DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
Status of Claims:
Claims 1-9 are pending examination.
Claim 10 is Allowed.
Reason for Allowance
1. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Prior art made of record fails to teach the limitations underlined within the independent claims mentioned below.
Regarding claim 10, A method for XR devices/users over an EPON comprising sending registration request to an edge server by an XR device user including informing its requirement to a SDN controller ; allocating a default class (correspond to Dpk=0) according to requirement by class mapper of the SDN controller and informing the same to OLTs and ONUs; and initiating uplink transmission of XR data by the XR device though the OLTs and ONUs which are received by receiver of the edge server; storing the XR data in play-off buffer of the edge server to reconstruct inter-arrival pattern of XR frames of data as generated by user of the XR device; controlling the play-off buffer by a reconstruction controller to play the XR frames ensuring all frames are subject to a constant delay; predicting future frames based on the reconstructed data using an AI-based frame predictor; processing the predicted frames at a processor and after processing, sending the processed data to the XR device users by a transmitter; involving a prediction duration calculator for selecting prediction durations and informing the same to the SDN controller and the AI-based frame predictor; and involving a class mapper in the SDN controller to decide class corresponding to delay bound of Dubk+Dpk, and informs the class information to the OLT and the ONUs for scheduling the XR device users.
Regarding claim 10, Kasichainula et al. ( USPUB 20220345417) teaches A method for XR devices/users over an EPON ( Figure 1 and Paragraph [0019]- “…. The TAN 100 uses some or all of the aforementioned above network technologies, where end stations on several local networks are connected to a GM instance on a backbone network via an EPON access network….”) comprising sending registration request to an edge server by an XR device user( Paragraph [0203]- “…FIG. 17, each of the NANs 1731, 1732, and 1733 are co-located with edge compute nodes (or “edge servers”) 1736a, 1736b, and 1736c, respectively. These implementations may be small-cell clouds (SCCs) where an edge compute node 1736 is co-located with a small cell (e.g., pico-cell, femto-cell, and/or the like), or may be mobile micro clouds (MCCs) where an edge compute node 1736 is co-located with a macro-cell (e.g., an eNB, gNB, and/or the like). The edge compute node 1736 may be deployed in a multitude of arrangements other than as shown by FIG. 17. In a first example, multiple NANs 1730 are co-located or otherwise communicatively coupled with one edge compute node 1736….”) including informing its requirement to a SDN controller( Paragraph [0174]- “… adapted for edge computing include but are not limited to virtualization of traditional network functions including include, for example, Software-Defined Networking (SDN), Network Function Virtualization (NFV), distributed RAN units and/or RAN cloud…”) ;
Within analogous art, ASHRAFI ( USPUB 20210234592) teaches allocating a default class (correspond to Dpk=0) according to requirement by class mapper of the SDN controller and informing the same to OLTs and ONUs( FIG. 33 And Paragraphs [0196-0197]- “…he PON 3012 will typically connect up to 128 ONUs 3002 to each OLT 3010, and hybrid ONU-RU will connect to multiple mm-wave modems utilizing beam steering control plans. The mmWave Modems 3008 are self-installed and reduce the need for a fiber connection to the home/apartments as well as further provide for additional statistical gain and aggregation points at the ONU+RU at the Ethernet layer, customers served by these PONs 3012 will be on a single large Ethernet. Furthermore, if delay and cost is not a factor, the ONU+RU's are integrated and can be treated as IP routers with load balancing and slicing capabilities, provide statistical gain and an aggregation point….”);
Combination of the prior arts mentioned above does not explicitly teach: “ initiating uplink transmission of XR data by the XR device though the OLTs and ONUs which are received by receiver of the edge server; storing the XR data in play-off buffer of the edge server to reconstruct inter-arrival pattern of XR frames of data as generated by user of the XR device; controlling the play-off buffer by a reconstruction controller to play the XR frames ensuring all frames are subject to a constant delay; predicting future frames based on the reconstructed data using an AI-based frame predictor; processing the predicted frames at a processor and after processing, sending the processed data to the XR device users by a transmitter; involving a prediction duration calculator for selecting prediction durations and informing the same to the SDN controller and the AI-based frame predictor; and involving a class mapper in the SDN controller to decide class corresponding to delay bound of Dubk+Dpk, and informs the class information to the OLT and the ONUs for scheduling the XR device users.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kasichainula et al. ( USPUB 20210270677) in view of Ashrafi ( USPUB 20180351652).
