1. This office action, in response to the amendment filed 7/7/2026, is a final office action.
Response to Arguments and Amendments
2. The terminal disclaimers are approved. The terminal disclaimer have overcome the previous double patenting rejections. The previous double patenting rejections are withdrawn.
3. Applicant states the amended claims are not taught by the previously cited prior art. The examiner disagrees.
Applicant explains the method as stated in amended independent claim 1 on pages 8-9 of the remarks. Applicant states the office action fails to identify a transponder in Rakib and erroneously concludes that Rakib discloses establishing bi-directional communication between at least one of the transponders and the gateway device for transmitting signals on page 9 of the remarks. The examiner disagrees. Rahib discloses the communication system shown in figures 5, 6 and 10. Figure 5 shows the cable head 202 communicating to fiber nodes 300 and to individual neighborhoods 1-3. Paragraph 0176 discloses the neighborhood CATV system contains amplifiers to boost the RF signals. Paragraph 0173 recites, at the fiber node, FN 204, the optical signal is converted into a CATV radio frequency (RF) signal and sent via CATV cables to individual cable modems at individual houses 200 in each neighborhood. Therefore, Rakib discloses coaxial cables and a plurality of RF amplifiers coupled to coaxial cables. The FN nodes can be labelled transponders. Rakib discloses the cable head 202 in figure 6. This head end is connected to different networks. The circuitry in the cable head 202 that connects these different networks and translates data formats and protocols so devices on either side can understand each other is labelled a gateway. Examples of these different networks is the internet protocol backbone 212 and analog and digital channels that provide media content 210. Paragraph 0169 provides additional information.
Applicant states the office action never provides an explanation of where Rakib discloses a transponder, much less a transponder included in an amplifier and applicant respectfully submits that Rakib does not disclose bidirectional communication between a transponder in an amplifier and a gateway device on page 10 of the remarks. The examiner disagrees that these features are not disclosed in the previously cited references. Rahib discloses the communication system shown in figures 5, 6 and 10. Figure 5 shows the cable head 202 communicating to fiber nodes 300 and to individual neighborhoods 1-3. Paragraph 0176 discloses the neighborhood CATV system contains amplifiers to boost the RF signals. Paragraph 0173 recites, at the fiber node, FN 204, the optical signal is converted into a CATV radio frequency (RF) signal and sent via CATV cables to individual cable modems at individual houses 200 in each neighborhood. Therefore, Rakib discloses coaxial cables and a plurality of RF amplifiers coupled to coaxial cables. The FN nodes can be labelled transponders. Rakib discloses the cable head 202 in figure 6. This head end is connected to different networks. The circuitry in the cable head 202 that connects these different networks and translates data formats and protocols so devices on either side can understand each other is labelled a gateway. Examples of these different networks is the internet protocol backbone 212 and analog and digital channels that provide media content 210. Paragraph 0169 provides additional information.
Applicant states Maxson never discloses that a handheld testing device is used to make adjustments in the amplifiers or to transmit amplifier data on page 10 of the remarks. The examiner disagrees. Maxson discloses, in paragraph 0003, upstream and downstream measurements are used to install, adjust and troubleshoot amplifiers and other plant components on a CATV network or plant. Conventional testing, using a handheld test meter, includes injecting a test signal of known amplitude onto the plant, whereby the signal propagates through the CATV network, passing through various actives and passives disposed therein. The technician measures the level of the test signal at various points in the network to isolate problem, adjust the active network components, e.g., amplifiers and install/replace components. Paragraph 0005 recites when performing reverse sweep test measurements, care must be taken to prevent interference between injected test signals and active services on the network. Paragraph 0007 recites, accordingly, the present invention relates to a method for measuring the frequency response of a transmission link. The method comprising: generating a first test signal and modulating the test signal using direct sequence spread spectrum with a chip rate, data rate and a spreading code length forming a DSSS test signal. The method transmits the DSSS test data signal into the transmission link at a transmitted power level at a transmitted power level below the noise floor level to limit interference with the signal traffic. The method demodulates the DSSS test signal at a receiver in order to measure the signal level of the first test signal and monitors the received data signal power level as a function of the test signal data rate at a receiver. Paragraph 0022 discloses the present invention relates to the injection of DSSS signals as test signals, defined by a plurality of different center wavelengths, into a cable television network 1 with a handheld testing device or a permanent transmitter 3 at the head end and measuring the power levels of the test signals with receivers at one or more locations throughout the CATV network 1, while the active cable channels can be transmitted at the same wavelengths. The injected DSSS test signals are transmitted at such low power, relative to the active services, e.g., cable channels, that performance impact on the cablevision traffic is negligible. Therefore, Maxson discloses test signals are monitored to isolate problems and adjust the active network components such as amplifiers while not interfering with the traffic generated by those amplifiers. Paragraph 0029 recites, a handheld testing device 21, illustrated in figure 5, can include the transmitter equipment 3 and/or the receiver equipment 7, along with a display screen 22, a suitable cable connector 23, and a control processor 24. Since, the handheld testing device has both the transmitter and the receiver, the handheld testing device will communicate bi-directionally.
Applicant states Maxson never mentions the transmitter equipment 3, receiver equipment 7 or the handheld testing device being located in an amplifier on page 11 of the remarks. The combination discloses at least one of the RF amplifiers including a transponder as stated above and the rejection of claim 1 stated below as required by the amendment of claim 1. Rahib discloses the communication system shown in figures 5, 6 and 10. Figure 5 shows the cable head 202 communicating to fiber nodes 300 and to the individual neighborhoods 1-3. Paragraph 0176 discloses the neighborhood CATV system contains amplifiers to boost the RF signals. Paragraph 0173 recites, at the fiber node, FN 204, the optical signal is converted into a CATV radio frequency (RF) signal and sent via CATV cables to individual cable modems at individual houses 200 in each neighborhood. Therefore, Rakib discloses coaxial cables and a plurality of RF amplifiers coupled to coaxial cables. The FN nodes can be labelled transponders. In addition, Maxson discloses the transmitter equipment 3 in greater detail in figure 4. The transmitter equipment 3 comprises amplifier 19.
