Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first wick and second wick of claim 17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 9-10, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the sectional area" and there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim has not previously claimed a sectional area. Thus making it unclear if applicant meant to claim previously claimed section/area or a new element.
The limitation “so that the sectional area of the container in the orthogonal direction relative to the heat transport direction is increased” in claim 1 is a relative term/limitation which renders the claim indefinite. The term “is increased” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The claim as written makes it unclear to one skilled in the art what “is increased” is compared to or measured. There is no baseline for “increasing” in the claim. Applicant may be trying to claim that one section is deeper at one part than another, or may be trying to claim some unclear ratio requirement. With no baseline the term “is increased” is indefinite. The claim will be examined as any comparison of the sections being greater due to stacking/depth reads on the limitation.
Claim 19 is indefinite for the C limitations " wherein heat radiating fins " and “no heat radiating fins” as the claim early includes “a heat radiating fin”. This creates confusion to one skilled in the art what is being claimed, it is unclear if the single fin as claimed is part of the plurality or separate, the single was supposed to be plural, and if the single is part of the limitation of “no heat radiating fins at the protruding part or the intermediate portion region”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2, 9-10, 12, and 17 are rejected for dependence to one or more of the above rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Feng et al. (U.S. Patent 8,792,240).
Regarding claim 1, Feng teaches a heat sink (Fig. 5) comprising: a container (element 1) in which a cavity (elements 6 & 7) is formed, the container having a first principal surface (per annotated figure below) and a second principal surface (per annotated figure below) opposite the first principal surface; a working fluid (claim 4) encapsulated in the cavity (claim 4), and a steam (“water” is a fluid taught see claim 10) flow path defined in the cavity and through which the working fluid in a gas phase flows (channel shown in fig. 5; claim 4), wherein the container has a flat portion (per annotated figure below) and a protruding part (per annotated figure below) projecting in an external direction from the flat portion, an inner space of the protruding part (element 6) of the container is in communication with an inner space of the flat portion (element 7) to form the cavity (per fig. 5), the protruding part of the container includes a heat receiver (element 5) that is to be thermally connected with a heating element (col. 3, ln 26-29) that is a cooling target, and the flat portion of the container has an intermediate portion region continuous (element 82) from the protruding part and a heat radiator region (region of element 83) more distant from the protruding part than the intermediate portion region and thermally connected with a heat radiating fin (element 2). Feng teaches the heat radiator region of the container is wider than the protruding part (per figure 5 this section is wider, note that the claim does not required this “wide section to be oriented any specific way, thus as shown it reads on the claim) and so that the sectional area of the container in the orthogonal direction relative to the heat transport direction is increased (as per the 112b above the stacking of the evaporator on top of the condenser results in the structure being greater in depth than a flat heat exchanger thus reading on the claim.
Regarding claim 2, Feng teaches the heat radiating fin includes a first heat radiating fin thermally connected with the first principal surface and a second heat radiating fin thermally connected with the second principal surface (per fig. 5 fin s come off both of these surfaces, thus reading on the claim).
Regarding claim 9, Feng teaches the heat radiator region of the container is wider than the protruding part (per figure 5 this section is wider, note that the claim does not required this “wide section to be oriented any specific way, thus as shown it read son the claim), so that the sectional area of the container in the orthogonal direction relative to the heat transport direction is increased.
Regarding claim 12, Feng teaches the container is in a shape having a longitudinal direction (fig. 5 bottom->top) and a lateral direction (fig. 5 left->right side) in plan view, one end in the longitudinal direction of the container is provided with the protruding part (per fig. 5) , and another end in the longitudinal direction of the container is the heat radiator region (per fig. 5, note that the claim does not limit the radiator section to the end, merely requires it to be there).
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang (U.S. PGPub 2013/0025829).
Regarding claim 18, Huang teaches a heat sink (element 1) comprising: a container in which a cavity is formed (space between element 10 and 40 in fig. 4), the container having a first principal surface (bottom of element 10) and a second principal surface (top of element 40) opposite the first principal surface; a working fluid encapsulated in the cavity (per abstract); and a steam flow path defined in the cavity and through which the working fluid in a gas phase flows (per fig. 4); wherein the container has a flat portion (bottom of element 10 not including element 11) and a protruding part (element 11) projecting in an external direction from the flat portion (per fig. 4); the container includes one plate-shaped body (element 10) and another plate-shaped body (element 40) opposite the one plate-shaped body, the cavity being a sealed space formed between the one plate-shaped body and the other plate-shaped body (per fig. 4), and the one plate-shaped body has the protruding part projecting in the external direction (per fig. 4), the inner space of the container is in an interconnected integral form (per fig. 4);an inner space of the protruding part of the container is in communication with an inner space of the flat portion to form the cavity (per fig. 4);the protruding part of the container includes a heat receiver (bottom of element 11, per fig. 4) that is to be thermally connected with a heating element (element 100) that is a cooling target; and the flat portion of the container has an intermediate portion region (region just outside element 11, note the claim does not define this as more than an intermediate portion) continuous from the protruding part and a heat radiator region (the outer edge the structure 1) of more distant from the protruding part than the intermediate portion region and thermally connected with a heat radiating fin (elements 200).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. (U.S. Patent 8,792,240) in view of Wenger (U.S. PGPub 2009/0025907).
Regarding claim 10, Feng does not teach the container has a part becoming wider as progress from the protruding part toward the heat radiator region.
Wenger teaches the condenser can have a progressively reducing diameter proceeding through the condenser (para. 0045). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Feng such that the condenser channel has a progressively reducing diameter proceeding through the condenser as it gets back toward the evaporator (the protruding part), the motivation would be maintain pressure and fluid flow.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. (U.S. Patent 8,792,240) in view of Kare et al. (U.S. PGPub 2014/0174701).
Feng does not expressly teach the protruding part is provided with a first wick structure, and the side surface of the protruding part and the flat portion and the side surface of the container are provided with a second wick structure having a smaller capillary force than the first wick structure, so that the wick structure is provided across the inner surface of the container. It is noted that Feng generically teaches wick structures in the evaporator and condenser regions.
Kare teaches a first wick structure (element 221e), on the entire inside of the evaporator and a second wick structure (element 221f/g), on the entirety of the condenser section, having a smaller capillary force than the first wick structure (per para. 0075 this is due to the smaller pore size). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Feng to include the wick structure of Kare as claimed in the internal sections, the motivation would be to withstand higher pressure differential (para. 0087).
Claim with no prior art rejection
Claim 19 has no prior art rejection, but does have a 112 rejection and thus is not allowable. Allowability will be based on the resolution of the 112 issue and search and consideration based off that resolution.
Response to Arguments
Original indication of 112 rejections have been removed, note there are new 112 rejections due to the amendments of 2/19/26.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
It is noted that the rejection has been clarified to better describe the rejected material. As shown the width argued is clearly wider as claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOEL M ATTEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3763