DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Atefi, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210235486 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Atefi discloses an electronic device (e.g., FIG. 1, STAs 120, 150; FIG. 10, device 600), comprising: a transceiver configured to communicate using a wireless network (e.g., FIG. 10, transceivers 608, 668); and a processor communicatively coupled with the transceiver (e.g., FIG. 10, processors 650) and configured to: receive, using the transceiver and from a second electronic device, a preamble associated with a first payload (e.g., ¶ [0026] In some aspects, the apparatus (e.g., STA(s) 120, 150) may utilize one or more of the secondary receivers (e.g., awaken radio(s)/receiver(s)) (e.g., SR(s) 224, 234) to receive a packet (e.g., packet 320) while its primary/main receiver(s)/radio(s) (e.g., PR(s) 222, 232) is turned/powered off or in a low-power mode/state. In some aspects, the received packet (e.g., packet 320) may be (1) configured to trigger, awaken, turn on, and/or cause a high(er) power mode to occur for one or more of the receivers/radios (e.g., one or more primary/main radios/receivers) (e.g., PR(s) 222, 232) of the apparatus (e.g., STA(s) 120, 150; e.g., ¶ [0436] [recipient of] a first link/radio/antenna/channel of a plurality of links/radios/antennas/channels, a packet/frame comprising a preamble and a payload, wherein the packet/frame includes an indication indicating that additional/more payload/data (e.g., associated with a first identifier, such as a first data/traffic identifier) will be transmitted using that first link/radio/antenna/channel); determine, based at least on the preamble, that a second payload is to be received (e.g., ¶ [0436] … the packet/frame includes an indication indicating that additional/more payload/data (e.g., associated with a first identifier, such as a first data/traffic identifier) will be transmitted); receive, from the second electronic device, an overload marker symbol (OMS) (e.g., ¶ [0436] additional/more payload/data (e.g., associated with a first identifier, such as a first data/traffic identifier) will be transmitted [i.e., the interpreted OMS is identifier that precedes the second payload]); determine, based at least on the OMS, whether the second payload is to be received following the OMS (e.g., ¶ [0436] additional/more payload/data (e.g., associated with a first identifier, such as a first data/traffic identifier) will be transmitted [i.e., the interpreted OMS is identifier that precedes the second payload]); and operate the transceiver in an awake state in response to determining that the second payload is to be received following the OMS (e.g., ¶ [0026] In some aspects, the apparatus (e.g., STA(s) 120, 150) may… receive a packet (e.g., packet 320) [which] may be (1) configured to trigger, awaken, turn on, and/or cause a high(er) power mode to occur for one or more of the receivers/radios (e.g., one or more primary/main radios/receivers) (e.g., PR(s) 222, 232) of the apparatus (e.g., STA(s) 120, 150); e.g., ¶ [0042] In some aspects, an apparatus (e.g., STA(s) 120, 150) may receive and/or transmit a frame configured to communicate mode signaling or a request by the apparatus (e.g., STA(s) 120, 150) to enter/exit/switch-to (or to be signaled to enter) a particular mode (e.g., an awaken mode, as described herein)… In some aspects, an apparatus (e.g., STA(s) 120, 150) may receive a packet (e.g., an awaken request packet, as described herein; e.g., packet 320) (e.g., using its secondary/awaken radio/receiver; e.g., SR(s) 224, 234), while in an awaken mode (as described herein). After, in response to, and/or in association with receiving the awaken request packet (e.g., packet 320), the apparatus (e.g., STA(s) 120, 150) may enter into an active/normal mode (or power up/on or put in a non-low (e.g., normal/high) power state its main/primary radio/receiver) and initiate communication (e.g., DL and/or UL) with another apparatus (e.g., AP 110). In some aspects, the apparatus (e.g., STA(s) 120, 150) may receive data (e.g., a data packet/frame, perhaps with a data subfield in the data packet/frame set/equal to zero), e.g., using it primary/main radio/receiver. After, or in response to, and/or in association with receiving that data/data-packet/data-frame, without explicit signaling to/from the other apparatus (e.g., AP 110) (e.g., without receiving a signal/frame/packet indicating or requesting a transition/switch/change of a mode of operation (e.g., a transition/switch to or from an awaken mode) of the apparatus (e.g., STA(s) 120, 150)), the apparatus (e.g., STA(s) 120, 150) may switch-to/transition (back)/(re)enter an awaken mode (as described herein) [i.e., the receiving device enters awake state based on the received data (in payload)]).
