Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first wick and second wick of claim 17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Applicants have provided new figure 15 to show this, but the claimed subject matter is not shown, the figure only appears to show one wick structure not two, the issue is that element 70 does not appear to be a wick structure instead it is the container (see objection below).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "70" and "10" have both been used to designate same structure. Applicant appears to have identified the container as the first wicks structure improperly. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Both amended claims include new limitation of “the intermediate portion region is thermally connected with neither the heating element nor heat radiating fins”. The written description in the amendment does not support this limitation. While the specification does include the phrase it does not provide a written description of how such occurs (mere statement is not support or description). The limitation of “thermal connected” merely requires thermal connection and as this section of the housing connects to the heating element and the heat radiating fins as it is the intermediate region between the two. Thus, heat transfer must physically occur for the heat to be transferred from one to the other both through the structure itself and the fluid inside, either alone would be a “thermal connection”. Further, this is part of the container which the specification identifies as “stainless steel, copper, copper alloy, aluminum, aluminum alloy, tin, tin alloy, titanium, titanium alloy, nickel, and nickel alloy” (para. 0034) and these (and all materials) have a thermal conductivity which means as a structure thermal connection must occur. Thus, the written description does not support this limitation.
Claims 2, 10, 12, and 17 are rejected for dependence from one of the above claims.
Claims 1-2, 10, 12, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 19 are indefinite for the new limitation of “the intermediate portion region is thermally connected with neither the heating element nor heat radiating fins”. Oen skilled in the art would not be clear how such does not occur or could be accomplished. While the specification does include the phrase it does not provide a written description of how such occurs or is accomplished (note that mere statement is not enough). The limitation of “thermal connected” merely requires thermal connection and as this section of the housing physically connects to the heating element and the heat radiating fins as it is the intermediate region between the two. Thus, heat transfer must physically occur for the heat to be transferred from one to the other both through the structure itself and the fluid inside, either alone would be a “thermal connection”. Further, this is part of the container which the specification identifies as “stainless steel, copper, copper alloy, aluminum, aluminum alloy, tin, tin alloy, titanium, titanium alloy, nickel, and nickel alloy” (para. 0034) and these (and all materials) have a thermal conductivity which means as a structure thermal connection must occur. Thus, one skilled in the art would not know or be apprised of how there is no thermal connection. The meaning or intent may be due to translation issues. The claims will be examined without this limitation as there is no reasonable interpretation of limitation due to the 112b issue.
Claims 1 and 19 are further indefinite for the limitation of “the intermediate portion region functions as an avoidance portion for avoiding another component mounted on a board where the heating element is mounted” as it is unclear what structure applicant is claiming to one skilled in the art. It is unclear if applicant is claiming a specific shape, a capability such as flexibility (the ability to be bent or shaped), or a specific mounting potion requirement.
Further, this language in claim 1 and 19 makes it impossible to determine if the claimed apparatus is being read on until it is applied to system which makes the claim indefinite as it makes it unclear when infringement occurs (when system is made or when system used) MPEP 2173.05 (p). The language requires the application of the device to a board with a component it must avoid for the claim to be read n, thus making it impossible to tell if the claim has been violated until use/application which makes the limitation indefinite. The claims will be examined without this limitation as there is no reasonable interpretation of limitation due to the multiple 112b issues.
Claim 2 is indefinite for the limitations "wherein the heat radiating fins " as the claim it depends from includes “one or more heat radiating fins”. This creates confusion for one skilled in the art what is being claimed, it is unclear if these are the same fin/fins. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The " wherein heat radiating fins " requires a plurality of fins where the “one or more” allows for a single fin, thus it is unclear if there are the same fin/fins. The limitations will be examined as "wherein the one or more heat radiating fins".
Claim 19 is indefinite for the limitations "wherein heat radiating fins " and “no heat radiating fins” as the claim early includes “one or more heat radiating fins”. This creates confusion for one skilled in the art what is being claimed, it is unclear if these are the same fin/fins. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The " wherein heat radiating fins " and “no heat radiating fins” absolutely require a plurality of fins where the “one or more” allows for a single fin, thus it is unclear if there are the same fin/fins. The limitations will be examined as "wherein the one or more heat radiating fins " and “none of the one or more heat radiating fins”.
