claims 12-13 and 15 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 2 and are subsequently rejected.
Claim 3 recites the limitation " wherein the second radiating electrode is configured to radiate a radio wave in the first polarization direction" in lines 4-5 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear how the second radiating electrode is configured to radiate in both first polarization direction and the another second polarization direction recited in claim 1 with only a single second feeding point. The specification recites “Each of the radiating electrodes 131 and 132 radiates radio waves having a single polarization direction” (para [0016], [0047]).
Claims 4-8 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 3 and are subsequently rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Sudo et al, US-20220328971-A1 (hereinafter Sudo).
Regarding claim 1, Sudo discloses the following:
an antenna module comprising:
a flat-shaped support substrate (140, fig. 24b);
a passive element disposed (131F2, 132F2) in the support substrate;
a ground electrode (GND) facing the passive element;
a first feed element that faces the ground electrode and includes a first radiating electrode (131F1) and a second radiating electrode (132F1);
a first feed line (151) that passes through a first through hole formed in the passive element (131F2, 132F2) and is connected to a first feeding point (SP11) of the first radiating electrode (131F1); and
a second feed line (157) that passes through a second through hole formed in the passive element (131F2, 132F2) and is connected to a second feeding point (SP22) of the second radiating electrode (132F1),
wherein the passive element is configured to radiate a radio wave in a first frequency band,
wherein the first feed element is configured to radiate a radio wave in a second frequency band higher than the first frequency band (para [0163]),
wherein the passive element (131F2, 132F2) is between the ground electrode (GND) and the feed element (131F1, 132F1) in a normal direction of the support substrate (fig. 24b),
is capable of radiating a radio wave in a first polarization direction (para [0166]: X-axis polarization direction) based on a radio frequency signal supplied to the first feed line (151), and
is capable of radiating a radio wave in a second polarization direction (para [0167]: Y-axis polarization direction) based on a radio frequency signal supplied to the second feed line (157), and
wherein the first radiating electrode is configured to radiate a radio wave in one of the first polarization and second polarization directions, (para [0166]: X-axis polarization direction) and
the second radiating electrode is configured to radiate a radio wave in another second polarization direction (para [0167]: Y-axis polarization direction).
In a different embodiment, Sudo discloses the first feed line (2150-1, fig. 37) is connected to a single first feeding point (SP11) of the first radiating electrode (2130-1) and the second feed line (2150-2) is connected to a single second feeding point (SP12) of the second radiating electrode (2130-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide single feeding points of the first and second radiating electrodes as taught in Sudo as claimed for the purpose of providing different signals with different polarizations and different frequencies to the radiating electrodes and preventing the interferences between the two signals in order to improve the antenna module’s performance.
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability.
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, Sudo discloses wherein the first radiating electrode is configured to radiate a radio wave in the first polarization direction (para [0166]: 131F1 radiates in X-axis polarization direction), and wherein the second radiating electrode is configured to radiate a radio wave in the second polarization direction (para [0167]: 132F1 radiates in Y-axis polarization direction).
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability.
Regarding claim 3, as best understood, Sudo discloses wherein the first radiating electrode is configured to radiate a radio wave in the second polarization direction (para [0167]: 131F1 radiates in Y-axis polarization direction), and wherein the second radiating electrode is configured to radiate a radio wave in the first polarization direction (para [0166]: 132F1 radiates in X-axis polarization direction).
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability.
Regarding claim 4, Sudo discloses wherein the single first feeding point (fig. 53 reproduced below) is disposed at a position offset from a center point of the first radiating electrode (3131-3) in a direction approaching the second radiating electrode (3131-4) on a straight line passing through the center point of the first radiating electrode (3131-3) along the second polarization direction, and
wherein the single second feeding point (Fig. 53) is disposed at a position offset from a center point of the second radiating electrode (3131-4) in a direction approaching the first radiating electrode (3131-3) on a straight line passing through the center point of the second radiating electrode (3131-4) along the first polarization direction.
Regarding claim 5, Sudo discloses wherein, in plan view of the support substrate, the first feed element (131F1, 132F1, fig. 24a) is disposed at a position where at least a part of the feed element overlaps the passive element (131F2, 132F2).