Applicant states the combination of Maxson with Rakib does not disclose establishing bi-directional transmissions between the transponder in the at least one of the amplifiers and the gateway device for transmitting downstream amplifier control signals from the gateway device to the transponder and/or transmitting upstream amplifier signals from the transponder to the gateway device as stated on page 11 of the remarks. The combination of Rakib and Maxson discloses the features of claim 1. The combination discloses establishing bi-directional communication between a transponder and the portable network. Rakib discloses the communication network as shown in figures 5, 6 and 10. Figure 5 shows the cable head 202 communicating to fiber nodes 300 and to the individual neighborhoods 1-3. Paragraph 0176 discloses the neighborhood CATV system contains amplifiers to boost the RF signals. Paragraph 0173 recites, at the fiber node, FN 204, the optical signal is converted into a CATV radio frequency (RF) signal and sent via CATV cables to individual cable modems at individual houses 200 in each neighborhood. Therefore, Rakib discloses coaxial cables and a plurality of RF amplifiers coupled to coaxial cables. The FN nodes can be labelled transponders. Rakib does not disclose establishing bi-directional transmissions between at least one of the transponders and the gateway device using the spread spectrum signals. Maxson discloses, in paragraph 0003, upstream and downstream measurements are used to install, adjust and troubleshoot amplifiers and other plant components on a CATV network or plant. Conventional testing, using a handheld test meter, includes injecting a test signal of known amplitude onto the plant, whereby the signal propagates through the CATV network, passing through various actives and passives disposed therein. The technician measures the level of the test signal at various points in the network to isolate problem, adjust the active network components, e.g., amplifiers and install/replace components. Paragraph 0005 recites when performing reverse sweep test measurements, care must be taken to prevent interference between injected test signals and active services on the network. Paragraph 0007 recites, accordingly, the present invention relates to a method for measuring the frequency response of a transmission link. The method comprising: generating a first test signal and modulating the test signal using direct sequence spread spectrum with a chip rate, data rate and a spreading code length forming a DSSS test signal. The method transmits the DSSS test data signal into the transmission link at a transmitted power level at a transmitted power level below the noise floor level to limit interference with the signal traffic. The method demodulates the DSS test signal at a receiver in order to measure the signal level of the first test signal and monitors the received data signal power level as a function of the test signal data rate at a receiver. Paragraph 0022 discloses the present invention relates to the injection of DSSS signals as test signals, defined by a plurality of different center wavelengths, into a cable television network 1 with a handheld testing device or a permanent transmitter 3 at the head end and measuring the power levels of the test signals with receivers at one or more locations throughout the CATV network 1, while the active cable channels can be transmitted at the same wavelengths. The injected DSSS test signals are transmitted at such low power, relative to the active services, e.g., cable channels, that performance impact on the cablevision traffic is negligible. Figures 3a and 3b shows the network for transmitting and receiving the forward and return path through the network. The signals will include the traffic as well as the injected DSSS data test signals. For both of these paths to be transmitted and received, the transmitter components and the monitoring components will be present at each of the nodes shown. Paragraph 0029 recites, a handheld testing device 21, illustrated in figure 5, can include the transmitter equipment 3 and/or the receiver equipment 7, along with a display screen 22, a suitable cable connector 23, and a control processor 24. Since, the handheld testing device (or the permanent transmitter) has both the transmitter and the receiver, the handheld testing device will communicate bi-directionally. The headend (cable head) includes the gateway.
Applicant states Rakib and Maxson, alone or in combination, do not disclose or make obvious a headend gateway device or transponder configured to transmit and receive upstream data signals and downstream control signals as stated on page 12 of the remarks. The examiner disagrees. As stated above, Rahib discloses the communication system shown in figures 5, 6 and 10. Figure 5 shows the cable head 202 communicating to fiber nodes 300 and to individual neighborhoods 1-3. Paragraph 0176 discloses the neighborhood CATV system contains amplifiers to boost the RF signals. Paragraph 0173 recites, at the fiber node, FN 204, the optical signal is converted into a CATV radio frequency (RF) signal and sent via CATV cables to individual cable modems at individual houses 200 in each neighborhood. Therefore, Rakib discloses coaxial cables and a plurality of RF amplifiers coupled to coaxial cables. The FN nodes can be labelled transponders. Rakib discloses the cable head 202 in figure 6. This head end is connected to different networks. The circuitry in the cable head 202 that connects these different networks and translates data formats and protocols so devices on either side can understand each other is labelled a gateway. Examples of these different networks is the internet protocol backbone 212 and analog and digital channels that provide media content 210. Paragraph 0169 provides additional information. Rakib does not disclose establishing bi-directional transmissions between at least one of the transponders and the gateway device using the spread spectrum signals. Maxson discloses, in paragraph 0003, upstream and downstream measurements are used to install, adjust and troubleshoot amplifiers and other plant components on a CATV network or plant. Conventional testing, using a handheld test meter, includes injecting a test signal of known amplitude onto the plant, whereby the signal propagates through the CATV network, passing through various actives and passives disposed therein. The technician measures the level of the test signal at various points in the network to isolate problem, adjust the active network components, e.g., amplifiers and install/replace components. Paragraph 0005 recites when performing reverse sweep test measurements, care must be taken to prevent interference between injected test signals and active services on the network. Paragraph 0007 recites, accordingly, the present invention relates to a method for measuring the frequency response of a transmission link. The method comprising: generating a first test signal and modulating the test signal using direct sequence spread spectrum with a chip rate, data rate and a spreading code length forming a DSSS test signal. The method transmits the DSSS test data signal into the transmission link at a transmitted power level at a transmitted power level below the noise floor level to limit interference with the signal traffic. The method demodulates the DSS test signal at a receiver in order to measure the signal level of the first test signal and monitors the received data signal power level as a function of the test signal data rate at a receiver. Paragraph 0022 discloses the present invention relates to the injection of DSSS signals as test signals, defined by a plurality of different center wavelengths, into a cable television network 1 with a handheld testing device or a permanent transmitter 3 at the head end and measuring the power levels of the test signals with receivers at one or more locations throughout the CATV network 1, while the active cable channels can be transmitted at the same wavelengths. The injected DSSS test signals are transmitted at such low power, relative to the active services, e.g., cable channels, that performance impact on the cablevision traffic is negligible. Figures 3a and 3b shows the network for transmitting and receiving the forward and return path through the network. The signals will include the traffic as well as the injected DSSS data test signals. For both of these paths to be transmitted and received, the transmitter components and the monitoring components will be present at each of the nodes shown. Paragraph 0029 recites, a handheld testing device 21, illustrated in figure 5, can include the transmitter equipment 3 and/or the receiver equipment 7, along with a display screen 22, a suitable cable connector 23, and a control processor 24. Since, the handheld testing device (or the permanent transmitter) has both the transmitter and the receiver, the handheld testing device will communicate bi-directionally. The headend (cable head) includes the gateway.
