DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7, 10-12, 14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Glynn et al (2023/0311804).
Regarding claim 1, Glynn discloses a networking apparatus (see the component C in figure 6), comprising: a set of networking components (see the component C may comprises … in paragraph 0320); a housing assembly configured to house the set of networking components (see module M may comprise a housing H in paragraph 0238 and figure 14), wherein the housing assembly comprises a first housing panel (see figure 17) comprising: a first portion having a first thickness; and a second portion adjacent the first portion and having a second thickness less than the first thickness (see three different thicknesses t1, t2, and t3 in figure 17F; The projection may comprise a height and the cover base may comprise a thickness; the thickness may be generally less than the height in paragraph 0026; As indicated schematically in FIG. 17F, the relative thickness/depth of the recess RS corresponding for the projection PR (shown as dimension t2) may be selected and fit relative to the thickness of the cover layer (shown as dimension t3) and the thickness of the light guide (shown as dimension t1) in the design of the component; the relative dimensions (t2 and t3) can be selected so that the icon IC is not readily visible when the light display is “off” (see FIG. 17A) but is readily visible when the light display is “on” (see FIG. 17B) based on considerations such as anticipated ambient conditions, environment, selection of materials, etc in paragraph 0239); a set of light sources (see light source (LS) in figure 4A); and a light guide (see light guide (LG) in figure 4A) disposed between the set of light sources and the first housing panel and configured to direct light from the set of light sources to an inner surface of the second portion of the first housing panel to produce a networking icon on an outer surface of the second portion of the first housing panel (see The visual object may comprise an image and/or a symbol and/or icon and/or logo and/or indicator and/or an illuminable visual object in paragraph 0008; H (housing), LS (light source), LG (light guide) in figure 14 and icon in figure 17B).
Regarding claim 2, Glynn discloses wherein: the set of light sources comprises a first light source (see The light source may comprise at least one light source in paragraph 0381); the networking apparatus comprises a controller connected to the first light source and configured to control a color of light emitted by the first light source into the light guide to control a color of the networking icon; and the color of the networking icon is representative of a status of the networking apparatus (see a light guide configured to direct light from a light source to provide the image in paragraph 0381; the component C with user interface system UIS may be configured to for a default or off/inactive (ready) state/status (see FIGS. 5A and 6A) and for an active state of the user interface UI with the light display comprising light L shown as an image IM to provide data/information or visual effect by illumination for a vehicle occupant in paragraph 0236; a controller in paragraph 0251).
Regarding claim 7, Glynn discloses the light guide comprises polycarbonate (see polycarbonate in paragraph 0297).
Regarding claim 10, Glynn discloses networking apparatus disassembly system (see figure 38A) comprising: the networking apparatus of claim 1, comprising a first coupling feature (see coupling layer CP) in figure 38A) that, when in an engaged state, couples a base of the housing assembly (see base SN in figure 38A) to a housing body of the housing assembly (see interface module (FM) and structure enclosure (EN) in figure 38A); and a jig for disassembling the networking apparatus, the jig comprising: a jig body; and a first protrusion protruding from the jig body and configured to contact the first coupling feature when the networking apparatus is set in a first position relative to the jig body, wherein the contact of the first protrusion with the first coupling feature disengages the first coupling feature to allow the housing body to be moved relative to the base (see The base may comprise a projection. The projection may be configured to provide visual object. The projection may comprise a protrusion in paragraph 0381; The component may comprise an interface configured to move from a default position to a depressed position to compress the mechanical coupling. The mechanical coupling may comprise at least one of (a) urethane; (b) silicone; (c) foam. The mechanical coupling may comprise a top layer and a bottom layer in paragraph 0015).
Regarding claim 11, Glynn discloses wherein: the housing assembly comprises a chassis (see structure enclosure (EN) in figure 38A) configured to support one or more components of the set of networking components; and the movement of the housing body relative to the base exposes at least some of the chassis and at least some of the set of networking components (see The component may comprise an interface configured to move from a default position to a depressed position to compress the mechanical coupling in paragraph 0015).