Regarding claim 6, Sudo discloses wherein, in plan view of the support substrate, the first feed element is disposed at a position where a whole of the feed element (131F1, 132F1, fig. 24a) overlaps the passive element (131F2, 132F2).
Regarding claim 7, Sudo discloses wherein, in plan view of the support substrate, the first feed element (3131D1-1, 3132D1-1, fig. 58) is disposed at a position not overlapping the passive element (3131D2-2, 3132D2-2).
Regarding claim 8, Sudo discloses wherein a part of the first feed line (151, fig. 24b) extends along a straight line connecting the first through hole (through hole in passive element 131F2) and the first feeding point (SP11), and
wherein a part of the second feed line (157) extends along a straight line connecting the second through hole (through hole in passive element 132F2) and the second feeding point (SP22).
In a different embodiment, Sudo discloses the first feeding point (SP11, fig. 37) is the single first feeding point (fig. 37)and the second feeding point (SP12) is the single second feeding point (fig. 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide single feeding points of the first and second radiating electrodes as taught in Sudo as claimed for the purpose of providing different signals with different polarizations and different frequencies to the radiating electrodes and preventing the interferences between the two signals in order to improve the antenna module’s performance.
Regarding claim 9, Sudo discloses the following:
a communication apparatus (10, fig. 1) equipped with the antenna module (100) according to Claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Sudo discloses wherein, in plan view of the support substrate, the first feed element (131F1, 132F1, fig. 24a) is disposed at a position where at least a part of the feed element overlaps the passive element (131F2, 132F2).
Regarding claim 11, Sudo discloses wherein, in plan view of the support substrate, the first feed element is disposed at a position where a whole of the feed element (131F1, 132F1, fig. 24a) overlaps the passive element (131F2, 132F2).
Regarding claim 12, Sudo discloses wherein, in plan view of the support substrate, the first feed element (131F1, 132F1, fig. 24a) is disposed at a position where at least a part of the feed element overlaps the passive element (131F2, 132F2).
Regarding claim 13, Sudo discloses wherein, in plan view of the support substrate, the first feed element is disposed at a position where a whole of the feed element (131F1, 132F1, fig. 24a) overlaps the passive element (131F2, 132F2).
Regarding claim 14, Sudo discloses wherein, in plan view of the support substrate, the first feed element (3131D1-1, 3132D1-1, fig. 58) is disposed at a position not overlapping the passive element (3131D2-2, 3132D2-2).
Regarding claim 15, Sudo discloses wherein, in plan view of the support substrate, the first feed element (3131D1-1, 3132D1-1, fig. 58) is disposed at a position not overlapping the passive element (3131D2-2, 3132D2-2).
Regarding claim 17, Sudo discloses wherein a part of the first feed line (151, fig. 24b) extends along a straight line connecting the first through hole (through hole in passive element 131F2) and the first feeding point (SP11), and
wherein a part of the second feed line (157) extends along a straight line connecting the second through hole (through hole in passive element 132F2) and the second feeding point (SP22).
In a different embodiment, Sudo discloses the first feeding point (SP11, fig. 37) is the single first feeding point (fig. 37)and the second feeding point (SP12) is the single second feeding point (fig. 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide single feeding points of the first and second radiating electrodes as taught in Sudo as claimed for the purpose of providing different signals with different polarizations and different frequencies to the radiating electrodes and preventing the interferences between the two signals in order to improve the antenna module’s performance.