Applicant states Maxson does not remedy the shortcomings of Rakib and does not disclose or make obvious amplifier control signals and amplifier data signals are recited in amended independent claim 11 as stated on pages 12-13 of the remarks. The examiner disagrees. Maxson discloses a handheld testing device 21 can include the transmitter equipment 3 and the receiver equipment 7 as stated in paragraph 0029. The transmitted signals include the injected DSSS test signal for adjusting the amplifiers and the receiving signals comprise the traffic signals with the injected DSSS test signal. The traffic signals are amplified as stated above in the system of the combination.
Applicant states Rakib and Maxson, alone or combined, do not disclose or make obvious an amplifier transponder configured to receive downstream amplifier control signals and to transmit upstream amplifier data signals as stated on page 13 and 14 of the remarks. The examiner disagrees. As stated above, Rakib discloses the communication network as shown in figures 5, 6 and 10. Figure 5 shows the cable head 202 communicating to fiber nodes 300 and to the individual neighborhoods 1-3. Paragraph 0176 discloses the neighborhood CATV system contains amplifiers to boost the RF signals. Paragraph 0173 recites, at the fiber node, FN 204, the optical signal is converted into a CATV radio frequency (RF) signal and sent via CATV cables to individual cable modems at individual houses 200 in each neighborhood. Therefore, Rakib discloses coaxial cables and a plurality of RF amplifiers coupled to coaxial cables. The FN nodes can be labelled transponders. Rakib does not disclose establishing bi-directional transmissions between at least one of the transponders and the gateway device using the spread spectrum signals. Maxson discloses, in paragraph 0003, upstream and downstream measurements are used to install, adjust and troubleshoot amplifiers and other plant components on a CATV network or plant. Conventional testing, using a handheld test meter, includes injecting a test signal of known amplitude onto the plant, whereby the signal propagates through the CATV network, passing through various actives and passives disposed therein. The technician measures the level of the test signal at various points in the network to isolate problem, adjust the active network components, e.g., amplifiers and install/replace components. Paragraph 0005 recites when performing reverse sweep test measurements, care must be taken to prevent interference between injected test signals and active services on the network. Paragraph 0007 recites, accordingly, the present invention relates to a method for measuring the frequency response of a transmission link. The method comprising: generating a first test signal and modulating the test signal using direct sequence spread spectrum with a chip rate, data rate and a spreading code length forming a DSSS test signal. The method transmits the DSSS test data signal into the transmission link at a transmitted power level at a transmitted power level below the noise floor level to limit interference with the signal traffic. The method demodulates the DSS test signal at a receiver in order to measure the signal level of the first test signal and monitors the received data signal power level as a function of the test signal data rate at a receiver. Paragraph 0022 discloses the present invention relates to the injection of DSSS signals as test signals, defined by a plurality of different center wavelengths, into a cable television network 1 with a handheld testing device or a permanent transmitter 3 at the head end and measuring the power levels of the test signals with receivers at one or more locations throughout the CATV network 1, while the active cable channels can be transmitted at the same wavelengths. The injected DSSS test signals are transmitted at such low power, relative to the active services, e.g., cable channels, that performance impact on the cablevision traffic is negligible. Figures 3a and 3b shows the network for transmitting and receiving the forward and return path through the network. The signals will include the traffic as well as the injected DSSS data test signals. For both of these paths to be transmitted and received, the transmitter components and the monitoring components will be present at each of the nodes shown. Paragraph 0029 recites, a handheld testing device 21, illustrated in figure 5, can include the transmitter equipment 3 and/or the receiver equipment 7, along with a display screen 22, a suitable cable connector 23, and a control processor 24. Since, the handheld testing device (or the permanent transmitter) has both the transmitter and the receiver, the handheld testing device will communicate bi-directionally. The headend (cable head) includes the gateway.
Applicant states one of ordinary skill in the art would not have applied the teaching of Woytowitz into the method of the combination as stated on pages 15-16 of the remarks. The examiner disagrees. Woytowitz discloses a method and system where the wireless links utilize a LoRa transceiver employing spread spectrum modulation based on chirp spread spectrum (CSS) technology (paragraph 0077). The use of a LoRa transceiver will represent the use of a LoRa wide area network in that the transceiver will be but one component in a larger system. Paragraph 0077 further discloses this is a wideband radio system and is more robust to noise and in-band interference. CSS is somewhat resistant to multi-path fading, Doppler effects and nearby interference. Paragraph 0078 discloses on occasions where higher data rates may be used, other modulation systems may be used such as GFSK (Gaussian Frequency Shift Keying). Woytowitz discloses the transceiver integrated circuit can be the Semtech SX1276 LoRa transceiver integrated circuit in paragraph 0076. The applications of this example transceiver, the Semtech SX1276 LoRa transceiver integrated circuit, are not restricted to only the application recited in the reference. The transceiver can be applied to numerous other applications such as wireless networks to utilize the advantages stated on paragraphs 0077-0078 of Woytowitz and stated in the previous rejections of the claims.
