DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on May 1st, 2026 have been entered.
Claim 1 has been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on May 1st, 2026, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument 1 (Applicant’s arguments, pages 3-4/19):
The office action is equating an installation release package of applicant's claims with what is called a monitoring setting information update file in Ohta. Applicant does not agree that these are the same as Ohta [0003] states: "...setting information for monitoring an operating system (OS) " Ohta [0006] goes on to state: ¹...monitoring setting information (including a hash Value, address, size or the like of a binary of Software program) for monitoring the memory or files, as a policy " Therefore, the monitoring setting information file or update file of Ohta is not an installation release file, nor is it an install file.
The Applicant also argued that Ohta doesn’t teach read an installation file … and Ohta doesn’t teach the computer instructions parse the installation file, as Ohta relies on the program to be installed ... Applicant's system is not installing the programs and, instead, parsing the installation files to generate whitelist entries for programs that might eventually be installed on a target device. See Applicant’s arguments, pages 3-4/19.
Examiner’s response:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Ohta discloses in Parag. [0090] the monitoring setting information input unit 11 may be configured to receive a file of a monitoring target software program or a software update package, then to calculate the hash value of or size of the monitoring target software program by itself, and thus to obtain the result of the calculation as the monitoring setting information.
The Examiner notes that the claimed “an installation file” is understood as a file that contains all the necessary data, code, and instructions required to set up a software program, which reasonably interpreted to be equivalent to a software update package taught by Ohta (Ohta, Parag. [0090]).
Regarding Applicant’s argument that “Ohta doesn’t teach read an installation file and Ohta doesn’t teach the computer instructions parse the installation file,” the Examiner responds that Ohta discloses in Parag. [0090] that the monitoring setting information input unit 11 may be configured to receive a file of a monitoring target software program or a software update package, then to calculate the hash value of or size of the monitoring target software program by itself, and thus to obtain the result of the calculation as the monitoring setting information.
Interpretation: Parag. [0090] discloses receiving a software update package, then to calculate the hash value of or size of the software update package. Parag. [0090] discloses the reception of a file of a monitoring target software program OR a software update package; where Examiner has reasonably interpreted the paragraph as “receiving a software update package, then to calculate the hash value of or size of the software update package …” In addition, it is reasonable to conclude that reading and parsing the software update package are performed in order to calculate the hash value, by running the software update package through a mathematical algorithm to generate the hash value.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., Applicant's system is not installing the programs and, instead, parsing the installation files to generate whitelist entries for programs that might eventually be installed on a target device) are not recited in the rejected claim. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Same response applies to Applicant’s argument regarding Claim 6. In addition, the Applicant has argued, regarding claim 6, that “Ohta does not generate a list of install packages from an installation release package. There is on disclosure in Ohta that an installation release package is scanned to find one or more install files. Applicant's claim 6 reads the installation release file and breaks the installation release file down into multiple install files.”
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Ohta discloses in Parag. [0090] that the monitoring setting information input unit 11 may be configured to receive a file of a monitoring target software program or a software update package, then to calculate the hash value of or size of the monitoring target software program by itself, and thus to obtain the result of the calculation as the monitoring setting information.
The Examiner has reasonably interpreted the paragraph as “receiving a software update package, then to calculate the hash value of or size of the software update package …”
Ohta discloses in Parag. [0092-0094] that the monitoring setting information management unit 12 is configured to store monitoring setting information corresponding to a plurality of monitoring target software programs (i.e., or software update packages, as interpreted by the Examiner). The monitoring setting information management unit 12 is configured to store the monitoring setting information obtained by the monitoring setting input unit 11 in a memory or file system as an arbitrary format such as a table format or list format. It should be noted that the monitoring setting information management unit 12 is configured to update (overwrite) monitoring setting information to newly obtained monitoring setting information in a case where the monitoring setting information management unit 12 already stores monitoring setting information including the same identifier of the monitoring target software program (i.e., or software update package, as interpreted by the Examiner) as the identifier of the monitoring target software program (i.e., or software update package, as interpreted by the Examiner) included in the monitoring setting information obtained by the monitoring setting information input unit 11.
