DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elsner, publication number: US 2019/0349391 in view of Ikeda, publication number: US 2019/0392350.
As per claim 1, Elsner teaches a method comprising:
determining, by a processing device, one or more clusters of entities coupled to a network, the one or more clusters of entities determined based on entity behavior (learned group, [0006]); and
determining, by the processing device, an anomaly associated with an entity coupled to the network based on the one or more clusters of entities (deviation from known data, [0007][0049], network, [0018])
Elsner does not teach the entities having similar network communication behavior and wherein the anomaly is based at least in part on an amount of data that is received or transmitted by the entity within a time period relative to the one or more clusters of entities.
In an analogous art, Ikeda teaches the entities having similar network communication behavior (grouping UDP and TCP protocols, [0050]) and wherein the anomaly is based at least in part on an amount of data that is received or transmitted by the entity within a time period relative to the one or more clusters of entities (determining anomaly based on machine learning and vectors representing transmitted and received data, [0007][0009][0017-0022][0034][0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elsner’s behavior deviation detection system to include data volume analysis as described in Ikeda anomaly detection system for the advantage of speeding up the anomaly identification process.
As per claim 2, the combination teaches performing an action associated with at least one entity of a cluster of the one or more clusters (Elsner: Issuing an alert, [0050]).
As per claim 3, the combination teaches wherein determining the anomaly associated with the entity is further based on entity behavior comprising one or more of network communications, traffic flows, events, dynamic events, or alerts associated with an entity coupled to the network (Elsner: network traffic, [0038], Ikeda: Netflow, [0020]).
As per claim 4, the combination teaches wherein the one or more clusters of entities of further determined based on properties associated with the entities (Elsner: Behavior, [0006][0048]).
As per claim 5, the combination teaches wherein the one or more clusters are further determined based on security information associated with the entities (Elsner: security information, [0007][0036][0042]).
As per claim 6, the combination teaches wherein the one or more clusters are further determined based on a rule-based policy defined by user input (Elsner: Security policy, [0048]).
As per claim 7, the combination teaches determining a typical behavior associated with entities within each of the one or more clusters of entities; and
determining one or more communications of the entity that do not correspond to a cluster in which the entity is grouped (Elsner: Compare to history, [0048-0049][0068])
As per claim 8, the combination teaches wherein determining the anomaly associated with the entity comprises:
detecting that the entity is communicating using a spoofed MAC address or that the entity is behaving like a different type of entity than defined by a cluster in which the entity is grouped (Elsner: Different behavior, [0050]).
As per claim 9, the combination teaches wherein determining the anomaly associated with the entity comprises:
Determining that the amount of data received or transmitted by the entity within the time period exceeds a threshold (Ikeda: threshold, [0034][0065])
As per claim 10, the combination teaches determining one or more segments to separate entities of the network based on the one or more clusters (Elsner: groups based on access patterns, [0050]).
Claims 11 – 17 are rejected based on claims 1-9
Claims 18-20 are rejected based on claims 1-2 and 7
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OLUGBENGA O IDOWU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494