The previous rejection of claim 19 is maintained for the reasons stated in the rejection of the claim.
The rejections of the claims are stated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-3, 7-12, 16, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rakib (US 2015/0172072) in view of Maxson et al (US 2009/0271836).
Regarding claim 1, Rakib discloses a method for communication with radio frequency (RF) amplifiers in a hybrid fiber-coaxial (HFC) network (Title: Virtual converged cable access platform for HFC cable networks.) including a headend, at least one node coupled to the headend with optical fiber, and a coaxial cable distribution network including coaxial cables and a plurality of RF amplifiers coupled to the coaxial cables (Paragraph 0176: the neighborhood CATV system and may also contain various active devices such as amplifiers to boost RF signals.), at least one of the RF amplifiers including a transponder at least one of the RF amplifiers including a transponder (Figure 10: extended upstream gateway. Figure 10 shows the upstream and downstream data. Rahib discloses the communication system shown in figures 5, 6 and 10. Figure 5 shows the cable head 202 communicating to fiber nodes 300 and to the individual neighborhoods 1-3. Paragraph 0176 discloses the neighborhood CATV system contains amplifiers to boost the RF signals. Paragraph 0173 recites, at the fiber node, FN 204, the optical signal is converted into a CATV radio frequency (RF) signal and sent via CATV cables to individual cable modems at individual houses 200 in each neighborhood. Therefore, Rakib discloses coaxial cables and a plurality of RF amplifiers coupled to coaxial cables. The FN nodes can be labelled transponders.) and the headend including a gateway device (Figure 10: extended upstream gateway. Figure 10 shows the upstream and downstream data.), comprising:
transmitting downstream primary signals from the headend to the coaxial cable distribution network (Figures 5 and 6 shows the upstream data and downstream data.), wherein the downstream primary signals are amplified by the RF amplifiers (Paragraph 0176: the neighborhood CATV system and may also contain various active devices such as amplifiers to boost RF signals.); and
transmitting upstream primary signals to the headend from the coaxial cable distribution network (Figures 5 and 6 shows the upstream data and downstream data.), wherein the upstream primary signals are amplified by the RF amplifiers (Paragraph 0176: the neighborhood CATV system and may also contain various active devices such as amplifiers to boost RF signals.).
Rakib discloses establishing bi-directional transmissions between at least one of the transponders and the gateway device for transmitting signals. Rakib does not disclose establishing bi-directional transmissions between at least one of the transponders and the gateway device for transmitting downstream control signals from the gateway device to the at least one of the transponders and/or for transmitting upstream data signals from the at least one of the transponders to the gateway device, wherein the bi-directional transmissions use spread-spectrum modulated signals on the coaxial cables together with the downstream and upstream primary signals, wherein the spread-spectrum modulated signals used for the bi-directional transmissions have a lower data rate and less power than the downstream and upstream primary signals and are positioned in frequency relative to the downstream and upstream primary signals such that the bi-directional transmissions occur without detectable interference with the downstream and upstream primary signals.
Maxson discloses a CATV network with direct sequence spread spectrum signals as stated in the abstract. Maxson discloses the present invention relates to the injection of a plurality of direct sequence spread spectrum (DSSS) signals as test signals, defined by a plurality of different center wavelengths, into a cable television network with a handheld testing device at the headend 5 and measuring the power levels of the test signals with receivers at one or more locations 7 throughout the CATV network as stated in paragraph 0022. The injected DSSS test signals are transmitted as such low power, relative to the active services, e.g., cable channels, that the performance impact on the cablevision traffic is negligible (paragraph 0022). Paragraph 0023 discloses testing in the forward path. Paragraph 0024 discloses testing in the return path. Figures 6, 7 and 8 show the test signals relative to the signal traffic.
Maxson discloses establishing bi-directional transmissions between the transponder in the at least one of the RF amplifiers and the gateway device for transmitting downstream amplifier control signals from the gateway device to the transponders and/or for transmitting upstream amplifier data signals from the transponders to the gateway device (Figure 4: Maxson discloses the transmitter equipment 3 in greater detail. The transmitter equipment 3 comprises amplifier 19. Therefore, the transmitted DSSS test signals are amplified control signals. Maxson discloses, in paragraph 0003, upstream and downstream measurements are used to install, adjust and troubleshoot amplifiers and other plant components on a CATV network or plant. Conventional testing, using a handheld test meter, includes injecting a test signal of known amplitude onto the plant, whereby the signal propagates through the CATV network, passing through various actives and passives disposed therein. The technician measures the level of the test signal at various points in the network to isolate problem, adjust the active network components, e.g., amplifiers and install/replace components. Paragraph 0005 recites when performing reverse sweep test measurements, care must be taken to prevent interference between injected test signals and active services on the network. Therefore, the test signals control the amplifiers. Maxson discloses a handheld testing device 21 can include the transmitter equipment 3 and the receiver equipment 7 as stated in paragraph 0029. The transmitted signals include the injected DSSS test signal for adjusting the amplifiers and the receiving signals comprise the traffic signals with the injected DSSS test signal. Paragraph 0022: the present invention relates to the injection of a plurality of DSS signals as test signals into a cable television network 1 with a handheld testing device or permanent transmitter 3.), wherein the bi-directional transmissions use spread-spectrum modulated signals on the coaxial cables together with the downstream and upstream primary signals (paragraph 0022: the present invention relates to the injection of a plurality of direct sequence spread spectrum (DSSS) signals as test signals, defined by a plurality of different center wavelengths, into a cable television network with a handheld testing device at the headend 5 and measuring the power levels of the test signals with receivers at one or more locations 7 throughout the CATV network. Paragraph 0023 discloses testing in the forward path. Paragraph 0024 discloses testing in the return path. These are the two directions of the bidirectional communication.), wherein the spread-spectrum modulated signals used for the bi-directional transmissions have a lower data rate and less power than the downstream and upstream primary signals and are positioned in frequency relative to the downstream and upstream primary signals such that the bi-directional transmissions occur without detectable interference with the downstream and upstream primary signals (Paragraph 0022: The injected DSSS test signals are transmitted as such low power, relative to the active services, e.g., cable channels, that the performance impact on the cablevision traffic is negligible. Paragraphs 0023 and 0024 discloses the data rate of the DSSS signal is swept through a predetermined range of data rates corresponding to the frequency range being tested. That range will include higher and lower data rates. Figures 6, 7 and 8 show the test signals relative to the signal traffic.).