As per claim 1, Kasichainula et al. teaches A network system for supporting XR devices/users over an EPON comprising one or more user XR devices ( Figure 1 and Paragraph [0019]- “…. The TAN 100 uses some or all of the aforementioned above network technologies, where end stations on several local networks are connected to a GM instance on a backbone network via an EPON access network….”) ; an edge server ( Paragraph [0203]- “…FIG. 17, each of the NANs 1731, 1732, and 1733 are co-located with edge compute nodes (or “edge servers”) 1736a, 1736b, and 1736c, respectively. These implementations may be small-cell clouds (SCCs) where an edge compute node 1736 is co-located with a small cell (e.g., pico-cell, femto-cell, and/or the like), or may be mobile micro clouds (MCCs) where an edge compute node 1736 is co-located with a macro-cell (e.g., an eNB, gNB, and/or the like). The edge compute node 1736 may be deployed in a multitude of arrangements other than as shown by FIG. 17. In a first example, multiple NANs 1730 are co-located or otherwise communicatively coupled with one edge compute node 1736….”) ; EPON based connection between said XR devices and said edge server to offer XR services with strict latency bounds over said EPON based connection involving offloading of XR device generated data to the edge server for processing ( latency bound and services within edger server and EPON network and data stream priority taught within Paragraph [0097]- “…talker 703, listener 723, and bridge 710 behaviors are discussed in [IEEE802.1Q]. In particular, [IEEE802.1Qcc] defines how bridges in TSNs (e.g., TAN 100 of FIG. 1) can be configured to route time-sensitive streams while maintaining the guarantees of bounded latency for each of the streams….” AND Paragraph [0139]- “…scheduling of application code, scheduled traffic provides the lowest latency bound, but when latency requirements are not tight, alternative TSN traffic standards can be used….” AND Paragraphs [0412-0413]- “… “time-sensitive stream” at least in some examples refers to a stream of data frames that are required to be delivered with a bounded latency….” AND XR devices interpreted as data stream of user equipment and devices interpreted within Paragraph [0319]- “… control module, server devices, network appliances, head-up display (HUD) devices, helmet-mounted display devices, augmented reality (AR) devices, virtual reality (VR) devices, mixed reality (MR) devices, and/or other like systems or devices…”) ,
Kasichainula et al. does not explicitly teach whereby the edge server processes the XR data based on predicted future XR frames of said data after reconstructing inter-arrival pattern of the XR frames.
However, within analogous art, Ashrafi teaches whereby the edge server processes the XR data based on predicted future XR frames of said data after reconstructing inter-arrival pattern of the XR frames (Data service within the server and patterns and dynamic change based on patterns and traffic taught within Paragraphs [0164-0165]- “…NFV allows service providers to provide better services to the users by dynamically changing their deployment topologies or traffic allocations based on user access patterns, user consumption and mobility, infrastructure load characteristics, infrastructure failures and many such situations that may cause service degradation, disruption or churn. Similarly, replicated service instances might need to be moved/instantiated/released to mask infrastructure failures, load conditions, or optimize the deployment based on consumption patterns and social interaction graphs. NFV can also provide intelligent infrastructure support for such dynamic service deployment scenarios. …” AND the virtual reality ( VR) taught within Paragraph [0222]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Ashrafi within the modified teaching of the Technologies for configuring and reducing resource consumption in time-aware networks and time-sensitive applications mentioned by Kasichainula et al. because the System and method providing network optimization for broadband networks mentioned by Ashrafi provides a method and system for implementation of optimization of network traffic for different application within the optical communication network .