Regarding claim 18, Sudo discloses the following:
an antenna module comprising:
a flat-shaped support substrate (140, fig. 24b);
a first radiating element (3130D-1, fig. 58 reproduced below);
a second radiating element (3130D-3, fig. 58); and
a ground electrode (GND, fig. 24b),
wherein each of the first radiating element and the second radiating element includes,
a passive element (3131D2-1, 3132D2-1, 3131D2-3, 3132D2-3 in fig. 58/131F2, 132F2 in fig. 24b) that faces the ground electrode and is disposed in the support substrate (fig. 24b),
a first feed element that faces the ground electrode and includes a first radiating electrode and a second radiating electrode (131F1 and 132F1 in fig. 24b/3131D1-1, 3132D1-1, 3131D1-3, 3132D1-3 in fig. 58),
a first feed line (“first feed line” in fig. 58/151in fig. 24b), that passes through a first through hole formed in the passive element (3131D2-1, 3132D2-1, 3131D2-3, 3132D2-3 in fig. 58/131F2, 132F2 in fig. 24b) and is connected to a feeding point (SP21, fig. 24b) of the first radiating electrode (131F1 in fig. 24b/3131D1-1, 3131D1-3 in fig. 58), and
a second feed line (“second feed line” in fig. 58/157 in fig. 24b) that passes through a second through hole formed in the passive element (3131D2-1, 3132D2-1, 3131D2-3, 3132D2-3 in fig. 58/131F2, 132F2 in fig. 24b) and is connected to a feeding point (SP22, fig. 24b) of the second radiating electrode (132F1 in fig. 24b/3132D1-1, 3132D1-3 in fig. 58),
wherein the passive element is configured to radiate a radio wave in a first frequency band (para [0163]),
wherein the first feed element is configured to radiate a radio wave in a second frequency band higher than the first frequency band (para [0163]),
wherein, in each of the first radiating element and the second radiating element,
the passive element (131F2, 132F2, fig. 24b) is disposed between the ground electrode (GND) and the first feed element (131F1, 132F1) in a normal direction of the support substrate (fig. 24b), and
is capable of radiating radio waves in a first polarization direction and a second polarization direction (para [0166]-[0167]: X and Y polarization directions), and
wherein the first radiating electrode is configured to radiate a radio wave in one of the first polarization and second polarization directions, (para [0166]: X-axis polarization direction) and
the second radiating electrode is configured to radiate a radio wave in another second polarization direction (para [0167]: Y-axis polarization direction).
In a different embodiment, Sudo discloses the first feed line (2150-1, fig. 37) is connected to a single feeding point (SP11) of the first radiating electrode (2130-1) and the second feed line (2150-2) is connected to a single feeding point (SP12) of the second radiating electrode (2130-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide single feeding points of the first and second radiating electrodes as taught in Sudo as claimed for the purpose of providing different signals with different polarizations and different frequencies to the radiating electrodes and preventing the interferences between the two signals in order to improve the antenna module’s performance.
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability.
Regarding claim 19, Sudo discloses the antenna module according to Claim 18, further comprising a second feed element (3130D-2, fig. 58 above/131F1 and 132F1 in fig. 24b) that is disposed between the first radiating element (3130D-1) and the second radiating element (3130D-3) and that is configured to radiate a radio wave in the second frequency band (para [0163]),
wherein the second feed element (3130D-2, fig. 58 above/131F1 and 132F1 in fig. 24b) faces the ground electrode (GND, fig. 24b) and includes a third radiating electrode (3131D1-2, fig. 58) and a fourth radiating electrode (3132D1-2),
wherein the third radiating electrode (3131D1-2, fig. 58) is disposed between the first radiating electrode (3131D1-1) included in the first radiating element and the first radiating electrode (3131D1-3) included in the second radiating element and is configured to radiate a radio wave including a polarized wave in the same polarization direction as the first radiating electrode (para [0166]-[0167]), and
wherein the fourth radiating electrode (3132D1-2, fig. 58) is disposed between the second radiating electrode (3132D1-1) included in the first radiating element and the second radiating electrode (3132D1-3) included in the second radiating element and is configured to radiate a radio wave including a polarized wave in the same polarization direction as the second radiating electrode (para [0166]-[0167]).
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability.
Regarding claim 20, Sudo discloses the following:
a communication apparatus (10, fig. 1) equipped with the antenna module (100) according to Claim 18.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sudo as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Yoshikawa et al, US-20210384634-A1 (hereinafter Yoshikawa).
Regarding claim 21, Sudo does not disclose wherein, in plan view of the support substrate, a part of the first radiating electrode overlaps the passive element and another part of the first radiating electrode does not overlap the passive element.
Yoshikawa suggests wherein, in plan view of the support substrate (120, fig. 6), a part of the first radiating electrode (131) overlaps the passive element (135) and another part of the first radiating electrode does not overlap the passive element (figs. 6-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust another part of the first radiating electrode taught in Sudo not to overlap the passive element as suggested in Yoshikawa as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The motivation stems from the need to achieve the desired capacitive coupling strength between the first radiating electrode and the passive element (Yoshikawa, para [0073]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/ANH HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2845