Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-16, 18-25 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/17/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a front side of a device carrier” and “a rear side of the device carrier” which is considered indefinite. The device carrier structure is not defined in the claim language and it has not previously been established that there is a front or rear side of the device carrier or the overall structure in a way that makes the configuration clear. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is understood that there are at least two sides to the device carrier.
Claim 4 recites “wherein at least one or two clamping projections are provided per 90° circumferential sector of the frame” but it is unclear if this is referring to the “plurality of clamping projections” of claim 3. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is understood to refer to the plurality of clamping projections of claim 3.
Claim 7 recites “wherein a peripheral wall” which is considered indefinite as it is not clear that a peripheral wall would be present in the cover. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is understood that there is a peripheral wall.
Claims 2-6, 8-11, 17 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 17 recites simultaneous dependence upon two claims. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. For the purpose of examination, claim 17 is considered only dependent upon claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8-9, 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12264867 in view of Kiyoto et al. (JPH06235657), hereinafter referred to as Kiyoto.
The allowed claim 1 teaches the entirety of the present claim except that the frame is configured to be thermally coupled to a laterally outer region of the device carrier (substrate in the allowed claim) such that with the housing cover pushed against the substrate it results in “a rear side of the device carrier is thermally coupled to the heat removal surface”.
Kiyoto teaches (Figures 4-5) a frame having a heat removal surface configured to be thermally coupled to a laterally outer region of the device carrier (cold plate 38, paragraph 25, which the holder sits on is thermally coupled to the entire holder as they are connected as seen in the figure and the outer region 27b is thermally connected to upper surface 38a of cold plate 38); and a cover configured to exert a compressive force on the front side of the device carrier when assembled with the frame (cold shield is stacked onto the other end of 27 and held in plate by screws 30a and 30b, paragraph 25, which would allow it to push against and thus provide a compressive force to keep the device carrier in place), by which a rear side of the device carrier is thermally coupled to the heat removal surface (as they are all connected as seen in the figure, there would be a thermal connection provided from the front of the holder through the cold shield and screws and ultimately to the heat removal surface of 38).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Kiyoto to have had in the allowed claim had the frame act as a cold plate which is connected to the bottom of the substrate (and thus the lateral outer region of the substrate) since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby providing the frame as cold plate would allow the substrate and thus the ion trap device mounted on the substrate to be brought to the necessary temperature of operation (this is the configuration taught in Kiyoto where 3 is connected to the cold plate paragraphs 18 and 23). Based on this modification both sides of the carrier would be thermally coupled to the heat removal surface based on the cover being assembled with the housing frame.
Based on the modification above, the remaining claims are rejected as such:
Present Claims Allowed Claims
5 4
7 5 and 6
8 1
9 1
17 1
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
guide means in claim 9 understood to be guide pins,
means for biasing in claim 10 understood to be a contact pin.
Ion trap device is not interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) and is understood to be an interchangeable term with “ion trap”.
Claim 7 uses the term “quadrangular or octagonal peripheral shape” which is understood that there are four or eight sides, but not that a specific shape is required, with edges that can be rounded (see Figure 3b for example of the drawings).
The term “clamping surface” is not considered to refer to discrete surfaces, but discrete parts of a surface that are separate from others (see Figure 3C where the clamping surface extend from other surfaces radially).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kiyoto et al. (JPH06235657), hereinafter referred to as Kiyoto.
With respect to claim 1, Kiyoto (Figure 4-5) recites a cryostat socket for holding an ion trap device (Figure 6 is a vacuum container with a holder 27, paragraph 15 and 25) mounted on a front side of a device carrier in a cryostat (device carrier is holder 27 which as a holder for a device being cooled to an extremely low temperature could hold an ion trap device, which can be seen to be mounted on the front side part of the holder 27 as seen in the figure and is in a vacuum container which is operated at an extremely low temperature, paragraph 14 and is thus a cryostat), the cryostat socket comprising:
a frame having a heat removal surface configured to be thermally coupled to a laterally outer region of the device carrier (cold plate 38, paragraph 25, which the holder sits on is thermally coupled to the entire holder as they are connected as seen in the figure and the outer region 27b is thermally connected to upper surface 38a of cold plate 38); and a cover configured to exert a compressive force on the front side of the device carrier when assembled with the frame (cold shield is stacked onto the other end of 27 and held in plate by screws 30a and 30b, paragraph 25, which would allow it to push against and thus provide a compressive force to keep the device carrier in place), by which a rear side of the device carrier is thermally coupled to the heat removal surface (the mounting configuration puts the rear side of the holder 27b up against the cold plate part 38a which would be the heat removal surface).
With respect to claim 2, Kiyoto teaches wherein the frame is configured to be coupled to a cryogenic head of the cryostat via a metal pressure contact (thin metal plate which is contracted with elastic force is pushed between the cold finger 3a and 38, paragraph 18 and 23).
With respect to claim 5, Kiyoto teaches wherein the cover comprises a pressure surface which is located opposite the heat removal surface of the frame when the cover is assembled with the frame (the bottom surface of 36), and wherein the compressive force is exerted on the front side of the device carrier via the pressure surface (36 pushes against the front side of 27 as seen in the figure).
With respect to claim 17, Kiyoto teaches a system comprising the cryostat socket of claim 1 (Figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiyoto and further in view of Spaun et al. (US PG Pub 20210082681), hereinafter referred to as Spaun.
With respect to claim 3, Kiyoto does not teach wherein the frame comprises a plurality of inwardly directed clamping projection with upwardly facing clamping surfaces which form at least part of the heat removal surface.