Regarding claim 12, Glynn discloses the first protrusion extends through an opening defined by the base to contact the first coupling feature (see The raised feature may comprise a protrusion in paragraph 0382).
Regarding claim 14, Glynn discloses the housing body comprises the first housing panel; the jig comprises a first spacing tool protruding from the jig body and configured to at least one of: separate the first housing panel from an indicator light assembly comprising the light guide and the set of light sources by a first distance; or mitigate a force from the first housing panel to the indicator light assembly during the movement of the housing body relative to the base (see separate elements such as icon (IC), projection (PR), light guide (LG), interface module (FM), coupling layer (CP), and sensor (SN) in figures 38A and 38B).
Regarding claim 17, Glynn discloses a jig for disassembling a networking apparatus (see network apparatus in figure 38A), the jig comprising: a jig body; and a first protrusion protruding from the jig body (see The base may comprise a projection. The projection may be configured to provide visual object. The projection may comprise a protrusion in paragraph 0381; The raised feature may comprise a protrusion in paragraph 0382) and configured to contact a first coupling feature of the networking apparatus (see coupling layer (CP) in figure 38A; The component may comprise an interface configured to move from a default position to a depressed position to compress the mechanical coupling in paragraph 0015) when the networking apparatus is set in a first position relative to the jig body, wherein: when the first coupling feature is in an engaged state, the first coupling feature couples a housing panel of the networking apparatus to a housing body of the networking apparatus (see a default position in paragraph 0015); and the contact of the first protrusion with the first coupling feature disengages the first coupling feature to allow the housing body to be moved relative to the housing panel (see The component may comprise an interface configured to move from a default position to a depressed position to compress the mechanical coupling in paragraph 0015; the structure shown as enclosure EN may be configured to move from a default position to a depressed position to compress the coupling in paragraph 0265).
Regarding claim 18, Glynn discloses the movement of the housing body relative to the housing panel exposes at least some of a set of networking components of the networking apparatus (the structure shown as enclosure EN may be configured to move from a default position to a depressed position to compress the coupling in paragraph 0265. Note that when the enclosure moved, it is inherently that some networking components will be exposed).
Regarding claim 19, Glynn discloses the first protrusion extends through an opening defined by the housing panel to contact the first coupling feature (see The cover base may comprise a raised feature. The raised feature may be configured to provide the image. The raised feature may comprise a protrusion PR in paragraph 0384; The mechanical coupling may be configured to compress in response to force at the user interface in paragraph 0015).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glynn in view of Ricci (2014/0310075).
Regarding claim 3, Glynn discloses network N (e.g. vehicle network, internet, other networks, etc.) to provide information, indicators, instrumentation, etc. (in a region configured to be illuminated by a light source) in paragraph 0251 and the light source can be turned on/of (enabled/disabled) (see the at least one light source is turned off in paragraph 0012; the user interface system UIS may comprise a proximity sensor configured to activate the user interface for the vehicle occupant when in proximity (e.g. from “off” to “on” state when proximity detected such as by movement, touch, sound, etc.) in paragraph 0236) but doesn't specifically disclose the networking apparatus is configured to establish a wireless network and different colors for indicating different things. However, Ricci discloses these features (see The vehicle control system 204 may also communicate with or through a communication network 224. The communication network 224 can represent any type of wireless and/or wired communication system that may be included within the vehicle in paragraph 0233; the icons are displayed in color to illustrate one or more state and various states of at least one application icon may be illustrated using various colors, intensities, transparencies, glows, shadows, and the like in paragraph 0689). The claim would have been obvious because a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
Regarding claim 4, Ricci discloses wherein: the networking apparatus is configured to monitor a signal strength of a telecommunication service provided by a telecommunication service site; the networking icon corresponds to a signal strength indicator comprising a plurality of bars comprising a first bar and a second bar; the networking apparatus comprises a controller connected to the set of light sources; and the controller is configured to at least two of: activate the first bar and activate the second bar to indicate that the signal strength is within a first range of signal strengths; activate the first bar and deactivate the second bar to indicate that the signal strength is within a second range of signal strengths; or deactivate the first bar and deactivate the second bar to indicate that the signal strength is within a third range of signal strengths (see The information bar 2912 may include one or more of, but is not limited to, a name of an identified driver 2912A, a satellite reception indicator 2912B, a WiFi connectivity and signal strength indicator 2912C, a voice and data connectivity and signal strength indicator 2912D in paragraph 0667 and figure 29A. Note that different ranges corresponding to different signal strengths).
