DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment is confusing and likely to create errors should any patent be issued on these claims. The printer office would most likely print the strikethough font issue claims as it appears on pages 2-4, and the internal computer systems are treating the claims of pages 2-4 as the filed claims. The examiner notes the inconsistency between the amended claims and the clean version of the claims that is created by the strikethrough font issue. The examiner suggests that the best way to address this “strikethrough” font issue would to cancel claims 1-4 and represent the claims as claims 5-8 such that the claims are clear and the strikethrough font issue is negated.
For the purposes of compact prosecution, the examiner has examined what the applicant is calling the “clean” version of the claims, starting on page 5 of the response.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks and amendments (clean version), filed 11/24/2, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 102a1 over the Peters reference and claims 2-4 under 35 USC 103a over the Peters and Czach have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection addressing applicant’s amended claims under 35 USC 103a is made in view of the newly applied Viator in view of Peters for claims 1 and 3 and under 35 USC 103a is made in view of the newly applied Viator in view of Peters and Czach for claims 2 and 4.
Viator discloses a similar circuit as Peters as discussed below, utilizing a power source, a voltage sensor, a current sensor, a relay, a transformer, a heat applicator with leads and tips, and a controller, in the context of direct contact resistive heating, as well as a method for resistive contact heating. See the discussion below
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4 objected to because of the following informalities: The amended version of the claims does not match the clean version of the claims. The examiner suggests that the best way to address this “strikethrough” font issue would to cancel claims 1-4 and represent the claims as claims 5-8.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” or a generic placeholder for “means” or “step “but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
heat applicator in claim 1. The claim additionally recites “leads connected to the welding circuit and a tip for applying heat” which is sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
The term “controller” is known in the arts to be either a microprocessor, a CPU or a computer and therefore is NOT being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Additionally, the specification as filed is entirely consistent with this known interpretation, as it also uses the term “a computer-controller system” in paragraph 0021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 1-4, the amended version of the claims does not match the clean version of the claims, and the amended version of the claims replete with 112 issues as the office cannot determine which words have been deleted without looking at the clean version of the claims. The examiner suggests that the best way to address this “strikethrough” font issue would to cancel claims 1-4 and represent the “clean version” claims as new claims 5-8.
For the purposes of compact prosecution, the examiner has examined what the applicant is calling the “clean” version of the claims, starting on page 5 of the response. (If the clean versions of claims 1-4 were presented as claims many of the prior rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph would be overcome, except the rejection of claim 4, which is reproduced below).
Claim 4 (clean version) recites the limitation "a voltage sensor and a current sensor" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as well as plural/singular issues. Parent claim 3 (clean version) recites "voltage and current sensors" in plural in line 10, and it is unclear how the reference to "a voltage sensor and a current sensor" in singular claim 4 relates to this language in claim 3. It is suggested that applicant amend claim 4 to clarify the antecedent basis and singular/plural relationship between the sensors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viator (US 11673348 B1) and Peters (US 20180214966 A1).