Maxson discloses the present invention relates to testing cable television (CATV networks and using spread spectrum signals in a fully loaded upstream or downstream CATV network to measure frequency response without disrupting active services in paragraph 0002. For these reasons, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Maxson into the method, system and apparatus of Rakib.
Regarding claim 2, the combination discloses wherein the HFC network is a CATV network, and wherein the downstream primary signals include video and IP data transmitted over a CATV downstream channel spectrum to subscriber devices coupled to the coaxial distribution network (Rakib: Virtual converged cable access platform for HFC cable networks. Paragraph 0176: the neighborhood CATV system and may also contain various active devices such as amplifiers to boost RF signals. Maxson: paragraph 0002: CATV networks and using spread spectrum signals in a fully loaded upstream or downstream CATV network to measure frequency response without disrupting active services.).
Regarding claim 3, the combination discloses wherein the downstream primary signals and the upstream primary signals are modulated using quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) and multiplexed using orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) (Rakib: paragraph 0083: This digitization can be done by various means or by for example demodulating various QAM or OFDM waveforms, determining the underlying QAM or OFDM symbols used to generate the QAM or OFDM waveforms and digitally sending the results. Maxson: 0032: the native QAM signal.).
Regarding claims 7-10, the combination discloses the downstream amplifier control signals and the upstream amplifier control signals are located between channels used for the downstream/upstream primary signals and located below a lowest channel for the downstream/upstream primary signals (Maxson: figures 6, 7, 8: the DSSS signals are shown relative to the traffic signals. The DSSS signals are below the lowest traffic signal and between the traffic signals as shown.).
Regarding claim 11, Rakib discloses a system for bi-directional communication with network devices in a hybrid fiber-coaxial (HFC) network (Title: Virtual converged cable access platform for HFC cable networks.) including a coaxial cable distribution network that provides downstream and upstream primary signals between a headend and subscriber devices, the network devices including at least one node coupled to the headend with optical fiber and coupled to the coaxial cable distribution network (Title: Virtual converged cable access platform for HFC cable networks.) and including RF amplifiers coupled to the coaxial distribution network to amplify the downstream and upstream primary signals (Paragraph 0176: the neighborhood CATV system and may also contain various active devices such as amplifiers to boost RF signals.), the system comprising:
a headend gateway device located in a headend of the HFC network, the headend gateway device including: a host computer configured to be coupled via a data network to at least one application server; a gateway processor coupled to the host computer (Figure 10: extended upstream gateway. Figure 10 shows the upstream and downstream data. Paragraphs 0149, 0272, 0286 and 0319 disclose the computer and processor coupled to the network to carry out the functions of the devices.); and
a plurality of gateway transceivers coupled to the gateway processor and configured to transmit downstream signals and to receive upstream data signals (Figures 5 and 6 shows the upstream data and downstream data. Paragraph 0176: the neighborhood CATV system and may also contain various active devices such as amplifiers to boost RF signals.),
Rakib discloses establishing bi-directional transmissions between at least one of the transponders and the gateway device for transmitting signals. Rakib does not disclose a plurality of gateway transceivers coupled to the gateway processor and configured to transmit downstream control signals and to receive upstream data signals, wherein the downstream control signals and the upstream data signals are spread-spectrum modulated signals capable of being carried on the coaxial cable distribution network together with the downstream and upstream primary signals, wherein the spread-spectrum modulated signals used for the downstream and upstream amplifier signals have a lower data rate and less power than the downstream and upstream primary signals and are positioned in frequency relative to the downstream and upstream primary signals such that the bi-directional transmission occurs without detectable interference with the downstream and upstream primary signals; and at least one transponder located in at least one of the RF amplifiers and/or in the at least one node, each of the at least one transponder including RF transceiver circuitry configured to transmit the upstream data signals and to receive the downstream control signals using the spread-spectrum modulated signals over coaxial cables in the coaxial cable distribution network.
Maxson discloses a CATV network with direct sequence spread spectrum signals as stated in the abstract. Maxson discloses the present invention relates to the injection of a plurality of direct sequence spread spectrum (DSSS) signals as test signals, defined by a plurality of different center wavelengths, into a cable television network with a handheld testing device at the headend 5 and measuring the power levels of the test signals with receivers at one or more locations 7 throughout the CATV network as stated in paragraph 0022. The injected DSSS test signals are transmitted as such low power, relative to the active services, e.g., cable channels, that the performance impact on the cablevision traffic is negligible (paragraph 0022). Paragraph 0023 discloses testing in the forward path. Paragraph 0024 discloses testing in the return path. Figures 6, 7 and 8 show the test signals relative to the signal traffic.