Regarding claims 5, Ricci further discloses the networking apparatus is configured to: monitor a signal strength of a telecommunication service and using bars to indicate signal strength (see signal strength indicator in paragraphs 0667; a WiFi connectivity and signal strength indicator 2912C in paragraphs 0667 and figure 29A).
5. Claims 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glynn in view of Holmgren et al (2013/0155207).
Regarding claims 6, Glynn doesn't specifically disclose the light guide comprises a double injection light guide. However, Holmgren discloses the use of a double injection light guide (see a double injection mold of the light guide in paragraphs 0553). The claim would have been obvious because a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
Claims 8-9, 13, 15-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glynn in view of Shatek et al (2016/0230654).
Regarding claims 8, Glynn doesn't specifically disclose the housing assembly comprises: a venting structure overlying the set of networking components and comprising a set of z-shaped louvers comprising: a first z-shaped louver; and a second z-shaped louver. However, Shatek discloses the use of Z-shaped louvers (see the louvers are Z-shaped louvers structured to require intake air to rise while passing through the louver, which filters some debris and dust particles upon intake in paragraphs 0070). The claim would have been obvious because a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
Regarding claims 9, Shatek discloses the housing assembly defines a housing chamber in which the set of networking components are disposed; the set of z-shaped louvers obstructs visibility into the housing chamber from a first perspective; and the set of z-shaped louvers allows visibility into the housing chamber from a second perspective (see Z-shaped louvers 720 in figures 17 and 18 where z-shaped louvers obstruct/allow visibility into the housing chamber from different perspective).
Regarding claims 13, Shatek discloses the base comprises a venting structure comprising a first louver and a second louver; and the opening is defined by the first louver and the second louver (see louvers 720 provide an inlet into the generator compartment in paragraphs 0070 and figure 17).
Regarding claims 15, Glynn discloses a networking apparatus, comprising: a set of networking components; and a housing assembly configured to house the set of networking components (see the apparatus and components in figure 38A and 38B). Glynn doesn't specifically disclose the housing assembly comprises a venting structure overlying the set of networking components and comprising a set of z-shaped louvers comprising a first z-shaped louver and a second z-shaped louver. However, Shatek discloses these features (See louvers 720 provide an inlet into the generator compartment in paragraphs 0070 and figure 17). The claim would have been obvious because a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
Regarding claims 16, Shatek discloses the housing assembly defines a housing chamber in which the set of networking components are disposed; the set of z-shaped louvers obstructs visibility into the housing chamber from a first perspective; and the set of z-shaped louvers allows visibility into the housing chamber from a second perspective (see louvers 720 provide an inlet into the generator compartment in paragraphs 0070 and figure 17. Note that obstruct or allow visibility into the housing chamber is depending the viewer’s location).
Regarding claims 20, Glynn doesn't specifically disclose the networking apparatus comprises a venting structure comprising a first louver and a second louver; and the opening is defined by the first louver and the second louver. However, Shatek discloses this feature (see louvers 720 provide an inlet into the generator compartment in paragraphs 0070 and figure 17). The claim would have been obvious because a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
Conclusion
/BRIAN D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475