As to claim 1, Viator discloses a computer-controlled welding device for applying heat to thermoplastic materials by direct-contact resistive heating (see column 3, line 17, disclosing “a heat sealing machine during a heat sealing process, e.g., of the type adapted to heat seal woven, flexible, plastic fabrics together, e.g., woven polypropylene or polyethylene fabrics.”), comprising:
a power source configured to supply electrical energy (via power function of power transformer 25; see column 4, line 53 disclosing “The power transformer preferably sends power directly to the heating element.”);
a voltage sensor (voltage transducer 22) connected to the power source to measure voltage supplied to a welding circuit;
a current sensor (current transducer 26) connected in the welding circuit to measure current flowing through the welding circuit;
a relay (switching device 23) operatively connected to the power source to control supply of electrical energy (see column 4, line 51, disclosing “switching device, e.g., a “peak switch” solid state relay (SSR) that physically controls the input power to a power transformer”);
a transformer connected to the relay and configured to deliver a low-voltage output to the welding circuit for resistive heating without generating an electrical arc (via the transformer function of the power transformer 25);
a heat applicator comprising leads (upper and lower seal bar 16) connected to the welding circuit and a tip (the surface of the seal bars) configured to contact thermoplastic material and generate heat by resistive conduction;
a controller (controller 21; see column 16, line 29, disclosing “a controller 21 (e.g., a PLC, laptop, computer, or other desired controller”) configured to receive inputs from the voltage sensor and the current sensor, and to control the relay based on the inputs (column 16, line 24 recites “In a preferred embodiment of a sensorless temperature sensing and control system and method of the present invention, during a heat sealing process of a bulk bag 50, which preferably is made of woven plastic fabric (e.g., polyethylene or polypropylene fabric, for example), electrical voltage and current feedback signals received by a controller 21 (e.g., a PLC, laptop, computer, or other desired controller) from a heating element 11 of a heat seal bar assembly 16 are used to monitor and control the temperature of heating elements 11, wherein no heat sensing sensors, e.g., no sensors 12 or 14, are physically connected to a heat seal bar assembly 16 during the heat sealing process.”); and
a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions (see column 4, lines 63, disclosing “Siemens S7-1200 analog PLC modules”, see also column 4, line 67, disclosing “Siemens S7-1200 analog PLC modules” and column 16, line 29, disclosing “a controller 21 (e.g., a PLC, laptop, computer, or other desired controller”, which is a disclosure of a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions) that, operate based on inputs from the voltage and current sensors
See Figure 11, below:
See column “FIG. 14 illustrates a sensorless program flowchart that includes process steps for software during a heat sealing cycle, e.g., to join flexible plastic fabrics together, including as follows.”
See the abstract, disclosing:
After calibration of a heat seal bar using a sensor, voltage and current feedback signals are processed by a programmable logic controller (PLC) to calculate the real-time electrical resistance of each heating element. Data and electrical resistance is used to calculate real-time temperature of the heat seal bar during heating.
See also page 4, column 35, disclosing
In one or more preferred embodiments, first, the voltage and current feedback signals are processed by transducers with most preferably 50 ms response time, or preferably 48 to 52 ms response time, that convert the voltage and/or current to analog output signals that can be processed by a controller, e.g, a PLC, laptop, computer or other desired controller. A controller, e.g., a PLC, preferably uses custom programming to take averages and perform smoothing of the transducer output signals. The program preferably flattens out the transducer output signal by taking a running average of multiple sampling points of voltage and current to calculate a more stable feedback signal. The program calculates the real-time temperature based on calibration values stored from the latest calibration. The calculated temperature value is used to control a pulse output on the controller or PLC. The controller or PLC pulse output is preferably connected to switching device, e.g., a “peak switch” solid state relay (SSR) that physically controls the input power to a power transformer. The power transformer preferably sends power directly to the heating element.
Viator, however, does not disclose the full limitation of storing instructions that, when executed by the controller, perform operations comprising:
i) calculating an optimal energy output based on inputs from the voltage and cur- rent sensors;
ii) adjusting the supply of electrical energy through the relay based on the calcu- lated optimal energy output; and
iii) monitoring a welding process to adjust the supply of electrical energy in real time for precision welding of thermoplastic materials.
However, Peters discloses - a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions (see paragraph 0032, disclosing “The high speed controller 170 may include logic circuitry, a programmable microprocessor, and computer memory, in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention.”) that, when executed by the controller, perform operations (see paragraph 0078, below) comprising: - calculating an optimal energy output based on the inputs from the voltage and current sensors; - adjusting the supply of electrical energy through the relay based on the calculated optimal energy output; and - monitoring the welding process to adjust the energy output in real-time for precision welding.