Therefore, from (1) and (2) above, the Examiner has reasonably interpreted the claimed “generate a list of install packages from the installation release package” to be equivalent to the continuous updating of the list including the monitoring setting information obtained by the monitoring setting input unit 11 indicating the result of the calculation performed on the software update package.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., There is on disclosure in Ohta that an installation release package is scanned to find one or more install files. Applicant's claim 6 reads the installation release file and breaks the installation release file down into multiple install files) are not recited in the rejected claim. In other word, claim 6 does NOT explicitly disclose “scanning” to find one or more install files, and “breaking” the installation release file down into multiple install files. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Regarding Applicant’s argument for claims 11-14, the Examiner notes that a response for the same argument was responded to in the Examiner’s response for claim 1 above.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments for claim 15, the Examiner notes that a response for the same arguments were responded to in the Examiner’s response above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohta et al. (Pub.t No. US 2008/0155509), hereinafter Ohta; in view of Riley (Pub. No. US 2022/0083673), hereinafter Riley.
Claim 1. Ohta discloses a system for automatic generation of a whitelist for computer security, the system comprising:
computer instructions running on a processor opens the list; the computer instructions running on the processor reads an installation file, calculates a calculated check value for the installation file, and compare the calculated check value to a stored check value, the stored check value is within the installation file (See Parag. [0090]; receive a file of a monitoring target software program or a software update package. See Parag. [0169]; the integrity monitoring unit 42 is a subsystem of the monitoring unit 37 and is configured to calculate a hash value of a monitoring target software program (a memory or file) in accordance with the parameter setting information (the address at which the monitoring target software program is stored, or the size of the monitoring target software program). The integrity monitoring unit 42 is configured to then compare the calculated hash value of the monitoring target software program with a original hash value included in the monitoring setting information, of the monitoring target software program); and
when the calculated check value matches the stored check value, the computer instructions parse the installation file into elements and for each element of the elements, the computer instructions decompress the each element and when the each element is a program, the computer instructions calculate a check value for the program and adds an entry to the list comprising a name of the program and the check value for the program (See Parag. [0090]; the monitoring setting information input unit 11 may be configured to receive a file of a monitoring target software program or a software update package, then to calculate the hash value of or size of the monitoring target software program by itself, and thus to obtain the result of the calculation as the monitoring setting information. See Parag. [0092-0094]; the monitoring setting information management unit 12 is configured to store monitoring setting information corresponding to a plurality of monitoring target software programs (i.e., or software update packages, as interpreted by the Examiner). The monitoring setting information management unit 12 is configured to store the monitoring setting information obtained by the monitoring setting input unit 11 in a memory or file system as an arbitrary format such as a table format or list format. It should be noted that the monitoring setting information management unit 12 is configured to update (overwrite) monitoring setting information to newly obtained monitoring setting information in a case where the monitoring setting information management unit 12 already stores monitoring setting information including the same identifier of the monitoring target software program as the identifier of the monitoring target software program included in the monitoring setting information obtained by the monitoring setting information input unit 11. See Parag. [0076-0077]; FIG. 2 is monitoring setting information includes an identifier of the monitoring target software program, a hash value of the monitoring target software program, an address in which the monitoring target software program is stored, a size of the monitoring target software program and monitoring scheduling information. The identifier of the monitoring target software program may be the identification number of the monitoring target software program or a character string (for example, a file name) for identifying a file constituting the monitoring target software program. See Parag. [0150]; in a case where the file constituting the monitoring information is compressed, the monitoring setting information management unit 36 decompresses the file for the same purpose. See also Figs 13, 18, 21).
Ohta doesn’t explicitly disclose the list comprising the name of the program and the check value for the program is a whitelist.
However, Riley discloses a whitelist comprising the name of the program and the check value for the program (See Parag. [0068]; Each entry of the whitelist 15 includes information regarding the approved program or directory such as the date of approval, the name of the program 602, a hash value of the program 604, and a signature of the program 606).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Ohta, to include a whitelist comprising the name of the program and the check value for the program, as taught by Riley. This would be convenient to provides an automated way to prevent execution of software containing code that is potentially contaminated (e.g., contains or is malicious software) (Riley, Parag. [0027]).
