DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The “control means” of claim 3 and “base means” of claim 37 are being interpreted to invoke section 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 18 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (2) as being anticipated by Van Der Zaan-Landwehr Johan et al. (US 2016/0243378, hereinafter “Johan”).
In regards to claims 1 and 37, Johan discloses a phototherapy system for treating and preventing infections in tissue of a human or animal (as the intended use in the preamble does not appear to impart a structural limitation, the examiner is considering Johan’s system as capable of this use), the system comprising:
an optical head unit having a housing (Fig. 1, element 21) including a light source (Fig. 3, elements 6) configured to deliver light at one or more wavelengths in the light spectrum from 100 nanometers to 10,000 nanometers (par. 0091, “300 nm to 1100 nm”); and
a base/base means that selectively and operatively couples to the optical head unit to provide a consistent distance to a target site and prevent the light emitted from the light source from escaping into an environment surrounding the target site (Fig. 1, carrier 11, par. 0057, “for preventing light from escaping between the positioning part and the treatment part when the formations are engaged. This can prevent stray light from escaping”),
wherein the base/base means is configured to at least partially surround the target site (Fig. 1), and wherein the base defines an open-format morphology configured and dimensioned to allow a clinician to work freely on the target site when the optical head unit is decoupled therefrom (par. 0051, “[t]he opening 5 is a hole”; par. 0089, “the opening typically has a maximum linear dimension in the range 3 cm to 15 cm, such as a circle with diameter in this range,” which the examiner is considering a sufficient dimension to allow a clinician to “work freely on the target site”).
In regards to claim 2, the device further comprises an interlock that causes the light source to cease to emit light in response to the optical head unit being detached from the base (par. 0058, “[t]he light treatment device may further comprise a safety device for preventing the light emitter from emitting light when the positioning part and the treatment part are not magnetically coupled together”; par. 0090).
In regards to claim 5, the light source comprises a plurality of LEDs that are arranged in a lattice (Fig. 3, the LEDs are arranged in a regular geometric formation).
In regards to claim 18, at least one of a collimator or a filter is disposed over the plurality of LEDs light source (Fig. 4, walls of the treatment part form a collimator as it narrows the light beam applied by the LEDs and par. 0056 discloses cover 23 can be “translucent” so filters at least some light).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 13, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johan in view of Gamelin et al. (US 2017/0056686, hereinafter “Gamelin”).
In regards to claim 9, Johan discloses the essential features of the claimed invention except for wherein the circuitry further comprises: a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions; and a processor that executes the instructions to output drive signals to the LED drivers to control an operation of the plurality of LEDs. However, Gamelin in the same field of endeavor of light therapy teaches providing a system wherein the circuitry further comprises: a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions; and a processor that executes the instructions to output drive signals to the LED drivers to control an operation of the plurality of LEDs (pars. 0055, 0057) to provide the predictable results of remote control, subject-specific treatment, and flexibility of therapy conditions (par. 0057). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johan by providing a system wherein the circuitry further comprises: a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions; and a processor that executes the instructions to output drive signals to the LED drivers to control an operation of the plurality of LEDs to provide the predictable results of remote control, subject-specific treatment, and flexibility of therapy conditions.
In regards to claims 13, 16 and 17, Johan discloses the essential features of the claimed invention except for wherein the LED drivers provide variable current to one or more of the plurality of LEDs to irradiate the target site with a homogeneous distribution of the light emitted from the plurality of LEDs; wherein different sets of the plurality of LEDs are controlled by different ones of the plurality of LED drivers; or wherein the plurality of LEDs are calibrated to emit the light with homogeneous light distribution with a spatial uniform density within ten percent (10%).
However, Gamelin in the same field of endeavor of light therapy teaches providing a system wherein the LED drivers provide variable current to one or more of the plurality of LEDs to irradiate the target site with a homogeneous distribution of the light emitted from the plurality of LEDs (par. 0048); and wherein different sets of the plurality of LEDs are controlled by different ones of the plurality of LED drivers (par. 0048) to provide the predictable results of facilitating optimization of light emission uniformity (par. 0048).
