Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 18, 43, 47, 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites “the first port”. It is unclear which of the first ports recited in parent claim 1, it refers to.
Claim 43 recites the limitation "the substrate block" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is assumed to mean “the first substrate block”.
Claim 47 recites “second substrate block further comprises a second male connector and a second female connector” which is already recited in parent claim 43. For examination (in accordance with the specification and drawings), it is assumed that “second male connector” and “second female connector” are the same ones recited in claim 43.
Claim 47 recites the limitation "the first port of the second substrate block" in line 6,7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 49 recites “a passage” and "the first port of the second substrate block" which are already recited in parent claim 47. For examination (in accordance with the specification and drawings), it is assumed that “passage” and "the first port of the second substrate block" are the same ones recited in claim 47.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 10, 14, 15, 18, 19, 21, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazuhiro et al (JP 2013242003 A) in view of Carson et al (20210356041) further in view of Suhr et al (20110012341).
Regarding claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, Kazuhiro discloses a system for processing articles (fluid control to workpieces, semiconductor manufacturing, translation Page 1, last 2 Paras), the system comprising: a fluid supply (8) configured to supply a process fluid; a working area (W1-W5) configured to process articles; and a fluid delivery module 1, the fluid delivery module comprising: an inlet 12 fluidly coupled to the fluid supply; an outlet fluidly coupled to working area; a flow passage (pathways inside manifold 7,8,9,10,2A-2E of Fig 3) extending from the inlet to the outlet;; a first component 11,12 for controlling flow, the first component comprising a first port (connection to 2A), a second port 8 comprising a connection (at port 8), and a first flow path (with valve 12) extending from the first port to the second port, the first flow path forming a first portion of the flow passage; a substrate assembly 2A-2E, the substrate assembly comprising: a first substrate block 2A comprising a first port (connection to 8); a second substrate block 2B comprising a first port (bottom connection to 2A in Fig 3), a second flow path (portion of 26 in 21A) extending from the first port (connection to 8) of the first substrate block 2A to the first port (bottom connection to 2A in Fig 3) of the second substrate block 2B, the second flow path forming a second portion of the flow passage; wherein the first port of the first component is coupled to the first port of the first substrate block of the substrate assembly so that the first flow path (with valve 12) is fluidly coupled to the second flow path (portion of 26 in 21A).
Kazuhiro fails to disclose semiconductor production working area as a process chamber. Kazuhiro fails to disclose substrate assembly mounted to a substrate panel. Kazuhiro fails to disclose fluid elements interfaces having corresponding seal cavities with seal. Carson teaches a system for processing articles (Para 2, chip fabrication), the system comprising: a fluid supply (100) configured to supply a process fluid; a process chamber 1300 configured to process articles; and a fluid delivery module 1400, the fluid delivery module comprising: a substrate assembly 100 mounted to the substrate panel 1402. Kazuhiro, Fig 4B, discloses fluidic elements with mutual interfaces 114,214 having corresponding seal cavities with seal 300.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system disclosed by Kazuhiro with working area as a process chamber as taught by Carson in order to provide secure working facility.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system disclosed by Kazuhiro with substrate assembly mounted to a substrate panel as taught by Carson in order to improve structurally organization of the fluid delivery module.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system disclosed by Kazuhiro with sealing cavities at inlet/outlet connections of inlet valve component and at inlet side of first substrate and at first ports of substrates with seals in each sealing cavity as taught by Carson in order to improve leakage protection.
Kazuhiro fails to disclose substrate blocks having male and female connectors at mutual interfaces. Suhr, Fig 5 discloses a substrate assembly comprising: a substrate blocks each having two flowthrough passages, having male connectors 20, first female connectors 22 at mutual interfaces with other substrate blocks, wherein each male connector 20 of one substrate block forms a fluid-tight connection with the a female connector 22 of the adjacent substrate block. Each interface of substrate block has one male and one female connector mating with female and male connector of the adjacent substrate block.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system disclosed by Kazuhiro with substrate blocks each having male connectors and first female connectors at mutual interfaces with other substrate blocks as described above as taught by Carson in order to improve alignment.
