DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
After further consideration, the Examiner has reanalyzed the claims and finds the following obviousness rejection of the pending claims. Since the previously presented claims 5 and 6 were indicated as being allowable in the Non-Final Action dated 10 September 2025, the Examiner is issuing a second non-final rejection. The Examiner invites the Applicant’s representative to set up an Examiner interview to discuss possible claim amendments should the representative find it beneficial.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 includes the limitation wherein the single powered mechanical actuator comprises a plurality of actuators operative to transversely expand and retract supports of a head section, a seat section and a foot section of the support deck. The term “single” as used throughout the original disclosure and claim set is interpreted to mean “only one; not one of several.” Therefore, further limiting the single powered mechanical actuator to comprise a plurality of actuators makes the claim indefinite because it is impossible to determine if there is a single or plurality of actuators as there cannot seemingly be both a single and plurality.
The Examiner believes that the goal of the new claim 7 is to clarify that there are multiple assemblies, one associated with each head, seat and foot section. If the examiner is correct, it is suggested to modify claim 7 to claim multiple assemblies, each comprising a single actuator configured to drive a respective head, seat, or foot section. As best understood, the Examiner interprets the claim to mean multiple assemblies are used to expand and retract the supports of the head section, seat section and foot section. As stated above the Examiner welcomes an interview to discuss potential amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hornbach et al (US 2006/0021142 – hereinafter Hornbach) in view of Lam (GB 2276315).
Regarding Claim 1: Hornbach discloses a bed (patient support 10 of Hornbach) adapted to be supported on a floor (see Fig. 1 of Hornbach showing casters of the support 10 for supporting the bed on a surface), comprising: a plurality of wheels (casters 19 of Hornbach) contacting the floor (see Fig. 1 of Hornbach showing casters 19 and paragraph [0038] which references raising and lowering the support relative to the ground); a frame (14 of Hornbach – Fig. 1) supported by the plurality of wheels (as shown in Fig. 1 of Hornbach); a support deck (deck 29 of Hornbach) supported by the frame (as shown in Fig. 1 of Hornbach) and having a head end (see annotated copy of Fig. 3 of Hornbach), a foot end (see annotated copy of Fig. 3 of Hornbach), a first side extending between the head end to the foot end (see annotated copy of Fig. 3 of Hornbach), and a second side extending between the head end to the foot end (see annotated copy of Fig. 3 of Hornbach), the support deck being expandable in a transverse extent from the first side to the second side from a first size to a second size (paragraph [0041] of Hornbach – “As shown in FIGS. 3 and 4, head section 30, back section 32, and thigh section 36 each have expanding side panels 50, 52, and 54 which can expand from both longitudinal sides of center panels 60, 62, and 64 to widen patient support 10” -see the Examiner’s note below regarding the first and second size), the second size having a larger area than the first size (paragraph [0041] of Hornbach – “As discussed above, bariatric patients are generally larger than average patients and may be more comfortable positioned on a wider than average patient support. Expandable deck sections allow caregivers to maneuver patient support 10 through doorways and hallways easily in the retracted or narrow position, as shown in FIG. 3, and provide optimum patient comfort by expanding the deck panels when a patient is positioned on patient support 10. Expanding side panels 50, 52, and 54 support mattress 130 (not shown) is described below.”); and an assembly (the assembly including actuator 90 of Hornbach) coupled to the support deck (see Fig. 4 of Hornbach), the assembly including a single powered mechanical actuator (actuator 90 of Hornbach) which expands the support deck from the first size to the second size (via the retracted and expanded states of one of the side panels 52 of Hornbach), the single powered mechanical actuator configured […..] to cause the support deck to expand from the first size to the second size (paragraph [0041] of Hornbach – “As shown in FIGS. 3 and 4, head section 30, back section 32, and thigh section 36 each have expanding side panels 50, 52, and 54 which can expand from both longitudinal sides of center panels 60, 62, and 64 to widen patient support 10”).