Maxson discloses a system to transmit downstream control signals and to receive upstream data signals, wherein the downstream control signals and the upstream data signals are spread-spectrum modulated signals capable of being carried on the coaxial cable distribution network together with the downstream and upstream primary signals (paragraph 0022: the present invention relates to the injection of a plurality of direct sequence spread spectrum (DSSS) signals as test signals, defined by a plurality of different center wavelengths, into a cable television network with a handheld testing device at the headend 5 and measuring the power levels of the test signals with receivers at one or more locations 7 throughout the CATV network. Paragraph 0023 discloses testing in the forward path. Paragraph 0024 discloses testing in the return path. These are the two directions of the bidirectional communication.), wherein the spread-spectrum modulated signals used for the downstream and upstream amplifier signals have a lower data rate and less power than the downstream and upstream primary signals and are positioned in frequency relative to the downstream and upstream primary signals such that the bi-directional transmission occurs without detectable interference with the downstream and upstream primary signals (Paragraph 0022: The injected DSSS test signals are transmitted as such low power, relative to the active services, e.g., cable channels, that the performance impact on the cablevision traffic is negligible. Paragraphs 0023 and 0024 discloses the data rate of the DSSS signal is swept through a predetermined range of data rates corresponding to the frequency range being tested. That range will include higher and lower data rates. Figures 6, 7 and 8 show the test signals relative to the signal traffic.) ; and at least one transponder located in at least one of the RF amplifiers and/or in the at least one node, each of the at least one transponder including RF transceiver circuitry configured to transmit the upstream data signals and to receive the downstream control signals using the spread-spectrum modulated signals over coaxial cables in the coaxial cable distribution network (Paragraph 0023 discloses testing in the forward path. Paragraph 0024 discloses testing in the return path. Figures 6, 7 and 8 show the test signals relative to the signal traffic.).
Maxson discloses the present invention relates to testing cable television (CATV networks and using spread spectrum signals in a fully loaded upstream or downstream CATV network to measure frequency response without disrupting active services in paragraph 0002. For these reasons, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Maxson into the method, system and apparatus of Rakib.
Regarding claim 12, the combination discloses wherein the downstream primary signals and the upstream primary signals are modulated using quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) and multiplexed using orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) (Rakib: paragraph 0083: This digitization can be done by various means or by for example demodulating various QAM or OFDM waveforms, determining the underlying QAM or OFDM symbols used to generate the QAM or OFDM waveforms and digitally sending the results. Maxson: 0032: the native QAM signal.).
Regarding claim 16, the combination discloses wherein the HFC network is a CATV network, and wherein the downstream primary signals include video and IP data transmitted over a CATV downstream channel spectrum to subscriber devices coupled to the coaxial distribution network (Rakib: Virtual converged cable access platform for HFC cable networks. Paragraph 0176: the neighborhood CATV system and may also contain various active devices such as amplifiers to boost RF signals. Maxson: paragraph 0002: CATV networks and using spread spectrum signals in a fully loaded upstream or downstream CATV network to measure frequency response without disrupting active services.).
Regarding claim 17, Rakib discloses an RF amplifier (Paragraph 0176: the neighborhood CATV system and may also contain various active devices such as amplifiers to boost RF signals.) for use in a hybrid fiber-coaxial (HFC) network including a coaxial cable distribution network (Title: Virtual converged cable access platform for HFC cable networks.), the RF amplifier comprising:
coaxial cable ports configured to be coupled to coaxial cables carrying a downstream primary signal and an upstream primary signal (Figures 5 and 6 shows the upstream data and downstream data.);
amplifier circuitry configured to receive, condition and amplify the downstream primary signal and the upstream primary signal (Paragraph 0176: the neighborhood CATV system and may also contain various active devices such as amplifiers to boost RF signals.);
a microcontroller coupled to at least the amplifier circuitry and configured to configure and/or control operation of at least the amplifier circuitry (Paragraphs 0149, 0272, 0286 and 0319 disclose the computer and processor coupled to the network to carry out the functions of the devices.); and
an amplifier transponder coupled to the microcontroller and coupled to the coaxial cable ports (Paragraph 0176: the neighborhood CATV system and may also contain various active devices such as amplifiers to boost RF signals.), the transponder being configured to receive downstream amplifier signals and to transmit upstream amplifier data signals (Figures 5 and 6 shows the upstream data and downstream data.).
Rakib discloses establishing bi-directional transmissions. Rakib does not disclose the transponder being configured to receive downstream amplifier control signals and to transmit upstream amplifier data signals, wherein the downstream amplifier control signals and the upstream amplifier data signals are spread-spectrum modulated signals capable of being carried on the coaxial cable distribution network together with the downstream and upstream primary signals, wherein the spread-spectrum modulated signals used for the downstream and upstream amplifier signals have a lower data rate and less power than the downstream and upstream primary signals and are positioned in frequency relative to the downstream and upstream primary signals such that bi-directional transmission of the upstream and downstream amplifier signals occurs without detectable interference with the downstream and upstream primary signals.
Maxson discloses a CATV network with direct sequence spread spectrum signals as stated in the abstract. Maxson discloses the present invention relates to the injection of a plurality of direct sequence spread spectrum (DSSS) signals as test signals, defined by a plurality of different center wavelengths, into a cable television network with a handheld testing device at the headend 5 and measuring the power levels of the test signals with receivers at one or more locations 7 throughout the CATV network as stated in paragraph 0022. The injected DSSS test signals are transmitted as such low power, relative to the active services, e.g., cable channels, that the performance impact on the cablevision traffic is negligible (paragraph 0022). Paragraph 0023 discloses testing in the forward path. Paragraph 0024 discloses testing in the return path. Figures 6, 7 and 8 show the test signals relative to the signal traffic.