Regarding Claim 2, Atefi discloses all the limitations of the device of claim 1.
Atefi discloses wherein the OMS comprises an identifier of the electronic device (e.g., ¶ [0081] In some aspects, the plurality of identifiers may each identify/correspond to a value or attribute of an apparatus (e.g., STA(s) 120, 150 or AP(s) 110) (that may (or may not) be a recipient of such communication/transmission). In some aspects, such plurality of identifiers (or their respective values, attributes, etc.) may be included in such preamble, header, data, signal, payload, and/or one or more encapsulations of such field(s), signal(s), bit(s), or portion(s)).
Regarding Claim 11, the claim is directed to a method performed by a first electronic device, comprising operations that are functionally similar to those performed by the first electronic device of claim 1. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 1 shall be applied to claim 11.
Regarding Claim 19, Atefi discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 11.
The functional limitations of Claim 19 are similar to claim 2. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 2 shall be applied to claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6, 8, 9, 12, 15, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atefi in view of Hong et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20250106757 A1 (hereinafter Hong).
Regarding Claim 3, Atefi discloses all the limitations of the device of claim 1.
Atefi discloses the electronic device being either in low-power or awake state (e.g., ¶ [0030]), but does not expressly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: transition the transceiver to a lower power state than the awake state after receiving the preamble.
Hong discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: transition the transceiver to a lower power state than the awake state after receiving the preamble (e.g., ¶ [0125] Optionally, the energy-saving wakeup signal includes one or more preamble sequences, or the energy-saving wakeup signal includes a preamble sequence and a payload; e.g., ¶ [0126] Optionally, the terminal sends the energy-saving wakeup signal, where the energy-saving wakeup signal may include one or more preamble sequences or include a combination of a single preamble sequence and a payload; e.g., ¶ [0159] Optionally, in a case that the energy-saving wakeup signal includes a preamble sequence and a payload, the first information is carried by the payload).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of receiving a preamble associated with a first payload and a second payload, as disclosed by Atefi, with the disclosure of transitioning to a lower power state than the awake state after receiving the preamble, as disclosed by Hong. The motivation to combine would have been to support energy saving (Hong: e.g., ¶ [0002]).
Regarding Claim 6, Atefi in view of Hong discloses all the limitations of the device of claim 3.
Atefi discloses wherein the OMS is an opportunistic OMS and, to receive the opportunistic OMS [Examiner is not giving “opportunistic” patentable weight, as there is no further limitation to distinguish an opportunistic OMS from a non-opportunistic OMS], the processor is further configured to: transition a receive-only receiver of the electronic device to an awake state; and receive, using the receive-only receiver, the opportunistic OMS (e.g., ¶ [0056] In some aspects, an apparatus (e.g., AP 110 and/or STA(s) 120, 150) may transmit, receive, and/or negotiate a field, parameter, data, information, information element, or indication indicating a period of time corresponding to/associated with transitioning from a/one state (e.g., awake, doze, power save, or active state) to another state (e.g., awake, doze, power save, or active state) after, in response to, and/or in association with transmitting, receiving, and/or negotiating a particular packet, data packet, transmission, or other information, such as packet 320, an awaken packet, request packet, or awaken request packet. In some aspects, an apparatus (e.g., AP 110 and/or STA(s) 120, 150) may perform an operation (e.g., transition from one state/mode to another state/mode) in accordance with such field, parameter, data, information, information element, or indication [i.e., receiver receives the preamble and payload information, which may be in awake state]; (e.g., ¶ [0436] additional/more payload/data (e.g., associated with a first identifier, such as a first data/traffic identifier) will be transmitted [i.e., the interpreted OMS is identifier that precedes the second payload]).
Regarding Claim 8, Atefi in view of Hong discloses all the limitations of the device of claim 6.
