DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-20 of the amended claim set received 2/14/2024 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/19/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 12/20/2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “activation module” in claim 1, “manual activation mechanism” in claim 3, “at least one detection module” of claim 4, “at least one IoT-enabled communication module” of claim 7, “at least one encryption module” of claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “a computing processor and a computer-readable medium” where it is unclear how or if the claim elements are related to the computing processor and computer-readable medium of base claim 1.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "said detection module". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites “an extinguisher” where it is unclear how or if this this related to the extinguisher agent module or fire extinguishing chemical agent of base claim 1.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "said communication module". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 requires “an outer decorative housing case” where the use of decorative makes the metes and bounds indeterminable. Decorative has the meaning of “serving to decorate or embellish” which is a matter of a person’s opinion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koelewijn (US 2008/0190627).
Regarding Claim 1, Koelewijn discloses in Fig. 2, a smart fire extinguisher device comprising:
an extinguisher agent module 3 containing a fire extinguishing chemical agent (read para. 0051);
an activation module 14 that when activated can cause the extinguisher agent module to spontaneously release said extinguishing chemical agent to extinguish a fire (read e.g. para. 0056);
a control module 7 (a programmable controller 7 as read at paras. 0059 and 0060; necessarily having a processor and computer-readable medium) having a computing processor and a computer-readable medium having instructions including at least one of algorithms, logics, and models stored thereon that when executed by said at least one computing processor cause said control module to: transmit commands to activate said activation module to spontaneously cause the extinguisher agent module to release the extinguishing chemical agent to extinguish a fire (as read at para. 0060).
Regarding Claim 2, Koelewijn discloses in Fig. 6, at least one alarm module 34 with at least one speaker 34 capable of sounding an alarm (read para. 0069).
Regarding Claim 4, Koelewijn discloses in Fig. 2, at least one detection module 6 capable of sensing and capturing a variety of ambient conditions of the device.
Regarding Claim 5, Koelewijn discloses in Fig. 2, wherein the control module 7 (a programmable controller 7 as read at paras. 0059 and 0060; necessarily having a processor and computer-readable medium) includes a computing processor and a computer-readable medium having instructions including at least one of algorithms, logics, and models stored thereon that when executed by the computing processor cause the control module to: retrieve and read all sensor values from said detection module (read para. 0057), determine whether the ambient condition of said device indicates that a potential fire hazard is present, and whether to take at least one responsive action of sounding an alarm or activate an extinguisher (read paras. 0057 and 0061); and transmits commands, whereupon the presence of fire is determined, to activate said activation module to cause the extinguisher agent module to spontaneously release the extinguishing chemical agents to extinguish a fire (as read in paras. 0057 and 0061).
Regarding Claim 6, Koelewijn discloses in Fig. 2, further comprising a power module 8 that provides electric power to said smart fire extinguisher device using one of a battery 8 (read para. 0056) and power cord connectable to a wall outlet.
Regarding Claim 7, Koelewijn discloses in Fig. 6, at least one loT-enabled communication module 31 capable of communicating with other loT devices, equipment, and networks (as read in para. 0067).
Regarding Claim 12, Koelewijn discloses in Fig. 2, an outer decorative housing case 2A+2B containing the extinguisher agent module 3, the activation module 14 and the control module 7.
Regarding Claim 13, Koelewijn discloses wherein the activation module 14 is one of electronic, mechanical, and chemical (electronic as read at para. 0056).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koelewijn (US 2008/0190627) in view of Enk (US 2019/0344109).
Regarding Claim 3, Koelewijn discloses the claimed invention as discussed above. Koelewijn does not disclose a manual activation mechanism that can activate the at least one activation module to cause the extinguisher module to release the extinguishing chemical agent to extinguish a fire.
Enk discloses in Fig. 2, a smart fire extinguisher device 10 comprising an extinguisher agent module 14 containing a fire extinguishing chemical agent (read para. 0032), an activation module 54 (see Fig. 4, read para. 0046), and a control module 18 which can transmit commands to cause the extinguisher agent module to release the extinguishing chemical agent to extinguish a fire (read para. 0046). Enk teaches a manual activation mechanism (switch discussed in para. 0055) that can activate the at least one activation module 54 to cause the extinguisher module 14 to release the extinguishing chemical agent to extinguish a fire (read paras. 0046 and 0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Koelewijn to include the manual activation mechanism taught by Enk in order to enable an operator to trigger the activation manually without having to be in the direct proximity of a fire zone (Enk para. 0055).