Spaun (Figure 1) teaches a heat spreader base for an ion trap (102) can include in the middle portion where a perimeter with a plurality of teeth so that when a grid array which has pins (114) can be positioned such that the teeth are within the teeth to provide mechanical support during extraction of the device (paragraph 22).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed for the frame of Kiyoto (38) to have been configured to have an opening with inwardly projecting teeth around the inner periphery of the that cooperate with pins that the holder (27) have in the inner portion based on the teaching of Spaun since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby providing an opening with the teeth (which are inwardly directed clamping projection and can be configured to have upwardly facing clamping surfaces on the heat removal surface because those surfaces could be used for clamping) with pins that cooperate with the teeth can be used to provide additional mechanical stiffness to the configuration.
With respect to claim 4, Kiyoto as modified teaches wherein at least one or two clamping projects are provided per 90 degrees circumferential sector of the frame (the teeth as modified are in the configuration of Spaun and thus there are multiple teeth per side and thus per 90 degree sector of the frame).
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiyoto and further in view of Kim et al. (KR20140070748), hereinafter referred to as Kim.
With respect to claim 6, Kiyoto does not teach wherein the pressure surface comprises a plurality of clamping surfaces arranged at a distance from one another circumferentially on the cover.
Kim teaches that to connect a cover (112) to another component that the edges of the cover can have holes which fit using fastening members (paragraph 37). As shown in the annotated surface, the individual locations where a fastening member would connect (112) to (110) can be considered a clamping surface on the bottom of the plate.
Annotated Figure 4 of Kim
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Kim provided the cover (cold shield 36) with the connecting portion for the (with holes for the screws 30a) in Kiyoto with the configuration where the bolts are placed within portions of the (cover) that are placed along the periphery of the cover (as well as of the part the cover attaches to) since it has been shown that a simple substitution of one known element for another to yield predictable results is obvious whereby both shapes shown are different ways of connecting two components together (in a cover like fashion) it would have been prima facie obvious to provide the cold shield base portion (where the screws pass through) (as well as the locations where the screws connect) in the shape of Kim. Each individual portion shown in the annotated figure and labeled as clamping surface where the screws pass through has a bottom surface which would form individual clamping surfaces of which the cover would have at least four as that is the number of screws already present in Kiyoto.
With respect to claim 7, Kiyoto teaches wherein the cover has a quadrangular shape (as seen in the figure the base of 36 is quadrangular).
Kiyoto does not teach wherein a peripheral wall of the cover has a cutout on each of the four sides.
Kim teaches that to connect a cover (112) to another component that the edges of the cover can have holes which fit using fastening members (paragraph 37). As shown in the annotated surface, the individual locations where a fastening member would connect (112) to (110) can be considered a clamping surface on the bottom of the plate.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Kim provided the cover (cold shield 36) with the connecting portion for the (with holes for the screws 30a) in Kiyoto with the configuration where the screws are placed within portions of the (cover) that are placed along the periphery of the cover (as well as of the part the cover attaches to) since it has been shown that a simple substitution of one known element for another to yield predictable results is obvious whereby both shapes shown are different ways of connecting two components together (in a cover like fashion) it would have been prima facie obvious to provide the cold shield base portion (where the screws pass through) (as well as the locations where the screws connect) in the shape of Kim. In this modification there would be the extensions labeled as clamping surface all along the sides as shown in Kim. The space between each of the extensions labeled as clamping surface in can be considered a cutout in the peripheral wall between the labeled clamping surface, with at least one on each side of the cover (36) and the overall shape can still be considered quadrangular.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiyoto and further in view of Higashijima et al. (US PG Pub 20120186744), hereinafter referred to as Higashijima.
With respect to claims 8-9, Kiyoto does not teach a spring pin insert arranged in the frame, the spring pin insert comprising a base plate and contact pins resiliently received in the base plate wherein the spring pin insert comprises guide means configured to cooperate with the device carrier for fine adjustment of the lateral position of the device carrier relative to the spring pin insert.
Higashijima teaches a carrier for a holder for a wafer where (Figures 2A-2B, Figure 4) shows a wafer to be treated can be lowered into place using a base plate (20) with which pins are (connecting members 24, paragraph 32 which can be seen to be pins with springs 26, paragraph 58 and thus spring pin insert see Figure 4 there can be 3 in an array) which pass through the frame (30) and have an end which sits in the base plate (20) which would be a guide means.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have in the center section of the frame (cold plate) of Kiyoto to have had a base plate which sits in the frame which has connecting members using springs which act as spring pins and had the projections on the end of the pin (guide pins) which sit in the base plate since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby providing the configuration to below the device being cooled (21) of Kiyoto would provide a way to lower or remove the device in use (paragraph 29 of Higashijima) using what would be considered common knowledge in the art of a known way to do so.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10-11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if the double patenting rejection was resolved.
In regard to claim 10, the prior art does not teach a metal mesh having a cover or a means for biasing the metal mesh as claimed. Claims is 11 are considered to have allowable subject matter for their dependence upon claims 3 and 10 respectively. Younger et al. (US Patent No. 10840078) teaches the use of a metal mesh (544, figure 5, Column 7, lines 18-28) but provides no teaching of electrical insulation with means for biasing the metal mesh as claimed. Spaun also teaches a mesh to prevent stray electric fields form entering the enclosure (paragraph 48) but there is no teach of a means for biasing or electrical insulation. Rucker et al. (US PG Pub 20240151457), Salmela et al. (US 20230175756), Wright et al. (US Patent No. 5584183) all teach inventions with similar aspects to the claims including but none of them teach the limitations in regard to the mesh.
Conclusion
/BRIAN M KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763