Peters discloses the above limitations in the contact of high intensity welding replacing a arc welding system, which is a computer-controlled (see paragraph 0032, disclosing “The high speed controller 170 may include logic circuitry, a programmable microprocessor, and computer memory, in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention.”) welding device, comprising:
- a power source (see paragraph 0061, disclosing “In the system 1000 shown in FIG. 10 the module 1010 is shown as a separate component from the power converter/inverter 120 and can, in fact, be a separate module which is coupled to a power supply external to a housing of the power converter/inverter 120.”) configured to supply electrical energy;
- a voltage sensor (voltage feedback 160) connected to the power source for measuring voltage supplied to a welding circuit;
- a current sensor (current feedback 150) connected in the welding circuit for measuring current flowing through the welding circuit;
- a relay (see switching module 110) operatively connected to the power source for controlling the supply of electrical energy;
- a transformer connected to the relay and configured to deliver a voltage output to the welding circuit without generating an electrical arc (see paragraph 0061, disclosing “As with the embodiments described above, the power converter/inverter 120 can be any type of known power supply module used for welding applications which is capable of output a welding signal, and as shown can include at least one transformer.”);
- a heat applicator comprising leads (“welding electrode wire E”) connected to the welding circuit and a tip (the welding gun) configured to contact materials and generate heat (see paragraph 0029, disclosing “The system 100 further includes a wire feeder 130 capable of feeding a welding electrode wire E through, for example, a welding gun (not shown) that connects the welding electrode wire E to the welding output 121.”);
- a controller configured to receive inputs from the voltage sensor and the current sensor, and to control the relay based on the received inputs (paragraph 0033, “the high-speed controller 170 may use the sensed voltage signal 161, the sensed current signal 162, or a combination of the two to determine when a short occurs between the advancing electrode E and the workpiece W, when a short is about to clear, and when the short has actually cleared, during each pulse period.”); and
- a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions (see paragraph 0032, disclosing “The high speed controller 170 may include logic circuitry, a programmable microprocessor, and computer memory, in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention.”) that, when executed by the controller, perform operations (see paragraph 0078, below) comprising:
- calculating an optimal energy output based on the inputs from the voltage and current sensors; - adjusting the supply of electrical energy through the relay based on the calculated optimal energy output; and - monitoring the welding process to adjust the energy output in real-time for precision welding. See paragraph 0073-78, disclosing:
[0073] As described above, various methods can be used to detect or determine the short circuit event, including known methods of detecting or predicting short circuit events. For example, some exemplary embodiments can use a detected arc power and/or arc voltage to determine when a shorting event is about to occur, or has already occurred. In exemplary embodiments, a threshold value for voltage and/or power can be set so that when the detected voltage or power surpasses the voltage and/or power threshold the change in polarity is initiated. For example, in some embodiments, the threshold voltage and/or power levels are selected based on a desired arc length. This will ensure that the polarity switches when the arc length is at or near a desired arc length prior to switching. In some exemplary embodiments, the desired arc length is in the range of 0.2 to 0.5 mm. This method of control can be desirable in some embodiments as when using a negative polarity the arc force pushes up on the consumable harder than on the puddle and thus the arc length will grow quickly. By detecting and utilizing the instantaneous power and/or voltage and comparing that to a threshold value—which corresponds to a switching arc length—the polarity can be switched at a desired point. The threshold power and/or voltage values can be set based on various input parameters related to the welding process and operation, including user input information, and the power supply/controller using a look-up table, or the like, can set the desired polarity switching power and/or voltage values. It should be noted that in embodiments of the present invention a short circuit event or a short circuit detection event as described herein can be either the detection of the actual short circuit or the prediction of an imminent short circuit using the methodologies described herein. Further, as discussed herein a short clearing event or short circuit clear event can mean either the actual disconnection of the consumable from the puddle or the determination of an imminent clearing or separation of the consumable. Again, the short clearing event can be detected using the methods described above to detect the short circuit event, for example, using voltage, dv/dt, etc. For example, detection of the presence or reignition of an arc—which indicates separation can be used and encompassed in a short clearing event. Such detection methods and circuits are known to those of skill in the art. In exemplary embodiments herein the same short circuit detection circuit (which are known) can be used to detect the short clearing event. Again, such circuits are known and their structure and operation need not be described in detail herein.
