DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species 2 in the reply filed on 02/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/11/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As claimed in claim 15, it is not clear as to what claimed “a second correction unit configured to generate a fourth correction value based on an output signal of the third pixel in the first pixel row read in the first operation mode, generate a fifth correction value based on an output signal of the third pixel in the first pixel row read in the second operation mode, and correct an output signal of the first pixel row based on the fourth correction value and the fifth correction value.” As using only second pixel row to generate correction value, how using first pixel row to generate correction value. It does not make any sense. It is unclear what subject matter the applicant is claiming, and therefore rendering the claim indefinite.
For the purpose of the art rejection, the Examiner interprets “a second correction unit configured to generate a fourth correction value based on an output signal of the third pixel in the first pixel row read in the first operation mode, generate a fifth correction value based on an output signal of the third pixel in the first pixel row read in the second operation mode, and correct an output signal of the first pixel row based on the fourth correction value and the fifth correction value” as “a second correction unit configured to generate a fourth correction value based on an output signal of the third pixel in the second pixel row read in the first operation mode, generate a fifth correction value based on an output signal of the third pixel in the second pixel row read in the second operation mode, and correct an output signal of the first pixel row based on the fourth correction value and the fifth correction value.”
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/09/2025, 06/07/2024 and 02/09/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 11 and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hideki (JP2017098931).
Regarding claim 1, Hideki discloses a photoelectric conversion device comprising:
a pixel array in which a plurality of pixels are arranged in a plurality of rows and a plurality of columns, the pixel array including a first pixel row including a first pixel having a plurality of photoelectric conversion units each configured to generate charges based on incident light and a second pixel row including a non-photosensitive pixel configured to output a signal not based on the incident light (Hideki: see figs. 3-4 and pars. [0014], [0019], [0025], wherein a pixel array 600 in which a plurality of pixels 100 are arranged in a plurality of rows and a plurality of columns, the pixel array 600 including a first pixel row of 602 including a first pixel having a plurality of photoelectric conversion units each configured to generate charges based on incident light and a second pixel row of 601 including a non-photosensitive pixel configured to output a signal not based on the incident light);
a reading unit configured to read a signal from the first pixel and the non-photosensitive pixel (Hideki: see pars. [0016], [0019], in which a reading unit 400 configured to read a signal from the first pixel and the non-photosensitive pixel); and
a first correction unit configured to correct a signal read from the first pixel (Hideki: see fig. 10 and par. [0056], noted that a first correction unit 502 configured to correct a signal read from the first pixel of 601),
wherein the number of the non-photosensitive pixels arranged in the second pixel row is greater than the number of the first pixels arranged in the second pixel row (Hideki: see fig. 4 and par. [0025], wherein the number of the non-photosensitive pixels 601 arranged in the second pixel row is greater than the number of the first pixels 602 arranged in the second pixel row),
wherein reading of a signal from the pixel array to the reading unit includes a first driving for outputting a signal based on a sum of charges generated in each of the plurality of photoelectric conversion units and a second driving for outputting a signal based on charges generated in one of the plurality of photoelectric conversion units (Hideki: see par. [0016], in which reading a signal from the pixel array to the reading unit 400 includes a first driving for outputting a signal based on a sum of charges generated in each of the plurality of photoelectric conversion units and a second driving for outputting a signal based on charges generated in one of the plurality of photoelectric conversion units),
wherein a first operation mode in which a signal is read from a pixel of one row by the first driving and a second operation mode in which a signal is read from a pixel of one row by continuously performing the first driving and the second driving are switchable for each row (Hideki: see pars. [0039], [0051]-[0052], note that a first operation mode in which a signal is read from a pixel of one row by the first driving as A+B image signal and a second operation mode in which a signal is read from a pixel of one row by continuously performing the first driving and the second driving are switchable for each row as the timing generation unit 303 appropriately switches the output mode of the control signal for each row), and
wherein the first correction unit generates a first correction value based on an output signal of the second pixel row read in the first operation mode, generates a second correction value based on an output signal of the second pixel row read in the second operation mode, and corrects an output signal of the first pixel row based on the first correction value and the second correction value (Hideki: see fig. 10 and par. [0060], [0063], note that the first correction unit 5023 generates a first correction value based on an output signal of the second pixels row 601 read in the first operation mode as average normal row, generates a second correction value based on an output signal of the second pixel row 601 read in the second operation mode as AF row average unit, and corrects an output signal of the first pixel row of 602 based on the first correction value and the second correction value).
Regarding claim 3, Hideki discloses the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 1, wherein the second pixel row includes a third pixel having a plurality of light shielded photoelectric conversion units (Hideki: see fig. 4 and par. [0025], wherein the second pixel row of 601 is OB pixels).
Regarding claim 4, Hideki discloses the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 1, wherein the first correction unit corrects an output signal of the first pixel row read in the first operation mode with the first correction value, and corrects an output signal of the first pixel row read in the second operation mode with the second correction value (Hideki: see fig. 10 and par. [0061], wherein the first correction unit 502 corrects an output signal of the first pixel row 602 read in the first operation mode with the first correction value as the output of 5023, and corrects and output signal of the first pixel row read in the second operation mode with the second correction value as output of 5024 through the switch circuit 5027).
Regarding claim 11, Hideki discloses the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 1, wherein the first correction unit generates a third correction value based on the first correction value and the second correction value, and corrects an output signal of the first pixel row based on the third correction value (Hideki: see fig. 10 and par. [0061], wherein the first correction unit 502 generates a third correction value as output of 5025 based on the first correction value as output of 5023 and the second correction value as output of 5024, and corrects an output signal of the first pixel row based on the third correction value as output of 5025).
