Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Issues regarding a lack of antecedent bases occur in claims 1, 10, and 11:
Claim 1 line 4, “the translucent circuit” lacks antecedent basis. It appears this was intended to read as, “the translucent conductive circuit” and has been interpreted and examined as meaning the translucent conductive circuit.
Claim 10 line 4, “the clear circuit” lacks antecedent basis. It appears this was intended to read as, “the translucent circuit” and has been interpreted and examined as meaning the translucent circuit.
Claim 11 line 4, “the clear circuit” lacks antecedent basis. It appears this was intended to read as, “the transparent circuit” and has been interpreted and examined in this manner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US 2017/0040306 in view of Speakman US 2007/0128905.
1. Kim discloses a circuit system (Fig 16), comprising: a clear substrate (transparent substrate 23 and 44, paragraph 0077) having a surface for application of a translucent conductive circuit thereupon (surface of substrate on which conductive lines/ink is disposed, paragraph 0077); a translucent conductive ink (paragraph 0069, 0071, 0073, transparent conductive material which can be a conductive ink) deposited upon the clear substrate (see paragraph 0069, 0071, 0073 and 0091) for forming customizable and controllable arrangements (can be used to incorporate electrical components such as LEDs and/or sensors, paragraph 0077; paragraph 0079 suggest customizing; 0093-94 teaches control circuitry and related control signals) to thereby form the translucent circuit (substrate and conductive elements which make up the circuit can be transparent, see paragraphs 0069, 0073, and 0077); a polymer encasement (72 Fig 16) for embedding the clear substrate and clear circuit therein (upper and lower layers of 72 are laminated to substrate 44 and embed the circuit, substrate, and LEDs, see Fig 16 and paragraph 0086); and an electrical connection from the circuit system to at least one electronic component (paragraphs 0093-0094; electrical connection is to electronic components 24 which can be LEDs or micro-LEDs, paragraph 0080).
Kim teaches transparent materials for the conductive ink and circuit rather than using translucent materials. Speakman teaches translucent electrically conductive materials (see paragraph 00165). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to substitute the translucent conductive materials of Speakman in with Kim for lighting applications where emitting more scattered/diffuse light is preferred.
2. Kim in view of Speakman teach the circuit system of claim 1, Kim further discloses wherein the translucent conductive ink (paragraph 0069, 0071, 0073, transparent conductive material which can be a conductive ink; see teaching of Speakman for substituting translucent materials) comprises an ink formulated of silver nano wires and carbon nanotubes (see paragraph 0069 Kim).
4. Kim in view of Speakman teach the circuit system of claim 1, Kim further discloses wherein polymer encasement comprises at least one of polyethylene terephthalate (PET), Polycarbonate (PC), or a clear plastic (layers 72 can be plastic or other material paragraph 0086 layers are clear since light emits therethrough; further teaches clear polymers in 0061, 0085).
5. Kim in view of Speakman teach circuit system of claim 1, Kim further discloses wherein the at least one electronic component comprises at least one light emitting diode (LED) (paragraph 0093).
6. Kim in view of Speakman teach the circuit system of claim 5, Kim further discloses wherein the at least one LED comprises a plurality of LEDs arranged in a pattern (fig 16 shows pattern with plurality of LEDs 24).
7. Kim in view of Speakman teach the circuit system of claim 6; Kim further teaches that multiple LEDs can be arranged together (paragraph 0063) but is silent to specifically reciting that the plurality of LEDs are arranged in a pattern of one of a constellation, a graphic image or a textual message. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the LEDs into a pattern of one of a constellation, a graphic image or a textual message, to provide a unique lighting pattern for Kim, since it has been held that rearranging parts of a prior art structure involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
8. Kim in view of Speakman teach the circuit system of claim 1, wherein the at least one electronic component comprises at least one capacitive switch operating as a capacitive button for controlling an electronic device (Kim teaches the use of capacitive touch sensors as a means to control the device in paragraphs 0053, 0054, 0063 and 0094).
10. Kim discloses a circuit system (Fig 16), comprising: a clear substrate (transparent substrate 23 and 44, paragraph 0077) having a surface for forming a translucent circuit thereupon (surface of substrate on which conductive lines/ink is disposed, paragraph 0077); a translucent conductive ink (paragraph 0069, 0071, 0073, transparent conductive material which can be a conductive ink) deposited upon the clear substrate for forming customizable and controllable arrangements (can be used to incorporate electrical components such as LEDs and/or sensors, paragraph 0077; paragraph 0079 suggest customizing; 0093-94 teaches control circuitry and related control signals) to thereby form the clear circuit (substrate and conductive elements which make up the circuit can be transparent, see paragraphs 0069, 0073, and 0077); a polymer encasement (72 Fig 16) for embedding the clear substrate and translucent circuit therein (upper and lower layers of 72 are laminated to substrate 44 and embed the circuit, substrate, and LEDs, see Fig 16 and paragraph 0086); and an electrical connection from the circuit system to a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) (paragraphs 0093-0094; components 24 may be LEDs or micro-LEDs, paragraph 0080) arranged in a pattern (pattern shown in Fig 16).