[0074] In other exemplary embodiments the power supply can also utilize a circuit to detect or determine the ratio dj/dt (change of output joules over the change of time) for the welding waveform and when the detected rate of change reaches a predetermined threshold the power supply switches from negative to positive polarity. For example, when utilizing a negative pulse welding waveform a large molten ball is created at the end of the electrode during each pulse. The dj/dt detection circuit (which can be constructed similar to a di/dt or dv/dt circuit, and use known circuit configurations) can exist in the controller 170 and/or the generator 180 and can be used to predict the size of the molten ball or the proximity to a short circuit event and when the detected dj/dt ratio reaches a predetermined threshold or value the current is switched from negative to positive polarity. In exemplary embodiments, the dj/dt predetermined threshold or value is determined in the controller 170 based on input information related to the welding operation and is present before the welding operation begins and the actual dj/dt ratio is compared to this threshold to determine when the current should be switched from negative to positive polarity. In exemplary embodiments of the present invention, the dj/dt ratio can be associated with the relative size of the molten ball on the end of the electrode such that when the dj/dt threshold is reached the molten ball is ready for transfer from the electrode to the puddle, but the ball has not yet made contact with the puddle. Thus, before ball transfer the polarity of the current switches from negative to positive but stays at a low current level so that the droplet can move towards the puddle and touch the puddle with a relatively low arc force. Once the molten ball contacts the puddle, then the controller initiates a short clearing function in the positive polarity and once the short clearing function is completed switches the polarity back to negative. By using a low current level after switching to positive polarity the ball transfer can occur in a positive polarity with a low arc force to provide a stable and controlled droplet transfer. In some exemplary embodiments, the low current level after switching positive is in the range of 5 to 100 amps and this current level is maintained until the droplet makes contact with the puddle, at which time a short clearing function is implemented. In other exemplary embodiments, the current is in the range of 5 to 40 amps.
[0075] Further exemplary waveforms that can be used with exemplary systems described and incorporated herein are shown in FIGS. 14 through 19 described below. The exemplary waveforms discussed below can be created by the exemplary systems and control methodologies discussed above, as well as discussed in the incorporated patents above—namely U.S. Pat. Nos. 6,215,100 and 7,304,269, the entire disclosures of which are incorporated herein by reference in their entirety. Further, the disclosure of U.S. Pat. No. 8,373,093 is also incorporated herein in its entirety. The exemplary waveforms described herein and below can be used as needed to control heat input into welding operations, as well as provided desired weld penetration without compromising quality of the weld. The waveforms and welding methodologies will be discussed in turn. It should be noted that the waveforms described below can be used in any number of welding type operations, such as GMAW, and can be used with various types of consumables, such as solid, flux cored, and metal cored without departing from the spirit and scope of the present invention.
[0076] Turning now to FIG. 14, an exemplary voltage 1410 and current 1420 waveform is shown. In some respects the current waveform 1420 is similar to a known STT type welding waveform, which is known. For example, an exemplary STT type waveform is shown in at least FIGS. 7 and 8 of the above reference '100 Patent and FIG. 1A of the '093 Patent referenced above (along with their respective accompanying discussions). Because of this incorporated references, the details of an STT type waveform will not be described herein. However, in exemplary embodiments of the present invention, the waveform 1420 can be used to appreciably reduce heat into a welding operation, and thus allow for thinner materials to be welded, as well as other advantages obtained from having a reduced heat input. As shown in FIG. 14, this is accomplished by breaking the STT pulse into two different polarities, where a negative peak and tailout current are used to reduce heat input. As with typical STT the current has a background current level (shown at A) which heats the molten ball at the end of the electrode. As the molten ball makes contact with the puddle and begins to short the current level is dropped (at point B) so as to allow the ball to wet into the puddle. After the current level drop at B a positive pinch current is used at point C to allow the ball to pinch off from the electrode. As the pinch point approaches the current level is dropped again—at point D- to a level to allow the ball separation to occur without significant spatter. This level can be below the background current level. This is, again, similar to known STT type processes as described in the patents incorporated herein. In known STT waveforms once the arc is re-established during the low current level at point D a peak current pulse is initiated. However, unlike those known systems, in current exemplary embodiments a stabilization current phase is initiated—see