Regarding claim 14, Hideki discloses the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 1, wherein the first pixel row further includes a third pixel having a plurality of light shielded photoelectric conversion units (see the analysis of claim 3).
Regarding claim 15, Hideki discloses the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 14 further comprising a second correction unit configured to generate a fourth correction value based on an output signal of the third pixel in the second pixel row read in the first operation mode, generate a fifth correction value based on an output signal of the third pixel in the first pixel row read in the second operation mode, and correct an output signal of the second pixel row based on the fourth correction value and the fifth correction value (see the analysis of claim 1, the fourth and fifth correction value as another round of correction processing).
Regarding claim 16, Hideki discloses the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 15, wherein the second correction unit corrects an output signal of the first pixel row read in the first operation mode with the fourth correction value, and corrects an output signal of the first pixel row read in the second operation mode with the fifth correction value (see the analysis of claim 1, the fourth and fifth correction value as another round of correction processing).
Regarding claim 17, Hideki discloses the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 1 further comprising a microlens, wherein the incident light having passed through one microlens is incident on the plurality of photoelectric conversion units (Hideki: see par. [0015], wherein the system includes a microlens 111, wherein the incident light having passed through one microlens 111 is incident on the plurality of photoelectric conversion unit 100).
Regarding claim 18, Hideki discloses the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 1, wherein in the second operation mode, the first driving is performed after the second driving (Hideki: see fig. 17).
Regarding claim 19, Hideki discloses the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 1, wherein in the first pixel row, the first pixel is arranged from a first column closest to one end of the photoelectric conversion device to a second column closest to another end opposite to the one end, and wherein in the second pixel row, the second pixel is arranged from the first column to the second column (Hideki: see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 20, Hideki discloses equipment comprising: the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 1; and an optical device adapted for the photoelectric conversion device (Hideki: optical device 1002, see fig. 2 and par. [0017]).
Regarding claim 21, Hideki discloses the equipment according to claim 20, wherein the processing device processes image signals that are generated by a plurality of photoelectric conversion units, respectively, and acquires distance information on a distance from the photoelectric conversion device to an object (Hideki: see par. [0015], [0025], wherein image signals are generated by photoelectric conversion units 100, and phase difference is acquired).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hideki (JP2017098931).
Regarding claim 2, Hideki discloses the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 1.
Hideki does not explicitly disclose that the second pixel row includes a second pixel having no photoelectric conversion unit.
The Examiner takes Official Notice that the second pixel row includes a second pixel having no photoelectric conversion unit is well known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a second pixel into Hideki to include a second pixel having no photoelectric conversion unit.
The motivation to do so is to save the cost for the system.
Regarding claim 5, Hideki discloses the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 1, wherein the second pixel row includes a second pixel having no photoelectric conversion unit, and wherein the first correction unit generates the first correction value and the second correction value based on output signals of the plurality of second pixels (Hideki: see fig. 4 and par. [0060], wherein the second pixel row of 601 includes a second pixel as OB pixels and OB pixels can be designed without photoelectric conversion unit, and wherein the first correction unit 502 generates the first correction value as output of 5023 and the second correction value as output of 5024 based on output signals of the plurality of second pixels 601).
Hideki does not explicitly disclose that a plurality of the second pixels are intermittently arranged in one row.
The Examiner takes Official Notice that a plurality of the second pixels are intermittently arranged in one row is well known tin the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate that arrangement into Hideki’s system to include a plurality of the second pixels are intermittently arranged in one row.
The motivation to do so is to save the cost for the system.
Regarding claim 6, Hideki discloses the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 5, wherein the first correction unit, in generating the first correction value and the second correction value, performs a process of estimating the first correction value and the second correction value of a column in which the second pixel is not arranged based on output signals of the plurality of second pixels (One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that estimating the correction value by polynomial approximation).
Regarding claim 7, Hideki discloses the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 5, wherein the first correction unit, in generating the first correction value and the second correction value, performs a process of estimating the first correction value and the second correction value of a column in which the second pixel is not arranged by approximating output signals of the plurality of second pixels using a polynomial (One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that estimating the correction value by polynomial approximation).
Regarding claim 8, Hideki discloses the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 1, wherein the second pixel row includes a third pixel having a plurality of light shielded photoelectric conversion units, wherein a plurality of the third pixels are intermittently arranged in one row, and wherein the first correction unit generates the first correction value and the second correction value based on signals of the plurality of third pixels (See the analysis of claims 3-5, considering the third pixels as the second pixels).
Regarding claim 9, Hideki discloses the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 8, wherein the first correction unit, in generating the first correction value and the second correction value, performs a process of estimating the first correction value and the second correction value of a column in which the third pixel is not arranged based on output signals of the plurality of third pixels (See the analysis of claim 6, considering the third pixel as the second pixel).
Regarding claim 10, Hideki discloses the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 8, wherein the first correction unit, in generating the first correction value and the second correction value, performs a process of estimating the first correction value and the second correction value of a column in which the third pixel is not arranged by approximating output signals of the plurality of third pixels using a polynomial (See the analysis of claim 7, considering the third pixel as the second pixel).
Regarding claim 13, Hideki discloses the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 1, wherein the second pixel row includes a plurality of rows including a third pixel row including a second pixel having no photoelectric conversion unit and a fourth pixel row including a third pixel having a plurality of light shielded photoelectric conversion units (see the analysis of claims 2 and 5), and
wherein in reading signals from the pixel array to the reading unit, reading of the third pixel row is performed between reading of the fourth pixel row and reading of the first pixel row (Hideki: see par. [0052], wherein the time generator 303 can control which row is performed).
Conclusion
/CHAN T NGUYEN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2638
/LIN YE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2638