Atefi discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: transition the receive-only receiver to a lower power state after receiving the opportunistic OMS (e.g., ¶ [0056] In some aspects, an apparatus (e.g., AP 110 and/or STA(s) 120, 150) may transmit, receive, and/or negotiate a field, parameter, data, information, information element, or indication indicating a period of time corresponding to/associated with transitioning from a/one state (e.g., awake, doze, power save, or active state) to another state (e.g., awake, doze, power save, or active state) after, in response to, and/or in association with transmitting, receiving, and/or negotiating a particular packet, data packet, transmission, or other information, such as packet 320, an awaken packet, request packet, or awaken request packet. In some aspects, an apparatus (e.g., AP 110 and/or STA(s) 120, 150) may perform an operation (e.g., transition from one state/mode to another state/mode) in accordance with such field, parameter, data, information, information element, or indication [i.e., receiver receives the preamble and payload information, then transition to a low power state when not receiving further information]).
Regarding Claim 9, Atefi in view of Hong discloses all the limitations of the device of claim 8.
Atefi discloses wherein the opportunistic OMS comprises an identifier of the electronic device (e.g., ¶ [0081] In some aspects, the plurality of identifiers may each identify/correspond to a value or attribute of an apparatus (e.g., STA(s) 120, 150 or AP(s) 110) (that may (or may not) be a recipient of such communication/transmission). In some aspects, such plurality of identifiers (or their respective values, attributes, etc.) may be included in such preamble, header, data, signal, payload, and/or one or more encapsulations of such field(s), signal(s), bit(s), or portion(s)).
Regarding Claim 12, Atefi discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 11.
The functional limitations of Claim 12 are similar to claim 3. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 3 shall be applied to claim 12.
Regarding Claim 15, Atefi in view of Hong discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 12.
The functional limitations of Claim 15 are similar to claim 6. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 6 shall be applied to claim 15.
Regarding Claim 17, Atefi in view of Hong discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 15.
The functional limitations of Claim 17 are similar to claim 7. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 7 shall be applied to claim 17.
Regarding Claim 18, Atefi in view of Hong discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 15.
The functional limitations of Claim 18 are similar to claim 8. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 8 shall be applied to claim 18.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 20, the prior art of record discloses an electronic device, comprising: a transceiver configured to communicate using a wireless network; and a processor communicatively coupled with the transceiver and configured to: receive, using the transceiver and from a second electronic device, a preamble associated with a first payload; determine, based at least on the preamble, that a second payload is to be received. These limitations are similar to those in claim 1, and the reasoning used in the examination of those limitations shall be applied to these limitations in claim 20.
The prior art of record fails to disclose individually or in combination or render obvious the limitations to determine whether the second payload is received within a timeout period; and transition the transceiver to a lower power state than an awake state in response to determining that the second payload is not received within the timeout period.
Claims 4, 5, 7, 10, 13, 14 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 4, dependent from claim 3, and Claim 13, dependent from 12, the prior art of record fails to disclose individually or in combination or render obvious the limitations wherein the OMS is one symbol in a plurality of periodic OMSs and the processor is further configured to: determine an OMS interval between two consecutive OMSs in the plurality of periodic OMSs; and transition the transceiver from the lower power state to the awake state before the next occurrence of an OMS of the plurality of periodic OMSs.
Claim 5, dependent from claim 4, and Claim 14, dependent from claim 13, are also objected.
Regarding Claim 7, dependent from claim 6, and Claim 16, dependent from claim 15, the prior art of record fails to disclose individually or in combination or render obvious the limitations to transition the transceiver from the lower power state to the awake state in response to determining that the second payload is to be received after the opportunistic OMS; and transition the transceiver to the lower power state after receiving the second payload.
Regarding Claim 10, dependent from claim 6, the prior art of record fails to disclose individually or in combination or render obvious the limitation wherein a duration of the opportunistic OMS equals a duration of a high efficiency (HE) data symbol.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References considered relevant to this application are listed in the attached "Notice of References Cited” (PTO-892).
/VLADISLAV Y AGUREYEV/Examiner, Art Unit 2471