E. Thus, in exemplary embodiments, rather than immediately pulsing the current, a low positive current level is maintained, for a predetermined duration t to allow the arc to stabilize before the peak current pulse is initiated at an opposite polarity than the pinch current pulse C. This predetermined duration t allows the arc to reach a stabilized state before a change of polarity is initiated, and can be predetermined by the controller/CPU of the welding power supply based on input parameters of a given welding operation. For example, the predetermined duration can be determined based on the electrode type, wire feed speed, peak current level, travel speed, etc. Using this information, a look-up table can be used to determine the stabilization duration t. In exemplary embodiments, the stabilization duration t is in the range of 0.05 to 10 ms. In other exemplary embodiments, the duration t is in the range of 0.1 to 2.5 ms. As shown the stabilization duration begins at point 1421. In exemplary embodiments, the stabilization duration t begins when the initiation of the arc is detected. This can be determined based on the detection of a voltage level—exceeding a voltage threshold level and/or the use of dv/dt detection, where the rate of change of the voltage can be detected to determine that an arc has been established. In prior systems, the point 1421 is the point at which a peak pulse would have been initiated. However, in the shown exemplary embodiment the duration t is initiated. After the expiration of the duration t, at point 1423, the current polarity is changed to initiate the peak current pulse F, and the following tailout G. In this waveform, the peak and the tailout are done in same polarities, but are different from the pinch and background currents (see generally A, C, D and E). The peak and tailout serve to create separation between the electrode and the puddle and to supply heat to melt the end of the electrode creating the next droplet readying it for transfer. By using this opposite polarity a same or similar separation distance is achieved but with less heating action, thus adding less unwanted heat to the puddle. Thus allowing for the welding of thinner and more heat sensitive materials. After the tailout period G the current is switched back to the opposite polarity at point 1425. In exemplary embodiments, this switch point is at a predetermined current switching level. In some exemplary embodiments, this current switching level can be below 75 amps. In other exemplary embodiments, the switching current is in the range of 35 to 150 amps. In any event, the switching current should be at a level such that the switching circuitry is not overheated. The switching current can be predetermined by the welding system controller using information, such as peak current, etc. from the welding operation. In other embodiments, the switching current and can be predetermined based on the limitations of the welding system such that the circuitry is not overheated or compromised during operation.
[0077] It is noted that in the shown embodiment, the current level during the duration t is at the same level as the separation current during phase D. However, in other exemplary embodiments, this may not be the case. For example, in some embodiments, the stabilization current E can be higher than that of the separation current D, while in other embodiments, it can be lower. For example, in some exemplary embodiments the stabilization current E can be in the range of 5 to 25% higher than that of the separation current. Of course other embodiments are not limited to this and other variations can be used without departing from the spirit and scope of the present invention.
[0078] FIG. 15 depicts another exemplary embodiment of the present invention, where an exemplary current waveform 1500 is shown. In this embodiment the overall welding waveform comprises alternating periods of the waveform. For example, the waveform 1500 can have a first period 1510 where the waveform implements at least one single polarity pulse cycle (for example an STT cycle) followed by a period 1520 of the waveform in which the alternating polarity cycles are used. For example, in some embodiments, for at least a portion 1510 of the welding waveform 1500 a plurality of positive STT type cycles are performed and for a second portion 1520 of the waveform 1500 the alternating current STT cycles are used. This embodiment can be used to control the heat input to reach a heat input level as needed. Thus, in exemplary embodiments the overall waveform 1500 can have alternating periods where the positive period 1510 last from 1 to N cycles and the alternating period 1520 lasts for 1 to P cycles. The number of cycles determined in each alternating period can be determined the power supply controller based on user input information—to attain a level of desired heat input, or can be specifically determined by the user using a user input device on the power supply. Further, in some exemplary embodiments the welding system can monitor and/or calculate the overall heat input from the welding operation and if the detected/determined heat exceeds a threshold level the power supply automatically implements a second period of the waveform comprising a plurality of alternating current cycles as described above. In such a system, the power supply controller can continue to monitor and/or determine the heat input and at such time as the heat drops below a threshold level the power supply can revert back to the single polarity cycle period.