Claim 2. Ohta in view of Riley discloses the system for automatic generation of the whitelist for computer security of claim 1,
Ohta further discloses the system further comprising: until all installation files are processed, the computer instructions running on the processor reads a next installation file, calculates the calculated check value for the next installation file, and compares the calculated check value to a stored check value, the stored check value is within the next installation file (See Parag. [0090]; the monitoring setting information input unit 11 may be configured to receive a file of a monitoring target software program or a software update package, then to calculate the hash value of or size of the monitoring target software program by itself, and thus to obtain the result of the calculation as the monitoring setting information. See Parag. [0092]; the monitoring setting information management unit 12 is configured to store monitoring setting information corresponding to a plurality of monitoring target software programs. See Parag. [0169]; The integrity monitoring unit 42 is a subsystem of the monitoring unit 37 and is configured to calculate a hash value of a monitoring target software program (a memory or file) in accordance with the parameter setting information (the address at which the monitoring target software program is stored, or the size of the monitoring target software program). The integrity monitoring unit 42 is configured to then compare the calculated hash value of the monitoring target software program with a original hash value included in the monitoring setting information, of the monitoring target software program, then to determine that anomaly has occurred in the monitoring target software program when the two hash values do not match with each other, and thus to call the anomaly state handling unit 38);
when the calculated check value does not match the stored check value, the computer instructions stop (See Parag. [0169-0170]; determine that anomaly has occurred in the monitoring target software program when the two hash values do not match with each other, and thus to call the anomaly state handling unit 38. The integrity monitoring unit 42 is assumed to be called periodically or at the time of an occurrence of a predetermined event); and
the computer instructions parse the next installation file into the elements and for the each element of the elements, the computer instructions decompresses the each element and when the each element is the program, the computer instructions calculate the check value for the program and adds another entry to the list comprising the name of the program and the check value for the program (See Parag. [0090]; the monitoring setting information input unit 11 may be configured to receive a file of a monitoring target software program or a software update package, then to calculate the hash value of or size of the monitoring target software program by itself, and thus to obtain the result of the calculation as the monitoring setting information. See Parag. [0092-0094]; the monitoring setting information management unit 12 is configured to store monitoring setting information corresponding to a plurality of monitoring target software programs. The monitoring setting information management unit 12 is configured to store the monitoring setting information obtained by the monitoring setting input unit 11 in a memory or file system as an arbitrary format such as a table format or list format. It should be noted that the monitoring setting information management unit 12 is configured to update (overwrite) monitoring setting information to newly obtained monitoring setting information in a case where the monitoring setting information management unit 12 already stores monitoring setting information including the same identifier of the monitoring target software program as the identifier of the monitoring target software program included in the monitoring setting information obtained by the monitoring setting information input unit 11. See Parag. [0076-0077]; FIG. 2 is monitoring setting information includes an identifier of the monitoring target software program, a hash value of the monitoring target software program, an address in which the monitoring target software program is stored, a size of the monitoring target software program and monitoring scheduling information. The identifier of the monitoring target software program may be the identification number of the monitoring target software program or a character string (for example, a file name) for identifying a file constituting the monitoring target software program. See Parag. [0150]; in a case where the file constituting the monitoring information is compressed, the monitoring setting information management unit 36 decompresses the file for the same purpose. See also Figs 13, 18, 21).
Riley further discloses a whitelist comprising the name of the program and the check value for the program (See Parag. [0068]; Each entry of the whitelist 15 includes information regarding the approved program or directory such as the date of approval, the name of the program 602, a hash value of the program 604, and a signature of the program 606).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Ohta, to include a whitelist comprising the name of the program and the check value for the program, as taught by Riley. This would be convenient to provides an automated way to prevent execution of software containing code that is potentially contaminated (e.g., contains or is malicious software) (Riley, Parag. [0027]).
Claim 3. Ohta in view of Riley discloses the system for automatic generation of the whitelist for computer security of claim 2,
Riley further discloses the system further comprising: the computer instructions save the whitelist and the computer instructions transmit the whitelist to one or more target computer systems (See Parag. [0035-0036]; server computer 500 transacts with computer security system software that runs on the target computer 10 through the network(s) 506. The computer security system software 17 runs on the target computer 10 and monitors any activation of programs/applications/scripts (e.g., running of a program) and provides or denies permission for running the program/application/script on the target computer 10. The server computer 500 transacts with the computer security system software 17 that runs on the target computer 10 as needed, for example, to update the whitelists 15 stored on the target computer 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Ohta, to include saving the whitelist and transmitting the whitelist to one or more target computer systems, as taught by Riley. This would be convenient to provides an automated way to prevent execution of software containing code that is potentially contaminated (e.g., contains or is malicious software) (Riley, Parag. [0027]).