Maxson discloses the transponder being configured to receive downstream amplifier control signals and to transmit upstream amplifier data signals, wherein the downstream amplifier control signals and the upstream amplifier data signals are spread-spectrum modulated signals capable of being carried on the coaxial cable distribution network together with the downstream and upstream primary signals (paragraph 0022: the present invention relates to the injection of a plurality of direct sequence spread spectrum (DSSS) signals as test signals, defined by a plurality of different center wavelengths, into a cable television network with a handheld testing device at the headend 5 and measuring the power levels of the test signals with receivers at one or more locations 7 throughout the CATV network. Paragraph 0023 discloses testing in the forward path. Paragraph 0024 discloses testing in the return path. These are the two directions of the bidirectional communication.), wherein the spread-spectrum modulated signals used for the downstream and upstream amplifier signals have a lower data rate and less power than the downstream and upstream primary signals and are positioned in frequency relative to the downstream and upstream primary signals such that bi-directional transmission of the upstream and downstream amplifier signals occurs without detectable interference with the downstream and upstream primary signals (Paragraph 0022: The injected DSSS test signals are transmitted as such low power, relative to the active services, e.g., cable channels, that the performance impact on the cablevision traffic is negligible. Paragraphs 0023 and 0024 discloses the data rate of the DSSS signal is swept through a predetermined range of data rates corresponding to the frequency range being tested. That range will include higher and lower data rates. Figures 6, 7 and 8 show the test signals relative to the signal traffic.).
Maxson discloses the present invention relates to testing cable television (CATV networks and using spread spectrum signals in a fully loaded upstream or downstream CATV network to measure frequency response without disrupting active services in paragraph 0002. For these reasons, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Maxson into the method, system and apparatus of Rakib.
Regarding claim 20, Rakib discloses a headend gateway device (Figure 10: extended upstream gateway. Figure 10 shows the upstream and downstream data.) for use in a headend of a hybrid fiber-coaxial (HFC) network including a coaxial cable distribution network (Title: Virtual converged cable access platform for HFC cable networks.), the headend gateway device comprising: a host computer configured to be coupled via ethernet to at least one application server (Figure 10: extended upstream gateway. Figure 10 shows the upstream and downstream data. Paragraphs 0149, 0272, 0286 and 0319 disclose the computer and processor coupled to the network to carry out the functions of the devices. Figure 6 shows the coupling of the IP backbone to the system.); a gateway processor coupled to the host computer (Figure 10: extended upstream gateway. Figure 10 shows the upstream and downstream data. Paragraphs 0149, 0272, 0286 and 0319 disclose the computer and processor coupled to the network to carry out the functions of the devices.); and a plurality of gateway transceivers coupled to the gateway processor and configured to transmit downstream signals and to receive upstream data signals (Figures 5 and 6 show the upstream and downstream data.).
Rakib discloses establishing bi-directional transmissions between at least one of the transponders and the gateway device for transmitting signals. Rakib does not disclose a plurality of gateway transceivers coupled to the gateway processor and configured to transmit downstream control signals and to receive upstream data signals, wherein the downstream control signals and the upstream data signals are spread-spectrum modulated signals capable of being carried on the coaxial cable distribution network together with the downstream and upstream primary signals, wherein the spread-spectrum modulated signals have a lower data rate and less power than the downstream and upstream primary signals and are positioned in frequency relative to the downstream and upstream primary signals such that bi-directional transmission of the spread-spectrum signals occurs without detectable interference with the downstream and upstream primary signals.
Maxson discloses a CATV network with direct sequence spread spectrum signals as stated in the abstract. Maxson discloses the present invention relates to the injection of a plurality of direct sequence spread spectrum (DSSS) signals as test signals, defined by a plurality of different center wavelengths, into a cable television network with a handheld testing device at the headend 5 and measuring the power levels of the test signals with receivers at one or more locations 7 throughout the CATV network as stated in paragraph 0022. The injected DSSS test signals are transmitted as such low power, relative to the active services, e.g., cable channels, that the performance impact on the cablevision traffic is negligible (paragraph 0022). Paragraph 0023 discloses testing in the forward path. Paragraph 0024 discloses testing in the return path. Figures 6, 7 and 8 show the test signals relative to the signal traffic.
Maxson discloses a plurality of transceivers coupled to a processor and configured to transmit downstream control signals and to receive upstream data signals, wherein the downstream control signals and the upstream data signals are spread-spectrum modulated signals capable of being carried on the coaxial cable distribution network together with the downstream and upstream primary signals (paragraph 0022: the present invention relates to the injection of a plurality of direct sequence spread spectrum (DSSS) signals as test signals, defined by a plurality of different center wavelengths, into a cable television network with a handheld testing device at the headend 5 and measuring the power levels of the test signals with receivers at one or more locations 7 throughout the CATV network. Paragraph 0023 discloses testing in the forward path. Paragraph 0024 discloses testing in the return path. These are the two directions of the bidirectional communication.), wherein the spread-spectrum modulated signals have a lower data rate and less power than the downstream and upstream primary signals and are positioned in frequency relative to the downstream and upstream primary signals such that bi-directional transmission of the spread-spectrum signals occurs without detectable interference with the downstream and upstream primary signals (Paragraph 0022: The injected DSSS test signals are transmitted as such low power, relative to the active services, e.g., cable channels, that the performance impact on the cablevision traffic is negligible. Paragraphs 0023 and 0024 discloses the data rate of the DSSS signal is swept through a predetermined range of data rates corresponding to the frequency range being tested. That range will include higher and lower data rates. Figures 6, 7 and 8 show the test signals relative to the signal traffic.).
Maxson discloses the present invention relates to testing cable television (CATV networks and using spread spectrum signals in a fully loaded upstream or downstream CATV network to measure frequency response without disrupting active services in paragraph 0002. For these reasons, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Maxson into the method, system and apparatus of Rakib.
5. Claims 4-6, 13-15, 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rakib (US 2015/0172072) in view of Maxson et al (US 2009/0271836) further in view of Woytowitz (US 2021/0360884).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, the combination discloses the method and system stated above. The combination discloses the DSSS signals are modulated using CDMA (Maxson: abstract, paragraph 0030: DSSS signals, of which code division multiple access (CDMA) signals are a subset.). The combination does not disclose wherein the spread-spectrum modulated signals are modulated using Gaussian frequency shift keying (GFSK).