Further, Gamelin expressly teaches that the light calibration is a results-effective variable and desirable to maximize light distribution uniformity (par. 0048) and it has been held that "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johan by providing a system wherein the LED drivers provide variable current to one or more of the plurality of LEDs to irradiate the target site with a homogeneous distribution of the light emitted from the plurality of LEDs; and wherein different sets of the plurality of LEDs are controlled by different ones of the plurality of LED drivers to provide the predictable results of facilitating optimization of light emission uniformity; and wherein the plurality of LEDs are calibrated to emit the light with homogeneous light distribution with a spatial uniform density within ten percent (10%) to yield no more than predictable results.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johan in view of Yang et al. (US 2013/0096657, hereinafter “Yang”).
Johan discloses the essential features of the claimed invention, except for wherein the plurality of LEDs form a hexagonal perimeter. However, Yang in the same field of endeavor of light therapy teaches a system wherein the plurality of LEDs form a hexagonal perimeter (Fig. 4) to provide the predictable results of uniform illumination so that therapeutic light can uniformly illuminate a site to be treated (par. 0031). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johan by providing a plurality of LEDs that form a hexagonal perimeter to provide the predictable results of uniform illumination so that therapeutic light can uniformly illuminate a site to be treated.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johan in view of Shah et al. (US 2022/0016439, hereinafter “Shah”). Johan discloses the essential features of the claimed invention, including providing a shutter to control the size and shape of the aperture (Figs. 9-12 and pars. 0073-0080), but does not expressly disclose wherein the optical head unit includes the shutter. However, Shah in the same field of endeavor of light therapy discloses a system wherein the optical head unit includes a shutter that controls an aperture through which the light emitted by the plurality of LEDs passes, wherein the shutter controls at least one of a size of the aperture or a geometry of the aperture (par. 0056, opening and closing a shutter is necessarily altering a size or geometry of an aperture) to provide the predictable results of more accurately and precisely administering the therapeutic dose of energy (par. 0056). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johan by providing a system wherein the base includes a shutter that controls an aperture through which the light emitted by the plurality of LEDs passes, wherein the shutter controls at least one of a size of the aperture or a geometry of the aperture to provide the predictable results of more accurately and precisely administering the therapeutic dose of energy.
Claims 3, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johan in view of Silver et al. (US 2021/0322782, hereinafter “Silver”). Johan discloses the essential features of the claimed invention, including utilizing a plurality of LEDs in wavelengths in the UV band “depending on the condition to be treated” (par. 0091), but does not expressly disclose wherein the plurality of LEDs are further comprising control means for causing the light source to emit the light for a specified period of time;
wherein the base has at least one of:
an asymmetrical C-shaped cross-sectional profile having an upper portion and a lower portion with the upper portion extending over the lower portion and extending further inwards than the lower portion to define the asymmetrical C-shaped cross- sectional profile; or
a generally truncated cone shape with a bottom opening having a first diameter and a top opening having a second diameter, the first diameter is greater than the second diameter; or
one or more wavelengths at which one or more of the plurality of LEDs emit light is at least one of 235 nm or between 207 nm and 265 nm.
However, Silver in the same field of endeavor of light therapy teaches providing a system wherein the plurality of LEDs are further comprising control means for causing the light source to emit the light for a specified period of time (par. 0106, “A control circuit is operatively associated with PCB 22 so that power source 24 and/or light source 18 can be deactivated after a predetermined treatment period”) to provide the predictable results of automatically applying therapy for the appropriate duration without the requirement of user interaction; and
wherein the base has:
a generally truncated cone shape with a bottom opening having a first diameter and a top opening having a second diameter, the first diameter is greater than the second diameter (Fig. 4) to provide the predictable results of establishing an effective distance and area of therapeutic light treatment relative to the biological tissue to be treated (abstract).