Claim 4. Ohta in view of Riley discloses the system for automatic generation of the whitelist for computer security of claim 3,
Riley further discloses the system further comprising: after receiving the whitelist at the one or more target computer systems, security software running on each of the one or more target computer systems installs the whitelist (See Parag. [0035-0036]; server computer 500 transacts with computer security system software that runs on the target computer 10 through the network(s) 506. The computer security system software 17 runs on the target computer 10 and monitors any activation of programs/applications/scripts (e.g., running of a program) and provides or denies permission for running the program/application/script on the target computer 10. The server computer 500 transacts with the computer security system software 17 that runs on the target computer 10 as needed, for example, to update the whitelists 15 stored on the target computer 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Ohta, to include installing the whitelist at the one or more target computer systems, as taught by Riley. This would be convenient to provides an automated way to prevent execution of software containing code that is potentially contaminated (e.g., contains or is malicious software) (Riley, Parag. [0027]).
Claim 5. Ohta in view of Riley discloses the system for automatic generation of the whitelist for computer security of claim 4,
Riley further discloses the system further comprising: after the security software running on each of the one or more target computer systems installs the whitelist, upon an attempt to run a program that is installed from the installation file on a target system of the one or more target computer systems from the installation file, the security software calculates the check value for the program and compares a name of the program and the check value for the program to an entry in the whitelist for the program and when the name of the program and the check value for the program match the entry in the whitelist for the program, the security software allows the program to run on the target system (See Parag. [0074-0076]; the flow starts by a program 14 attempting to start 200 on the target computer 10… The computer security system determines 202 if the program 14 is in the whitelist 15 using any searching mechanism, including linear searching, binary searching, hash searching, etc. For example, the name of the program is searched and if found, the search is successful. If the name is not found, then a hash value is calculated for the program and the hash value is searched and if not found, other searches are performed. If it is determined 202 that the program 14 is in the whitelist 15 (e.g., the program is trusted) the program 14 is run 204).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Ohta, to include , the security software calculates the check value for the program and compares a name of the program and the check value for the program to an entry in the whitelist for the program and when the name of the program and the check value for the program match the entry in the whitelist for the program, the security software allows the program to run on the target system, as taught by Riley. This would be convenient to provides an automated way to prevent execution of software containing code that is potentially contaminated (e.g., contains or is malicious software) (Riley, Parag. [0027]).
Claim 6. Ohta discloses a system for automatic generation of a whitelist for computer security, the system comprising:
computer instructions running on a processor opens the list; the computer instructions read an installation release package and determines if the installation release package is valid (See Parag. [0090]; receive a file of a monitoring target software program or a software update package. See Parag. [0169]; the integrity monitoring unit 42 is a subsystem of the monitoring unit 37 and is configured to calculate a hash value of a monitoring target software program (a memory or file) in accordance with the parameter setting information (the address at which the monitoring target software program is stored, or the size of the monitoring target software program). The integrity monitoring unit 42 is configured to then compare the calculated hash value of the monitoring target software program with a original hash value included in the monitoring setting information, of the monitoring target software program, then to determine that anomaly has occurred in the monitoring target software program when the two hash values do not match with each other); and
when the installation release package is valid, the computer instructions generate a list of install packages from the installation release package (See Parag. [0090-0092]; the monitoring setting information input unit 11 may be configured to receive a file of a monitoring target software program or a software update package, then to calculate the hash value of or size of the monitoring target software program by itself, and thus to obtain the result of the calculation as the monitoring setting information. The monitoring setting information management unit 12 is configured to store monitoring setting information corresponding to a plurality of monitoring target software programs. See also Parag. [0186]);
for each install package in the list of install packages: the computer instructions running on the processor reads the install package, calculates a calculated check value for the install package, and compares the calculated check value to a stored check value, the stored check value is within the install package (See Parag. [0169]; the integrity monitoring unit 42 is a subsystem of the monitoring unit 37 and is configured to calculate a hash value of a monitoring target software program (a memory or file) in accordance with the parameter setting information (the address at which the monitoring target software program is stored, or the size of the monitoring target software program).The integrity monitoring unit 42 is configured to then compare the calculated hash value of the monitoring target software program with a original hash value included in the monitoring setting information, of the monitoring target software program);;