Examiner note: Although the patient support of Hornbach includes multiple powered mechanical actuators to expand the deck of the support, the claim requires an assembly including only a single powered mechanical actuator to cause the support deck to expand from the first size to the second size. The first and second sizes are broadly claimed as being smaller and larger sizes and the claim does not require only one assembly for expanding the entire deck. The first and second sizes do not require any specific details other than the second size is larger than the first so the mechanical actuator does not have to expand both lateral sides with one actuator. Therefore, the Examiner considers the first size of Hornbach to be a size when the panel 52 is retracted and the second size to be a size when panel 52 is extended. The examiner considers the patient support of Hornbach to include multiple assemblies which each include a single actuator.
Hornbach does not disclose the single powered mechanical actuator configured to drive at least a first screw and at least a second screw in opposite rotational directions. However Hornbach does disclose that “In other embodiments, actuator 80 is a one way hydraulic cylinder, a linear actuator, or any other suitable moving mechanism.”
Solving the same problem of controlling linear movement (see the drive of Fig. 7 of Lam), Lam teaches a single powered mechanical actuator (motor 12 of Lam – Fig. 7) configured to drive at least a first screw (left most screw 3 of Lam as viewed in Fig. 7) and at least a second screw (right most screw 3 of Lam as viewed in Fig. 7) in opposite rotational directions (see the annotated copy of Fig. 7 of Lam which shows arrows of rotation of the bevel gears and screws). The Examiner has also provided a link to a Youtube video in the cited NPL references showing how beveled gear drives translate rotation to further provide evidence that the screws 3 would be rotating in different directions.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of invention of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Hornbach (directed to a patient support with expandable width deck) and Lam (directed to a linear drive system for a support) before them, to have substituted the linear drive of Hornbach with a linear drive as taught by Lam with a reasonable expectation of success. The substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art as the linear drives of Lam and Hornbach are considered art-recognized equivalents (see Lam teaching a hydraulic lift in Fig. 9 being similar to the lift of Hornbach and an equivalent to the drive shown in Fig. 7 of Lam) that may be used interchangeably without changing the function of the bed.
Regarding Claim 2: Hornbach in view of Lam make obvious the bed of claim 1, comprising: an actuator frame (bracket 91 of Hornbach and housing 16 of Lam); a first support (96 of Hornach and left most element 4 of Lam as viewed in Fig. 7) moveable relative to the actuator frame (paragraph [0047] of Hornbach – “Side panels 52 are coupled to center panel 62 by actuators 90 and support tubes 98. Each actuator 90 includes input and output ports 92 and rod 94 and is coupled to center panel 62 by bracket 91 and side panel 52 by bracket 96” and page 2 of Lam – “The transmission system comprises two guide screws (3), symmetrically installed inside said two parallel guide rails (1), said guide screws (3) each being in mesh with a corresponding internal-threaded tube (5), provided in each of said supporting blocks (4).”) and coupled to a first portion of the support deck (the portion of mattress retention bracket 66 which bracket 96 is connected in Hornach); a second support (right most element 4 of Lam as viewed in Fig. 7) moveable relative to the actuator frame (paragraph [0047] of Hornbach – “Actuators 90 and 100 are also controlled by controller 168, which is described below, and move simultaneously along with actuators 80 to widen or narrow deck sections 30, 32, and 36” and page 2 of Lam – “The transmission system comprises two guide screws (3), symmetrically installed inside said two parallel guide rails (1), said guide screws (3) each being in mesh with a corresponding internal-threaded tube (5), provided in each of said supporting blocks (4).”) and coupled to a second portion of the support deck (see Fig. 1 of Lam showing how different portions of the bedframe are attached to each supporting block 4), wherein the single powered mechanical actuator controls a position of the first support and a position of the second support (see the drive system of Fig. 7 of Lam) to expand the support deck from the first size to the second size (the powered motor 12 of Lam drives the first and second supports which as applied to Hornbach would expand the support deck from the first size to the second size).
Regarding Claim 3: Hornbach in view of Lam make obvious the bed of claim 2, wherein the single powered mechanical actuator drives a first screw (see the rejection of claim 1), the first support being moveable along a first longitudinal axis of the first screw (see Fig. 7 of Lam showing the screws 3 having different longitudinal axes).
Regarding Claim 4: Hornbach in view of Lam make obvious the bed of claim 3, wherein the second support is moveable along a longitudinal axis of a second screw screw (see Fig. 7 of Lam showing the screws 3 having different longitudinal axes), the second screw being driven by the single powered mechanical actuator (via the connected transmissions of the beveled gears 8, 8’, 9, 9’ and 10 of Lam).