See also Figure 1 and 2, reprinted below:
Although Peters is directed towards high intensity welding such as “The high intensity energy source may include at least one of a laser device, a plasma arc welding (PAW) device, a gas tungsten arc welding (GTAW) device, a gas metal arc welding (GMAW) device, a flux cored arc welding (FCAW) device, and a submerged arc welding (SAW) device.”, paragraph 0005 suggests that the circuit and teachings can be used for “a combination wire feed and energy source system for any of brazing, cladding, building up, filling, hard-facing overlaying, welding and joining applications”. Additionally, the close structural similarity of the Viator and Peters circuit both utilizing a power source, a voltage sensor, a current sensor, a relay, a transformer, a heat applicator, a controller and computer structures suggests that the control routine can be easily transferred to welding circuits utilizing these features.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized full limitation of storing instructions that, when executed by the controller, perform operations comprising: i) calculating an optimal energy output based on inputs from the voltage and cur- rent sensors; ii) adjusting the supply of electrical energy through the relay based on the calculated optimal energy output; and iii) monitoring a welding process to adjust the supply of electrical energy in real time for precision welding of thermoplastic materials as taught in Peters in order to achieve efficient control of the energy output and supply during welding process.
As to claim 3, Viator discloses a computer-implemented method for precision welding of thermoplastic materials by resistive contact heating, comprising:
placing thermoplastic materials (such as woven polyethylene or polypropylene) to be welded in a predetermined position under control of a controller (controller 21);
aligning a heat applicator comprising leads and a tip (upper and lower seal bars 16) with the thermoplastic materials under control of the controller (controller 21);
making contact between the tip of the heat applicator and the thermoplastic materials under control of the controller (“moving the heat seal bulk bag into the heat seal machine with the heat seal bar assembly”);
energizing a welding circuit (“heating the heat seal bar assembly”) to apply a calculated amount of energy to the thermoplastic materials based on inputs from voltage and current sensors, as controlled by the controller (“monitoring the temperature of the heat seal bar assembly by collecting electrical resistance readings from the heating element of the heat seal bar assembly and comparing said electrical resistance readings to electrical resistance data of the calibration cycle”).
See the citations in the rejection of claim 1, above. See also Figure 11, reproduced above. See also, for example, column 7, line 36 to column 8, line 16, especially steps i) through o), disclosing:
The present invention includes a method of manufacturing a bulk bag comprising the following steps:
a) overlapping desired bag portions to form desired joint locations in a calibration cycle pre-assembled or pre-heat sealed bulk bag;
b) moving the calibration cycle pre-assembled or pre-heat sealed bulk bag into a heat seal machine comprising a heat seal bar assembly that has a calibration sensor couple thereto;
c) starting a calibration cycle of the heat seal bar assembly;
d) heating a heating element of the heat seal bar assembly;
e) moving the heat seal bar assembly to make contact with at least one said desired joint location of the calibration cycle pre-assembled or pre-heat sealed bulk bag;
f) collecting data on temperature and electrical resistance of the heating element to establish electrical resistance values of the heating element at selected temperatures;
g) removing the calibration cycle pre-assembled or pre-heat sealed bag from the heat seal machine;
h) removing the calibration sensor from the heat seal bar assembly;
i) overlapping desired bag portions to form desired joint locations for a heat seal bulk bag;
j) moving the heat seal bulk bag into the heat seal machine with the heat seal bar assembly that was calibrated in steps “c” to “f”;
k) starting a heat seal cycle of the heat seal bar assembly that does not have a heat sensor attached thereto;
l) heating the heat seal bar assembly;
m) monitoring the temperature of the heat seal bar assembly by collecting electrical resistance readings from the heating element of the heat seal bar assembly and comparing said electrical resistance readings to electrical resistance data of the calibration cycle;
n) moving the heat seal bar assembly to make contact with at least one said desired joint location and to form a joint between the overlapped bag portions in the desired joint location while continuing to collect and monitor electrical resistance readings of the heating element;
o) removing the heat seal bulk bag from the heat seal machine having the joint formed between said overlapped bag portions; and
(39) wherein during the heat seal cycle of steps “k” to “n” a sensor for monitoring temperature is not included on the heat seal bar assembly.
Viator does not disclose adjusting the supply of electrical energy during welding to maintain a desired applied energy profile.
Peters discloses adjusting the supply of electrical energy during welding to maintain a desired applied energy profile in the context of a similar method. (see paragraph 0031, disclosing “The system 100 also includes a high-speed controller 170 operatively connected to the current feedback sensor 150 and the voltage feedback sensor 160 to receive sensed current and voltage in the form of signals 161 and 162 being representative of the welding output.”)
