DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
The Examiner acknowledges receipt of the amendments filed on 4/23/2026 wherein claim 1, 8 and 16 have been amended.
Claims 1-17 are presented for examination on the merits. The following rejections are made.
Response to 1.132 Declaration
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 4/23/2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1-6, 8-13, 15 and 16 based upon Ognibene et al. (US 2017/0216213) as set forth in the last Office action.
The declaration argues tablets made from PVA and microcrystalline cellulose having physical properties such as that claimed exhibited improved release rates relative to mixtures having physical properties outside of that claimed.
The Examiner is not persuaded. For clarity, the Table from the declaration is provided:
. Applicant argues that No. 6 exhibits improved release rate due to the hardness of the resulting tablet. However, an improved release rate is not apparent to the Examiner from the data provided. For instance, inventive tablet No. 6 has a 10-hour release rate of 92.3% whereas comparative tablets No. 7 and Tablet No. 16 have a 10-hour release rate of 93.2% and 91.7%, respectively. It is not clear why a 92.3% release rate of the preferred formulation should be considered significantly different from a 93.2% or 91.7% of the comparative formulations as the desired formulation yields a release rate within about ±2% of the comparative release rates. From the Examiners perspective, based on the data provided by the declaration, there is no obvious unexpectedness seen for the preferred formulation relative to comparative formulations. Accordingly, the declaration is not considered persuasive.
Response to Applicants’ Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 4/23/2026 regarding the rejection of claims 1-6, 8-13, 15 and 16 made by the Examiner under 35 USC 103 over Ognibene et al. (US 2017/0216213) have been fully considered but they are not found persuasive and is MAINTAINED for the reasons of record in the office action mailed on 12/29/2025.
Applicant’s arguments filed 4/23/2026 regarding the rejection of claims 7 and 14 made by the Examiner under 35 USC 103 over Ognibene et al. (US 2017/0216213) further in view of Kawada et al. (US 2021/0395507) have been fully considered but they are not found persuasive and is MAINTAINED for the reasons of record in the office action mailed on 12/29/2025.
In regards to the 103 rejections, Applicant asserts the following:
A) The claimed mixtures enables a tablet with a higher hardness and a desirable dissolution rate as demonstrated by the declaration.
In response to A, the Examiner is not persuaded as the declaration is not considered persuasive. In particular, the declaration does not appear to demonstrate a degree of unexpectedness which would be considered mitigating of present rejection. Applicant is directed to sections 3-6 above where the declaration is discussed. However, Applicants response suggests that tablets 7, 15 and 16 failed to satisfy the required dissolution rate due to insufficient hardness. The Examiner does not see any real difference between the dissolution rates at the 10-hour measurement as the preferred tablet formulation has a 92.3% dissolution whereas the comparative tablets exhibit 93.2%, 101.1% and 91.7% dissolution. Aside from the 101.1% which is about 10% higher than the preferred formulation, the other two formulations exhibit similar properties to that being relied upon as unexpected thereby suggesting that the outcome is not unexpected.
Applicant’s argument that Ognibene only uses PVA having a viscosity of 18, 26, 28 and 40 mPas is not considered persuasive as Ognibene more broadly teaches that the PVA may have a viscosity of 3-70 mPas (see [0009]). Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or non-preferred embodiments. See MPEP 2123(II). Accordingly, as one of ordinary skill would have been capable of working within the broader framework of the prior art, the selection of PVA with viscosity in excess of that used by Ognibene’s examples, e.g. 44-70 mPas, would have been obvious.
Applicant’s arguments filed 4/23/2026 regarding the rejection of claims 1-17 made by the Examiner under non-statutory double patenting over co-pending Application No. 18/368219 have been fully considered but they are not found persuasive and is MAINTAINED for the reasons of record in the office action mailed on 12/29/2025.
In regards to the non-statutory double patenting rejection, Applicant asserts the following:
The Office’s citation of the specification of the reference application does not use the specification as a dictionary to learn the meaning of a term but to fill in the gaps is improper.
In response to B, the Examiner respectfully disagrees and requests identification of what exactly is being solely relied upon from the specification of the reference application. The double patenting cites the claims of the reference application in conjunction with the specification. The double patenting rejection is deemed proper and maintained.
Maintained Rejections, of Record
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of co-pending Application No. 18/368219.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited claims in all the applications are drawn to tablet formulations comprising PVA and crystalline cellulose. The co-pending application is directed to a sustained-release formulation/tablet that comprises PVA having an average saponification of 78-96 mol% and a polyhydric phenol compound. The co-pending application states that a 4% PVA solution has a viscosity of 15-70 mPas. The PVA is to have a particle size of 40-200 microns (see claim 5). The co-pending application teaches that the composition may comprise crystalline cellulose (see [0021] and claim 7) having a size less than 150 microns wherein the cellulose to PVA is in a ratio of 100:1 to 100:50 (see claim 7 and [0053]). Methods of making the tablet is described by claim 8 of co-pending application. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The scope of the claims in the cited applications are overlapping and the differences are considered to be obvious over each other. For example, the major difference between the two applications is that the copending application requires polyhydric phenol but as the present claims are comprising such compounds would be encompassed. All other limitations are essentially identical in that the compositions contain the same components in relative ratios. Thus, the claims of the co-pending application are not patentably distinct over the instantly claimed subject matter.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-13, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ognibene et al. (US 2017/0216213).