Regarding Claim 6: Hornbach in view of Lam make obvious the bed of claim 5, wherein the second screw is coupled to the first screw through a gear set (beveled gears 8, 8’ ,9, 9’,10 of Lam), the first screw driving the second screw (see Fig. 7 of Lam which shows the first screw 3 driven first by motor 12 and translating motion to the second screw via the shaft connecting beveled gears 10, 10’).
Regarding Claim 7: Hornbach in view of Lam make obvious the bed of claim 1 comprising a controller (actuator 80 of Hornbach being actuated by a controller 160 – paragraph [0045] of Hornbach) operatively coupled to communicate electrical signals to control the single powered mechanical actuator (paragraph [0057] of Hornbach – “depressing button 162 on input device 160 actuates the controller 168 to power actuators 80, 90, 100 with power from power supply 170 to widen the deck sections 30, 32, and 36 by simultaneously extending expanding side panels 50, 52, and 54. Conversely, depressing button 164 on input device 160 actuates controller 168 to power actuators 80, 90, and 100 with power from power supply 170 to simultaneously retract side panels 50, 52, and 54 to narrow the deck of patient support 10”) wherein the single powered mechanical actuator comprises a plurality of actuators operative to transversely expand and retract supports of a head section, a seat section and a foot section of the support deck (see Hornbach which teaches a head section 30, back section 32, and thigh section 36 each having expanding side panels 50, 52, 54 and each includes an assembly comprising a single powered mechanical actuator - 80, 90, and 100 of Hornbach – Fig. 4).
Claims 8 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hornbach et al (US 2006/0021142 – hereinafter Hornbach) in view of Lam (GB 2276315) further in view of Patterson et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2008/0289101 – hereinafter Patterson).
Regarding Claim 8: Hornbach in view of Lam make obvious the bed of claim 2 comprising a controller (actuator 80 of Hornbach being actuated by a controller 160 – paragraph [0045] of Hornbach) operatively coupled to communicate electrical signals to control the single powered mechanical actuator (paragraph [0057] of Hornbach – “depressing button 162 on input device 160 actuates the controller 168 to power actuators 80, 90, 100 with power from power supply 170 to widen the deck sections 30, 32, and 36 by simultaneously extending expanding side panels 50, 52, and 54. Conversely, depressing button 164 on input device 160 actuates controller 168 to power actuators 80, 90, and 100 with power from power supply 170 to simultaneously retract side panels 50, 52, and 54 to narrow the deck of patient support 10”), [….].
Hornbach in view of Lam do not disclose or make obvious a plurality of sensors, operatively coupled to the controller, and configured to sense an amount of movement of the first and second supports.
However, in the same field of endeavor, expandable width patient supports (see the abstract of Patterson), Patterson teaches a plurality of sensors (electromagnetic sensors 114a,114b,114c of Patterson – paragraph [0060]), operatively coupled to the controller (paragraph [0060] of Patterson – “these sensors provide positional information to an electronic control system for motors 96 which is responsive to operator input commands for patient acquisition and delivery.”), and configured to sense an amount of movement of the first and second supports (paragraph [0060] of Patterson – “Sensor 114a provides a first signal indicating when the screw jack is in the fully retracted position; sensor 114b provides a second signal indicating when the screw jack is in a transitional position where the pinch valves are essentially open, but the left and right side plates are only partially extended; and sensor 114c provides a third signal indicating when the screw jack is in the fully extended position.”).
One having ordinary skill in the art would before the time of invention of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine Hornbach (directed toward and expandable deck patient support), Lam (directed toward a linear drive mechanism comprising rotational screws) and Patterson (directed toward sensors for detecting positions of drive mechansims) with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because the position sensors of Patterson “accurately control the stopping positions of the right and left side plates” (paragraph [0060] of Patterson).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US PG Pub. No. 2014/0047641 to Thodupunuri et al. is cited for teaching an expandable width patient support.
US PG Pub.No. 2009/0070942 to Chambers et a. is cited for teaching an expandable width patient support with manually or electrically movable panels.
/AMANDA L BAILEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3673