Kim teaches transparent materials for the conductive ink and circuit rather than using translucent materials. Speakman teaches translucent electrically conductive materials (see paragraph 00165). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to substitute the translucent conductive materials of Speakman in with Kim for lighting applications where emitting more scattered/diffuse light is preferred.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Speakman, and further in view of Yamada US PAT 6426733.
3. Kim in view of Speakman teach the circuit system of claim 1, but fail to further teach the circuit system further comprises an opaque conductive ink trace comprising silver paste ink. Yamada teaches the use of a silver paste ink as a conductor (col 15 ln 55-58). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to substitute the silver paste ink of Yamada in with Kim to provide a suitable alternative conductor material for applications where having an opaque conductor is desired.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view Speakman, and further in view of Imeson US 2024/0014617.
9. Kim discloses the circuit system of claim 1, teaches that the device can be in equipment that is integrated into a vehicle and also teaches it can be built into a window (see paragraph 0056), but is silent to specifically teaching wherein the clear substrate is a vehicle window. Imeson teaches the concept of incorporating transparent substrate with electronic components (22, which can be LEDs) therein within a vehicle window (see Fig 1). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to look to the teachings of Imeson and utilize the device in a vehicle window to provide additional utility for the device of Kim.
Claims 11, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Imeson US 2024/0014617.
11. Kim teaches vehicle window, comprising: a clear substrate (transparent substrate 23 and 44, paragraph 0077) having a surface for lamination (surface of substrate on which conductive lines/ink can be disposed, paragraph 0077) of a transparent circuit thereupon; a transparent conductive ink (paragraph 0069, 0071, 0073, transparent conductive material which can be a conductive ink) deposited upon the clear substrate (23, 44) for forming customizable and controllable arrangements (can be used to incorporate electrical components such as LEDs and/or sensors, paragraph 0077; paragraph 0079 suggest customizing; 0093-94 teaches control circuitry and related control signals) to thereby form the clear circuit; a polymer encasement (72 Fig 16) for embedding the clear substrate and transparent circuit therein (upper and lower layers of 72 are laminated to substrate 44 and embed the circuit, substrate, and LEDs, see Fig 16 and paragraph 0086); an electrical connection to a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) (see electrical connections discussed in paragraphs 0091-0094; components 24 may be LEDs or micro-LEDs, paragraph 0080); electrical connection of circuit with conductors embedded in the polymer encasement (upper and lower layers of 72 are laminated to substrate 44 and embed the circuit, substrate, and LEDs, see Fig 16 and paragraph 0086) and arranged in a pattern (see pattern of LEDs in Fig 16); and at least one capacitive switch operating as a capacitive button for controlling the plurality of LEDs (teaches the use of capacitive touch sensors as a means to control the device in paragraphs 0053, 0054, 0063 and 0094).
Regarding the device being a vehicle window, Kim teaches that the device can be in equipment that is integrated into a vehicle and also teaches it can be built into a window (see paragraph 0056) but is silent to specifically teaching wherein the clear substrate is a vehicle window. Imeson teaches the concept of incorporating transparent substrate with electronic components (22, which can be LEDs) therein within a vehicle window (see Fig 1). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to look to the teachings of Imeson and utilize the device in a vehicle window to provide additional utility for the device of Kim.
13. Kim in view of Imeson teach the vehicle window of claim 11, further comprising a microcontroller (control circuitry considered equivalent to microcontroller, see abstract, paragraphs 0006, 0009, 0063) actuated by the at least one capacitive switch for directing certain ones of the plurality of LEDs to illuminate (see paragraph 0063 Kim).
14. Kim in view of Imeson teach the vehicle window of claim 13, wherein the microcontroller comprises programming to direct certain of the plurality of LEDs to illuminate to convey at least one message (Kim teaches that light may form a label such as an alphanumeric character, logo, etc, paragraph 0098, which is interpreted as a message).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Imeson US 2024/0014617 and further in view of Lefevre WO 2007085599.
12. Kim in view of Imeson teach the vehicle window of claim 11, but fail to further teach the vehicle window comprises an automobile sunroof. Lefevre teaches the vehicle window comprises an automobile sunroof (see abstract). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to look to the teachings of Lefevre and utilize the device in a vehicle sunroof for applications where utilizing the device in a sunroof is desired.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. HEIKKINEN US’403 discloses an integrated multilayer structure incorporating a substrate with electronic elements and a molded layer provided thereon. RAY US’257 discloses a thin flexible LED light sheet with microscopic LED dice printed on a thin substrate, and the LEDs being sandwiched between two conductor layers, one of which is transparent.
/EVAN P DZIERZYNSKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875