when the calculated check value does not match the stored check value, the computer instructions continue with a next installation file; and when the calculated check value matches the stored check value, the computer instructions parse the install package into elements and for each element of the elements, the computer instructions decompress the each element and when the each element is a program, the computer instructions calculate a check value for the program and adds an entry to the list comprising a name of the program and the check value for the program (See Parag. [0090]; the monitoring setting information input unit 11 may be configured to receive a file of a monitoring target software program or a software update package, then to calculate the hash value of or size of the monitoring target software program by itself, and thus to obtain the result of the calculation as the monitoring setting information. See Parag. [0092-0094]; the monitoring setting information management unit 12 is configured to store monitoring setting information corresponding to a plurality of monitoring target software programs. The monitoring setting information management unit 12 is configured to store the monitoring setting information obtained by the monitoring setting input unit 11 in a memory or file system as an arbitrary format such as a table format or list format. It should be noted that the monitoring setting information management unit 12 is configured to update (overwrite) monitoring setting information to newly obtained monitoring setting information in a case where the monitoring setting information management unit 12 already stores monitoring setting information including the same identifier of the monitoring target software program as the identifier of the monitoring target software program included in the monitoring setting information obtained by the monitoring setting information input unit 11. See Parag. [0076-0077]; FIG. 2 is monitoring setting information includes an identifier of the monitoring target software program, a hash value of the monitoring target software program, an address in which the monitoring target software program is stored, a size of the monitoring target software program and monitoring scheduling information. The identifier of the monitoring target software program may be the identification number of the monitoring target software program or a character string (for example, a file name) for identifying a file constituting the monitoring target software program. See Parag. [0150]; in a case where the file constituting the monitoring information is compressed, the monitoring setting information management unit 36 decompresses the file for the same purpose. See also Figs 13, 18, 21).
Ohta doesn’t explicitly disclose the list comprising the name of the program and the check value for the program is a whitelist.
However, Riley discloses a whitelist comprising the name of the program and the check value for the program (See Parag. [0068]; Each entry of the whitelist 15 includes information regarding the approved program or directory such as the date of approval, the name of the program 602, a hash value of the program 604, and a signature of the program 606).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Ohta, to include a whitelist comprising the name of the program and the check value for the program, as taught by Riley. This would be convenient to provides an automated way to prevent execution of software containing code that is potentially contaminated (e.g., contains or is malicious software) (Riley, Parag. [0027]).
Claim 7. The applicant is directed to the rejection to claim 3 set forth above, as it is rejected based on the same rationale.
Claim 8. The applicant is directed to the rejection to claim 3 set forth above, as it is rejected based on the same rationale.
Claim 9. The applicant is directed to the rejection to claim 4 set forth above, as it is rejected based on the same rationale.
Claim 10. The applicant is directed to the rejection to claim 5 set forth above, as it is rejected based on the same rationale.
Claim 11. Ohta in view of Riley discloses the system for automatic generation of the whitelist for computer security of claim 6,
Ohta further discloses wherein the computer instructions read the installation release package after the installation release package is downloaded and stored on a storage that is operatively coupled to the processor (See Parag. [0127]; After the monitoring setting information update file is downloaded, the monitoring setting information update file is saved in the device by use of an arbitrary storage device such as a flash memory, hard disk drive, or such as an external storage including an SD memory card or the like. See Parag. [0129]; software program update module of the device downloads, via a radio network, from a device management server storing the monitoring setting information file or the software update package, the monitoring setting information file along with the software update package into a device, and then writes the monitoring setting information file into a flash memory).
Claim 12. Ohta in view of Riley discloses the system for automatic generation of the whitelist for computer security of claim 6,
Ohta further discloses wherein the computer instructions read the installation release package through a network that is operatively coupled to the processor (See Parag. [0127]; After the monitoring setting information update file is downloaded, the monitoring setting information update file is saved in the device by use of an arbitrary storage device such as a flash memory, hard disk drive, or such as an external storage including an SD memory card or the like. See Parag. [0129]; software program update module of the device downloads, via a radio network, from a device management server storing the monitoring setting information file or the software update package, the monitoring setting information file along with the software update package into a device, and then writes the monitoring setting information file into a flash memory).
Claim 13. Ohta in view of Riley discloses the system for automatic generation of the whitelist for computer security of claim 6,
Ohta further discloses wherein the computer instructions running on the processor reads the install package after the installation release package is downloaded and stored on a storage that is operatively coupled to the processor (See Parag. [0127]; After the monitoring setting information update file is downloaded, the monitoring setting information update file is saved in the device by use of an arbitrary storage device such as a flash memory, hard disk drive, or such as an external storage including an SD memory card or the like. See Parag. [0129]; software program update module of the device downloads, via a radio network, from a device management server storing the monitoring setting information file or the software update package, the monitoring setting information file along with the software update package into a device, and then writes the monitoring setting information file into a flash memory).