Ognibene is directed to tablet formulations comprising a mixture of microcrystalline cellulose (‘MC’) and polyvinyl alcohol (‘PVA’) (see abstract and claim 1) (see instant claim 1). Ognibene describes PVA as a ‘resin’ (see [0019]) (see instant claim 1).
The average particle size of the PVA is dependent on the molecular weight of the PVA and how the PVA is dispersed. However, [0125] teaches that PVA used in the reference tablet formulation has an average particle size of between 110 and 155 microns. More broadly, Ognibene teaches that the PVA is to have an average particle size between 50-260 microns (see [0064]) (see instant claim 10). A 4% aqueous PVA solution possesses a viscosity of between 3-70 mPa-s (see [0009] and claim 6) (see instant claims 1, 8 and 16). Although Ognibene does not disclose a PVA that has an average molecular weight of less than 100 microns and a 4% PVA solution as having a viscosity of greater 44 mPa-s, such would have been obvious both parameters are generally taught to be overlapping with the range instantly claimed. See MPEP 2144.05(I) regarding obviousness of overlapping/similar ranges and proportions.
Ognibene teaches the MC is to have an average particle size of 60-250 microns, preferably in the range of 90-140 microns (see claim [0015, 0050] and claim 17) (see instant claim 2). Regarding the limitation that the “crystalline cellulose” be “either not greater than 0.5 times or not less than twice the size of the average particle size of the polyvinvyl alcohol-based resin”, this is considered obvious. The reference teaches an average particle size of PVA to be between 50-260 microns and the average particle size of MC to be between 60-250 microns. Ratioing the lower bounds with each other and the upper bounds with each other yields a MC:PVA average particle size ratio of 6:5 (60 microns: 50 microns) and 25:26, respectively. Both of these ratios lie within that set forth by instant claim 2.
The weight ratio of MC to PVA is taught to be in the range of 2:1 to 1:2 (see claim 9) (see instant claims 3, 4, 6, 10, 11 and 13). The combination of MC and PVA has a tapped density of 0.55-0.63 g/mL (see [0010] and claim 10) (see instant claims 5 and 12).
The tablet comprising the blend of MC and PVA is to include a therapeutic active belonging to BCS class I (see [0013, 0021] and claim 17) (see instant claim 8). The resulting tablet is to be an extended-release (i.e. sustained-release) formulation (see instant claim 15).
Ognibene describes a method of producing the tablet by compressing (i.e. tabletting) a mixture of the pharmaceutical ingredient, MC and PVA together (see [0064]) (see instant claim 16).
The only difference between Ognibene and the instant claims is that Ognibene is not sufficiently specific with respect to a PVA having an average particles size of less than 100 microns and a viscosity of the PVA producing an aqueous solution with a viscosity of greater than 44 mPa-s. Although Ognibene discloses that the PVA used to produce their tablet is to be capable of producing a solution having a viscosity of between 3-70 mPa-s and have an average particle size of 50-260 microns, such is not considered anticipatory. However, as the claimed viscosity and claimed particle size are within the ranges described by the prior art, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been working within the framework set forth by the reference and if one identified PVA with an average particle size of 100 microns or less and a 4% aqueous solution having a viscosity of 44 mPa-s, that result would have been the product of ordinary skill and common sense rather than innovation. See MPEP 2141.05(I) which states that a claimed range which lies inside ranges disclosed by the prior art is supportive of obviousness. See also MPEP 2144.05(II)(A) which states that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, as evidenced by the references, especially in absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ognibene et al. (US 2017/0216213) as applied to claims 1-6, 8-13, 15 and 16 above, and further in view of Kawada et al. (US 2021/0395507).
Ognibene fails to teach the PVA as having a saponification degree of 70mol% or more to 100% or less.
Kawada, like Ognibene, is directed to tablet formulations. The tablets of Kawada are to comprise a saponified PVA binder, such that the PVA has a saponification degree of between 85-89mol% (see [0009, 0022, 0026]). Kawada teaches that employing PVA with such a saponification value is desired as the resulting tablets exhibit reduced water solubility, improved moisture-proofing, improved appearance/moldability and reduced tackiness between tablets (see [0006, 0007, 0020, 0028]). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the saponified PVA of Kawada in Ognibene’s tablet formulation with a reasonable expectation for success as the saponified PVA produces tablets having improved moisture-proofing, appearance and moldability. See MPEP 2143(I)(A) which states that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is evidence of obviousness.
Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, as evidenced by the references, especially in absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ognibene et al. (US 2017/0216213) as applied to claims 1-6, 8-13, 15 and 16 above, and further in view of Grattan (US 2004/0170681).
Ognibene fails to teach the pharmaceutical ingredient being in the form of a granule granulated using a binder.
Grattan is directed to paracetamol tablets wherein the tablet is made by a method of granulating excipients and the pharmaceutical actives to produce a therapeutic granule, the therapeutic granule is then combined with tabletting excipients and compressed to produce the final tablet composition (see [0018]). It would have been obvious to modify Ognibene’s method such that the pharmaceutical agent is formulated as a granule prior to tabletting with the tabletting materials (e.g. PVA, MC, etc). See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, as evidenced by the references, especially in absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYLE A PURDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611