DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-17 are presented for examination on the merits. The following rejections are made.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of co-pending Application No. 18/368219.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited claims in all the applications are drawn to tablet formulations comprising PVA and crystalline cellulose. The co-pending application is directed to a sustained-release formulation/tablet that comprises PVA having an average saponification of 78-96 mol% and a polyhydric phenol compound. The co-pending application states that a 4% PVA solution has a viscosity of 15-70 mPas. The PVA is to have a particle size of 40-200 microns (see claim 5). The co-pending application teaches that the composition may comprise crystalline cellulose (see [0021] and claim 7) having a size less than 150 microns wherein the cellulose to PVA is in a ratio of 100:1 to 100:50 (see [0053]). Methods of making the tablet is described by claim 8 of co-pending application. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The scope of the claims in the cited applications are overlapping and the differences are considered to be obvious over each other. For example, the major difference between the two applications is that the copending application requires polyhydric phenol but as the present claims are comprising such compounds would be encompassed. All other limitations are essentially identical in that the compositions contain the same components in relative ratios. Thus, the claims of the co-pending application are not patentably distinct over the instantly claimed subject matter.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-13, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ognibene et al. (US 2017/0216213).
Ognibene is directed to tablet formulations comprising a mixture of microcrystalline cellulose (‘MC’) and polyvinyl alcohol (‘PVA’) (see abstract and claim 1) (see instant claim 1). Ognibene describes PVA as a ‘resin’ (see [0019]) (see instant claim 1).
The average particle size of the PVA is dependent on the molecular weight of the PVA and how the PVA is dispersed. However, [0125] teaches that PVA used in the reference tablet formulation has an average particle size of between 110 and 155 microns. More broadly, Ognibene teaches that the PVA is to have an average particle size between 50-260 microns (see [0064]) (see instant claim 10). A 4% aqueous PVA solution possesses a viscosity of between 3-70 mPa-s (see [0009] and claim 6) (see instant claims 1, 8 and 16). Although Ognibene does not disclose a PVA that has an average molecular weight of less than 100 microns and a 4% PVA solution as having a viscosity of greater 44 mPa-s, such would have been obvious both parameters are generally taught to be overlapping with the range instantly claimed. See MPEP 2144.05(I) regarding obviousness of overlapping/similar ranges and proportions.
Ognibene teaches the MC is to have an average particle size of 60-250 microns, preferably in the range of 90-140 microns (see claim [0015, 0050] and claim 17) (see instant claim 2). Regarding the limitation that the “crystalline cellulose” be “either not greater than 0.5 times or not less than twice the size of the average particle size of the polyvinvyl alcohol-based resin”, this is considered obvious. The reference teaches an average particle size of PVA to be between 50-260 microns and the average particle size of MC to be between 60-250 microns. Ratioing the lower bounds with each other and the upper bounds with each other yields a MC:PVA average particle size ratio of 6:5 (60 microns: 50 microns) and 25:26, respectively. Both of these ratios lie within that set forth by instant claim 2.
The weight ratio of MC to PVA is taught to be in the range of 2:1 to 1:2 (see claim 9) (see instant claims 3, 4, 6, 10, 11 and 13). The combination of MC and PVA has a tapped density of 0.55-0.63 g/mL (see [0010] and claim 10) (see instant claims 5 and 12).
The tablet comprising the blend of MC and PVA is to include a therapeutic active belonging to BCS class I (see [0013, 0021] and claim 17) (see instant claim 8). The resulting tablet is to be an extended-release (i.e. sustained-release) formulation (see instant claim 15).
Ognibene describes a method of producing the tablet by compressing (i.e. tabletting) a mixture of the pharmaceutical ingredient, MC and PVA together (see [0064]) (see instant claim 16).
The only difference between Ognibene and the instant claims is that Ognibene is not sufficiently specific with respect to a PVA having an average particles size of less than 100 microns and a viscosity of the PVA producing an aqueous solution with a viscosity of greater than 44 mPa-s. Although Ognibene discloses that the PVA used to produce their tablet is to be capable of producing a solution having a viscosity of between 3-70 mPa-s and have an average particle size of 50-260 microns, such is not considered anticipatory. However, as the claimed viscosity and claimed particle size are within the ranges described by the prior art, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been working within the framework set forth by the reference and if one identified PVA with an average particle size of 100 microns or less and a 4% aqueous solution having a viscosity of 44 mPa-s, that result would have been the product of ordinary skill and common sense rather than innovation. See MPEP 2141.05(I) which states that a claimed range which lies inside ranges disclosed by the prior art is supportive of obviousness. See also MPEP 2144.05(II)(A) which states that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, as evidenced by the references, especially in absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ognibene et al. (US 2017/0216213) as applied to claims 1-6, 8-13, 15 and 16 above, and further in view of Kawada et al. (US 2021/0395507).
Ognibene fails to teach the PVA as having a saponification degree of 70mol% or more to 100% or less.
Kawada, like Ognibene, is directed to tablet formulations. The tablets of Kawada are to comprise a saponified PVA binder, such that the PVA has a saponification degree of between 85-89mol% (see [0009, 0022, 0026]). Kawada teaches that employing PVA with such a saponification value is desired as the resulting tablets exhibit reduced water solubility, improved moisture-proofing, improved appearance/moldability and reduced tackiness between tablets (see [0006, 0007, 0020, 0028]). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the saponified PVA of Kawada in Ognibene’s tablet formulation with a reasonable expectation for success as the saponified PVA produces tablets having improved moisture-proofing, appearance and moldability. See MPEP 2143(I)(A) which states that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is evidence of obviousness.
Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, as evidenced by the references, especially in absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ognibene et al. (US 2017/0216213) as applied to claims 1-6, 8-13, 15 and 16 above, and further in view of Grattan (US 2004/0170681).
Ognibene fails to teach the pharmaceutical ingredient being in the form of a granule granulated using a binder.
Grattan is directed to paracetamol tablets wherein the tablet is made by a method of granulating excipients and the pharmaceutical actives to produce a therapeutic granule, the therapeutic granule is then combined with tabletting excipients and compressed to produce the final tablet composition (see [0018]). It would have been obvious to modify Ognibene’s method such that the pharmaceutical agent is formulated as a granule prior to tabletting with the tabletting materials (e.g. PVA, MC, etc). See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, as evidenced by the references, especially in absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
/KYLE A PURDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611