As to claim 10, Kazuhiro as modified discloses a third substrate block 2C, the third substrate block, the third substrate block 2C coupled to the second substrate block 2B. In view of Suhr, third substrate block 2C would also have male connectors and first female connectors, one each at both side interfaces to 2B and 2D.
As to claim 14, Kazuhiro as modified discloses a longitudinal axis extending through the first substrate block 2A and the second substrate block 2B, the first and second substrate blocks each having a length measured along the longitudinal axis, wherein the length of the first substrate block 2A and the second substrate block 2B are equal.
As to claim 15, Kazuhiro as modified discloses a third substrate block (combination of 2C and 2D considered as a “substrate block”), the third substrate block 2C.2D having a length measured along the longitudinal axis, the length of the third substrate block being different (double) than the lengths of the first and second substrate blocks 2A and 2B.
As to claim 18, Kazuhiro as modified discloses first substrate block 2A further comprises a tube portion (internal passage 26), the tube portion fluidly coupled to the first port (connection to 8).
As to claim 19, Kazuhiro as modified discloses substrate assembly further comprises a fasteners (in holes 21g), and a longitudinal axis, the first and second fasteners extending through the first and second substrate blocks in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis.
As to claims 21 and 22, Kazuhiro as modified discloses (as taught by Suhr) teaches each male connector has a cylindrical protuberance (larger diameter portion of 20) and an annular ring (smaller dimeter portion of 20) extending from a distal end of the cylindrical protuberance and each first female connector 22 comprises a cylindrical cavity (smaller diameter portion of hole of 22 and an annular groove (smaller diameter portion of 22) formed into a floor of the cylindrical cavity.
Claim(s) 43, 47, 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suhr (20110012341)
As to claim 43, Suhr, Fig 5 discloses a substrate assembly comprising: a first substrate block (left block in Fig 1) comprising a first port (bottom right port 8 of left block 1 in Fig 5), a first male connector 20, a first female connector 22, a first passage (vertical connection to 8), and a first channel (lower 18), the first passage extending from the first port 8 to the first channel (lower 18)and the first channel (lower 18) extending from the first passage to the first male connector 20; a second substrate block (middle block 1 in Fig 5) comprising a first male connector (20 on top left), a first female connector (22 on bottom left), a second male connector (20 on top right), a second female connector (22 on bottom right), and a first channel (bottom 18) extending from the first female connector (22 on bottom left) to the second female connector (22 on bottom right); a first flow path extending from the first port (bottom right port 8 of left block 1 in Fig 5) to the second female connector 22 (bottom right of middle block 1) via the first passage (vertical connection to 8) of the first substrate block, the first channel (bottom 18) of the first substrate (left) block, and the first channel (bottom 18) of the second substrate (middle) block.
Suhr disclose the middle block 1 right side with male connector 20 at top and female connector 22 at bottom. However, it would have been an obvious matter of engineering choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suhr, to have middle block right side with female connector at top and male connector at bottom, since absent a teaching as to criticality that the female connector be at top and male connector be at bottom, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement.
With such modification having middle block 1 right side with male connector 20 at bottom and female connector 22 at top, the first channel (bottom 18) would extend from the first female connector (22 on bottom left) to the second male connector (20 on bottom right); a first flow path extending from the first port (bottom right port 8 of left block 1 in Fig 5) to the second male connector 20 (bottom right of middle block 1) via the first passage (vertical connection to 8) of the first substrate block, the first channel (bottom 18) of the first substrate (left) block, and the first channel (bottom 18) of the second substrate (middle) block.
As to claim 47, second substrate (middle 1) block (modified to have right side with female 22 on top and male 20 at bottom) further comprises a second male connector (bottom right 20) and a second female connector (top right 22) , wherein the second substrate block (middle 1) further comprises a channel (top 18), the channel extending from the first male connector (left top 20) of the second substrate block to the second female connector (right top 22) of the second substrate block, and wherein the second substrate block comprises a passage (from opening of top 8 to top 18), the passage extending from the first port (top 8) of the second substrate block to the channel (top 18).
As to claim 49, wherein the second substrate (middle 1) block comprises passage (from opening of top 8 to top 18), the passage extending from the first port (top 8) of the second substrate block to the channel (top 18).
Claim(s) 82, 85, 86 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazuhiro et al (JP 2013242003 A) in view of Carson et al (20210356041).
As to claim 82, Kazuhiro discloses a system for processing articles (fluid control to workpieces, semiconductor manufacturing, translation Page 1, last 2 Paras), the system comprising: a fluid supply (8) configured to supply a process fluid; a working area (W1-W5) configured to process articles; and a fluid delivery module 1, the fluid delivery module comprising: an inlet 12 fluidly coupled to the fluid supply; an outlet fluidly coupled to the process chamber; a flow passage (pathways inside manifold 7,8,9,10,2A-2E of Fig 3) extending from the inlet to the outlet; a first component (3 with valves 11,12) for controlling flow, the first component comprising a first port (connection to 2A), a second port 8, and a first flow path (with valve 12) extending from the first port to the second port, the first flow path forming a first portion of the flow passage; a substrate assembly 2A-2E mounted to the substrate panel, the substrate assembly comprising: first and second end substrate blocks 2A,2E, each of the first and second end substrate blocks comprising a first port (connections of 26 in 2A and 2E in Fig 1 to 3 and 4) and a first connector (portion of mating surface of surrounding openings 26 to 3 and 4); and a plurality of connector substrate blocks 2B,2C,2D, each of the plurality of connector substrate blocks comprising a first connector and a second connector (portion of mating surface of surrounding openings 26 on left and right side of each of 2A-2D); wherein the first end substrate block 2A is joined to a first one (2B) of the plurality of connector substrate blocks, the first connector (mating surface surrounding 26) of the first end substrate block 2A engaging the first connector (mating surface surrounding 26) of the first one of the plurality of connector substrate blocks; wherein the second end substrate block 2E is joined to a second one (2D) of the plurality of connector substrate blocks, the first connector (mating surface surrounding 26) of the second end substrate block 2E engaging the second connector (mating surface surrounding 26) of the second one (2D) of the plurality of connector substrate blocks; wherein a second flow path (26 inside 2A) extends from the first port of the first end substrate block 2A through the first connector of the first end substrate block 2A to the first one (2B) of the plurality of connector substrate blocks, the second flow path (26 inside 2A) forming a second portion of the flow passage; and wherein the first port of the first component 3 is coupled to the first port of the first end substrate block 2A of the substrate assembly so that the first flow path (with valve 12) is fluidly coupled to the second flow path (26 inside 2A).
Kazuhiro fails to disclose semiconductor production working area as a process chamber. Kazuhiro fails to disclose substrate assembly mounted to a substrate panel. Kazuhiro fails to disclose fluid elements interfaces having corresponding seal cavities with seal.
Carson teaches a system for processing articles (Para 2, chip fabrication), the system comprising: a fluid supply (100) configured to supply a process fluid; a process chamber 1300 configured to process articles; and a fluid delivery module 1400, the fluid delivery module comprising: a substrate assembly 100 mounted to the substrate panel 1402.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system disclosed by Kazuhiro with working area as a process chamber as taught by Carson in order to provide secure working facility.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system disclosed by Kazuhiro with substrate assembly mounted to a substrate panel as taught by Carson in order to improve structurally organization of the fluid delivery module.
As to claims 85 and 86, Kazuhiro discloses the plurality of connector substrate blocks 2B-2D each further comprise a third connector (outlet or 28) and a fourth connector (mating surface at left side of end portion of 22), wherein the first one (2B) of the plurality of connector substrate blocks further comprises a channel (26,27,28), the channel extending from the first connector (mating surface surrounding 26 on left side) of the first one 2B of the plurality of connector substrate blocks to the third connector third connector (outlet or 28) of the first one2B of the plurality of connector substrate blocks (26 and 27 and 28 are connected).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ATIF H CHAUDRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753