Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding claims 1-9, 13-19, the phrase "preferably report a result" renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan (2025/0016719) in view of Tsai (2025/0007666).
Regarding claim 1, Duan discloses a user equipment (UE,106) served by a serving network node and configured for supporting multi round trip time based (para 88) positioning over a non-terrestrial network (Figure 1) which involves a serving network node, at least one further network node relevant for the multi-rtt (para 88-89, multi-rtt involves multiple TRPs or multiple cells near the UE) and a location management function (AMF/LMF, Figures 1 and 8). Duan further disclose the UE comprising at least one processor and one memory (Figure 2) configured to cause the UE to at least: receiving from the LFM via the serving network node, assistance information for the multi-RTT positioning (para 89, RTT measurement signals and para 95 reference signals) and determined based on the assistance information, a measurement gap (time difference, para 90 for propagation) and performing the measurement for the serving and further node in according with the determined gap and preferably report the result to the LMF (para 96-102, use of the reference signals and time gap (offset) as well as reporting measurements back to the AMF para 118). Duan does not disclose that the assistance information is ephemeris information.
However, Tsai teaches a positioning system for a NTN network in which ephemeris data is provide to the UE in order to assist with positioning (para 30-33). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include ephemeris data in order to provide accurate timing for the RTT measurements.
Regarding claim 10, Duan discloses a location management function (LMF/AMF – Figure 4) configured for supporting multi-RTT based positioning over a non-terrestrial network, involving a serving node serving a user equipment (UE 106) and at least one further network node relevant for multi-RTT positioning, the LMF comprising a processor (410) and memory storing instructions (411) which cause the LMF to determine assistance information (reference signals para 89 and 95) for supporting the multi-RTT positioning, (para 88-89) related to the serving and further network nodes relevant for positioning, and sending the assistance information to the serving network node (para 55-56). Duan does not disclose that the assistance information is ephemeris information.
However, Tsai teaches a positioning system for a NTN network in which ephemeris data is provide to the UE in order to assist with positioning (para 30-33). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include ephemeris data in order to provide accurate timing for the RTT measurements.
Regarding claim 13, Duan discloses method for a user equipment (UE,106) served by a serving network node and configured for supporting multi round trip time based (para 88) positioning over a non-terrestrial network (Figure 1) which involves a serving network node, at least one further network node relevant for the multi-rtt (para 88-89, multi-rtt involves multiple TRPs or multiple cells near the UE) and a location management function (AMF/LMF, Figures 1 and 8). Duan further disclose receiving from the LFM via the serving network node, assistance information for the multi-RTT positioning (para 89, RTT measurement signals and para 95 reference signals) and determined based on the assistance information, a measurement gap (time difference, para 90 for propagation) and performing the measurement for the serving and further node in according with the determined gap and preferably report the result to the LMF (para 96-102, use of the reference signals and time gap (offset) as well as reporting measurements back to the AMF para 118). Duan does not disclose that the assistance information is ephemeris information.
However, Tsai teaches a positioning system for a NTN network in which ephemeris data is provide to the UE in order to assist with positioning (para 30-33). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include ephemeris data in order to provide accurate timing for the RTT measurements.
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Duan does not disclose the assistance information further comprising measurement gap related configuration, and the measurement gap for performing multi-RTT positioning is determined based on the related configuration information. However, Tsai teaches that the assistance information includes measurement gap configuration information (timing advance/differential time, para 31) and that the multi-RTT measurements are performed based on the configuration information (para 33-35, also Figures 10-12, para 78-82). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to include measurement gap configuration information in order to provide accurate positioning within the system.
Regarding claims 3-4 and 15, Duan further discloses the assistance information further comprises information indicative of time-wise development of the assistance information (para 101, PRS/SRS positioning signals, i.e. – assistance information are used to deal with clock drift for the multi-rtt positioning).
Regarding claim 5, Tsai further discloses the assistance information comprises configuration information resulting from time-wise satellite movements (Figure 12a, para 46, 80, 83-86). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to include time-wise satellite movements in order properly predict the correct time to perform synchronization for positioning.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Tsai further teaches the assistance information includes timing information (timing advance/differential timing) indicative of a sequence of time at which RTT measurements are expected to be performed by the UE (Figures 10-12, para 79-85). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include timing information indicative of a sequence of time in order to correctly measure the position of the user.
5
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Duan further discloses that the assistance information further comprises information related to the position reference signal (PRS) for multi-rtt measurements (para 95 and 101-102 – PRS signals used for positioning in a multi-RTT environment).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Duan does not disclose the ephemeris data is used to determine a Doppler shift and the measurement gap is determined further based on the doppler shift of the further network node. However, Tsai teaches that in a NTN/RTT based positioning network, Doppler shift is used (para 30) based on ephemeris data and used to update the measurement gap- para 31 and 33-34, updating the timing advance/differential based on Doppler shift information in ephemeris data). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include Doppler shift information in order to properly compensate for propagation delays.
Regarding claims 9, 12, and 19, Duan further discloses the assistance information is received from the LMF in a location positioning protocol message (para 55-57, LMF communicates with the nodes via LPP for positioning that uses reference signals, i.e. assistance information as well as para 60).
Regarding claim 11, Duan further discloses the assistance information further comprises at least one of: information related to the position reference signal (PRS) for multi-rtt measurements (para 95 and 101-102 – PRS signals used for positioning in a multi-RTT environment).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rao (2026/0046808) discloses reference signals that also have timing offsets in a NTN positioning system
Edge (12041578) discloses the use of RTT positioning in a wireless network with reference signals.
Thomas (2023/0194649) discloses the use of PRS signals in a NTN positioning with assistance data.
Edge (2020/0267683) discloses time differences in positioning.
WILLIAM GEORGE TROST IV
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/WILLIAM G TROST IV/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641