Further, Silver teaches one or more wavelengths at which one or more of the plurality of LEDs emit light covers a range that includes at least one of 235 nm or between 207 nm and 265 nm (100-280 nm, par. 0105), both Johan and Silver disclose that wavelength is a results-effective variable (Johan at par. 0091, “depending on the condition to be treated”; Silver at pars. 0009,0013 as a results-effective variable for treatment or prophylaxis against infectious organisms), and it has been held that "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johan by providing a system wherein the plurality of LEDs are further comprising control means for causing the light source to emit the light for a specified period of time to provide the predictable results of automatically applying therapy for the appropriate duration without the requirement of user interaction; wherein the base has a generally truncated cone shape with a bottom opening having a first diameter and a top opening having a second diameter, the first diameter is greater than the second diameter to provide the predictable results of establishing an effective distance and area of therapeutic light treatment relative to the biological tissue to be treated; and one or more wavelengths at which one or more of the plurality of LEDs emit light covers a range that includes at least one of 235 nm or between 207 nm and 265 nm to yield no more than predictable results.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johan in view of Gerber et al. (US 2016/0082281, hereinafter “Gerber”). Johan discloses the essential features of the claimed invention including providing additional light sources (Figs. 3, 4 and 6 depicting several), but does not expressly disclose wherein the base further comprises: a light source to deliver light into the base; wherein the base is configured to at least partially surround the target site and diffuse the light inwards and downwards toward the target site. However, Gerber in the same field of endeavor of light therapy devices teaches providing a base that further comprises: a light source to deliver light into the base; wherein the base is configured to at least partially surround the target site and diffuse the light inwards and downwards toward the target site (Fig. 1E) to provide the predictable results of disinfection and illumination of a surgical site to allow a user to perform a task in good view (par. 0012). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johan by providing a base that further comprises: a light source to deliver light into the base; wherein the base is configured to at least partially surround the target site and diffuse the light inwards and downwards toward the target site to provide the predictable results of disinfection and illumination of a surgical site to allow a user to perform a task in good view.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johan in view of You et al. (US 2019/0175907, hereinafter “You”). Johan discloses the essential features of the claimed invention except for wherein a temperature of a bottom of the base remains at less than 40 Celsius during operation of the circuitry. However, You in the same field of endeavor of light therapy teaches providing a system wherein a temperature of a bottom of the base remains at less than 40 Celsius during operation of the circuitry (par. 0185) to provide the predictable results of maintaining temperature similar to the human body and thus avoiding adverse effects (par. 0185). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johan by providing a system wherein a temperature of a bottom of the base remains at less than 40 Celsius during operation of the circuitry to provide the predictable results of maintaining temperature similar to the human body and thus avoiding adverse effects.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johan in view of Jeong (US 2020/0093945, hereinafter “Jeong”). Johan discloses the essential features of the claimed invention except for wherein the housing of the optical head unit has a fluid tight seal. However, Jeong in the same field of endeavor of light therapy teaches providing a system wherein the housing of the optical head unit has a fluid tight seal (pars. 0067, 0106, 0107) to provide the predictable results of preventing water, cosmetics, and the like from penetrating the housing and degrading performance (pars. 0067, 0106). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johan by providing a system wherein the housing of the optical head unit has a fluid tight seal to provide the predictable results of preventing water, cosmetics, and the like from penetrating the housing and degrading performance.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johan in view of Piergallini et al. (US 2011/0123958, hereinafter “Piergallini”). Johan discloses the essential features of the claimed invention except for a gel pad disposed on a bottom of the base to conform to contours of the tissue surrounding the target site. However, Piergallini in the same field of endeavor of light therapy teaches providing a gel pad disposed on a bottom of the base to conform to contours of the tissue surrounding the target site (Figs. 3 and 4) to provide the predictable results of light therapy in conjunction with a photoactivated composition (par. 0075). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johan by providing a gel pad disposed on a bottom of the base to conform to contours of the tissue surrounding the target site to provide the predictable results of light therapy in conjunction with a photoactivated composition.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johan in view of Gil et al. (US 2020/0179718, hereinafter “Gil”). Johan discloses the essential features of the claimed invention except for wherein the light emitted by the plurality of LEDs irradiates the target site to achieve over ninety percent pathogen inactivation in under five minutes. However, Gil in the same field of endeavor of light therapy teaches wherein the light emitted by the plurality of LEDs irradiates the target site to achieve over ninety percent pathogen inactivation in under five minutes (par. 0029) to provide the predictable results of therapy that is sufficient to kill/disable pathogens but prevent damage to the skin. The examiner is considering the disclosure of killing/disabling pathogens to constitute killing/disabling 100% of the pathogens. Alternatively and additionally, Gil recognizes that therapy dose is a results-effective variable and it has been held that "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johan by providing a system wherein the light emitted by the plurality of LEDs irradiates the target site to achieve over ninety percent pathogen inactivation in under five minutes to provide the predictable results of therapy that is sufficient to kill/disable pathogens but prevent damage to the skin and yield no more than predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5-9, 13-20, 30-32 and 37 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kennedy (US 2007/0185553) is another example of a light therapy device with light containment.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL W KAHELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792