Claim 14. Ohta in view of Riley discloses the system for automatic generation of the whitelist for computer security of claim 6,
Ohta further discloses wherein the computer instructions running on the processor reads the install package through a network that is operatively coupled to the processor (See Parag. [0127]; After the monitoring setting information update file is downloaded, the monitoring setting information update file is saved in the device by use of an arbitrary storage device such as a flash memory, hard disk drive, or such as an external storage including an SD memory card or the like. See Parag. [0129]; software program update module of the device downloads, via a radio network, from a device management server storing the monitoring setting information file or the software update package, the monitoring setting information file along with the software update package into a device, and then writes the monitoring setting information file into a flash memory).
Claim 15. Ohta discloses a method of automatic generation of a whitelist for computer security, the method comprising:
reading an installation release package and generating a list of installation files (See Parag. [0090]; receive a file of a monitoring target software program or a software update package. See Parag. [0169]; the integrity monitoring unit 42 is a subsystem of the monitoring unit 37 and is configured to calculate a hash value of a monitoring target software program (a memory or file) in accordance with the parameter setting information (the address at which the monitoring target software program is stored, or the size of the monitoring target software program).The integrity monitoring unit 42 is configured to then compare the calculated hash value of the monitoring target software program with a original hash value included in the monitoring setting information, of the monitoring target software program); and
for each installation file in the list of installation files: parsing the installation file into elements and for each element of the elements, when the each element is a program, calculating a check value for the program and adding an entry to the list comprising a name of the program and the check value for the program (See Parag. [0090]; the monitoring setting information input unit 11 may be configured to receive a file of a monitoring target software program or a software update package, then to calculate the hash value of or size of the monitoring target software program by itself, and thus to obtain the result of the calculation as the monitoring setting information. See Parag. [0092-0094]; the monitoring setting information management unit 12 is configured to store monitoring setting information corresponding to a plurality of monitoring target software programs. The monitoring setting information management unit 12 is configured to store the monitoring setting information obtained by the monitoring setting input unit 11 in a memory or file system as an arbitrary format such as a table format or list format. It should be noted that the monitoring setting information management unit 12 is configured to update (overwrite) monitoring setting information to newly obtained monitoring setting information in a case where the monitoring setting information management unit 12 already stores monitoring setting information including the same identifier of the monitoring target software program as the identifier of the monitoring target software program included in the monitoring setting information obtained by the monitoring setting information input unit 11. See Parag. [0076-0077]; FIG. 2 is monitoring setting information includes an identifier of the monitoring target software program, a hash value of the monitoring target software program, an address in which the monitoring target software program is stored, a size of the monitoring target software program and monitoring scheduling information. The identifier of the monitoring target software program may be the identification number of the monitoring target software program or a character string (for example, a file name) for identifying a file constituting the monitoring target software program. See Parag. [0150]; in a case where the file constituting the monitoring information is compressed, the monitoring setting information management unit 36 decompresses the file for the same purpose. See also Figs 13, 18, 21).
Ohta doesn’t explicitly disclose the list comprising the name of the program and the check value for the program is a whitelist.
However, Riley discloses a whitelist comprising the name of the program and the check value for the program (See Parag. [0068]; Each entry of the whitelist 15 includes information regarding the approved program or directory such as the date of approval, the name of the program 602, a hash value of the program 604, and a signature of the program 606).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Ohta, to include a whitelist comprising the name of the program and the check value for the program, as taught by Riley. This would be convenient to provides an automated way to prevent execution of software containing code that is potentially contaminated (e.g., contains or is malicious software) (Riley, Parag. [0027]).
Claim 16. The applicant is directed to the rejection to claim 3 set forth above, as it is rejected based on the same rationale.
Claim 17. The applicant is directed to the rejection to claim 3 set forth above, as it is rejected based on the same rationale.
Claim 18. The applicant is directed to the rejection to claim 4 set forth above, as it is rejected based on the same rationale.
Claim 19. The applicant is directed to the rejection to claim 5 set forth above, as it is rejected based on the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see PTO-form 892).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
/GHIZLANE MAAZOUZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2499 /PHILIP J CHEA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2499