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the System and method providing network optimization for broadband networks mentioned by Ashrafi within the modified teaching of the Technologies for configuring and reducing resource consumption in time-aware networks and time-sensitive applications mentioned by Kasichainula et al. for implementing a system and method for optimization of network traffic for different application within the optical communication network .
As per claim 2, Combination of Kasichainula et al. and Ashrafi teach claim 1,
Kasichainula et al. teaches wherein the edge server is updated with queuing delay of each XR frame due to the EPON by involving periodic generation time of each XR frame at the XR device to make the reconstruction of the inter-arrival pattern feasible ( Paragraph [0019-0020]- “…where end stations on several local networks are connected to a GM instance on a backbone network via an EPON access network. In the TAN 100, the bridges and routers are examples of TASs that each contain a relay instance,… a periodic basis and/or in response to some detected event (or trigger condition). Bridges (and/or routers) in the timing tree propagate timing messages toward the leaves of the timing tree (e.g., other PTP instances/nodes in the TAN 100) taking queuing delay into account…” AND Paragraphs [0033]- “… TC, frames are selected from the corresponding queue for transmission when (a) the operation of the transmission selection algorithm supported by that queue determines that there is a frame available for transmission; …” And Paragraph [0044]) .
3. Claims 5,6,7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kasichainula et al. ( USPUB 20210270677) in view of Ashrafi ( USPUB 20180351652) in further view of ASHRAFI ( USPUB 20210234592).
As per claim 5, Combination of Kasichainula et al. and Ashrafi teach claim 1,
Combination of Kasichainula et al. and Ashrafi does not explicitly teach wherein the EPON based connection includes OLU and OLT based connection.
Within analogous art, ASHRAFI teaches wherein the EPON based connection includes OLU and OLT based connection (EPON taught within Paragraph [0199]- “… Ethernet at some level either used as the native protocol on an EPON, or encapsulated in GEM on a GPON, with physical and logical topology of a simple Ethernet PON deployment shown as follows….” And FIG. 30 and OLT and ONU taught within Paragraphs [0200-0201] and FIG.s 31-32) .
As per claim 6, Combination of Kasichainula et al. and Ashrafi and ASHRAFI teach claim 5,
Combination of Kasichainula et al. and Ashrafi does not explicitly teach includes SDN controller operating in combination with the edge server , the OLT and the ONU for facilitating the edge server to reselect the prediction time for all XR device users every time when an XR device users registers or deregisters which changes the network load and also changing error in the reconstruction pattern.
Within analogous art, ASHRAFI teaches includes SDN controller operating in combination with the edge server ( SDN controller and servers taught within FIG. 63 and Paragraph [0277]- “… FIG. 63, in a typical SDN-based architecture, a centralized controller 6302 installs within small cell nodes flexible rules 6304 that determine the forwarding behavior within the data plane….” AND Paragraphs [0280-0281]) ) , the OLT and the ONU for facilitating the edge server to reselect the prediction time for all XR device users every time when an XR device users registers or deregisters which changes the network load and also changing error in the reconstruction pattern ( FIG. 33 showing XR / VR device of user within the ONU and OLT structure AND Paragraph [0044]- “ FIG. 33 illustrates a second embodiment of a broadband data communications link between an OLT and virtual reality goggles;…” AND Paragraph [0201-0203]- “… FIG. 32, the OLT 3010 is located at a central office/MEC 3202 that may be part of a virtual base band unit (VBBU). The OLT 3010 schedules transmissions over the fiber 3204 to the ONU's 3002. The OLT 3010 connects to a number of ONU's 3002 through optical fiber pairs 3204. The ONU 3002 maintains an accurate clock to sync with the OLT 3010….”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of ASHRAFI within the combined modified teaching of the Technologies for configuring and reducing resource consumption in time-aware networks and time-sensitive applications mentioned by Kasichainula et al. and the System and method providing network optimization for broadband networks mentioned by Ashrafi because the Hybrid digital-analog mmwave repeater/relay with full duplex mentioned by ASHRAFI provides a method and system for implementation of multiple communication element with plurality of remote locations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the System and method providing the Hybrid digital-analog mmwave repeater/relay with full duplex mentioned by ASHRAFI within the combined modified teaching of the Technologies for configuring and reducing resource consumption in time-aware networks and time-sensitive applications mentioned by Kasichainula et al. and the System and method providing network optimization for broadband networks mentioned by Ashrafi for implementing a system and method for multiple communication element with plurality of remote locations.