Regarding Claim 9, Koelewijn discloses the claimed invention as discussed above. Koelewijn additionally discloses in Fig. 2, a housing 2A+2B which houses an extinguisher unit which contains the extinguishing agent module 3, the activation module 14, and houses a control unit 7 which contains the control module 7. Koelewijn does not disclose the housing divided into two compartments, wherein a first compartment houses the extinguisher unit and wherein a second compartment houses a control unit.
Enk discloses in Fig. 7, a smart fire extinguisher device 10 comprising an extinguisher agent module 14 containing a fire extinguishing chemical agent (read para. 0032), an activation module 54 (see Fig. 4, read para. 0046), and a control module 18 which can transmit commands to cause the extinguisher agent module to release the extinguishing chemical agent to extinguish a fire (read para. 0046), an extinguisher unit which contains the extinguishing agent module 14 and the activation module 54 (see also Fig. 7) and a control unit 18 which contains the control module 18. Enk teaches a housing 12 divided into two compartment 38c and 38b, wherein the first compartment 38c houses the extinguisher unit 14+54 and the second compartment houses the control unit 18.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Koelewijn to include the two compartments taught by Enk in order to protect the associated components from elevated temperatures, dust, debris, and damage (Enk para. 0039).
Regarding Claim 11, Koelewijn in view of Enk teaches the claimed invention as discussed above. Koelewijn further discloses in Figs. 1 and 2, wherein the housing 2A+2B includes at least one side (the side being an opening 4 of the extinguisher agent module 3) made from a frangible material (the membrane as read at para. 0054) to allow the extinguishing chemical agent to be spontaneously released directionally towards a pre-designated direction. As Enk is employed in base claim 9 to teach the two compartments including the first compartment containing the extinguisher agent module, it is an obvious result of the combination that the at least one side formed by the extinguisher agent module opening/membrane is that of the first compartment.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koelewijn (US 2008/0190627) in view of Zhang (US 2024/0278052).
Regarding Claim 8, Koelewijn discloses the claimed invention as discussed above. Koelewijn does not disclose at least one encryption module capable of providing device-level sign-at-source encryption; wherein said at least one control unit can communicate encrypted signals through said communication module.
Zhang discloses in Fig. 1, a smart fire extinguisher device comprising an extinguisher module 7 and a control module 23 which transmits commands to caust the extinguisher agent module to release the extinguishing chemical agent (read e.g. para. 0028). Zhang teaches at least one encryption module (encryption chip discussed in para. 0037) capable of providing device-level sign-at-source encryption; wherein said at least one control unit 23 can communicate encrypted signals through said communication module (transmitters discussed in para. 0037).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Koelewijn to include the at least one encryption module taught by Zhang in order to keep the overall communication from being cracked by a foreign party (Zhang para. 0037).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koelewijn (US 2008/0190627) in view of Enk (US 2019/0344109) as applied to claim 9 above and further in view of Timler (US 2022/0228915).
Regarding Claim 10, Koelewijn in view of Enk teaches the claimed invention as discussed above. Koelewijn further discloses in Fig. 2, the control unit 7 is connected with said extinguisher unit 3 through a connector 15 (read para. 0056). Koelewijn does not explicitly disclose the connector is a plug-and-play connector.
Timler discloses in Fig. 2, a smart fire system including a control unit 12 and an extinguisher unit 3. Timler further discloses all of the components may be plug-and-play devices (read para. 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Koelewijn further such that the connector is a plug-and-play connector as taught by Timler in order to enable the associated components to be easily removed, replaced, and installed (Timler para. 0036).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose “at least one fuse with one end connecting to the activation module and a second end connecting to a surface of a housing case” in combination with all the limitations of the base claim 1.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached Notice of References Cited.
Contact Information
/R.D.F/Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/PHUTTHIWAT WONGWIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741