Woytowitz discloses a method and system where the wireless links utilize a LoRa transceiver employing spread spectrum modulation based on chirp spread spectrum (CSS) technology (paragraph 0077). The use of a LoRa transceiver will represent the use of a LoRa wide area network in that the transceiver will be but one component in a larger system/network. Paragraph 0077 further discloses this is a wideband radio system and is more robust to noise and in-band interference. CSS is somewhat resistant to multi-path fading, Doppler effects and nearby interference. Paragraph 0078 discloses on occasions where higher data rates may be used, other modulation systems may be used such as GFSK (Gaussian Frequency Shift Keying). For the reasons stated above, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Woytowitz into the method, system, apparatus and device of the combination of Rakib and Maxson.
Regarding claims 5 and 14, the combination of Rakib and Maxson discloses the method and system stated above. The combination discloses the DSSS signals are modulated using CDMA (Maxson: abstract, paragraph 0030: DSSS signals, of which code division multiple access (CDMA) signals are a subset.). The combination does not disclose wherein the spread-spectrum modulated signals are chirp spread spectrum (CSS) modulated signals.
Woytowitz discloses a method and system where the wireless links utilize a LoRa transceiver employing spread spectrum modulation based on chirp spread spectrum (CSS) technology (paragraph 0077). The use of a LoRa transceiver will represent the use of a LoRa wide area network in that the transceiver will be but one component in a larger system. Paragraph 0077 further discloses this is a wideband radio system and is more robust to noise and in-band interference. CSS is somewhat resistant to multi-path fading, Doppler effects and nearby interference. Paragraph 0078 discloses on occasions where higher data rates may be used, other modulation systems may be used such as GFSK (Gaussian Frequency Shift Keying). For the reasons stated above, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Woytowitz into the method, system, apparatus and device of the combination of Rakib and Maxson.
Regarding claims 6, 15, 18 and 21, the combination discloses the method and system stated above. The combination discloses the DSSS signals are modulated using CDMA (Maxson: abstract, paragraph 0030: DSSS signals, of which code division multiple access (CDMA) signals are a subset.). The combination does not disclose wherein the spread-spectrum modulated signals are generated in accordance with the LoRaWAN specification.
Woytowitz discloses a method and system where the wireless links utilize a LoRa transceiver employing spread spectrum modulation based on chirp spread spectrum (CSS) technology (paragraph 0077). The use of a LoRa transceiver will represent the use of a LoRa wide area network in that the transceiver will be but one component in a larger system/network. Paragraph 0077 further discloses this is a wideband radio system and is more robust to noise and in-band interference. CSS is somewhat resistant to multi-path fading, Doppler effects and nearby interference. Paragraph 0078 discloses on occasions where higher data rates may be used, other modulation systems may be used such as GFSK (Gaussian Frequency Shift Keying). For the reasons stated above, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Woytowitz into the method, system, apparatus and device of the combination of Rakib and Maxson.
6. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rakib (US 2015/0172072) in view of Maxson et al (US 2009/0271836) further in view of Williams et al (US 2024/0214008).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Rakib and Maxson discloses the apparatus stated above. The combination does not disclose wherein the amplifier circuitry comprises: at least first and second diplex filters coupled to the coaxial cable ports to separate the downstream primary signals and the upstream signals; and at least forward and reverse gain stages coupled to the diplex filters to amplifier the downstream primary signals and the upstream primary signals, respectively.
Williams discloses the two way amplifier circuit shown in figure 1. The two way amplifier circuit 100 includes a first port 102, a second port 104, a first fixed diplexer filter 106 a second diplexer filter 108, forward automatic gain control (AGC)/automatic level and slop control (ALSC) circuit 114, a bridge amplifier block 118, a third diplexer 120 and a combiner 121 coupled together as shown as stated in paragraph 0027. The forward path and the return path is shown in the amplifier in figure 1. Therefore, Williams discloses amplifier circuitry (Figure 1) comprises: at least first and second diplex filters coupled to the coaxial cable ports to separate the downstream primary signals and the upstream signals (Paragraph 0027: The two way amplifier circuit 100 includes a first port 102, a second port 104, a first fixed diplexer filter 106 a second diplexer filter 108.); and at least forward and reverse gain stages coupled to the diplex filters to amplifier the downstream primary signals and the upstream primary signals, respectively (Figure 1: forward and return paths. Forward AGC stage 114 and amplifier 134 are gain stages coupled to the diplex filters to amplify the forward and return signals.). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the amplifier of Williams into the apparatus of Rakib and Maxson. Williams discloses fixed diplex filters on the input and output of legacy amplifiers are used to separate and recombine RF signals to enable separate and simultaneous processing and amplification of forward and return signals without both sets of signals interfering with each other in paragraph 0027.
7 Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rakib (US 2015/0172072) in view of Maxson et al (US 2009/0271836) further in view of Hamzeh et al (US 2019/0356532).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Rakib and Maxson discloses the device stated above. The combination does not disclose the computer is configured to interface with a proactive network maintenance (PNM) system.
Hamzeh discloses methods, system and devices for network maintenance as stated in the abstract. Paragraph 0041 discloses network devices within the communication system may supply proactive network maintenance (PNM) data to a PNM database. The PNM data may include data collected by the network device related to an operation of the network device. The PNM data may be utilized to determine an operation predicted to increase the performance of the network device. In some cases, utilizing the PNM data to determine operations predicted to increase the performance of the network device may decrease the cost of supporting the network device. The PNM data may also increase the performance of the network device by using a machine learning engine. For these reasons, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the teaching of Hamzeh, for the device to supply PNM data to decrease cost and increase performance, in the device of the combination of Rakib and Maxson.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN M BURD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 9/8/2026