As per claim 7, Combination of Kasichainula et al. and Ashrafi teach claim 1,
Combination of Kasichainula et al. and Ashrafi does not explicitly teach wherein the edge server further includes prediction duration calculator for selecting prediction duration for the all XR devices and informing the same to the SDN controller.
Within analogous art, ASHRAFI teaches wherein the edge server further includes prediction duration calculator for selecting prediction duration for the all XR devices and informing the same to the SDN controller ( Paragraph [0269- 0271]- “… packet inspection/handling module 5912 parses packets sent to the SDN controller 5903 (e.g. for new flows when no rules are installed at the small cell nodes 5909). The extracted information is sent to the path calculator 5914, which replies with a primary path from the source to the destination node according to a given path calculation strategy. The original packet is then sent back to the destination node….”) and the AI-based frame predictor ( Paragraph [0322]- “…. As an alternative to polynomial models, neural networks (NNs) or AI-based techniques can be used for SI cancellation where NNs can achieve similar SI cancellation performance with a polynomial model with significantly lower computational complexity. The AI techniques described herein above may be used for this process….”) .
As per claim 8, Combination of Kasichainula et al. and Ashrafi and ASHRAFI teach claim 6,
Combination of Kasichainula et al. and Ashrafi does not explicitly teach wherein the SDN controller includes class mapper which decides class corresponding to delay bound of Dubk+Dpk, and informs the class information to the OLT and ONUs enabling the OLT schedules the XR device users.
Within analogous art, ASHRAFI teaches wherein the SDN controller (SDN controller and servers taught within FIG. 63 and Paragraph [0277]- “… FIG. 63, in a typical SDN-based architecture ) includes class mapper which decides class corresponding to delay bound of Dubk+Dpk, and informs the class information to the OLT and ONUs enabling the OLT schedules the XR device users ( FIG. 33 And Paragraphs [0196-0197]- “…he PON 3012 will typically connect up to 128 ONUs 3002 to each OLT 3010, and hybrid ONU-RU will connect to multiple mm-wave modems utilizing beam steering control plans. The mmWave Modems 3008 are self-installed and reduce the need for a fiber connection to the home/apartments as well as further provide for additional statistical gain and aggregation points at the ONU+RU at the Ethernet layer, customers served by these PONs 3012 will be on a single large Ethernet. Furthermore, if delay and cost is not a factor, the ONU+RU's are integrated and can be treated as IP routers with load balancing and slicing capabilities, provide statistical gain and an aggregation point….”) .
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 3,4 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
5. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for objecting the claims as allowable subject matter:
As to claim 3 , prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 3: “…edge server includes a play-off buffer which stores uplink XR data to add an extra play-off delay to each XR frame (denoted by Dbk,x for xth frame of kth XR user), making the total queuing (denoted by Dqk,x) and play-off delay a constant (say Dpok=Dqk+Dbk for kth XR user); wherein total uplink delay faced by all the XR frames of the kth user XR device (Dtotk) is given by: Dtotk=Dpropk+Dtxk+Dpok≤Dubk+Dpk where, Dpropk, Dtxk, and Dubk denote propagation time, transmission time, and uplink delay bound respectively, here improved inter-arrival pattern reconstruction is achievable with greater Dpok, which lowers prediction error and to increase Dpok, Dpk is needed to be increased as well, resulting in an increment of prediction error; wherein, the edge server involves the play-off buffer to set best Dpk to reduce the prediction error.”
As to claims 4 and 9 , prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 4 and 9, claims 4 and 9 depends on objected allowable claim 3. Therefore claims 4 and 9 are objected as allowable over prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art.
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/OMAR S ISMAIL/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635