DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 8-10 objected to because of the following informalities: Claims directed to a cancelled claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 8-12, 14-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Regarding claim 1, there is no support in the original disclosure for upwardly oriented first opening and upwardly oriented integrated recess and thus it constitutes new matter. In particular, the original disclosure is silent regarding the positioning of the opening and recess.
Claims 1-5, 8-12, 14-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, due to the lack of written description in the original disclosure, it is not clear what the term “upwardly oriented” is defined as. It is not clear what the metes and bounds of the term “upwardly oriented”.
Regarding claims 8-10, the scope of the claims are unclear because they are dependent upon a cancelled claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 12, 14-20, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 10,040,602 to Talgo in view of US 2023/0048637 to Terry et al. (Terry).
Regarding claim 1, Talgo discloses a portable container and dispenser (Fig 1) comprising a container (10) capable of holding solid, the container comprising a three-dimensional unitary body comprising an outer surface, an inner surface, a first lateral side (A, Fig 1 below), a second lateral side (B, Fig 1 below), top side (C, Fig 1 below), bottom side (D, Fig 1 below) and wherein when viewed from lateral side, the unitary body is substantially “L”-shaped (Fig 1), wherein the unitary body comprising an upper substantially rectangular portion (20) and a lower substantially rectangular portion (22), an interior hollow storage cavity (26, Fig 3) substantially formed from inner surface of the body, wherein the interior cavity is disposed substantially through the unitary body (Fig 3), a upwardly oriented first opening (below 30, Fig 3) disposed on outer surface of the unitary body, wherein the first opening provides access to interior hollow storage cavity, a first lid docking station (40) adjacent the first opening, a grab handle (38) disposed on a front side of upper rectangular portion, a detachable lid (30) configured to removably secure to first lid docking station and lid docking station to accept the detachable lid, wherein the lid is configured to enclose the storage cavity (Fig 3). In particular, the container is capable of holding a solid since it has the structure as recited. Talgo does not teach an upwardly oriented integrated recess. Terry discloses a portable container and dispenser (Fig 1) and in particular discloses an upwardly oriented first opening (42) and an upwardly oriented integrated recess (47), the integrated recess is not configured to provide access to interior, hollow storage cavity (26). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate an integrated recess to Talgo as suggested by Terry in order to dispose of a hand of a user when grasping the handle by hand (Terry, €0028).
Regarding claim 2, Talgo further discloses first lid docking station (40) comprising a first external threads (42) and detachable lid (30) comprising first internal thread complementary to first external thread (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 5, Talgo further discloses the container and dispenser capable of being formed using blow molding since it has the structure as recited (col. 2, ll. 65-67). Note that product by process limitations are given little patentable weight and so long as prior art has the structure as recited, then it can be made by the process as recited.
Regarding claim 12, Talgo further discloses first opening disposed on top side (C, Fig 2 above) of the upper substantially rectangular portion (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 14-16, Talgo teaches the dispenser of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach the recited dimensions of the unitary body. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the dimensions of the unitary body to that recited in order to facilitate dispensing since it has been held that limitations relating to size were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 17, Talgo further discloses the dispenser capable of performing the recited function since it has the structure as recited.
Regarding claim 18, Talgo teaches the dispenser of claim 17 but does not explicitly teach the recited dimensions of the unitary body. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the dimensions of the unitary body to that recited in order to facilitate dispensing since it has been held that limitations relating to size were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 19, Talgo further discloses the dispenser capable of having the recited two alternative positions since it has the structure as recited.
Regarding claim 20, Talgo further discloses the dispenser comprising at least one stabilizing element (50) on rear side of lower portion (22) of the unitary body (Fig 1).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talgo in view of Terry and US 2018/0127170 to Kasper et al. (Kasper).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Talgo teaches the dispenser of claim 2 but does not explicitly teach the threads continuous. However, Kasper discloses a dispenser (Fig 2) and in particular discloses detachable lid (45) and docking station (43) with continuous thread (47) (Fig 2). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the threads continuous in order to facilitate engagement.
Claim(s) 4, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talgo in view of Terry and US Patent No. 4,781,314 to Schoonover et al. (Schoonover).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Talgo teaches the dispenser of claim 2 but does not teach a second lid docking station. However, Schoonover discloses a dispenser (Fig 1) and in particular discloses first (42) and second lid docking station (52), second lid docking station (52) comprising a second external thread which is complementary to a first internal thread of a detachable lid (50). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate a second lid docking station to Talgo as suggested by Schoonover in order to facilitate dispensing.
Regarding claim 11, Talgo teaches the container of claim 1 but does not teach a second opening. However, Schoonover discloses a dispenser (Fig 1) and in particular discloses first (42) and second lid docking station/opening (52), second lid docking station/opening (52) comprising a second external thread which is complementary to a first internal thread of a detachable lid (50). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate a second lid docking station/opening to Talgo as suggested by Schoonover in order to facilitate dispensing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Initially, it is noted that applicant does not argue the rejection of the dependent claims. Applicant argues that prior art does not teach an upwardly oriented first opening and upwardly oriented integrated recess not configured to provide access to storage cavity. Assuming arguendo that applicant has support for the claimed recitation of an upwardly oriented first opening and integrated recess, applicant’s argument is not persuasive because Talgo discloses the opening (below 30) to be upwardly oriented and furthermore, Terry discloses both an upwardly oriented opening (42) and an upwardly oriented integrated recess (47) that is configured to provide access to storage cavity (26). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate an integrated recess to Talgo as suggested by Terry in order to dispose of a hand of a user when grasping the handle by hand (Terry, €0028).
Conclusion
/ROBERT POON/Examiner, Art Unit 3735