DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The limitations of the size of the starch particle will be addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-10, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Netravali et al, US Patent Publication 2015/0203667 in view of Mangeon Pastori et al, US Patent Publication 2022/0363866.
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Netravali teaches a composite body [0061] comprising: starch composite particles [0043] containing starch [0044], a plasticizer [0043], and a crosslinking agent [0048]; and fibers (MFC [0048 and 0136]), wherein the starch composite particles are dispersed between the fibers (see figure 14C).
Netravali teaches the starch but is silent on the average particle diameter of the starch composites.
In the same field of endeavor of making a composite of a starch with a plasticizer and a crosslinking agent, Mangeon Pastori is presented.
Mangeon Pastori teaches the production of a composition that is made up of a starch [0092], plasticizer (see abstract and 0095 that teaches erythritol) and a crosslinker [0093] that is then injected into lignocellulosic materials including fibers powders or chips [0151] creating a mixture that would include the composite being present between the fibers.
Mangeon Pastori further teaches that the average diameter of the starch is between 15-60 microns [0083].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the starch particles of Netravali could have been sized in the under 50 micron sizing as shown as conventional by Mangeon Pastori for the benefit of utilizing a known elements in a conventional way to arrive at the desired end result.
Regarding claims 3, 6, 9, and 10, Netravali remains as applied above and further teaches that the total content [% by mass] of the starch, the plasticizer, and the crosslinking agent in the composite body is 1.5% by mass or more and 80% by mass or less by showing of each individual component:
Netravali teaches that the crosslinking agent can be 10-50% by weight [0047].
Netravali teaches that the plasticizer to starch ratio is 1:20 to 1:4 [0052].
MFC fiber 15% of starch weight in example on [0114].
All of these total to a composite with the combined values being within the claimed ranges of 1.5%-80% (or 1-50 in terms of the crosslinking in claim 9).
Regarding claims 4-5, Netravali remains as applied above and further teaches that the sugar alcohols are one or more selected from sorbitol, erythritol, and D-mannitol [0052].
Regarding claims 7-8, Netravali remains as applied above and further teaches the dicarboxylic acids are one or more selected from succinic acid, adipic acid, and sebacic acid [0047].
Regarding claim 13, Netravali remains as applied above and teaches all of the actively claimed limitations. Claim 13 provides an intended use of the composite body to be a buffer. Since all of the physical limitations of the composite body is taught above, the intended use as a buffer does not provide a patentable distinction to the product claim. All of the physical limitations of claim 13 (and claim 1) are directly taught.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Mangeon Pastori et al, US Patent Publication 2022/0363866.
Regarding claims 1 and 14, an alternative rejection is presented as the secondary reference discovered above would stand on its own as an anticipatory rejection in view of the independent claims.
Mangeon Pastori teaches the production of a composition that is made up of a starch [0092], plasticizer (see abstract and 0095 that teaches erythritol) and a crosslinker [0093] that is then injected into lignocellulosic materials including fibers powders or chips [0151] creating a mixture that would include the composite being present between the fibers.
Mangeon Pastori further teaches that the average diameter of the starch is between 15-60 microns [0083].
Conclusion
JACOB T. MINSKEY
Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748