Claims 2, 10, 12, and 17 are rejected for dependence from one of the above claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Feng et al. (U.S. Patent 8,792,240).
Regarding claim 1, Feng teaches a heat sink (Fig. 5) comprising: a container (element 1) in which a cavity (elements 6 & 7) is formed, the container having a first principal surface (per annotated figure below) and a second principal surface (per annotated figure below) opposite the first principal surface; a working fluid (claim 4) encapsulated in the cavity (claim 4), and a steam (“water” is a fluid taught see claim 10) flow path defined in the cavity and through which the working fluid in a gas phase flows (channel shown in fig. 5; claim 4), wherein the container has a flat portion (per annotated figure below) and a protruding part (per annotated figure below) projecting in an external direction from the flat portion, an inner space of the protruding part (element 6) of the container is in communication with an inner space of the flat portion (element 7) to form the cavity (per fig. 5), the protruding part of the container includes a heat receiver (element 5) that is to be thermally connected with a heating element (col. 3, ln 26-29) that is a cooling target, and the flat portion of the container has an intermediate portion region continuous (element 82) from the protruding part and a heat radiator region (region of element 83) more distant from the protruding part than the intermediate portion region and thermally connected with one or more heat radiating fins (element 2). Feng teaches the heat radiator region of the container is wider than the protruding part (per figure 5 this section is wider, note that the claim does not require this “wide section to be oriented any specific way, thus as shown it reads on the claim).
Regarding claim 2, Feng teaches the heat radiating fin includes a first heat radiating fin thermally connected with the first principal surface and a second heat radiating fin thermally connected with the second principal surface (per fig. 5 fins come off both of these surfaces, thus reading on the claim).
Regarding claim 12, Feng teaches the container is in a shape having a longitudinal direction (fig. 5 bottom->top) and a lateral direction (fig. 5 left->right side) in plan view, one end in the longitudinal direction of the container is provided with the protruding part (per fig. 5) , and another end in the longitudinal direction of the container is the heat radiator region (per fig. 5, note that the claim does not limit the radiator section to the end, merely requires it to be there).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. (U.S. Patent 8,792,240) in view of Wenger (U.S. PGPub 2009/0025907).
Regarding claim 10, Feng does not teach the container has a part becoming wider as progress from the protruding part toward the heat radiator region.
Wenger teaches the condenser can have a progressively reducing diameter proceeding through the condenser (para. 0045). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Feng such that the condenser channel has a progressively reducing diameter proceeding through the condenser as it gets back toward the evaporator (the protruding part), the motivation would be maintain pressure and fluid flow.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. (U.S. Patent 8,792,240) in view of Kare et al. (U.S. PGPub 2014/0174701).
Feng does not expressly teach the protruding part is provided with a first wick structure, and the side surface of the protruding part and the flat portion and the side surface of the container are provided with a second wick structure having a smaller capillary force than the first wick structure, so that the wick structure is provided across the inner surface of the container. It is noted that Feng generically teaches wick structures in the evaporator and condenser regions.
Kare teaches a first wick structure (element 221e), on the entire inside of the evaporator and a second wick structure (element 221f/g), on the entirety of the condenser section, having a smaller capillary force than the first wick structure (per para. 0075 this is due to the smaller pore size). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Feng to include the wick structure of Kare as claimed in the internal sections, the motivation would be to withstand higher pressure differential (para. 0087).
Claim with no prior art rejection
Claim 19 has no prior art rejections, but does have a 112 rejections and thus is not allowable. Allowability will be based on the resolution of the 112 issue and search and consideration based off that resolution. The limitations of “wherein heat radiating fins are provided only at the heat radiator region on both the first principal surface and the second principal surface, with no heat radiating fins at the protruding part or the intermediate portion region” in combination with the rest of the claimed elements.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ amendment of the drawings do not fully correct the prior drawing objections, see the above drawing objections for details.
Applicants’ amendment overcome the prior 112b rejections but have resulted in new 112a/b rejections.
Applicants’ arguments regarding the prior art are anticipatory and moot in light of the 112a/b rejections.
Conclusion
/JOEL M ATTEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3763