Peters discloses a very similar computer-implemented method (see paragraph 0032, disclosing “The high speed controller 170 may include logic circuitry, a programmable microprocessor, and computer memory, in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention.”) for precision welding by heating, comprising:
placing materials to be welded (paragraph 0076, reciting “materials to be welded” and “welding of thinner and more heat sensitive material”) in a predetermined position under control of a controller;
aligning the heat applicator (paragraph 0029, disclosing “a welding gun (not shown) that connects the welding electrode wire E to the welding output 121.”) with the materials to be welded under control of the controller;
making contact between the heat applicator tip (paragraph 0027, disclosing “when the distance between the tip of the electrode and the workpiece is relatively small”) and the materials to be welded under control of the controller;
energizing the welding circuit (see figure 1 and 2) to apply a calculated amount of energy to the materials based on inputs from voltage and current sensors, as controlled by the controller;.
See also Figure 1 and 2, reprinted below:
Although Peters is directed towards high intensity welding such as “The high intensity energy source may include at least one of a laser device, a plasma arc welding (PAW) device, a gas tungsten arc welding (GTAW) device, a gas metal arc welding (GMAW) device, a flux cored arc welding (FCAW) device, and a submerged arc welding (SAW) device.”, paragraph 0005 suggests that the circuit and teachings can be used for “a combination wire feed and energy source system for any of brazing, cladding, building up, filling, hard-facing overlaying, welding and joining applications”. Additionally, the close structural similarity of the Viator and Peters circuit both utilizing a power source, a voltage sensor, a current sensor, a relay, a transformer, a heat applicator, a controller and computer structures suggests that the control routine can be easily transferred to welding circuits utilizing these features.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized full limitation of adjusting the supply of electrical energy during welding to maintain a desired applied energy profile as taught in Peters in order to achieve efficient control of the energy output and supply during welding process.
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viator (US 11673348 B1) and Peters (US 20180214966 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Czach (US 5366580 A).
As to claim 2, Viator and Peters does not disclose further comprising: a total power consumption sensor operatively connected to the controller, configured to measure the total power consumption of the welding system, wherein the stored instructions further include operations for adjusting the welding process based on the measured total power consumption.
However, Czach discloses a high frequency welding machine with a welding circuit and a current sensor, and discloses further comprising a total power consumption sensor operatively connected to the controller, configured to measure the total power consumption of the welding system, wherein the stored instructions further include operations for adjusting the welding process based on the measured total power consumption. Czach teaches in column 1, line 56 that “The computing device also comprises a sensor of die temperature for monitoring the changes in operating temperatures of the die, and a sensor (arcquench sensor) for detecting a "burn" or formation of a spark between the plates of the die which may damage the thermoplastic material.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising: a total power consumption sensor operatively connected to the controller, configured to measure the total power consumption of the welding system, wherein the stored instructions further include operations for adjusting the welding process based on the measured total power consumption such as the temperature sensor of Czach for detecting a "burn" or formation of a spark between the plates of the die which may damage the thermoplastic material.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viator (US 11673348 B1), Peters (US 20180214966 A1) and Czach (US 5366580 A).
As to claim 4, Viator and Peters does not disclose determining an effectiveness of a weld based on inputs from a voltage sensor and a current sensor, and adjusting the supply of electrical energy based on the determination.
However, Czach discloses determining an effectiveness of a weld based on inputs from a voltage sensor and a current sensor, and adjusting the supply of electrical energy based on the determination.. Czach teaches in column 1, line 56 that “The computing device also comprises a sensor of die temperature for monitoring the changes in operating temperatures of the die, and a sensor (arcquench sensor) for detecting a "burn" or formation of a spark between the plates of the die which may damage the thermoplastic material.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising determining an effectiveness of a weld based on inputs from a voltage sensor and a current sensor, and adjusting the supply of electrical energy based on the determination such as the temperature sensor of Czach for detecting a "burn" or formation of a spark between the plates of the die which may damage the thermoplastic material.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK